Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

Soony
post Apr 4 2016, 11:27 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Apr 4 2016, 10:02 PM)
Anyone here has successfully applied for a prospective marriage visa recently? I'm a PR there and planning to bring my partner over.. How long does the process usually takes and any tips to share to increase the success rate? Really worried that her application might get rejected..
I went through the partner visa (defacto). Are you married to your partner? If so a marriage certificate will definitely ease the entire process. Mine took 3 months in total but was given a TR.
Soony
post Apr 4 2016, 11:30 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Apr 4 2016, 01:46 PM)
Hi everyone, just finished read through the entire thread.

I am an engineering graduate from a Malaysia Private University B.E degree with 2 years of working experience (1 year technical, 1 year business development).

From what I read is that the best way to obtain a job in Australia is getting a visa/PR which doesn't comply to my current situation.

I'm wondering if getting a work & holiday visa that able to land me a minimum wages work (picking apple) for few months while trying to apply for local engineering job in SOL list will increase my chance of getting hired and visa sponsored by local employer?

In fact I've been applying jobs in Singapore over the past few months but up till now there is no feedback from their side so I might wanna directly try to jump over to Australia.

**I'm planning to move over to SG for few years before heading over to Australia previously as I know the best points I could get is within age 25~32, and I'm currently 24 only.

TL;DR: will getting a work & holiday visa for a job in OZ increase my chance of getting me permanently hired in Australia tremendously? Or is it better to get more working experience in Malaysia/SG before trying to apply for a full time job in OZ will result me a higher chance of success?

Edit: also how big of a chance for employer to sponsor for my 189/190 visa if I'm working there? Do I have to be bonded for few years with the company in normal circumstances?
Unlikely. There are a bunch of graduates out there which are seeking jobs with legitimate visa, also you will be competing against locals as well. No employer will want to look at your resume unless you have a niche skill unfortunately.

What I would really recommend is to gain some working experience in Singapore and try again in Australia after having around 3-5 years experience. Getting a PR would definitely boost your chances for work employment.

Soony
post Apr 22 2016, 11:43 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Apr 22 2016, 04:00 PM)
The engineering firms in the West, including Australia are bending over backwards to hire female engineers.  You'll only need to be reasonably competent and you'll get the job as they're trying to increase the % representation.
Coming from a big company in Australia, I can second the above. Companies are looking to balance the gender ratio, I believed it's a commitment to the government.

Hence if you are a female in engineering, other than process or environmental. You ll have a good chance.
Soony
post Apr 24 2016, 07:55 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(klein @ Apr 23 2016, 01:29 PM)
Even in current economic climate? I thought of laying low and gaining as much experience as I can for the time being, then only try my opportunity when oil price hikes up.
Yes, in the economic climate, companies would still need to fulfill their requirements and promises with the government. But hey, women are pretty good in management and engineering, so far the ones that I met are outstanding.

Whereabouts do you work at now? My advise is don't get into the technical field, there is no technical work here in Australia for engineering.
Soony
post Apr 24 2016, 09:58 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(klein @ Apr 24 2016, 08:19 PM)
I have a degree in engineering (neither process nor environmental).. been with our national oil company for more than 3 years (experience thus far spanned across gas and petrochemical)..

I thought being technical is the way to go. So you are suggesting more of an office- or firm-based position, rather than one that requires me to be based in the manufacturing plant/ site?
If you want to work in Australia then project management would be the way to go. Most of our technical work(design/development) are all contracted out to overseas contractors due to the rates. Imagine $200/hr compared with rm100/hour?
Soony
post Apr 27 2016, 04:37 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 27 2016, 02:27 PM)
my age is not that far from yours laugh.gif
20k for me (family of 3) is just nice, not too tight but can't splurge either

the only way i know is negative gearing... i'll PM you for more info notworthy.gif
$20k per month in Australia? I think that's pretty on the high side right.

Erm pm me too if you have tips on tax, would love to hear them. Being paying too much tax and can't really do much without investment.
Soony
post Apr 27 2016, 05:02 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 27 2016, 04:42 PM)
i'm still in Malaysia sweat.gif

AUD20k/month will bring you to the max tier rate, no point laugh.gif
Yeah, to earn $20k a month you have to be earning $400k annual. Man that is a lot.
Soony
post Apr 28 2016, 03:09 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Apr 28 2016, 09:48 AM)
lol......RM20k la. sorry, just burst your dream biggrin.gif
Haha I really feel the pinch of the tax system now. Pay increment is like nothing after paying tax.
Soony
post Apr 28 2016, 03:12 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Apr 28 2016, 12:55 PM)
I live in Melbourne. I was lucky enough to get a job within 3 weeks and settled in.
Still renting though. Even auctioned houses are going for really extravagant prices here.

