Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

Rand
post Oct 2 2017, 01:00 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Game-R @ Sep 28 2017, 10:26 AM)
Firstly, congrats! You're starting your journey out of this s***hole.

Second, no. The 190 state sponsored visa doesn't need you to have a job before hand. It is not an employer sponsored visa.
Do not make any fixed plans yet. Not even a flight. You're only at the invitation stage and there is still more to do.
The invitation is only to allow you to apply, but the approval process is subject to many other factors: Number of case officers available to look at your case, delays if any red flags (background, history, job, etc.) need more checks and verification by the DIBP, in the midst of a immigration policy change, etc. There are claims of invitees waiting for about a month for just a case officer available to look at their case.
I'm not sure about your job market, but almost all my job applications were rejected because they needed me to fly in for a face to face interview within a month or even a week of applying. You may take longer than that to get from invitation to approval.

Third, as for the moral obligation to fulfill the sponsorship: You need to spend the first two years working and living in the state that sponsored your visa.
Though general consensus that I've seen around is that this isn't mandatory or strictly enforced.
Heck, even my agent was telling me not to bother and just go anywhere I like in Australia.

BUT, when your visa expires and you wish to apply for a citizenship, depending on how p*ssy the officer who is taking your case, they can point at you not fulfilling the conditions of the sponsored visa as a justified case not to grant you citizenship!
This has happened before. A British couple was denied citizenship just because the suburb they were staying in was a few hundred meters outside the state boundaries, despite them working in the state that sponsored their visa!
Just noting that some states require you to have a job before nominating you. I know from experience that WA needed proof of a job before they would nominate me. NSW however, does not require this.
Rand
post Oct 2 2017, 01:46 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Oct 2 2017, 01:01 PM)
Thats for 189 isnt it?
I doubt it, there are no job requirements for 189, and WA definitely has no say in a 189 visa application.
Rand
post Oct 24 2017, 02:51 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(famusanus @ Oct 24 2017, 10:53 AM)
Why now so hard to apply visa to Australia? Planning to visit my sis(PR) there but Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) rejected my visa.

Heard my friend sayin lots of yougnster jump plane there, tats why very strict now...
Strange, never heard of an ETA being rejected. Did you perhaps fill in something incorrectly?
Rand
post Oct 25 2017, 10:42 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(famusanus @ Oct 24 2017, 03:03 PM)
I dont know, now need to submit the following:

1.            A bank statement showing at least the previous two months transactions.  Please include all bank accounts that you hold.
2.            An itinerary of your proposed stay in Australia.  Please include any pre-booked (if any) flight, hotel and any other bookings that you have made.
3.            A short statement outlining your plans in Australia.  Please include whether the trip is for tourism or business visitor activities.  Also include any other people who will be accompanying you on the trip.  Please include their full name and date of birth.
4.            A list of any family and friends that you have in Australia.  Please include their full name, date of birth and visa status (if known)
5.            A list of your immediate family members, indicating which of these family members will be travelling with you.
6.            Evidence of your employment, this should be:
                a.            A statement from your employer that indicates your annual salary and that  you have            approved leave for your travel to Australia, or
                b.            If you are self-employed, business registration documents and financial records for the business (such as bank statements)
Have you stayed in Australia for a couple of months before or something?

Something must have triggered them.
Rand
post Oct 31 2017, 09:20 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 31 2017, 06:22 AM)
i specifically mentioned Melbourne and Sydney la bro laugh.gif
Share a room in a flat... $100/w maybe?

Working 8 hour shifts 5 days a week at your typical under table $10 aud per hour restaurant will net you around $400 bucks a week, $560 if 7 days of work.. Might get lucky and get a min wage job but without proper working rights that is a long shot.

Some meals provided by restaurant and $300 to spend each week on bills and stuff.

It's doable.... but not gonna get rich of course.

