Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

limeuu
post Apr 23 2017, 11:04 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Apr 23 2017, 10:53 AM)
No, getting visa grant is less of the problem. After visa grant, securing a sustainable life in Australia is where the real problem starts.
No, i wouldn't say getting a visa is less of the problem...Many people find they cannot, for various reasons....

If you have a job, it quite comfortable in Oz...And since most getting in on 189/190 have professions in shortage, getting a job is usually not too difficult....

If you are willing to retrain yourself, skilled blue collar jobs can pay well.... Except most Asians are prejudiced against blue collar work....

In other words, migration usually require a paradigm shift in thinking....You cannot and should not think like you are still in msia/spore
limeuu
post Apr 23 2017, 12:40 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Apr 23 2017, 12:14 PM)
Erm you're sure on it?
Because I saw some flowchat say even visa 190, need to have EOI done first then do state sponsor application.
So even with Visa 190, it still doesn't mean the state provides you a job correct?
It basically means that you are accepted by the state to try and fill in the job vaccuum that they face at the moment, so you will go there and apply the job yourself correct?
you get 5 extra points for state/territory sponsorship....which you need obviously to get, before putting that down in your eoi...

that does NOT mean an legal requirement to live in your sponsoring state/territory....just a moral obligation for 2 years...

https://www.acacia-au.com/SkillSelect-EOI-System.php

i think it is clearly already explained by various people here, that this is independent migration, and is not tied to any jobs...therefore, once you get the visa, you have to make all the arrangements to live and work in oz yourself...but also means you are not tied to any job or employer or region....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 23 2017, 12:43 PM
limeuu
post Apr 23 2017, 06:40 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 23 2017, 06:20 PM)
Getting a visa is lesser of a headache compare to the migration itself... much lesser IMHO...

And it also depends on where and what u work as... gross $90k/annum is comfortable in Brisbane but it's just slightly above borderline in Melbourne... one word, tight...
i know singles living well with 60-70k in melbourne....

like said before, it depends on lifestyle and expectations....and migration requires a paradigm shift in thinking...if you go expecting the same (relative) level of income, and lifestyle, don't migrate...no, there will NOT be 24hr mamak there.... lol

perhaps in a nutshell....the reason why people migrate is for a better life....no dispute there right?...

just that, it's often a better life (hopefully)....for the next generation....

the alpha generation often have to struggle....like our forefathers who migrated here from india/china/indon etc....
limeuu
post Apr 23 2017, 08:21 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Apr 23 2017, 07:53 PM)
Well that's something new (to me at least). How does one go about approaching the state for sponsorship then?
I have no idea....Just quoting the link i provided, and from the fact that you need to state your points on eoi submission, and you will get 5 points extra...
limeuu
post Apr 24 2017, 09:59 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 24 2017, 05:23 AM)
Singles usually have a good yolo life regardless where they are, no? laugh.gif

Then the question is what kind of better life do u see yourself with lower income and maybe a slight downgrade in lifestyle? Disregards the luxury of 24 hours eateries and having maids cos that won't happen
I would summarise it this way....

For the majority of professionals earning a salary, eg engineers, it professionals, accountants, doctors, they will do better there....They will earn more even without conversion of currency...

For high earning people, and that would be those who ventured into own business, successful lawyers and medical specialists, principals in big accounting firms etc....Better stay back lah...

Generally, at least within my circle of friends, and my relatives (half the next generation already migrated), everybody is doing no worse than in Msia.... Without the political shits....
limeuu
post Apr 24 2017, 01:41 PM

12,290 posts

I can give a couple of simple examples​....A 4th year medical officer in Msia is paid gross RM70k pa.... Including all allowances....

The same seniority mo in Oz will be getting aud140k, including all loadings....

An it officer with 6 years experience in a msian bank will get about RM 50k pa....Same job in Oz will be at least 80k....
limeuu
post Apr 24 2017, 05:40 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 24 2017, 02:26 PM)
you are right if you are comparing years of experience vs the wage if you are starting from scratch in your respective countries... 9/10 are migrating, not a company transfer

and 6 years IT programmer in a bank should be earning somewhere at least around RM80k by the way...
I am comparing equivalent experience in the respective countries....

Migrants will take a drop in seniority and pay when they start their first job in Oz.... Because Oz normally discount Msian experience....But should go up the ranks rapidly if they are competent and adapt quickly to Oz work practices and ethics...