Its funny that friends back home seem to think its more affordable to buy property here in Oz. Buying a car here is cheap but property is way harder to get here than back in bolehland.
Think that the property in Perth is still pretty reasonable as you are able to get a 3br2bath for around 400k @ 10km east of perh cbd.
Soony
post Apr 29 2016, 04:26 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Apr 29 2016, 03:06 PM)
after tax it's app. $5000/mth. my wife earns app $3000/mth.
so far so good. it's enuf to own a house and 2 cars. the rest is centrelink
Far out! That is good! You are earning above the median in Australia. I think this is good news to people who wants to migrate.
Soony
post Apr 30 2016, 01:35 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(hernanardila @ Apr 29 2016, 11:56 PM)
I have  very interesting offer of work for people in Australia, the American Company which Im working at the momment its in Australia to, pm me for more details
You may suggest to your company to publish it via their website or even social media. Without a doubt they will get 1000~ candidates and they will get to choose the best.
Soony
post Apr 30 2016, 04:24 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Apr 30 2016, 03:42 PM)
What happen if... I secured a job which employer willing to sponsor subclass 457 visa (I accepted, visa processed etc) and I'm subsequently granted approval in principal for subclass 190 PR visa (skilled nominated visa)?

I've 2 options here. Continue with 457 visa but incurring additional costs to complete the formalities for 190 PR visa. That mean to say I need to decline 190 approval in principal. It is also stated in my employment contract that subject to performance, the company will support for PR application after 1 year - something along this line.

The other option is to proceed with 190 PR visa and then inform HR about this? Can anyone advice which is a "better option". I only have basic understanding between 457 vs 190 visa (reading via public info) but are there any practical consideration that I should really take note?

Nb:
At this stage I just want to experience and gain exposure only (I haven't made my mind to settle down yet). The only reasons that I applied 190 visa was purely to secure a job. Some friends adviced that I've been thus far in this application then why not to proceed. 190 PR supported by VIC state and my offer is also in Melb.

I plan to buy a property and a car. Property wise - for own stay but in the event I don't like Melb city and I will take it as investment property. Car - I'm supposed it's necessary since I may need to travel a lot to client's place + petrol subsidized by my firm.

Thank you.
Just go ahead with both as you will never know when your company decides to terminate you. The $3k ish plus for the PR is insignificant to the issues that you may potentially faced by your employer (e.g. Redundancy).

Just inform your HR when you have gotten your visa as a formality. Been through what you've described and was very fortunate that the company decided to reimburse my PR cost as well.
Soony
post May 2 2016, 05:53 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(kael90 @ May 2 2016, 05:36 PM)
Quick question for those who got 457, can share some of your experience on the processing time? How long is the waiting period?
Did my medical in early Jan and got my visa late Jan. Normally you wouldn't know as the company will run the application for you.
Soony
post May 2 2016, 06:30 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(kael90 @ May 2 2016, 06:07 PM)
The company already started processing my application. I'm not sure why but i wasn't asked for any medical examination report, or only need provide it at a later stage?
Similarly to PR, your company's HR will provide you with a HAP no which you will need to arrange with a Australian approved clinic for check up. When are you expected to start anyway? I was offered in June 13, visa application only started in Jan 14 and work commence mid Feb 14.
Soony
post May 2 2016, 07:37 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Aidan.900 @ May 2 2016, 07:34 PM)
Wow, you got it so fast in less than 2 months.
Normally with company sponsored visa you shouldn't have an issue with the length of application. As long as the company has a strong case in bringing you in, you will get it in no time.
Soony
post May 6 2016, 07:08 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Rand @ May 6 2016, 04:02 PM)
So what you're saying is that there's an oversupply of rental properties right now? I suppose I should say that I am talking specifically about Melbourne.
Can't deny that but yes there is an oversupply of properties now. But it's also the best time to get into the market =D
Soony
post May 14 2016, 02:38 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ May 14 2016, 01:26 PM)
Thats very true. Degree really like so common in oz.
I think degree is pretty common throughout the world. Though, I would say quarter/half of the local Aussies still go for trade skills.
Soony
post May 15 2016, 03:19 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

Just to add in three more points to the above discussion,

I) 60 points although is sufficient to get an invite but it is recommended to get 65 points instead for faster visa approval. Check immi for the expected waiting period.

II) I have to disagree on the part where Singapore's work experience is on par with Malaysia. It is not based on my experience. Better to get SG experience as employers value it more (experienced based on larger companies, not too sure with smaller ones)

III) Atittude and dumping Malaysian's mentality is number one key in integrating into Australia's culture.

All the best in the application and it is always warming to see Malaysian leaving their comfort zone.
Soony
post May 16 2016, 05:06 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ May 16 2016, 04:45 PM)
Let say if I turn the scenario around. If one who is a fresh graduate and he/she secures a job offer in Oz (let say graduated from Monash Malaysia in this case). Can he/she obtain a visa ? Thanks.
For that to happen, the company will be preparing a working visa for that person. Now the question back to you is, since you are an overseas fresh grad with 0 experience and unproven, why would an OZ company hire you compared to a local fresh grad?

Sorry for being so straightforward. Need some harsh questions sometimes.
Soony
post May 16 2016, 05:22 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ May 16 2016, 05:11 PM)
Let say if I manage to get local Oz connection to get hired over there. If that's the case, is it still possible ? May I ask under which work visa category I can apply for ? Thanks.
The company will apply on your behalf a visa 457, which they have to justify strongly on the reason why they can't find a local hire.

Unless the company is chinaman, they will probably ask you to apply yourself a 489 visa before they will hire you. All in all, visa first then job later, that's the most common route

Note: If something looks too good to be true, please consult others for opinions.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1933sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:00 AM