Rand
post Nov 3 2017, 06:51 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 2 2017, 12:12 PM)
Aiyoh...those who want to migrate or have migrated are concern with politics (hence bad future outlook of Malaysia) and education of their kids. Future generation being westernized is less of a concern. You chose to live and bring up your family in a western world, but worry about their eastern value ? You cant get the best of both world lah

Anyway, If you still want your chiildren to practice selective Asians values, parents should teach them from young age. But if you don’t pass down your family value to them since young age, even you are in Malaysia, they will lose the family value also. If you are close to your kids, and spend a lot of time bringing them up, they will still be influenced by you. So the responsibility goes back to the parents. Don’t blame school teachers friends environment government like most Malaysian... Everybody is wrong but yourself...typical malaysian biggrin.gif

Best is you don’t expect kids to take care of you at old age. Plan for yourself. If they want to take care of you when you are old, then that is a bonus. From the point of view of your kids, aging parents and bedridden, it is such a burden. They have to sacrifice a lot if we take our own sweet time to die. If you love your kids, don’t burden them. Plan for yourself.
Just wanna say I agree with this:

Asian and western values are not mutually exclusive, you can be confident and still be close knit as a family. I have cousins who migrated when they were 4 or 5 and are now almost full blown ABC complete with the accent and confidence. Yet they are extremely close to their parents, more so than myself perhaps.

Not going back home during festivals? I've always felt like that was more of a cultural thing anyway. What does it matter if I still go back every year during less busy periods like Christmas? Go back during CNY need to give ang pow to everyone, gosh.

Rand
post Nov 24 2017, 10:00 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Nov 24 2017, 08:47 AM)
After receiving invite for 189, what are the chances they will reject your application?
If you have everything that you said you had in the EOI, you'll be fine.
Rand
post Jan 19 2018, 01:30 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Jan 19 2018, 09:12 AM)
Where to certify documents in Malaysia? I asked the magistrate court, certify one document rm10. Means if certify 10, would cost rm100 @.@
I got a lawyer friend to stamp as certified and sign it.

No issues noted.
Rand
post Jan 29 2018, 09:20 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(timo1003 @ Jan 28 2018, 04:32 PM)
Thanks. Sorry, saw the emoji, you're being serious right? If you don't mind me asking, when did you engage them? And which subclass visa did they apply for you?

So far i see GMS has some positive feedbacks. Any comments on that? Cause like many, I'm worried about agents over-promising things when in reality they're not probably going to succeed. I don't mind paying for their services but not at the expense of possible misrepresentation.
If yours is a relatively straightforward 189 or 190, do it yourself. Cheaper and easier for you to directly follow up on updates.
Rand
post Feb 1 2018, 11:40 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 31 2018, 03:37 PM)
Didn't know Kenji got 6 months contract in Oz?....no wonder was posting at very early mornings Msia time....lol
I heard it was full time already. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Rand: Feb 1 2018, 11:40 AM
Rand
post Feb 2 2018, 09:06 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(anonym2 @ Feb 1 2018, 11:57 PM)
I guess it is best to have it all within the 30 days from acceptance, however, would you know if they accept certificate of good conduct which was obtained 6 months before EOI acceptance?
Yea, I've done my english test already, just pending my skills assessment now before lodging the EOI. Question is, should I get the certificate of good conduct concurrently and have it ahead of time.

Would appreciate advice from anyone who has gone through this before.
My certificate of good conduct was obtained in June/July while my invitation was in October or so. I had applied for the cert since May or so.
Rand
post Feb 7 2018, 12:59 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(anonym2 @ Feb 2 2018, 03:46 PM)
Wow, that's fast, did you go through an agent or on your own? And if you don't mind, which profession did you apply under? Your points must be really high.
Oh I applied in 2015 so it was some time ago. Things were easier back then in the points department.

Did it myself and under accounting.

This post has been edited by Rand: Feb 7 2018, 01:19 PM
Rand
post Feb 26 2018, 07:59 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(reichieru @ Feb 25 2018, 11:12 PM)
Hi all. My husband is going to apply for visa soon and I have a few questions and hope some Good Samaritans will help me out:
1. What does the agents do besides reminding you of your checklist? Are they like runners as well?