Not sure about 80k being standard for it officer after 6 years... Maybe it manager level...

But teikwing is right about equivalent salaries, dollar for ringgit, without conversion...

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 24 2017, 05:42 PM
limeuu
post Apr 24 2017, 05:45 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 24 2017, 12:14 PM)
if that's the case then i'm getting quite a good package in KL laugh.gif

It is a fact, the higher you are, the more difficult it is to migrate... Because it will mean a few steps down in status, rank and expected income...

See my statement above about high income high net worth people....Better stay in Msia...lol
limeuu
post Apr 26 2017, 06:05 PM

12,290 posts

I think there is no need to think too much...it will obviously be better economically.... otherwise there is no reason to migrate....

If not from simple income and expenses point of view, it will be when you take into account education expenses of your children in future....

Msians migrating are economic migrants.... generally....
limeuu
post Apr 27 2017, 11:57 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ Apr 27 2017, 10:20 AM)
Its all about managing expectations
i think that sums it up....

some people have unrealistic expectations, so of course never happy....lol
limeuu
post Apr 28 2017, 02:49 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Apr 28 2017, 12:52 PM)
Well I would love to if there's a job for my industry (banking/finance). Sydney is such a hell hole for salaried-workers like me. A 300m2 home on a 500m2 costs $1.3m, 40 kays from the CBD. cry.gif
300m2 is a huge house....why need so big?....
limeuu
post Apr 28 2017, 03:55 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 28 2017, 03:12 PM)
that's standard Australian units/houses, no?
No...the average size new Aussie houses​ nowadays are 100m2, 150m2 and 200m2, for 2, 3, 4 bedrooms houses/units respectively....

Old properties aside...
limeuu
post Apr 29 2017, 02:41 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 29 2017, 10:41 AM)
The prices haven't picked up for quite a while, of course if its PPOR then it's alright. A lot of my colleagues would prefer to rent in an apartment and buy an investment elsewhere, due to,
1. A lot of businesses moving out from the city, showing that population growth in there will be quite stagnant
2. Tons of new apartments coming up, and sales records shows the turnover is extremely low, approx. 1 unit per apartment per 6 months? (Based on report from Westpac, which is already a few months old now)
3. You don't really own a piece of land, where most of the value is derived from

The above are just my 2 cents but if you see a future in it, by all means please go ahead.
value goes up when something is in short supply. In this case, land....

on the other hand, apartments can be easily added, just build higher....the only time when such properties will go up in value is when the area is max built up or inflation/building cost rise...(and even that is no guarantee, look at spore and their enbloc conversions of inner suburb flats)...therefore, in locations where there are still lots of opportunities for building upwards, ie most of oz city cbds and inner suburbs, expect prices to be stagnant due to abundant supply...

the properties that will go up in value will be landed properties in locations high rise is still not viable....so the middle suburbs (5-15km out)...outer suburbs may also not appreciate much due to supply (more land available the further you go out) and distance issues...

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 29 2017, 10:42 AM)
Perth is still pretty alright with new estates going from 250sqm to 450sqm (or even bigger). I just bought mine at 350sqm, which is around 20km from the CBD.

Unless you are talking about strata (non-green titled) properties, then you are right, they are around 100-200sqm based on what I'm seeing in the vicinity of Perth CBD (approx 10km radius)
i am referring to entry level housing, in the brisbane context, will be the $half million properties...(that price will be different in different cities)....

for that money, you either get a 1 bed room cbd apt (50-70m2), or a 2 bed inner suburb apartment (80-100m2), of a 3 bed small landed house(150m2) in middle suburb , or a 4-5 bedroom landed house(200-250m2) on decent land in outer suburbs (>20km, in sydney/melbourne context, >40km)...

non entry level housing, the sky's the limit....up to your budget....

but then, if one is willing to pay more than entry level prices, one shouldn't complain then, no?....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 29 2017, 02:44 PM
limeuu
post Apr 29 2017, 05:36 PM

12,290 posts

The original aussie standard land size is quarter acre....or 1000m2...few can afford this now, unless you are in far suburbs or in regional location....

