7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

shazam7
post Apr 28 2016, 12:43 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 28 2016, 02:00 PM)
if got household income of MYR30k (take home) in malaysia bro? still want to migrate? brows.gif
Depends on your priorities and yr objective in life.

No employer will just give u 30K for nothing.

RM30k/month could mean no work life balance.
RM30k/month could mean non stop karaoke and makan - detrimental to health
RM30k/month could mean no time with wifu or kiddies

Being in Oz
- become poor FINANCIALLY
- become rich in health, family relationships

Which one u want.

shazam7
post Apr 28 2016, 12:45 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Apr 28 2016, 03:44 PM)
Hard to believe I've already worked and stayed here for a year.
Which city r u in? Was it easy for u 2 get a job n settle down?
shazam7
post May 2 2016, 10:40 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ May 2 2016, 01:29 PM)
"if your wife not working, she can get 300 to 500/mth"

Which is this ? FTB ? or is this something else
Wife/partner not working $$ = FTB Part B

shazam7
post May 2 2016, 10:44 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 2 2016, 01:07 PM)
below are the overall:-

electricity = 250 fortnight
gas = 300 fortnight
water = 250 fortnight
car loan = 350 per mth
house = 2000 per mth
food = 150/week
fuel = 100/week (both cars more than enuf)
kids daycare = 350/week
entertainment = 100/week
eating out = 100/week
miscellaneous = 50/week
the rest is savings

hope this helps
Besides the higher than normal elect/gas/water charges, dont forget telco charges.
Internet - $60 pm
Home phone - $30 pm
Mobile - $40 pm
shazam7
post May 2 2016, 12:17 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 2 2016, 02:56 PM)
Thanks for the add up.
Your internet is cheap. I'm paying Telstra for $100/mth with shitty service. Why? coz my suburb don't have NBN, only adsl. Gonna change the telco soon to iinet.
Home phone is $hit. no even touching it for 6 mths dy....sometimes an anonymous calling for survey, telemarketeer with indian or phillipino accents...sorry, not to disrespect to both nationalities but what i'm trying to say the actual event i have so far...
Paying prepaid for $30/mth from optus. hmmm.....reminds me of getting a new phone....s7edge maybe?
Estimate only la. As u know, dependent on suburb and address.
I envy those on NBN and on TPG who can get phone + adsl = $60pm.
Me I pay for crappy ADSL unlimited at $60. But **lucky** to get 600k speed. Thanks Tel$$tra!
Amaysim have good prepaid deals now. Check it out.
s7 edge...worth it??
shazam7
post May 2 2016, 12:19 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Aidan.900 @ May 2 2016, 03:06 PM)
Mobile service is that cheap ? How much storage do they give you ?
By storage, you mean mobile data? Depending on promotion.
eg $30 gives you 3GB on Telstra prepaid, amaysim, Optus etc.
Generally unlimited local calls and SMS as well for some providers.
shazam7
post May 3 2016, 09:03 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(justjoe @ May 3 2016, 02:20 AM)
Should you be given the choice to settle down permanently in Australia or Singapore, which would you choose and why?
Considering the ease of doing business, raising families, cultural similarities, cost and quality of living inclusive of education and healthcare, etc... 
Everyone have their own reasoning, but I'm really interested to hear you take  especially for those who are holding multiple PRs or even citizenships *cough* smile.gif
My 2c worth. Pros and cons.

SG
Pros
u will potentially have a better career, make more $, n be closer to visit family and relatives in MY.
Cons
Kids ultra competitive, NS for the boys, super exxy accomm.,no work life balance.

OZ
Pros
Excellent work life balance, no need to worry abt kids education, safety net in retirement, relatively spacious accomm. n affordable if not picky abt city or suburb.
Cons
Hard to get started in career again, leading to financial stress, diff culture.
shazam7
post May 3 2016, 10:58 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(justjoe @ May 3 2016, 02:20 AM)
Should you be given the choice to settle down permanently in Australia or Singapore, which would you choose and why?
Considering the ease of doing business, raising families, cultural similarities, cost and quality of living inclusive of education and healthcare, etc... 
Everyone have their own reasoning, but I'm really interested to hear you take  especially for those who are holding multiple PRs or even citizenships *cough* smile.gif
My 2c worth. Pros and cons.

SG
Pros
u will potentially have a better career, make more $, n be closer to visit family and relatives in MY.
Cons
Kids ultra competitive, NS for the boys, super exxy accomm.,no work life balance.

