12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

kagenn
post Feb 12 2017, 08:40 PM

26 posts

Thanks for all the info above guys, got my ANZ account open, now it's just going through any available options for money transfer.

Will be making my move next month, feeling the stress already.
kagenn
post Feb 16 2017, 12:41 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Feb 14 2017, 07:04 AM)
Congrats! Where abouts are you heading to? Must be excited with the move, it's hard but well worth!
Thanks, I'm going to Sydney. Yeah it's pretty tough as both me and wife will continue searching for jobs when we're there. A few friends and contact there but I guess we'll do what we can. =D
kagenn
post Nov 30 2018, 09:09 AM

26 posts

Hi all,

Quick intro: Was skulking around this thread early last year before my move to Sydney with the missus. Made the move, and was trying to cope for half a year looking for jobs. Both of us finally landed casual roles, and from there we survived and slowly rebuilt our resources.

Fast forward to now,we're thinking of getting a property in the not too distant future and are looking around, understanding the market. As we only explored Sydney minimally (only followed friends around before we started work), we don't have much experience with the different suburbs. This is especially interestnig as property is deemed to be on a down-turn at the moment.

Are there any recommendable suburb with a healthy mix of ethnicity (with asian groceries primarily & no dominating numbers of any particular ethnicity), with somewhat affordable (anywhere 500k -> 600kish)? Checked out places like Strathfield, homebush/h. west, Hurstville, Toongabbie, Kellyville. Homebush west feels like the best of what we've seen so far as it's really central, with a good dose of ethnicity mixed in. On the downside, safety is kinda like Bankstown levels and traffic can be as bad as KL sometimes. Are there any Msia/Sg favourite suburbs?

Looking forward to any advice/opinions. smile.gif
kagenn
post Dec 2 2018, 08:53 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Dec 1 2018, 07:04 AM)
Sorry - I would like to give you a longer report on this but I have just arrived in kl for a 6-week holiday and can only use my mobile to reply which I dislike.

500-600k would probably get you a small unit if you want to live closer to city unless you want to go out west into Campbelltown. Malaysian community is quite spread out in Sydney and are not concentrated much in one suburb. Most Malaysians prefer Melbourne and to a lesset extent Perth. Kingsford/Maroubra has quite a fair few Malaysians and also probably Hursville too. I have a fair few Malaysian friends in Chatswood and Ryde and as I have said, Malaysians are all spread out in Sydney. I have so many Malaysian friends in Sydney and they live all over Sydney.

Sorry for this brief reply but I don't like using my mobile to go on LYN. Got to go now as there are so many things I need to do today.
Heya Gary, no worries. Enjoy your holiday as we'll be visiting family too in the coming weeks.

Thanks for the feedback. We've been to Hurstville - the place feels a bit too busy and cramped for our liking. We do enjoy a slightly slower life without the hustle and bustle as we had to deal with in KL. I do however, miss the better internet speeds in KL as where we're currently living does not have NBN yet. Waiting for the 5G roll-out next year to see how it goes.

As you said, the best options right now are either units closer to the city or house much further out. As we're both working in different parts of the city the areas where we're at is currently a good compromise of everything. My job requires me to do occasional travelling/driving to different offices and it's not too bad being somewhat close to the CBD itself. Maybe in the distant future we can consider living further out.

Have fun in KL!

kagenn
post Jan 12 2019, 05:10 PM

26 posts

Happy New Year all!

Been back in Sydney and spending the weekends checking out houses and getting to know Suburbs. Today was Lidcombe & Auburn. Thought there was a pretty decent place in Auburn, but then I read up about Auburn - found out it was the murder capital of Sydney a few years back.

Up to now the general perception still seems to be the same. Would it be any different from Bankstown? Mind your own business, keep your head down and stay clear of rowdy/dodgy types? I suppose this applies to most of the places within 'the area'? Still trying to figure out a suburb that's about the same distance to the CBD from Bankstown, but without the issues it has. Any suggestions? Berala? Chester Hill? Cabramatta?
kagenn
post Jan 13 2019, 09:43 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 13 2019, 05:59 AM)
Auburn has a lot of Arabs - somehow suburbs with a lot of Arabs (Lebanese stands out because a lot of them came out during the Lebanese war in early 80s) are viewed with cynicism because a lot of drug dealers are Lebanese. Auburn property prices is relative higher mainly due to the size of the blocks. I would prefer Burwood to Auburn because it has a lot more Asians and there are also more Asian shops. Cabramatta is quite far but properties are quite cheap esp nowadays there seem to be a lot of desperate sellers (cannot get loan after their interest-only loan expires).

