QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Sep 27 2016, 02:54 PM)
Plenty of hot Ozzie women.In Melb they'll be in Broadmeadows, Sunshine and Dandenong.
In Syd go for Mt Druitt.
Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia
Sep 27 2016, 12:52 PM
263 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Oct 4 2016, 07:54 AM
Reading the discussions here with interest:
- I got so much experience in MY why no interview one? - Discrimination! Asians don't get the job!!! - I got so much experience in MY why no interview one? Cos demand < supply. Oz population small. Companies fewer. Salaries $$$. One job 100s of candidates. Tell me, if u recruiter, how u select who to interview? Pick the first few that match criterion lor. - Discrimination! Asians don't get the job!!! FWIW, I have worked in many teams where the Indians and Asians outnumber the ang mohs. It may seem that there is a bamboo ceiling of sorts, esp at the top, but bear in mind Asians only make up about 8% of the populace. Abt 75% of Ozzies hv Anglo Celtic heritage. |
Oct 6 2016, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 6 2016, 04:34 PM) Well, be aware that accommodation is significantly higher in Syd than in Melb.But, having said that there are more job opportunities esp in finance. I don't know why u find Melb 'boring'. It's less congested, very European feel in the city, and a strong and vibrant ex-Bolehland community. Having lived in both cities, I can say that Melb is definitely more welcoming than Syd. |
Oct 7 2016, 05:11 AM
QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 6 2016, 09:43 PM) I can't really make a move yet mate. Reason being not enough saving as a lot of my money is going to my wedding. You know lah, Chinese wedding is not cheap. Then my fiancée has found a new job she really love, I really not ready to make her resign and follow me to Australia. The longer u wait the more difficult u will find to find a job or decide to move, imho. Wedding, kids, career. U need to decide what yr endgame is. Fact is once kids come, moving over becomes 1000x more difficult.You are quite right about senior person asking for junior position. I got one friend who was a financial controller at Chinaman co. He told me this ridiculous question from interviewers that they not convince he would stay long because of his age and senior position. In which I am surprise, I said to him, he can actually tell them that he only want to the quality of life in Australia and not bother about senior position, even that can't convince them that he would stay long. I was just thinking - is this an excuse use by Aussies to discount experienced Asians? I mean, in this day and age, most Aussies don't stay long in their work anyway. If we see Seek.com a lot of jobs are on contractual basis, sheesh. And they want to hire people who last long? I even have a friend at Fitch who tells me his finance exec in AUstralia is actually a part time yoga instructor and part time accountant at Fitch Ratings in Sydney. So to put this on my friend, is like geez, sound like a ton of excuses from the interviewers. Well its more like I have to apply for RRV. I need to get an employer only then they reinstate my PR. I am quite used to Asian culture anyways, I work for a big HK multinational co. So yeah I know how its like. There is no shame about contracting. Of course there is a risk, but u do get paid extra to compensate for annual leave and the like. There is no certainty with cost cutting and outsourcing. So even if u can land a perm role there is no guarantee u can stay on. The main diff is that u can get a redundancy from a permanent (unless they go completely bankrap) but nothing for a contractor. A lot of companies prefer contractors so they can still get a resource and obtain tax advantages. Yr fren needs to downplay his senior experience and simplify his CV.For example, if he is a FC, say he is a supervisor instead. Put in the relevant skills for the job in the CV but take out the stuff like "I hire and manage x employees, have final sign off on the accounts" if the job does not require it. From the recruiters POV, their concern is that yr fren will leave soon cos of the lack of challenge and the junior aspects of the role. This will cast him in a bad light frm his customer for selecting inappropriate candidates and also deprive him of his commission. Better make sure u still can reinstate yr RRV. |