OZ
Pros
Excellent work life balance, no need to worry abt kids education, safety net in retirement, relatively spacious accomm. n affordable if not picky abt city or suburb.
Cons
Hard to get started in career again, leading to financial stress, diff culture.
shazam7
post May 4 2016, 09:43 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ May 3 2016, 04:49 PM)
Can share how the tax contribute to our retirement in a nutshell ? Thanks.
Basically there is a safety net.
Medical and aged care services are heavily subsidised.
If your super (EPF) is below a certain threshold, the govt tops it up to ensure that minimal living standards are met.
Basically the Oz government is panicking a bit now, cos the population is aging and there r not enough taxpayers to take over.
Hence they are allowing all the mainlanders to come in and invest n contribute to the tax revenue.
shazam7
post May 5 2016, 07:29 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(ssurrey @ May 4 2016, 03:31 PM)
If you are talking about the super co-contribution … you are only eligible if you are employed/self employed and are contributing into the super yourself as well. The amt is so small that you will not survive. Unemployed are not eligible

source : https://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/super/in...o-contribution/

Aged care is income tested and you would need to have a substantial amt of cash or top hospital cover to live comfortably in aged care residence. The amt the govt contributes is less and less.
I have seen those figures in the public hospital and conditions are pretty bad in the big badly funded public services. You really don't want to be sick and poor. You will only get priority treatment if you are at your death bed.

We can no longer rely on the govt to fund our healthcare and I hope I will never have to set foot in a hospital and die peacefully at home.
Not super co-contribution. I am talking pension.
Yes it is not much, but again, I am saying it is a safety net in the event the super runs out or is not enough to cover basic living expenses.

I realise aged care is income tested and the govt does not have an endless pool of $ to fund it. I mean ppl here are complaining abt 20+% tax alredi, dont think it can be like the Nordic countries where tax is 50+% but aged care/health is taken care of.

I also realise the Oz health system/aged care is not the best, but it is a damn sight better than MY/SG/US.

End of the day its a balance of tax paid vs services provided.

This post has been edited by shazam7: May 5 2016, 07:30 AM
shazam7
post May 5 2016, 11:55 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ May 5 2016, 02:43 PM)
Thanks for sharing here. Let's say in Australia, if I have no money; can I still receive treatment in the hospital ? I know Malaysia doesn't have age care centre that's why the mushrooming of old folks homes. Is age care in Australia mean there are places why the old people go for shelter ? I am not too sure how the system works there.
U can still receive treatment in public hospital if u no $. However there are limited spaces so there is a queue. The more life threatening illness go to top of list.
Private health insurance allows u to jump queue. There is still some out of pocket expenses, maybe a couple of Ks.
If u no $ and old, govt will take care of u. Pensions if u can still live alone. Home care if u need help ie someone will come n help with housework/cooking a few hours a day or week. Aged care home/old folks home if u no longer can take care. If u no $, the govt will cover the costs. Benefits are based on how much $ u have in EPF/super.
Of course this is current system will change as the gov is running out of $ to take care of the growing number of old folk.

shazam7
post May 5 2016, 01:16 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 5 2016, 03:55 PM)
yeap, my wife just had operation last year for the cyst in ovary. had the scanning FOC. however the queue is sometimes took u months to slot u in.
that's why need to check the hospital with less crowded. if u're heading city centre, definitely will took longer. i always go to a little bit futher drive like 40min out of city to do check up.  took me weeks nia.
not too sangkala area like driving hours is not worth it.  tongue.gif
A family member had swelling in her ovaries. Needed surgery. Spent 3 days in private hospital.
Costs:
Hospital - $500 (excess, the balance covered by private health insurance).
Hospital room is like 5* hotel.
Surgeon - $1500

In MY, relative had surgery in university hospital.
Costs - 10K RM
Hospital ward - 6 in a room. Shared toilet had no hot water and no toilet roll.

shazam7
post May 6 2016, 09:19 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 6 2016, 04:32 AM)
Nope. An average employee pays about 28% on their taxes.Here, the tax bracket can go up to 49% for individual. Thats way higher than malaysia, max 24% of your rm100k income. That is just the main tax. Not include the GST from other shopping + 10% more, levy for services.

Malaysia tax still lower.

