Absolutely no pork products allowed at all now due to the swine fever.
Except for pork floss apparently.
Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia
Jan 15 2020, 12:57 PM
319 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kuching |
Absolutely no pork products allowed at all now due to the swine fever.
Except for pork floss apparently. |
Mar 5 2020, 05:56 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 4 2020, 10:48 PM) That's fully gov lah, but under ministry of education, not health....they operate as corporate entities, so charge a higher fee but less than private....it's still mostly funded by gov, as income is still below expenditure....but from MoE budget .... Interesting, is this what the UM hospital is as well? I've always been told they were semi government hospitals. |
Mar 17 2020, 07:03 AM
I've been buying a little bit extra of long life and frozen goods every week for a few weeks now so I'm fairly well stocked up if I do have to self isolate. I fully intend to continue shopping as usual for groceries each week though. I find that fresh produce is generally still available.
Toilet paper is a problem though. Starting to run a little low. |
Mar 17 2020, 07:31 AM
QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 17 2020, 07:18 AM) I think you can still buy it on Amazon/e-bay if required, but probably not your usual favourites. I've seen sales on toilet paper on and off, but at the moment you can expect full price or slightly higher. Beats not having any toilet paper. I grew up using toilet paper for most tissue usage so I rarely even use any other forms - which is why I like stocking up on it. My favourite toilet paper is typically the cheapest toilet paper I can find. I've worked out that the Aldi ones are pretty good value for money. I am honestly surprised that the craze hasn't died down yet. I'm considering installing the spray and hopefully not mess it up with my sub-par DIY skils. I hear bidet sales are through the roof as well haha. |
Mar 17 2020, 07:33 AM
Mar 17 2020, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 17 2020, 07:40 AM) I'd do morning shopping but with work 45 mins drive away I can't do it. I'll check out woolies tonight and buy anything we require that's left over and maybe visit again tomorrow early morning. There's a dedicated timing to older folk from 7-8am. I like me a good rare Kangaroo steak but the price puts me off. I think it was $20 per kg? Not sure if this applies to all woolies or specific ones only. Wife once cooked kangaroo with ginger and sauce chinese style. It turned out tasting like fish but with the texture of beef. Do avoid unless that suits one's taste. Medium-well done kangaroo meat was pretty tasty though. But hey, protein is protein I guess. I think all major supermarkets have implemented the specific slot for the elderly. Are you still required to drive to work or can you work from home now? |
Mar 17 2020, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 17 2020, 08:06 AM) I can work from home now *Yay*. My work is 100% computer based anyway, i can be very mobile and can even work from Msia if I had to - but if there are any training on site or meetings I'll still come into office. Honestly don't really mind the drive, it's just the traffic and traffic lights which I disdain - without either I can reach office in 25-30 mins. Try your local IGA or foodworks. I was able to score a 5kg pack of jasmine rice from Foodworks.Happy to go in right after the elderly shopping hours, though I can imagine people starting work about the same time as their shopping hours rather defeats that purpose. As long as there's pork/beef/lamb/chicken I'm good go - I can only eat fresh fish and they're too expensive for my liking. Are the asian groveries encountering the same shortage? The ones I usually go to seemed to be stocking up goods as per usual anyway + they don't sell toilet paper. This post has been edited by Rand: Mar 17 2020, 11:21 AM |
Mar 19 2020, 05:25 AM
Mar 25 2020, 06:55 AM
Apr 27 2020, 02:19 PM
We've done pretty well all things considered.
Can't wait to go out for a good dinner. |
May 7 2020, 01:04 PM
I have my Aus number registered with Standard Chartered for the TAC. No never had any issues with this.