Oct 7 2016, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 7 2016, 12:38 PM) I know I been told about the longer I wait the more difficult. But I am having dilemma to migrate or not. That's the catch. You be surprise that majority of my friends who migrate actually are from family status as having kids has encouraged them to migrate for better education standard and away from the racism red shirt in bolehland. Fact is, I have a relative who graduated in Aust and also got his PR, straight away look for jobs, but even with his age advantage, they still no consider him. 2 years of searching, he gave up on permanent jobs. Now in his 4th year as a migrant he works as a part timer. Like I said most ppl cant decide to migrate until kids come into the pic. Then all the problems with age, job etc come about. What I am saying is that by preempting the decision things may work out better.The trouble with contracting some of the job only last 3 months. I know people tell me these jobs can beautify your CV but at end of day, even in Malaysia, people don'tsee contracting experience as somewhat important. But I can say its better than no job at all so mind as well take it up. Which boils to the question I wonder why Aussies are so afraid that migrants who apply junior job have this fear we won't last long. As far as I know, the Aussie job environment is so competitive, that people don't work 20 years old timer in the co anymore because of redundancy and the competitive nature of the work there. A lot of Aussies are having part time, contractual and most likely jump job after a few years. Somehow I suspect its a racism excuse from job recruiters to discount out migrant skilled workers, so they can avoid fair work penalties. But anyways its just my perspective I could be wrong. He is downplaying his CV, my friend is looking for junior jobs but he is also looking into other positions such as marketing and counsellor. He been applying like 50 jobs a month but to no avail so few interviews come in. I told him to stick to relevant skill to his expertise. But he stubborn still apply only 10 out of 50 link to his accounting profession. Not sure why he is targeting other type of jobs. Its his will anyway I cant change his mind. There are 6 and 12 months contracts. Some are on perpetual contracts. My experience has been that firms take on contracts due to the uncertain nature of the economy, ease in rapidly expanding or contracting resources and as I mentioned b4, tax implications. As for racism, many countries practice this. In reality most large firms I worked with or for has been multicultural with a mix of Asians, Caucasians, Middle Eastern etc. Fair work also applies for part timers and contractors. There was a case not too long ago, when Coles contracted out the trolley pushing service. The contractor underpaid his staff and pocketed the rest. Was reported and charged, both parties found guilty. Ditto for 7-11 and the franchisees who hired and then underpaid casual staff. This post has been edited by shazam7: Oct 7 2016, 11:30 AM |
Oct 10 2016, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 8 2016, 05:36 PM) need some advice and view from the PRs here... i just came back from Melbourne and had an offer for a contract IT job for 6 months, pay is AUD500/day inclusive super... U shld be very happy with AUD500 a day. the few days i spent in Melbourne, i did cooking for my boy so i roughly know how much the vegetables and fishes costs, i surveyed basic groceries at the CBD supermarkets, eating out, driving, parking, public transport, even the pharmacy cos my wife was sick... i'm still a bit skeptical whether that pay is sufficient for a family of 3... no conversion wise, Melbourne are as expensive as KL... the parking especially even beats Orchard Road flat rough calculations say its doable... still need to be very careful spending... mind sharing your input? As you rightly calculate, its about 6.7K a month. Most people get by with 55K a year, raising a family. That's 3.7K a month. A mid level IT job is only 80-90K a year, or 5K a month. Some recent arrivals are even happy to get a 20/hour job (35K a year, 2.9K a month). Honestly if u think u r going to get more, u really must have some unique or senior management skills. Melb is not as expensive as KL. Groceries is 1/3 KL price. Parking is free or discounted if u know where. Only ppl with too much money or packaged in their salary pay the full CBD rates. Petrol at the peak of 1.40 is dollar to dollar cheaper than KL. A brand new Corolla is 20K. Rental, u dont be crazy and rent in the CBD or inner city. 20kms from the CBD, u can get for $300 a week for a apartment or smaller 2BR house. Health is covered by Medicare for standard illness and private health care for the rest. Final word, its an extremely attractive package. This post has been edited by shazam7: Oct 10 2016, 08:14 AM |
