7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

shazam7
post May 23 2016, 02:37 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 23 2016, 04:47 PM)
meaning its not normal for Aussie companies to cover their employees?

but doesn't matter anyway, i still buy my own insurance laugh.gif
It is not normal. Even in large corporates, some cover only 80% of the premiums.
For small companies u can pretty much forget about it.
shazam7
post May 24 2016, 11:51 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 24 2016, 01:54 PM)
Damn....telstra has been internet down for few days dy. Chip lak service! Ganasai!
Office still got no internet....
Plus some more, it's supposedly Australia's most reliable network. And also the most exxy one.
shazam7
post May 25 2016, 10:12 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(fuserdef @ May 25 2016, 02:08 AM)
3) - Wow that is quite exp. considering tax are so much higher in Oz. how much for utilities generally ? Elec, gas (esp for winter) and internet
- Tax is higher cos u get safety net. Unemployment benefits, aged care pension etc.
If u look at property pricing, i think it is almost 1:1 in dollar terms between KL/Syd/Mel.
Electricity/gas - v subjective. Depends on how much u use heater n how long u shower and which state. WA is more exxy, VIC a bit cheaper. In VIC, elec/gas is $150 a month with little use of heater/gas.
Internet - depends on areas. Some areas unlimited ADSL for $70 per month, others $90.
shazam7
post May 26 2016, 08:44 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(fuserdef @ May 26 2016, 12:32 AM)
3) Nice !! thanks for the info, but I am aiming to be in Melbourne cause my the majority of my family and friends are there.
I think u need to be a bit more flexible.
The jobs market is tough. A lot of ppl I know have moved cities due to jobs.
I mean Melb is a great place, but if an opportunity arises in another city, will you die die want to live in Melb?

shazam7
post May 26 2016, 11:34 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(ssurrey @ May 26 2016, 02:10 PM)
What I don't get it is many people have said life in Malaysia is still great and are still able to make lots of money but many people are still dying to migrate to Australia. After seeing the real life here many are still not satisfied. Are most people just following the crowd after hearing from friends and relatives how great life in Aust?

I have lived here for over 30 years and life is not heaven here.
I have seen many people having better lives in malaysia. After doing much DIY task here and raising a family while working all on our own, physically and mentally we are exhausted . I envy many of my friends and relatives not needing to lift a finger on any housework and even able to leave the children home with maids while they go on relaxing holidays.

I believe in order to improve life in Malaysia for everyone, people in the country should rise up and make things better. The current lousy government should be thrown out.

I usually do not like to review my private life in a very public forum.  What I would like to express is okay to give up somethings in life n just be contented with what we have and thank God we are no living like refugees in many war torn countries.
The grass is always greener.

1. People in MY got no work life balance. End up chasing the RM at the expense of the family.
2. People in MY dont see a future there what with the race politics, "donation" mentality and cronyism.
3. People in MY cannot afford to send their kids to uni or worried about aged care/health costs.
4. People in MY sick of crime and everything money mentality.

Meanwhile ppl in Oz want to retire in MY/Thailand:
1. Less perceived govt control
2. Lower costs of living (esp after converting AUD to RM/THB)
3. Can be waited on head and foot because of (2).
4. Can eat CKT/pad thai 24x7.
5. Can travel to Asia just like that.
6. For divorced/single/separated men, additional incentive of chasing skirts in Thailand.

The system in MY will not change so easily. Even if whoever wins the next GE, it will take another generation to change everything around. And a lot of ppl will have to suffer for it.

Humans are never satisfied with what they have is the short of it.

Anyway just my 2c.

shazam7
post May 26 2016, 12:31 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(petirbuas @ May 26 2016, 02:56 PM)
Hi guys,
I need some info on expenses and cost of living in Sydney. Specifically Hunter Street area.
This is to gauge expected salary should one move from KL to Sydney. The goal is to maintain similar quality of life. Will stay there for 2 or 3 years.

- Late 20 single male
- Zero cooking skill(eat out all the time)
- Zero entertainment(no drinking, movie)

##

Question
Lets say he
i) Earn RM8k in KL, what is the equivalent in Sydney?
ii) Earn RM10k in KL, what is the equivalent in Sydney?

Based on Numbeo comparison info
i) ~AUD8.5k
ii) ~AUD11k
Does this sound about right?
Are u sure u can get a job with that salary with no local experience? Just asking, dont know yr exact circumstance.

