Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 02:53 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 02:38 PM)
Based on the correct link

AUS - AUD1954 @ xe.com mid rate RM5744.19
MYS - RM4298.

First I don't think I am trying to skew the arguement I am basically telling what the price on the link. By the way, are you saying 2 inch of viewing screen make a lots of different?

If we were to debate this then I don't think we can finish but since you started it....

let me ask you this question, do you think how many australian can come with AUD1.9k to purchase the laptop?

If we talking about fresh graduate then a RM4.2k gaming laptop will be hard for them to buy, i can't deny it but having say that, there are installment option that allow them to buy if they really want one. do not tell me ohh that is installment, because even in australia u buy an item costing AUD60 u also can zippay or afterpay so no different

There are thing cheaper in Malaysia and they are thing cheaper in Aus but generally if we talk about IT stuff, walk to digital mall and ask the seller how much discount can get
A correction, based on the correct link it's AUD 1.95k vs RM 6.9k for an apple to apple comparison. Can you go convert that instead?

Yes you are skewing it because the price is different based on the screen size. It may not make a difference to you, but that is irrelevant since we are comparing pricing not personal preferences. It's like or King mattress vs Queen mattress, the price of the king is of course higher.

To answer the question, Yes I think many Australians can come up with $1.9k to buy the laptop. I could if I wanted to. But I don't really think it's worth that for a 1060 but that's besides the point already.

What are point are you trying to make with the instalment? Isn't it even easier then for me to buy a laptop in Australia with instalments?

This post has been edited by Rand: Jan 24 2019, 02:53 PM
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 02:59 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 02:42 PM)
You are talking about the distance between australia and NZ. If you were to ask me, why can't they do that if they want to? do you think people go to HK to eat and drink is cheap? you think drinking in HK is cheap?

Yes government hospitals in australia is free but let me tell you, the waiting time is 12 -18 months for ACL reconstruction.
Did I say it was cheap? I know it's expensive, that's why I couldn't do it when I was in Malaysia. Let's compare, KL to Auckland costs something like RM 2.9k return in April. Melbourne to KL costs AUD 283 return in April. Do you think a general worker in Malaysia can afford RM 2.9k to go Auckland every month?

ACL looks to be surgery to replace the ligament. Nothing to do with the broken bone that we were discussing. Fact is that government hospitals are free and Malaysia is not. So in one aspect healthcare is better here.

This post has been edited by Rand: Jan 24 2019, 03:04 PM
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 03:43 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 03:14 PM)
so now you are picking bone in terms of whether is broken bone or acl? just because it is free so it is better?

Just because you can't afford RM2.9 every month doesn't mean no one in malaysia cannot afford. AUD283? get me one ticket with confirmation number inclusive of check in luggage, meal then we discuss otherwise you are basically talking air out of nowhere. AIRASIA also advertised less than AUD100 you can go to KL but the actual facts can you book one?

Yeah because two different procedures entirely with different urgency lol. Haha yes because it's better in one aspect because it's free.

Haha can you afford rm 2.9k a month just for plane tickets? If you can then good for you. That's more than half the median monthlyincome for Malaysians lol. Doesnt take alot of logic to see that it's not affordable for a general worker in Malaysia.

Here you go aud 436 for 2 including luggage. Ok ah?

Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 03:51 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 03:10 PM)
In that case to answer your question I am sure many malaysian can come up with $7k to buy the laptop. If could If wanted too and whether it is worth it for not doesn't matter because I can afford.
Good on ya mate. You're way above the rm 2,160 median income for malaysia that I'm sure would enable many Malaysians to cough up rm 7k for a laptop. Bravo.
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 03:54 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 03:48 PM)
you are showing me a ticket in 2017?

what a good comparison and 2 pax with 1 luggage?
Haha I KNEW you would pick on that. Like you said earlier I think I can do with one luggage leh. Just like you can deal with 2 inches smaller screen.

I kinda feel like I'm going off topic but it's really too much fun to see your replies going off in every tangent.
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 04:02 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 03:48 PM)
you are showing me a ticket in 2017?

what a good comparison and 2 pax with 1 luggage?