Big income earner got to offset the tax by using negative gearing, which keep property price high.  laugh.gif
A slight oversimplification. U pay 45% only for every $1 ABOVE $180K (which is not what 'normal' ppl earn anyway).
Also for lower income earners, there are tax rebates for ppl with families, rental assistance etc.

Another way of offsetting tax is to buy an expensive car, tax-free....

This post has been edited by shazam7: May 6 2016, 09:20 AM
shazam7
post May 12 2016, 12:33 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 12 2016, 01:17 PM)
well, it's very much depends on individual. a few real life scenario in my social circle might give u a hint:-

[edit]

So which type of life you're looking at? this is just a scenario and might not be applicable to anyone....just for reference and just for laugh dry.gif
I think a lot of ppl when they initially move over, they will say they do it for the kids, then when kids grow up, retire in MY.
I believe it is not so easy and it can be due to many reasons.
1. adapted to Oz lifestyle
2. commitments in Oz
3. not realising that MY changes quickly and the MY they are going back to is not the same

Of course a lot are tempted by the low currency, the easy availability of food, and the ease of communication.

But not many see the crime, pollution, dirt (litter and in politics), high cost of living etc.

shazam7
post May 16 2016, 08:41 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Wan.Him @ May 16 2016, 02:48 AM)
Just thinking about it since ppl say can make load of money.
I think u need to do a lot more research and reading instead of just listening to certain ppl.

For one, Oz will very unlikely award u a PR for kutip epal.
Ppl who say can earn a lot of money frm kutip epal:
- single and live like a dog in poor quality accom to save money
- do back breaking work in remote locations, exposed to outdoor elements
- earn minimum wage by Oz standards (but may seem a lot cos convert to RM)

Not remotely even enough if u want to live here long term and raise a family.

This post has been edited by shazam7: May 16 2016, 08:42 AM
shazam7
post May 18 2016, 07:22 AM

263 posts

New SOL available now for those intending to start applying for the 189.

https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Work/Work/Sk...tions-lists/SOL
shazam7
post May 19 2016, 08:09 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(shahrilidzwan @ May 18 2016, 08:38 PM)
Sorry not an opportunity to work at all.
More like an opportunity to get a skilled migration visa and get the rights to work.

Like others say, the SOL does not truly indicate job availability at all.
Many new migrants find it xtremely difficult to find a job, despite it being in SOL.
shazam7
post May 19 2016, 02:35 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 19 2016, 05:01 PM)
i started with 65k/annum exclude super, a family of 4, getting centrelink support. hmm, comfortable ok just need to keep an eye on every cent u spend.
my case during that time in perth as below:-

rent (2x1 apartment) - $300/wk
electricity - $150/fortnight
groceries - $150/wk (got salmon/cod, pork, beef, fruits, veges, milk....almost everything. enuf for whole family for a week)
clothing - $100/mth
fuel - $50/wk
phone (2 mobile) - $120/mth
internet - $80/mth
water - none...i dunno why coz no bill and i chase agent, they have no idea too....

income after tax is $1250/wk after tax
Thank God that groceries and clothing is cheap here...
Depends very much on the city. on 70K per year, yr take home is $967 per week (exc. FTB and rental assistance).
In Syd even a 2br apartment in a cheap (ie rough and far from city) area is $400 per week...
Other cities u can get by with cheaper rent.
@Nemesis calc is quite conservative for the rest...fuel, phone, internet, water depends largely on how u use or how u buy.

This post has been edited by shazam7: May 19 2016, 02:36 PM
shazam7
post May 20 2016, 07:41 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(delon85 @ May 19 2016, 09:27 PM)
Whats the medical like when u get sick?
Medicare covers the cost of GPs.
Emergencies and public hospital (with long wait time) is covered.

Private health insurance (to cover non urgent surgery, optical, dental etc) is exxy. Approx $250 pm.

Come to think abt it this was not one of the costs listed above.

shazam7
post May 23 2016, 01:18 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(delon85 @ May 23 2016, 03:26 PM)
After reading Nemesis1980's post, the 400/m insurance looks like an overkill. Maybe alot of unnecessary coverage.
If u select the 'gold' hospitals and extras package, 400 p/month is possible.
The excess for hospital reduces with the different hospital packages. Only you can decide what a comfortable excess is...

Bupa tends to be exxy if u are not in their corporate cover.
NIB, HCF tends to be a bit cheaper.

Good for those lucky ppl who get their health insurance premiums covered by work. Can save a lot.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1910sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:17 AM