Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

limeuu
post Mar 7 2020, 12:14 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Mar 7 2020, 11:42 AM)
A$25k is inclusive of the employer contribution (mostly 9.5% unless the employer gives you an extra perk by contributing more for you). If you are on base pay A$100k, the employers mandatory 9.5% will mean that you can only put in A$15.5k of your own contributions (employer is contributing A$9.5k).

I have a defined benefit super which is very generous (17% employer contribution) so i can't put in a lot of my own money. However, we can put in A$100k/yr of after-tax money (non-concessional) so if you have some extra money, it may be a good idea to put in some non-concessional (if your concessional A$25k has been used up) esp for oldies like me.
Not sure if non concessional contributions is worth it, since the returns from supers aren't guaranteed and most not very attractive, unlike EPF here....
limeuu
post Mar 7 2020, 12:43 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Mar 7 2020, 12:21 PM)
If you don't put the extra money inside super and invest it outside super, your returns are taxed at your marginal rate while inside super your returns are taxed at 15% - for me personally definitely better to put it inside super as i am on the 37% tax bracket (plus 2% medicare levy).
Then choosing the right super becomes vital....some are really crap....
limeuu
post Mar 10 2020, 10:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Mar 10 2020, 01:26 PM)
When i started out in this forum (Jul 2017), i came to LYN to find out the cost of living in KL so naturally threads regarding cost of living really interested me.

I have been back to KL for quite a few times in the past 3 years each time staying about 5-7 weeks. I wrote down everything i spent while in KL but obviously we tend to spend more when we are on holidays and it is quite difficult to judge how much i will need without actually living there. I saw a lot of old people in KL with hardly any savings - shit!! This reqlly scared me as in Aust, we can fall back on the aged-pension. Also, i can see some of my relatives struggling financially (aged in the 70s) and i realise that they will probably expect me to help out as i am financially a lot better. In Aust, there is so much govt welfare relatives usually don't need help from each other. I became a bit insecure (financially) after seeing so many people struggling in KL (esp since i will probably lose my PR as i probably cannot meet the 2/5 years stay requirement). I do not want to end up like these people. Due to this insecurity, i find that it is probably better if i work longer so that there will be a bigger buffer if anything goes wrong in later years.

Good to hear your opinion. Thanks.
you should consider the option of naturalising in Oz, and use MM2H to stay in Msia....
limeuu
post Mar 13 2020, 03:02 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Mar 13 2020, 10:22 AM)
People will find it impossible to find a job in the current climate. I have enough money to live on so getting the redundancy package is a bonus. You should never leave your job in the current circumstances as this recession is predicted to last at least a few years. Luckily the last 2 weeks, i have been reducing my risk exposure although i still have 30% highly exposed and i am very comfortable with a 30% risk exposure - even if markets takes another 35% dive (this will cause a depression), i can still weather the storm. Main thing is i have no gearing so that is very important (i don't even have a home loan!).
you are one of very few people who welcomes redundancy!! And if you do have a housing loan, you should have paid it off long ago.

Just a thought. Your retirement plan is based on returns from your investments. Do you not consider now as the time to engage asset preservation, and move to safer platforms? Of course that will affect returns, so that leads to my question: do you not consider a retirement plan that will also draw from you assets, to slowly shrink your estate? Especially since you have no heirs.
limeuu
post Mar 19 2020, 10:48 AM

12,290 posts

Has the RBA announce the rate cut yet? Of the market is factoring that in now....
limeuu
post Mar 23 2020, 11:41 AM

12,290 posts

I read somewhere Australia produces food enough for 70mil so Australians wouldn't stave...in that sense it's still a lucky country....

Not the same for most other countries.....
limeuu
post Apr 27 2020, 11:44 PM

12,290 posts

I hope you all realise the relaxation is NOT going back to what was before....there will be a new norm, of persistent and consistent physical distancing in public....otherwise it will spike again, multiple waves....
limeuu
post May 7 2020, 04:10 PM

12,290 posts

Local Malaysian banks generally do not accept a non Malaysian number for Tag purpose....but SC or HSBC being multinational banks may have a different policy....
limeuu
post May 11 2020, 10:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(jianwei90 @ May 10 2020, 04:04 PM)
I plan to drive in Australia, do I need to apply international license or just normal Malaysia license will do?
if you are a not a permanent resident (ie on some work visa, or student or tourist visa), you can use Msian licence as long as you are in the country....but once you acquire a PR, you have 3 months to acquire an australian licence.....unfortunately not possible to convert msian to oz licence....so it means sitting for driving test....
limeuu
post May 24 2020, 12:55 AM

12,290 posts

It's not difficult to apply for the 491 visa yourself...

do note that it's a regional visa, so you have to live and work in designated areas...the good news is, the whole of wa, sa, and tas are "regional"...lol

and finally, it's a temporary visa, not permanent....but you are eligible to apply for pr (189, 190) after 3 years....but will have to comply with the points requirements....which is very difficult to achieve nowadays, practically needs 20 language points (ielts 8.0 minimum in all bands)...
limeuu
post May 24 2020, 11:36 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ May 24 2020, 01:09 AM)
I think VIC/ACT is fine but not so sure about TAS/NT in terms of job opportunity is one is too far north from everything else and the other is a south island. Provisional visa - how is it different from permanent visa? I think the points requirement is only needed when we apply, after living there for 3 years - is it correct to assume that visa will be automatically renewed if we meet the requirements of living there 3 out of 5 years?
It's definitely more problems finding jobs in regional areas, although it depends on your skill set....