In your earlier post you mentioned from Melbourne to KL now become Melbourne to Auckland? If you wanted to compare flight distance of 3 hrs then from KL can go a lots of places, KL-Bangkok less than RM300, KL - Cambodia - 3 hrs RM300, KL to HK, GZ 4 hrs - RM400-600.
By the way to answer your question, whether I can afford the plane tickets every months, yes I can. what kind of general worker are you referring? against same question i can question, can the average median australian go to auckland everymonth?
Whoops you got me there. I meant melbourne to Auckland. Typo on the train Lol. Melbourne to kl is of course much more expensive around aud 600 to 800 with mas.

Yeah for sure kl csn fly everywhere cheaply. That is one of the true downsides of Australia. Everything is so far away. But I can go New Zealand for 200+ aud! Can you do that from malaysia? I think not! And yes median monthly income for australia is like aud 2.9k after tax, part timers and super. So I'd say that a 200 dollar flight ticket is very affordable.

This post has been edited by Rand: Jan 24 2019, 04:02 PM
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 04:04 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 03:59 PM)
RM2,160? are you sure?

care to show where did you get the figures?
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-7-7pc-in-2017/

Here ya go.
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 04:05 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Jan 24 2019, 04:02 PM)
You guys are going still on about it? Work is over, time to go have a beer (or for people like me who can't drink alcohol, some tea maybe) and forget about all this. It's pointless to keep going, as the only trend I see devolves the discussion into a pissing match.

When one party is so set on their opinion and another just tries to change that it's a waste of time.
But I'm stuck on the train now and it's boring. How hot is it in sydney btw? 42 here in melb right now. Australian open must be real fun right now
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 04:07 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 24 2019, 04:05 PM)
Poor you.... fresh grad has to work as bank teller earning minimum wage 30+k.....

Every other grads are getting 50+k.....
If you can find full time work that is.. let's not sugar coat it.
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 04:13 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 04:06 PM)
In your earlier post you mentioned RM2,160 median income for malaysia then now you mentioned median monthly income in Aus is like AUD2.9K so which is which?

so Aus median income is AUD2.9K? how much is monthly rental or house installment per month in australia?

Can Aus fly to Bangkok everymonth? the same question like you ask, can Malaysia fly to NZ every month
One is malaysia and one is australia. Comprehension problems much?

And bam back to the property argument. How much is the hous e instalment per month in malaysia?

Because u mention malaysia to all the countries near you ma. So I use NZ as a comparison. According to skyscanner it's like 600 aud using jetstar though. Still cheaper than Malaysia to nz lllol
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 04:14 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 04:09 PM)
Lol household income vs employees la bro. And still below rm 7k anyway.
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 04:16 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 24 2019, 04:13 PM)
The point is, if you do find work, that's what starters are getting....not the minimum wage number as alleged....

As to getting jobs, it depends on what your profession is....and if you choose the right one, there is no problems getting them....no different from situations elsewhere.... including msia....
That's true. I've been influenced by the naysayers in the media too much. I seem to recall news about the unemployed grads in Malaysia as well. Same same I guess.

In any case. It appears that all of us here are holding full time positions though.
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 04:19 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Jan 24 2019, 04:11 PM)
Far out... I might have to head to Shepparton for work next month and hearing it's 46'c at 10am really fills me with dread.

Thankfully it's rough 26-28'c around where I am (Chester Hill). While I do miss the tropical weather too, the humidity is equally as energy sapping now. I hear it's much nicer closer to the coast.
I'm sorta adapting to Aus and going back to any humid countries just makes me sweat extra now. I tend to sweat a lot and the dry weather here is such a boon that I don't stink up.
I've never felt any heat over 45.. so good luck to you and let us know how it goes. If it's for office work that should be ok as you'll be shuttling from air conditioning to air conditioning. Hopefully.

I agree. The heat and humidity especially in malaysia is so draining. Its 42 here now but I'm not sweating particularly much.

I didnt have air conditioning the first year I was here and it was torture. I bought a kogan portable one for the next year and it was manageable. Have a split system one now though so it's all good. I guess I'm still young but the cold bothers me less than the heat as it doesnt get into my bones. You can always layer on more clothes to keep warm but theres a limit to what you can take off.

This post has been edited by Rand: Jan 24 2019, 04:22 PM
Rand
post Jan 25 2019, 08:11 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Jan 25 2019, 06:25 AM)

Damn right, couldn't agree more. I think the only real reason they'd move if its either that they have a better option - maybe a job offer in a diff country with better standard of living or family. I met with a lady who said her husband worked so much (in SG) the kids didn't recognise him so they ended up moving to Aus for work life balance.