Most new lands come at 650m2 or 500m2 as 'big' lots, and smaller lots down to even 200m2...a relative bought a 250m2 lot and build a 155m2 house on it...max build up allowed....and that's having the garage wall right at the fence....
limeuu
post Apr 30 2017, 10:27 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Apr 29 2017, 10:37 PM)
That's the size of living areas (excl. garage & alfresco) + 5 BRs which for a small family of 4 isn't exactly huge these days. Pretty common for Australia's standard these days anyway given the absurb land prices. Back in the days land sizes of 1000m2 were pretty common, down to 700m2 3-4yrs ago, 500m2 in last 2yrs and now developers are releasing 300-350m2 lots which costs $500k! A double storey built on that would need to be zero lot.

Speaking from perspective of Sydney West btw.
Taking the Msian perspective, 300m2 house is 3000sq ft ....

The average double storey link house is 1300sq ft, and semi d 2000sq ft....

So 3000sq ft is big....

While the 200m2-300m2 oz houses were the norm in the past, shrinking land and rising cost mandates smaller built up areas to be affordable.... current laws allow full built up, with the garage side allowed to be built right at the fence and just 1.2m from the fence on the other side.......I suppose that's necessary...the equivalent of the Msian link houses...

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 30 2017, 10:52 AM
limeuu
post May 1 2017, 05:48 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 1 2017, 05:29 PM)
there's a development at my place with build-up area 80m2 and it's 2 storey townhouse. tiny little house with no lawn selling @ $360k. hardly imagine with WA got so many lands, local gomen wanna squeeze everyone into tiny lot. cry.gif
There are lots of land...but there are limited land within convenient commuting distance from city centres.... hence the premium on land cost....

In an inner suburb, you can have a house on the old quarter acre costing 2mil for 4 pax, 2 houses at 1mil each on 500m2 for 8 pax, 4 houses at 500k each on small 250m2 lots for 18pax, 6 townhouses at 400k each for 24pax or 10 apartments at 350k each for 40pax...

You can also still get cheap land and big houses at affordable prices...just go further out...in the Perth setting, say 40km out....maybe alkimos or wellard....

take you pick....the choice is yours...

This post has been edited by limeuu: May 1 2017, 06:40 PM
limeuu
post May 2 2017, 02:43 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(yy92096 @ May 2 2017, 01:29 PM)
Can anyone comfirm this news?

http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/national/329...riple-for-nzers

If Australia PR students have to pay the same amount of tuition fee as international students, is being a PR still as attractive as before?
That news is not verify not details available, but it appears NZ citizens and oz PRs can continue to borrow money for their studies, under hecs-help....

But if they charge PRs full fees, I see many will just become naturalised.... although they increase the eligibility from 1 year to 3 years now....
limeuu
post May 4 2017, 11:25 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(twotwopig @ May 4 2017, 06:29 AM)
Currently, as I am aware, Australia PR is not eligible for HECS-HELP. It is only available for citizen.
prs are eligible for csp places (ie subsidised fees, about 1/3 of full fees), but cannot defer payment of fees as per hecs-help....

this was removed a few years ago, when they realised that many prs are not paying back their deferred payment loan under hecs-help, because they never reach income threshold for payment deductions...because many never work in oz!...after graduation, many return to their own country to work....they are just making use of their pr status for subsidised education....
limeuu
post May 4 2017, 02:53 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ May 4 2017, 02:32 PM)
Under new rule

PR to pay full domestic rates but have access to HECS

Before they pay CSP rates but no access to HECS

Either way better as HECS doesnt discriminate on race , gender or anything
Big difference....

Under the old system, you maybe pay 8k up front in fees a year....for a 4 years programme, total 32k in fees....

In the new system, you defer the bulk of 24k fees, but will end up owing 96k in fees debt....

No question which one I prefer....
limeuu
post May 4 2017, 06:46 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 4 2017, 04:50 PM)
I don't quite get it - under the proposed new ruling, now that PRs are eligible for HECS which is equivalent to a deferred loan (repayment shall kicks in post grad + hits income threshold), the bad & rotten ones can still pack up & head back to home country once grad without repaying no?
as a bone fide pr, there is no question the former system is preferred compared to the newly proposed system....

if a pr is thinking of scamming the system like in the past, i am sure they will put some checks in place...

for those who only work temporary elsewhere and eventually return to oz, it is not that much of an issue, the oz gov will eventually get the money back...

for those who intend to leave permanently after, yes, they may put in some controls like soony suggested...to discourage such people...

in any case, there is as yet inadequate information on how this is going to work out...and a strong possibility the gov may not be able to get this past the senate, maybe even the lower house....

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1709sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:10 AM