491 is a new category of temporary visa replacing the old 489 last November....it is for 5 years temporary stay...if you fail to get another visa after, you must leave....you are eligible to apply for a permanent visa eg 189 or 190 after 3 years...but subject to the prevailing points at that time....hence it is not popular, and had a low take up rate (ie percentage of invited applicants who actually respond and submit papers) so far, because if you get 491, you cannot apply for 189/190 for 3 years....many lodge an EOI, but don't accept the invite to apply waiting for their 189/190 invite....

Don't confuse this with the eligibility to a RRV (resident return visa) of a pr.... completely different matter....

Bottom line....if you can get the "real" permanent visas (189/190), avoid 491....
QUOTE(edmondyjh @ May 24 2020, 09:40 AM)
Hopefully 491 visa will not be that competitive, i saw latest invitation round of 189 & 190 visa min point is 95, not an easy feat to achieve.
Read carefully about the 491, and you will see why many lodge eoi but may not want to apply when invited....

https://www.iscah.com/491-family-sponsored-conundrum/
limeuu
post May 24 2020, 01:22 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ May 24 2020, 11:44 AM)
Hi, can you share some insight to how temporary visa like 491 work? I only know its provisional for 5 years and I thought it auto convert to permanent visa after fulfilling 3 out of 5 years.

However, based on what you written, I guess my assumption is wrong.

Did you mean that after we complete 491, we need to apply for 189/190 subjected to approval to be granted permanent visa?

We are late 30s so I don't think subsequent 189/190 will work in our favour.

Appreciate if you can share your experience and knowledge. Thank you. 🙏
If you have migration agent, shouldn't you ask them to justify the high fees you are paying?

Whatever gave you the idea you are automatically eligible for a permanent visa after 3 years?....do you even ever go read the details in the immigration website?....

It's a new visa.....it feeds into another new visa 191 which will only become available in Nov 2022....which is permanent....but you need to satisfy 3 years of conditions.... regional stay, job, pay taxes, minimum salary, language requirements etc....need to reapply.... meantime not eligible for Medicare, welfare, the current job seeker/jobkeeper benefits etc....

That's why if possible, get the 189/190.....remove all uncertainties....

Otherwise get the 491 (much easier to qualify) and for the 1st 3 years, try comply with the conditions, and hope they don't move the goal posts (which they very often do, and probably will)...
limeuu
post May 24 2020, 02:34 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Rand @ May 24 2020, 01:40 PM)
At a glance, under visa 491 (a temporary visa); you will not be an australian resident for tax purposes.

Therefore your tax rates will be:

Tax residency is different from immigration residency....

As long as you are in Australia for 183 days or more per tax year you are a tax resident... irrespective of visa used to enter.... so a 491 visa holder will normally be tax resident on entry on the visa....even if you visit as tourist many times staying more than 183 days, staying at the same address, you are a tax resident....

Although as tax resident, your Oz income is taxed lower, all your worldwide income is also subject to Oz tax.....
limeuu
post May 24 2020, 09:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 24 2020, 07:14 PM)
I'm afraid I beg to differ on the 183-day rule. Yes, it has always been the basic rule for many countries and tax regimes in this world.

But the ATO has mentioned very specifically that one can be treated as a Tax Resident using other criteria, and such criteria will be used in a Residency Test. If the Residency Test determines one is a Tax Resident, then taxable worldwide income comes into play !

A few of my investor friends kena this because their their families stay in Australia, of their children go to school in Australia or they have some properties in Australia.
i said if you stay 183 days or more in oz, you are a tax resident....which part of that don't you agree?....

i didn't say that's the ONLY test for being a tax resident....there's other criteria, eg superannuation, "resides", domicile tests....

but for the purpose of rand's comment about the tax status of a 491 visa holder who moves over to live and work, the 183 days rule automatically makes the migrant a tax resident...

p/s in reality, even if you are only a foreign student, it is to your best interest to register with ato as a tax resident, as otherwise, all your income, including bank deposit interests and part time work will all be "taxed" at the top marginal rate, ie 50%....