Oct 10 2016, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 10 2016, 03:00 PM) thanks for the feedback It all depends what yr endgame is. When ppl migrate, they take a huge risk. They forgo their comfort zone, leave their family and friends behind, 24x7 mamak, Pama free babysitting service, Kak Minah basuh seluar dalam etc.i'm earning more than that in Malaysia, similarly with my wife... so moving from 2 income sources to 1 is a real setback for my wife as she's very concerned my salary is enough to support the entire family in Melbourne... cos the overall cost is similar to KL, may be 20-30% cheaper in Melbourne, but that's just based on my observation after spending a few days there my wife can look for a job but she doesn't know what she can do since currently she's a sales manager... yeah, i do have the intention of migrating, 6 months can be a good try for us... worse case we'll just go back if things aren't smooth sailing but we will try our best to avoid that... thanks again for the comments, keep it coming I only know too many who have sacrificed their careers, v v high income jobs to live here. For them the key reasons are work life balance, cleaner and cool air, and education for the kids. Ultimately u hv to weigh the risks and determine whether it is worth it or not. If there seems to be so much doubt and worry, I suggest do not come over. This will potentially put stress on yr marriage and family. As I said I found the living in Mel to be significantly cheaper than KL (with the exception of rent). When I return to KL I am shocked at the price of things, groceries, eating out etc. For example, $50 a week would get me reasonable amt of groceries a week for 1 person and inc. fish, meat and veg. Compare that to RM50 and what that buys u. This post has been edited by shazam7: Oct 10 2016, 12:17 PM |
Oct 10 2016, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 10 2016, 04:54 PM) Let me say this is a VERY good income. Many newcomers would be envious of your daily rate.As I say many frens have struggled months without work, or with $20/hour gigs on a part time basis. Anyway it is the first contract so use it as a stepping stone. Network, gain contacts, move on later. As for the fact that it is a contract, let me say permanent is no better. Esp with the large companies. They can just turn around, make a position redundant like that. The difference between contract and permanent ends up being the redundancy package. |
Oct 10 2016, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 10 2016, 05:09 PM) this is very good info, thanks a bunch bro! i had the thought of requesting them to convert me to permanent after the 6 months, at least i get annual leaves and MCs but i'll see how it goes first, thanks again for the invaluable info! A lot of diff scenarios depending on whether u perm or contractor.by the way... if its not convenient, can PM how in general the permanent package works in Aussie? there isn't very much info on the web... what i know is, 20 days is the common annual leave not sure about MCs, bonuses, increments, medical cards (if any, most probably there isn't since i see a lot are getting their own private family insurance) and stuff like that The most basic is salary + super (EPF). Then further benefits such as health insurance, bonuses etc. One thing is theres rarely a guaranteed bonus in Oz unlike Bolehland. This post has been edited by shazam7: Oct 10 2016, 08:12 PM |
Oct 10 2016, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 10 2016, 05:09 PM) this is very good info, thanks a bunch bro! i had the thought of requesting them to convert me to permanent after the 6 months, at least i get annual leaves and MCs but i'll see how it goes first, thanks again for the invaluable info! sure. u can pm me.by the way... if its not convenient, can PM how in general the permanent package works in Aussie? there isn't very much info on the web... what i know is, 20 days is the common annual leave not sure about MCs, bonuses, increments, medical cards (if any, most probably there isn't since i see a lot are getting their own private family insurance) and stuff like that |
Oct 11 2016, 09:04 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 11 2016, 10:39 AM) not sure if contractors have the benefit of working from home, i forgot to ask Working at home depends very much on your company. Some allow some allow with limited capacity some dont allow at all.yeah... that's what they said, pay is calculated daily, you get paid only if you work, so there are no MCs, annual leaves, etc plus if i go within a month or 2, i'll hit the Christmas and New Year long holiday... guess i cannot calculate too much... its good if they can give you a heads up, but the termination period is shorter in Aussie, my friend's contract is only 2 weeks notice Pay is calculated daily paid weekly (normally). If u go thru payroll company u can change this. Put it this way lor. Contract is marked up 30% normally to pay for leave and holidays. So if u subtract 30% u are still earning 80K a year. The Xmas and New Year holidays depend a lot on whether the company is shutting down. Some enforce shutdown for 1,2,3 weeks. But for 24x7 ops, BAU still applies so leave is limited to 3 days (Xmas, Boxing and New Years) Termination period again depends on contract. Some got 0, some 2 weeks, some 1 month.... Cannot generalise. |
Oct 11 2016, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(DarReNz @ Oct 11 2016, 02:20 PM) Right. The ABN route is not for everyone. Some ppl may find it easier to engage a payroll company, let them do a PAYG.Haven't really worked out the costs/benefits, but I think in terms of paperwork, engaging the accountant etc. the PAYG route seems more straightforward. |
