Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

limeuu
post May 4 2017, 10:50 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ May 4 2017, 09:34 PM)
I've just lodged my 189 visa last month as an exit plan.

The job market outlook for mechanical engineers aren't looking too healthy at the moment, not only in Australia but all over. Planning to make my move once things start to pick up.

Any mechanical engineers here who's made the move carrying along 5 - 8 years worth of experience? Care to share your job hunt experience?
you are cutting it close...there is a high chance engineers will be removed from the sol in 2 month's time...so pray you get invited for processing quick....
limeuu
post May 5 2017, 12:09 AM

12,290 posts

I think it's for real this time....the job market in Oz is tough, the resources industry is down, and the general mood of the government and people is protectionism....

The recent changes to the 457 visa is the first step...

But if you are already in process, you will be fine, will not be affected by 1 July changes...

There is no need to use migration agents if you are applying for 189/190....
limeuu
post May 5 2017, 11:48 AM

12,290 posts

I appears those working in oz now, and those applying for 189/190 are oz graduates....

wonder if there are people applying who are not graduates of oz...
limeuu
post May 5 2017, 05:52 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 5 2017, 01:27 PM)
I am a pure M'sian grad (never left the country for work or studies before) & I knew heaps of people as such within my social circle although I do admit most PRs are OZ grads though.
I suppose it depends on professions, but you have no problems with getting your non Oz qualification registered?....
limeuu
post May 5 2017, 06:13 PM

12,290 posts

If your profession is not in the sol (mltssl), you will need to try the 190, which uses the consolidated list (stsol), which includes auditors...
limeuu
post May 6 2017, 06:18 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 6 2017, 04:24 PM)
Even the locals struggle to obtain jobs here given the competition from PRs & work visa holders. What more a freshie without a PR. Most resort to long-term unpaid internships & voluntary roles for purpose of networking just in order to secure a job.

I personally find that the likelihood of securing a job here is higher once a person has reasonable years of experience (mid level position) than say a total freshie.
QUOTE(gabuchia @ May 6 2017, 05:03 PM)
I had a course mate who worked 9-5 Mon-Fri for free for a company for 2 months before they hire him.

While working for free, he was working casuals at fast food outlets.

Fast forward 3 years, he says its the best thing he has done - to stand out of the pack and actually get hired.
it's all about australian work experience...having worked in oz, and able to quote an australian reference, helps lots in getting a job...the work place is basically pragmatic in principle (non of the msian race based policies)...you prove you can work and function, particularly in the aussie context, they will take you...

working free is nothing unique...my niece also worked pro bono for a couple of months before the law firm offered her a job....
limeuu
post May 10 2017, 09:05 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ May 9 2017, 02:15 PM)
When will they revise the SOL again? I thought they cut down on the job list last month. U guys mentioning that engineering will be cut down from the list just made me so nervous.

If it's yet to cut down, and we just lodged in application, will it affect?
the sol is revised every 1 july of the year....several professions, including accountants, engineers and doctors are flagged for review, and may be removed....

the recent cancellation of the 457 visa introduced 2 new lists to replace the sol and consolidated sol....mltssl and stsol ( the aussies and their acronyms...) which is now the new list used for 189 and 190 visas as well...

https://www.rmaustralia.com/stsol-mltssc.html (those professions on the mltssl are automatically on the stsol, except 16 professions...more details here: http://www.australianmigrationnetwork.com....7-mltssl-stsol/

the door is closing...
limeuu
post May 12 2017, 01:10 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ May 12 2017, 10:46 AM)
Hmm I saw subclass 476 for engineer graduate still present, yet to be cancelled. If they plan to remove engineering from SOL, wouldn't they cancel off this visa as well?
the change in "sol" lists will only take effect from 1 july....at this point we don't know if engineers will be removed or not...the only visa currently cancelled is the 457...

the 476 is NOT a migration visa...it only allows you to work for up to 18 months in australia...within 2 years of graduating from an engineering course, from an "recognised educational institution"....which in msia means washington accord institutions.

such visas are pretty useless...if you are not eligible for a some other permanent visa, you will have to leave after 18 months....but it is useful for some groups of people, eg Kiwis, people potentially going to marry an oz/pr etc...as a "bridge" to a more permanent arrangement...