May 7 2020, 02:28 PM
May 7 2020, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ May 7 2020, 02:39 PM) Okay,... actually, it's not a problem to receive SMS'es from Msian banks while in Australia,... no issue with this. I had to call them to do it, but they happily updated my Australian number into their system as the receiving number for the TAC.What I was keen to find out earlier was if it was possible to enter Australia phone numbers into Msian banks systems as receiving phones for the Msian TACs. The experience I had was receiving TACs from CIMB SG when I wanted to do transactions inside my CIMB SG account while being physically in KL. |
May 7 2020, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ May 7 2020, 02:55 PM) Ahh,... this is news,... tq. So, if you just log-in to their system via internet, you can't update your +61 number into the website, right ? You have to call them to input at their end for you. I cannot quite remember as I got this done almost 5 years ago. I must have tried to input my aussie number into the website and failed before calling.But if you are to input a Msian number into the website, then it would be normal and can be done without calling them. From then on I've always just called them first to get anything I need done. Bear in mind that my experience is only for Standard Chartered Malaysia and HSBC, I don't know if the other banks allow this. |
May 21 2020, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(merchant9 @ May 20 2020, 08:50 PM) We are considering to migrate to OZ via a migration agency but there is a mixed review of the few migration agencies in Malaysia. Global Migration Solutions, Rayford, Austral Migration, etc. If you are planning to obtain a 190 or 189 visa which is relatively straightforward, I recommend doing it yourself.Anyone successfully obtained any PR/Visa in the recent years of 2018/19/20 from these agencies because I heard the price is about RM30-40k now. If can recommend your agent, that is highly appreciated. Thank you. The agent isn't going to do it any better than yourself. |
May 24 2020, 01:24 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(merchant9 @ May 24 2020, 11:44 AM) Hi, can you share some insight to how temporary visa like 491 work? I only know its provisional for 5 years and I thought it auto convert to permanent visa after fulfilling 3 out of 5 years. I don't think there are any of us here on a 491, it's a fairly recent thing. I may be wrong though.However, based on what you written, I guess my assumption is wrong. Did you mean that after we complete 491, we need to apply for 189/190 subjected to approval to be granted permanent visa? We are late 30s so I don't think subsequent 189/190 will work in our favour. Appreciate if you can share your experience and knowledge. Thank you. 🙏 After 3 years of fulfilling the conditions of 491 you will need to apply for Visa 191 which is a permanent visa. This visa will only commence on Nov 2022, so we don't know if it will change. The only details so far are: QUOTE You must: hold an eligible visa have lived for at least 3 years and have a taxable income at or above a specific income threshold for at least three years both primary and secondary applicants have complied with the conditions of the eligible visa you hold or have held I suggest you google Visa 191 and Visa 491 and read up on them. If your migration agent is leading you to believe that this is a definite pathway to a PR without all these other requirements... I would be wary that they are just trying to take your money. This post has been edited by Rand: May 24 2020, 01:28 PM |
May 24 2020, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(merchant9 @ May 23 2020, 11:03 PM) Wow, you must be very well to do to be a director back home and freelance in OZ. Do you mind telling how much is the tax at that time? Or in percentages? At a glance, under visa 491 (a temporary visa); you will not be an australian resident for tax purposes.Therefore your tax rates will be: ![]() |
May 24 2020, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ May 24 2020, 02:34 PM) Tax residency is different from immigration residency.... Ah yes, my mistake.As long as you are in Australia for 183 days or more per tax year you are a tax resident... irrespective of visa used to enter.... so a 491 visa holder will normally be tax resident on entry on the visa....even if you visit as tourist many times staying more than 183 days, staying at the same address, you are a tax resident.... Although as tax resident, your Oz income is taxed lower, all your worldwide income is also subject to Oz tax..... |
Aug 6 2020, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(LengluihunteR @ Aug 6 2020, 10:50 AM) Guys, I would also like to add ontop that visa 190 holders only have a moral obligation to the state and not a legal one so technically they cannot revoke your visa even if you don't abide to it. I have a 190 visa from NSW but went straight to VIC instead. It's been over 4 years and no issues thus far. Not even a peep from the authorities whoever they may be. Although, current events have me questioning my choice of location somewhat... This post has been edited by Rand: Aug 6 2020, 01:52 PM |
Aug 7 2020, 06:41 AM
QUOTE(LengluihunteR @ Aug 6 2020, 06:44 PM) Yeah bro, sounds about right. I highly doubt they'd keep track lol unless it involves money.. - I guess the main question now is whether they'd question you or when/ if you apply for citizenship cos you'll have to list out your addresses for the past 10 years or something like that. That's typically the issue that people bring up as a negative to skipping out on your 190 obligations. I can't speak to the truth of that, but I have seen on expatforum that there has never been a verified case of this happening. Funny thing is, I only found out 2 years later that I was supposed to update some NSW government department on my location. I never did this and still nobody followed up.Have you already applied for citizenship or do you intend to? I intend to retain my Malaysian citizenship so I will not be applying for Oz citizenship anytime soon. Have some property etc in Malaysia that i think would become problematic if I lost my citizenship. Not sure that having Australian citizenship would be really beneficial to me in any way right now. |
| Change to: | 0.1977sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:18 PM |