If the household income is at RM10k, one would already be in the Top 20% (the T20, M40, B40 categories) in Malaysia. Granted the gap between the top and bottom of the rank for T20 can be a huge disparity, it's pretty much enough to live comfortably as long as one handles finances properly. If I was in that category I doubt I would have left Msia unless there was an attractive offer.
I think Kenji was talking about an individual making RM 10k and above which would indeed be quite comfortable in Malaysia. Household income with 2 such individuals would easily be over RM 20k. With such an income level, there is a certain standard of living that one would be accustomed to which is not easily achievable in Australia.

I was in the process of writing a whole lot of stuff about the cost of living in both countries but decided against it. No point stirring up that discussion again.

My household income in Malaysia was above RM 10k but I found myself pressed for cash sometimes. Coming here definitely increased my quality of life. My gross income is higher than what I got in Malaysia (without converting) and my net income is similar. The hours I work here are so much better and I have so much more free time.

That being said, as Kenji mentioned, it really depends on your expectations in life before migrating. In most cases, if you were a high flyer in Malaysia you'll be taking a pay cut, a lower position and maybe the hardest of all, a hit to your ego.

It's harder to live luxuriously in Australia but it's easier to live comfortably.

Rand
post Feb 5 2019, 05:19 AM

319 posts

Happy cny! Atmosphere in Melbourne's Chinatown was quite festive last night. Lots of people having reunion dinners. Firecrackers, lion dances and performances all over the place. Almost felt like malaysia except for all the Australians trailing after the lion dance and filming with their phones.
Rand
post Feb 8 2019, 01:53 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Feb 8 2019, 08:08 AM)
Kudos to the Msian healthcare industry! Pretty weird that it can beat the countries the doctors trained in. Many of the previous top contenders for top healthcare countries were also not on the list. Not sure if the judging criteria puts them in different categories.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...hcare-category/

https://thecostaricanews.com/top-6-countrie...the-world-2019/
This ranking appears to have been created for the use of US expats who are looking for a place to retire. I mention US because I googled this ranking and was brought to the Australian website where Malaysia was number 2 (Still impressive but confusing).

It's not necessarily the quality of the doctors that are better compared to the the countries where they trained, but a combination of affordability (using USD), quality (they mention private hospitals as being closer to world standard than public), and ease of communication. All of this from the specific viewpoint of an expat looking to retire.

This isn't to say that Malaysia doesn't have a good healthcare system. I think we're up there as far as healthcare systems go, but I would be more impressed if we were the best healthcare system in the world at taking care of our own citizens. Have a google and see if Malaysia shows up in any ranking you find.

This post has been edited by Rand: Feb 8 2019, 01:54 PM
Rand
post May 9 2019, 12:34 PM

319 posts

I think they are trying to set a preference.

Can see from the below that they would prefer someone with a skilled spouse first, then those without spouse and so on.

Previously, a person without a spouse or partner would get 0 points, so I gues they've equalised it now.

First: applicants with a skilled spouse or de facto partner.
Equal First: applicants without a spouse or de facto partner.
Second: applicants with a spouse or de facto partner who demonstrates Competent English but who does not have the skills to obtain skilled partner points.
Third: Applicants with a spouse or de facto partner who is ineligible for either competent English or Skilled partner points.
References:
Rand
post May 23 2019, 12:29 PM

319 posts

That 5% thing means that you're effectively taking a 95% loan right?

Rand
post May 23 2019, 05:28 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 23 2019, 02:27 PM)
Guys,.. it's 15%, not 5% ! Aus Gov't guarantee,....
They guarantee 15%, but they don't pay it for you. Essentially this only helps you avoid LMI, and you're still loaning 95%.

Rand
post Jun 26 2019, 11:42 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Jun 24 2019, 09:41 PM)
189 is your best option since it can use to work anywhere in Aussie. I am on a 190. only for SA
Just want to say that the requirement to only work and stay in the sponsoring state is only a moral obligation. I don't want to encourage anyone to break the obligation but just sharing my own experience on a 190 visa sponsored by NSW and never having worked or stayed in NSW.

Been 3 years so far, no issues. People say there may be issues with citizenship later but we'll see.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1796sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:45 AM