In Hunter Street, OK, city centre, $200++ for a SHARED room. $400++ for a single room. PER WEEK.
Eat out: ultra budget: AUD5 per meal. Standard AUD15 per meal. Suggest u learn to cook if want to save money. No cheap Bangla to make u wantan mee.
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 09:39 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(ipohnoel @ May 26 2016, 09:04 PM)
Petirbuas, does it have to be Hunter Street specifically? Seems like you're just after Sydney CBD area, Surry Hills is a nice place and very close to the city as well, I can recommend the apartments opposite Harmony Park as a good spot. Rent is going to be really expensive however unless you can share.
I think maybe he just got the address of a few big financial companies, their offices on that street.
Living in Hunter St is equivalent to living in KLCC.
You can do it, but u either sacrifice privacy or pay a huge sum.

Example:
1 bed in shared room in CBD = 150
1 private bedroom in say, Strathfield, 4 stops from CBD = 200
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 12:41 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(ipohnoel @ May 27 2016, 02:40 PM)
Yea, I think you are right and agree with you big money or split the big money through sharing.

I'm in the Sydney CBD area, renting for $650/week; not sharing. Higher end cause it's a brand new apartment and it's close to 60sqm. I've seen a few other rooms in my building sharing with multiple people so I reckon $150-$200 is doable too.
One bed in a shared room could mean 4 beds (2 bunk beds).
Salute these ppl, like that also can live.

http://www.domain.com.au/news/100000-fine-...0160526-gp3syi/
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 01:53 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(kael90 @ May 27 2016, 04:30 PM)
Ah nice. I think i need to be there personally first as I do not have any friends and family over there. Currently i'm looking at the range of 300-400 per week, where could i possibly stay?
Many areas. Suggest near a train station and the city, so u can move around easily. Use Google Maps and the train map at transportnsw.info as a guide.
For 300pw on airbnb, it may be harder to get near the city. Plug in the dates and search.
Other websites are roommates, gumtree. But gumtree is less safe than airbnb.
You can also look at private hotels. Typically a single room fully furnished with shared facilities 250 or so.
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 02:50 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(kael90 @ May 27 2016, 05:35 PM)
How about flatmates.au? Is this site reliable? I had been searching for a room in flatmates for quite some time and found some decent rooms.
And i think i m gonna go like a week earlier of my starting date to walk around the town and familiarise with the place first. Don't wanna be late on the first day. A bit of adventure for me since its my first time.
Flatmates is **MORE** reliable than others but airbnb is still the safest. Do NOT use FB groups.
With airbnb u dont need to pay deposit. Others u will need abt 2-4 weeks + 1 week advance when u move in.
No need to go one week earlier. A few days enough. Make sure yr smartphone has data on it, u will need to rely on Google Maps. Load in an app called Tripview, this is yr public transport bible. Worth to pay the $3++ for full version.
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 10:50 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 27 2016, 07:59 PM)
just hardly imagine how to live in sydney with the rent skyrocketing compared 15 years ago...
Unfortunately it is the city with the most opportunities. I mean u can pay bugger all rental in places like Wagga Wagga but unless yr skills r in specific areas like healthcare u will struggle to get a decent paying job.
shazam7
post Jun 6 2016, 12:58 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(wwwah85 @ Jun 5 2016, 11:20 PM)
I'm myself holding 489...now living in hobart...kampung area...can't even find a job that suits my profession, now working in a japanese restaurant which near my house...
N u like it there? Are you trying for Vic and NSW where there are more opportunities?
shazam7
post Jun 21 2016, 11:39 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(divine061 @ Jun 20 2016, 06:09 PM)
Like how you have some rental that cover electric or gas bills. Like how you don't pay for electricity when you rent a room in AirBnb or a hotel. It is part of your rental.

I think different states have different regulation. And the landlord can always install a sub-meter if they wants to.
Like for Sydney, if you have a sub-meter and wants Sydney Water to bill it, Sydney water will charge another base fee (or admin fee or usage fee or something like that, I dunno what it is called), which works out a lot more expensive then the actual water usage.
Different CITIES charge differently. In Melb for example, there are 2 authorities that I know of.
The water charges are incredibly exxy for a homeowner. Besides usage and sewage have to also pay park charges which amount to $200+ per quarter....ridiculous.
If there is a dispute with a bill (had $1000+ bills twice) u have 2 call in plumber to check ($300+) and argue n argue until they discount or waive it.
For this reason alone, owning a house is a pain in the ***. Better let landlord gau tim this.
shazam7
post Jun 22 2016, 08:04 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(ssurrey @ Jun 21 2016, 08:31 PM)
This information is not accurate. Yarra Valley Water only bill us about $72 per annum, not $200 per quarter.
Well, the information is accurate for me. I paid for it.