2. Would you guys advice to do this on our own or engage an agent? Can also share your cost?

3. Will agents make the process faster? Or sure to get the visa? My husband got a score of 70.

4. If my husband include me in the point score, do I have to take ielts too?

5. Anyone applied on their own and don’t mind to share your experience with me?

I’ve been reading from many websites and the more I read, the more confusing I get 😅. So just want to make sure and learn from your experience too. Thanks! 😆
1. I didn't use an agent so I can't rightly comment on this. I have heard that they submit stuff for you on the website, but it's not hard to do yourself.

2. If yours is a straightforward visa application then just do it yourself. Just need to pay the visa fee.

3. Whether you submit yourself or your agent submits it for you, it goes through the same system so I'm doubtful that it will be faster.

4. I did not include my wife in the score but she applied for PR under me. She had to take IELTS to prove her english (although it was something like IELTS 4.5 requirement). If your husband includes you in the score it's probably the 5 points for the partner's profession? If that's the case I expect that you will need to go through the profession assessment thing as well and prove competent English by taking IELTS/PTE.

5. It's not that hard to apply alone, get your documents ready and submit your EOI. In my case I got the police checks (M'sia and Australia) done before submitting. After you are invited go and do the medical. Upload your documents on the website and they will act on it in due time. I found the instructions in the invitation email quite clear and easy to follow, it shouldn't be a problem.

Agents are useful when you have a tricky visa application (i.e profession not on the list or something) and you need advice.
Rand
post Feb 27 2018, 07:57 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(H2o@lowyat @ Feb 26 2018, 08:18 PM)
Hi Rand,
Do you mind sharing what Visa Type did you apply ya? After reading your post, im tempted to do DIY my visa w/o going through agents. .  icon_idea.gif
I submitted my EOI for both 189 and 190. Ended up getting the 190.

If you can identify how many points you have in the EOI and whether your occupation is in the list of eligible skilled occupations then you can pretty much do the rest yourself.

Rand
post Feb 27 2018, 12:28 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(H2o@lowyat @ Feb 27 2018, 11:50 AM)
Nice! i didnt know you can apply both 189 and 190 at the same time. 

When did you  submitted your EOI and obtained your Visa Invitation ya?
Well you can't apply for them at the same time but IIRC when you submit your EOI you can just tick a box that indicates your interest in being nominated by a state. The state will then contact you if you're selected for nomination.

Hmm I think I submitted my EOI around early October, got contacted by NSW in late October. After giving them some docs they approved my nomination in late November and I got an invitation to apply for the visa on that same day.

Eventually I had to wait until April for my Visa grant though.
Rand
post Feb 27 2018, 12:55 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(H2o@lowyat @ Feb 27 2018, 12:44 PM)
That's pretty quick when you submit Oct and got contact in late Oct.  rclxms.gif
Would you consider checking the box to indicate your interest for state nomination sort of cover the visa 190 part?
Tbh I wasn't aiming for state nomination but I checked that box just in case. A few weeks later they contacted me.

How soon they contact you (for 189) depends on 2 things:

1. Your EOI date of effect
2. Your points.

Say you have 80 points you will be invited before a 75 pointer who submitted their EOI before you. This may be as little as 1 day depending on the date of the next invitation round.

Conversely, if you have only 60 points and are applying for one of the pro rated occupations; you might never be invited as there will be many 65-75 pointers who submit their EOIs each month.

In certain occupations, people are going all out to boost their points as much as possible. Professional year - 5 points, NAATI - 5 points, Superior English - 20 points, Partner - 5 points. The competition is fierce.
Rand
post Oct 11 2018, 12:23 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Oct 10 2018, 08:07 AM)
East malaysian yeah grew up without big city life, sometimes still prefer places less city-like.  rclxms.gif
The "boring" city of Melbourne is a lot more happening than my hometown in East Malaysia.

I'm not sure I want to go back to KL's congestion, sometimes I feel like I cannot breathe when I go to Mid valley.