Oct 11 2016, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 11 2016, 01:25 PM) so its better not to expect the same contract rate after converting to permanent right? Contractors always higher by 20-30%. Also do not expect the company will convert u. It makes more sense for them, from a HR and tax perspective, to keep u on as contractors.thanks so much for the info, you seem to know a lot, are you from HR/employment agency? by the way, in Malaysia, some of my contract friends register a company name and have the salary paid to the company for tax deduction purposes, any idea if this practice is common in Aussie? we can continue in PM if this is inappropriate in a public forum I suffer thru a lot mah, that's why I know sikit sikit on this and that lor. I am not from a HR/employment agency, just a lowly IT coolie. The problem with registering yr own company (ABN) route: paperwork - need qualified accountant. Then insurance - need to buy professional indemnity insurance. A few K a year. Third, payment not stable. U only get paid when yr invoice gets paid. |
Oct 11 2016, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 11 2016, 02:29 PM) interesting... i'll gather more info and see if i can ask the recruiter if they do offer PAYG... cos i have this wild thought of my salary going into a company and deduct my rent as expenses then only pay tax... Recruiter can offer PAYG but super basic. And their payroll ppl can be quite dungu. But if I were u I go engage payroll company. They all got more lubang than recruiter. Rent cannot be deducted as expense (u wish leh). Car can. Or if u live in Adelaide, rent a room in Melb, for example, rent in Melb can claim. |
Oct 11 2016, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 11 2016, 02:34 PM) cos if its too much of a hassle, i'd skip the idea of ABN... my wife won't be working, maybe she can take up the accountant role and get paid minimum without getting taxed Just be careful with ABN esp if u want stable income. As I said when u get paid is when yr employer pays yr invoice. If yr employer pays yr invoices in 90 days then u 90 days no income.....consider carefully...anyway, its just a wild thought... it might be impossible or too tedious... With PAYG u guarantee get paid 7,14,21 days...up to u. Of course they take a commission but depends what u want. |
Oct 11 2016, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Oct 11 2016, 02:18 PM) Hi guys, just a quick question here. My passport gonna expire next year so i was thinking of renew in KL this coming Christmas. However, read the news that it might be a problem to get it renewed within days. Melb renewal can be done in a day. Some within 2 hours.The other option is to send to Melb for 2-3 weeks renewal process. Secondly, once i have the renewed passport in malaysia, i still need to have old passport with me to go thru Oz custom...yes no? by that time i definitely won't be able to submit 929 on time. probably will submit in Perth later. U need to inform Immi of yr new passport. They will electronically link yr old passport n new passport so yr RRV is valid. |
Oct 11 2016, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 11 2016, 02:37 PM) payroll company will be another cost and might not be worth it since my pay is not that high Suggest u do more reading and calculations before making that statement.why is it possible to deduct rental on a different city? U also seem to keep thinking yr pay is not high. Trust me it is. Its called travel allowance when u live in one city and work in another. |
Oct 13 2016, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 12 2016, 08:46 PM) I don't think so good for mid 30s. I mean those lucky ones lah, will be working same level as graduate level. Imagine 35 yo fella sitting in cubicle with 23 yo people same level and same pay. True lor, hard to leave when yr career is all set up. Good pay, good benefits, industry and peer recognition.That's why the longer u leave it the harder it is to give up. Frens here who have to bite their tongue and swallow their pride cos in Msia they were at director level. When come here can only find positions few levels below director and watch the director make stoopid decisions. |
Oct 13 2016, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 13 2016, 12:06 PM) I don't mind taking lower positions as long as it can fulfill this few requirements: It will also mean a change in lifestyle.1) enough to pay rent 2) enough to cover the taxes and GST 3) Still have some savings In MY, a high salary come with driver, constant 5 star meals and being waited hand and foot. Some people can tahan lor. Some cannot. Its all about having the right mindset and expectation. |
Oct 13 2016, 09:31 AM
| Change to: | 0.1811sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:02 PM |