City Water West charges differently from Yarra Valley Water, same as the councils calculate rates differently.

As I mentioned earlier, it is not possible to provide a precise amount for water related charges since it varies (even within the same city).

I know homeowners in Perth pay even more.

This post has been edited by shazam7: Jun 22 2016, 08:10 AM
shazam7
post Aug 1 2016, 08:09 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(kendall_e @ Aug 1 2016, 09:03 AM)
Hi guys! I have a question on getting a job while visiting Australia with the 3 month tourist visa.
I suggest you do more research before posting. All the info you need is immi Oz web site.
If you do your research, u will know that is ILLEGAL to work on a tourist visa.
So most likely even if u land a job, it will be manual labour, cash only with very low wages. If immi catches u, then tendang back to Msia.
shazam7
post Aug 1 2016, 08:17 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jul 29 2016, 02:44 PM)
Hi guys, bit of out topic but just sharing my experience here.

rclxms.gif How true.
It makes it easier if u have studied here once and understand the lifestyle. For those that intend to migrate without living here, they will find it a MASSIVE challenge.
Esp those with kids, a lot of couples cannot cope without Aminah/Marilyn. Have to fetch kids, do house chores, cook and clean.

For the breadwinner, some may find it humiliating to accept a lower position than what they were used to. Also lament the fact they could spend like anything in Msia like nobody's business but watch every sen in Aust.

The kids will probably have it the best. Little or no homework, no rote learning and best thing, no rotan.

It's all about expectation and reality. Know what your objectives are for migrating is the key thing.
shazam7
post Aug 2 2016, 08:16 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(kendall_e @ Aug 1 2016, 12:32 PM)
My question is... While I'm visiting there as a tourist, will I get any luck applying jobs and going for interview without a working visa? I mean, will the employer be willing to apply a visa for me? If they do, I would come back and go through the formalities first before going back again. I don't intend to work illegally with my tourist visa. Is there any possibilities?
As others have mentioned the only options without a PR is either a working holiday or 457 visa. As there is $$ and paperwork involved with 457, u must hv a special skill set. Otherwise it is a tough job market here.
shazam7
post Aug 10 2016, 07:33 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Aug 9 2016, 10:57 AM)
I would say my annual income in SG was higher than annual income in Aus, partly because in Aus - here don't have AWS (13 month bonus) and most non-MNCs firm doesn't have variable bonus.
Also, there isn't any employer-contribution for super (CPF). 

I would say take home pay is about the same/ slightly lower for my case. Note: I held managerial position here so Im not under the "minimum wage category".
You need higher taxes cos the gov still subsidizes healthcare, education and aged care. U can have a lower tax rate but pay out of yr own pocket for additional insurance, uni fees etc.
shazam7
post Aug 10 2016, 12:44 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis181188 @ Aug 10 2016, 12:12 PM)
1. Can I set up a bank account without an australian permanent address? If I able to, which bank is the best for me to apply?
2. I heard something about medicard. It seems like I am only able to apply if I am currently residing in Australia right?
3. Any other advise before I move over?
You can rent a PO box at a post office, or if you have any friends or relatives, u can borrow that.
Most correspondence come thru email anyway.

Medicare card, not Medicard. This will enable you to obtain subsidised medicine and claim GP fees.

It will be better if u can also apply for a Tax File Number. U can enter this info when u open a bank account.

This post has been edited by shazam7: Aug 10 2016, 12:47 PM
shazam7
post Aug 12 2016, 01:41 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 12 2016, 03:09 PM)
Hi guys, mind to share if anyone actually 'selling' everything back home including properties to start a new life here OR retain some properties to keep the rental running?
I have known people who have retained and ppl who have sold.
Depends on personal circumstances.
The ones who sold, they need the money to use here (buy house, start up etc). Or they have difficulty maintaining the property in Msia.
Hard to do if u dont get a good estate agent.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2076sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:17 PM