Rand
post Oct 12 2018, 01:57 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Oct 11 2018, 04:29 PM)
Where is your hometown btw? I agree with you. Once experiencing work life in east Malaysia, I tried going to Singapore work, but also can't stand the cramped feeling and bustling life there, turned back home in the end
I am from Kuching but I've spent a few years in KL as well. Singapore is even worse then KL from what I've heard. Another thing that gets me is the constant traffic jams in KL. I feel so tired thinking about it.
Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 01:58 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 01:25 PM)
From the link you provided, I can see the Dell in Aus costing AUD1.7k which translate into RM5.1K while Dell in Malaysia costing RM4.2K albeit smaller screen so like i said I am not familiar with gaming pc but I think Malaysia is cheaper and I can do away with 2 inch smaller on the screen.

I am mentioning those asian migrants whic had exact/precise work experience. I am not sure whether you can give me any examples or not but if you were to google a diversity report conducted in Aus, it did mentioned less than 2% of top executive in Australia only for asian.

Well...I would like to correct you on that part that India/China taking up the exact same role in Malaysian Company, do you know there are plenty of company such as Stan Chart and other MNC does employ India to be the CEO in Malaysia.

I am not sure what you mean by one size debate? you put out your point and I put out my argument and do you expect everyone must agree with your point? If in this case may be write a blog better because no one can comment.
Just regarding the laptop comparison, even if we disregard how you tried to skew the argument by comparing laptops of different screen sizes (an important factor in the pricing of laptops); do you really think that it's easier for a Malaysian to come up with RM 4.2k compared to $1.7k for an Australian?

Seriously though Kagenn, what type of comparison is that? It looks like it's different models also.

Rand
post Jan 24 2019, 02:34 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Jan 24 2019, 11:04 AM)
I am using Melbourne to compare with KV so are you saying Melbourne is not a city?

I am not sure what kind of category jobs you referring to, but if you were to ask me, i would said construction worker and lollipop man/woman are getting 6 figures in AUD in Australia, that is because they add up their overtime, meal allowance, hardship allowance, clothing allowance and etc. but generally if you referring to white collar job then not necessary australia is higher.

Let me give you an example, a group of friends work in Malaysia ranging from finance, accountant, lawyer and etc. They gather once a month to either China, Hong Kong, Bangkok, Cambodia, Vietnam and others for food and drinking. I am not sure a general employee in australia can afford to do that?

You are talking about medicare which is government service, if in this case, Malaysia government has malaysia clinic and hospital as well. You go to Government clinic in Malaysia it cost you RM1 for consultation plus medicine. My friend went to government hospital in Serdang for angiogram, it cost less than RM1k

How about in Australia? Let said a couple private medical insurance cost AUD250 a month without extra. If you broke a leg, you go to private medical, you have to ensure that you have extra cash/credit card minimum AUD3k for the whole operation because there are out of pocket expenses. The whole process might take a month before you are fix.

I broke my arm in Malaysia on tuesday night, I went to private hospital in Malaysia on Wednesday morning and the specialist told me you need to be operated to fix back the bone. Admission is now and prep for surgery for tomorrow. I had my operation on the next day (thursday) and by saturday I am discharge and doing physio to rehab the arm.
How did your friends manage to do that? Each month? That's quite amazing. I definitely couldn't do that while working in Malaysia and I'm one of those professions you mentioned. If you're asking whether I can go to those countries you mentioned monthly, I'll have to say no as it takes too long to get there. But I can definitely go to New Zealand monthly to drink and eat if I wanted to. Can someone who works in Malaysia do that?

Pretty sure public hospitals here are free including Angiograms; if you are a public patient of course. We are comparing Public hospitals right? Consultations here are also free, but you'll need to pay for medicine which sucks sometimes.

Why are you talking about private? Since you mentioned government hospitals, if you break a leg and go to the public hospital here.. guess what? It's free!. I don't know about the waiting times though.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1985sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:53 PM