This post has been edited by limeuu: May 24 2020, 09:45 PM
limeuu
post May 25 2020, 12:23 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ May 25 2020, 05:19 AM)
I have been told MAS is still flying Syd to KL as well as Melb to KL but flights are very infrequent. I have a friend who flew to KL from Sydney about 12 days ago. You still have to be locked in for quarantine for 14 days when you reach KL.
Very few passengers, as both msia and Australia bans entry of non residents....so it's mostly respective citizens/residents repatriating....have a few friends returning to msia end April (students giving up on graduate visa, oz PR opting to sit out the pandemic in Msia, grandmother visiting newborn grandchild got trapped....)

Otherwise the flights are pretty empty, and it's mostly cargo they are carrying....
limeuu
post May 25 2020, 12:29 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(BobSponge @ May 25 2020, 01:41 AM)
If you're worried about surprises then you can do more research to understand better. Expatforum has lots of information regarding migration to Aus compared to LYN this so you could check it. The agencies would be able to answer which visa is best for your scenario because everyone have different background. A friend of mine in the early 40s went on a regional visa due to their age and points. I went on a 189 visa which was quite straightforward.

Migration rules changes on a yearly basis, which could affect your chances or delay your visa. If you're keen to migrate, I would advise to start an application soon cause it takes time to get invited. Different visas and different states have different requirements.
Older migrants often can't get enough points on the 189/190 due to age....so the regional categories is easier....and also less resistance to settling in regional areas if you are middle age with school going children....in any case, the definition of "regional" has been relaxed so much it's anywhere outside metropolitan Syd, Mel, and BNE....Perth and Adelaide are perfectly nice mid size cities....
limeuu
post May 25 2020, 02:56 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 24 2020, 02:34 PM)
As long as you are in Australia for 183 days or more per tax year you are a tax resident... irrespective of visa used to enter.... so a 491 visa holder will normally be tax resident on entry on the visa....even if you visit as tourist many times staying more than 183 days, staying at the same address, you are a tax resident....

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 24 2020, 07:14 PM)
I'm afraid I beg to differ on the 183-day rule. Yes, it has always been the basic rule for many countries and tax regimes in this world.

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 24 2020, 09:32 PM)
i said if you stay 183 days or more in oz, you are a tax resident....which part of that don't you agree?....

i didn't say that's the ONLY test for being a tax resident....there's other criteria, eg superannuation, "resides", domicile tests....

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 25 2020, 02:02 PM)
I do not agree if you have just the first sentence on your posting (I bolded this in the above). And you had the first sentence only in your earlier posting.

BUT : if you had the second sentence above, or something along that sentence, then I would not have disagreed.

which part of my first statement do you not agree....?

I did NOT say you are NOT a tax resident if you stay less than 183 days....you assumed that?

My comment was in direct response to Rand's comment that 491 migrants are not tax resident....i merely used the 183 test to point out a migrant with a 5 year 491 visa IS a tax resident....i am well aware of the other tests, which are not applicable to a fresh 491 migrant...

This post has been edited by limeuu: May 25 2020, 03:08 PM
limeuu
post May 27 2020, 08:01 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(BobSponge @ May 27 2020, 07:46 PM)

You can also check on the regional visa (TR) for 489 South Australia as it's much easier to get. But you will have to apply at the perfect timing once the invitation round opens... if I could remember it's around Jun/July. So let's use an example where the invitation round is on 1st June, you have to apply on 1st June as the quota gets filled pretty fast. Every visa from different states works differently. I just so happen to know how it works for 489 south australia as I applied for it before.  Look at their list of jobs on demand and see if you meet it. I think the visa number changed recently.. I don't remember lol.

the 489 has been discontinued and replaced by the 491, which is what they are looking at....it appears wa and sa are not sponsoring 491 at the moment...
limeuu
post May 29 2020, 02:03 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 27 2020, 11:41 PM)
Just asking here : is it difficult for an overseas student who studied Years 7 till 12 inside the Australian Curriculum to enter a university such as The University of Melbourne or another similar university ?

Do they look closely at the ATAR Scores ?
If at the time of application, the student is still an international student (ie not a pr or citizen), he/she will fall into the international student pool together with all others applying from outside Australia....which usually means a lower entry criteria compared to locals.....

If having completed year 12, then of course the only basis for selection is the atar rank, plus any other tests as mandated, depending on the course....
limeuu
post May 30 2020, 09:51 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 30 2020, 04:46 PM)
Thank you, Lim,.. emm,... what would the minimum ATAR score needed to enter, say,... the University of Melbounse,... or a similar class Uni, for Chemical Eng'g or Environmental Eng'g ? Would you know pls ?
professional courses in the "melbourne model" are all post graduate....so it's a 3(bachelor)+2(masters) programme....entry requirements are all available in the university website....

if you are paying full fees, cheaper just go to any other uni where it's undergraduate entry and only 4 years....

21 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:50 AM