This post has been edited by limeuu: May 12 2017, 01:17 PM
limeuu
post May 13 2017, 01:18 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(GAME_ON @ May 12 2017, 06:07 PM)
Guess u got a lot experience about this than me bro, I wouldnt ask if i know right?  smile.gif

Cause after I replied their email, day after that they sent me an employment letter, stating that interview will be held along with the 2 weeks training given. Kinda weird. But anyway, thanks for the help bro. Appreciate it.  smile.gif
so what's the scam here?...
limeuu
post May 13 2017, 12:44 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(GAME_ON @ May 13 2017, 10:54 AM)
1) Received E-mail from them:

2) I replied that E-mail and few days later, they response along with the employment letter & salary shocking.gif  :

i still can't see the scam....yet...

unless it's for the migration agent to milk you of application fees....

there is no such thing as "ministry of internal affairs"....
limeuu
post May 13 2017, 06:24 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(GAME_ON @ May 13 2017, 02:21 PM)

giving employment letter (along with salary) without any interview also no scam ka bro? its kinda weird occasion  confused.gif

a scam always is for the purpose to getting money from you, somehow....so i still don't see where they are going to ask you for money....unless it's that fake migration agent asking you for "application service" fees...
limeuu
post May 13 2017, 06:39 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ May 13 2017, 06:30 PM)
So what is your advice? To continue with his application?  laugh.gif
it would be interesting, no?...lol
limeuu
post May 13 2017, 07:11 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(GAME_ON @ May 13 2017, 07:08 PM)
by leaving my current job and go without knowing what will happen to me?  biggrin.gif
No lah...just pretend you are interested and see how they monetise the scam....lol
limeuu
post May 13 2017, 08:10 PM

12,290 posts

they are asking for a fair bit of personal information, so i suppose it's best not to lead them on....but it would be interesting to find out how they moneytise the scam....
limeuu
post May 14 2017, 06:17 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ May 14 2017, 05:12 PM)
Looking to migrate to Aus (or maybe to NZ)

Gonna sit for the IELTS examination , anyone can recommend me a good agency that can help with the process . So at least I can get some quote and compare which ones are the best

My background you ask , Computer Science and I've done my post-graduate and I am attached to a Telco and working for 4 years with them already

also are the chances based on the state or region that you pick
Hope the experts here shed more light
QUOTE(teikwing @ May 14 2017, 05:23 PM)
IELTS? Go for British Council, we did ours at the one at Wisma SDB.

Agency for migration - we got our quote from Global Migration Solution. Austral @ Subang been recommended to us as well. Eventually we went with the DIY route which saved us 50% in overall costs vs what was quoted. That was 3yrs though.

Not in the IT industry hence unable to advise on chances & states, perhaps the others may be able to shed some light on that.
i would recommend doing the application yourself, if it's the straight forward 189 you are planning to use...you don't need agents...

ielts, both british council and idp conducts them, preparation courses, many places do run familiarisation courses...that's what you need....

it professionals are generally in demand...
limeuu
post May 22 2017, 10:23 PM

12,290 posts

you need the respective professional bodies in oz to agree to register, recognise, or generally agree to accept a qualification as equivalent to an australian one...engineers are the easiest, due to the washington accord...
limeuu
post May 23 2017, 11:59 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 23 2017, 10:34 AM)
Prior to the information i got so far (may applicable to anyone in mas), below are the situation to my friend: -

1. Age 35 - 25pts
2. bachelor degree local uni (assume profession in SOL) - no points BUT can claim 10pts with professional bodies on the equivalent.
3. working experience 8-10years - 15pts
4. state sponsor - 5 pts

total = 55pts

seems this will fall to IELTS requirement of minimum band 7 to claim 10pts in order to eligible for application.
for me, IELTS is really a scam but anyhow, living in someone else country, you just need to coupe... dry.gif
The points system is designed generally to require at least 10 points from language to meet the minimum 60 points...

Why do you say IELTS is a scam?
limeuu
post May 23 2017, 04:16 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 23 2017, 01:44 PM)
well, after i met 'many' exam attandees....from china, malaysia or even UK.

from china, they told me you can pay a 'attendees' to sit for the test for you eventhough u dunno single abc....lol...well, i swear that this is the truth. it depends on how much $$ you wanna pay.
from malaysia, the record i heard so far is 8 times to get band 8. most of time only short by 0.5...
from UK, talk and listening no problem but writing is shit. i've seen their essay before and is totally bull$hit and also can get band 8. malaysian english not that char one but the conversation and listening char nia.
controls are in place to positively identify the candidate nowadays....the exams are ONLY conducted by IDP and British Council, so I would be very surprise if such abuses occur...

i have personal knowledge about the exam in one of the Msian centres, and I can tell you it does not happen at that centre....

as to essay "bullshit", it's a test of language, not content...so bullshits in perfect english will still get a band 8 and above...lol
limeuu
post May 23 2017, 06:30 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 23 2017, 05:06 PM)
not until you meet the irish and scottish....
a grammatically correct irish or scot accent will still score band 8....lol
limeuu
post May 24 2017, 03:00 PM

12,290 posts

note that engineers may be removed from the list, the next cycle (ie, effective 1 july 17)....

and if the processing are done on people with 75 points, and capacity reached easily, then it is unlikely people with 60-65 points can be selected for processing....

therefore, it is imperative to get band 8 and above so you get the full 20 points....

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:56 AM