I must relate a story of a colleague who went from 1 property to 5 properties in the space of 3 years. He is 60 yrs old now and took out interest-only loans starting from Jan2015 because he felt property is the way to go. He took out all his super (together with his wife) and set up a self-managed superfund. He lives in Casula and didn't have much equity in the first house that he owned when he started. (He has worked with me for about 20 years before he was made redundant). He called me yesterday and told me his interest-only loans are all coming up and the banks will not renew them. He is given a choice of interest plus principal new loan or he has to sell the investment properties. He says he cannot afford the repayments if they switch the loan to interest and principal so he will have to sell all the other 4 properties and he will have to lose money. It appears that a lot of people are facing this problem because interest-only loans were given out in 60% of new investor loans until the govt stopped this practice last year (Banking Royal Commission).

It may pay to wait until end of this year or next year before you buy as it looks like property prices are deflating in Sydney.
Thanks for sharing, the case where houses drop in price and investors eager to offload properties who'll be more willing to negotiate - best case scenarios for first time home buyers like myself. Planning on just inspecting houses while hoping for price to drop a fair bit more, while getting to know suburbs better.

Just trying to understand the market as well, and get the timing right. Don't wanna buy when the prices has reached the lowest and climbing back up again. My colleague told me where her kid bought a house for 1m, only for it to drop to 900k after a few months.

Burwood feels a bit too expensive, where's the price of one apartment cost the price of a house in slightly further/unsavoury suburbs. Give and take I guess.

kagenn
post Jan 13 2019, 07:08 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 13 2019, 10:03 AM)
Don't forget we will be having an election around May this year and Labor is likely to win. Labor wants to cut negative gearing for investors and there is no sign that it will back down on this even as prices soften in Sydney and Melb. A lot of people would have sold out in the last few months in anticipation of this which has resulted in prices falling. It appears that a lot of businesses may go down the drain this year as a tough year is anticipated. It would appear that interest rates in Aust would not go up anytime soon and may even go down. If interest rates are cut, the Aussie dollar is likely to follow suit.

If you are looking to buy value in Sydney and don't mind travelling, going further west is a good option. However you may find that properties appreciate a lot faster if you buy nearer the city.
Good info, totally forgot about the election. Gonna be my first one in Aus. As long as prices of houses aren't too crazy affordable, I don't mind too much.
If interest rates does go up, it's gonna screw too many people over, so yeah.. Guess we gotta put more money into Powerball.

In all honesty, I think my limit would be around 2-2.5 hours travelling each day. At the moment it's about slightly pass 2 hours by train. Expecting to drive if further out west, but the travel time should roughly be the same... I hope.
Totally agree with property prices rising more if we're near the city, though I think some suburbs further out do pretty well too in terms of pricing.

kagenn
post Jan 15 2019, 04:38 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 14 2019, 04:43 AM)
I started working in 1984. In those days, most working couples could afford to buy a house less than 10 kms from the city. It goes to show how prices have gone beyond the reach of the working population nowadays in Sydney.

I was just looking at the prices of properties in various cities in Aust and it seems Perth and Brisbane are still pretty affordable. The younger working generation will really find it hard to afford a property in Sydney unless prices drop drastically (but this is unlikely to happen unless there is a big recession).

Since you are looking for properties that are further from the city, those suburbs would have dropped a lot more since the peak compared to those nearer the city. I personally prefer suburbs where there are more Asians as i eat out (Asian food) a lot and my wife likes to buy Asian groceries a lot.

I have recently come back from a 6-week holiday in KL and i find eating out in Sydney cost so much more compared to KL. I did a detailed comparison/analysis and eating out in KL cost me about half the Sydney price. I ate out nearly everyday in KL (from cheap to very expensive) and the cost of eating out in Sydney is roughly about 40-70% more than KL - must be something to do with the high min wage in Aust. There are also a lot more choices in KL and food is nearly 24 hours. Only negative thing is the food is slightly oilier in KL.
I'd imagine the jobs in the other cities may not pay as high as Sydney either, hence the cheaper housing and cost of living. I have cousins in Brisbane who do share prices of grocery for comparison and their clearance price blow the prices here out of the water. Literally less than a dollar for veggies they want to clear. If I wasn't state sponsored I've tried my luck in Brisbane.

I've never quite learnt to love the bustling city crowds and nightlife other than mamak/chilling with friends. Always too worried about pick pockets back in Malaysia. The quieter suburbs and more laid back lifestyle is what both my missus and myself look for now. I mainly want good Internet for games and Netflix.

Probably based on our Msian origin we'd both like multicultural areas. I do feel a little more at home in such suburbs and appreciate the variety in shops and food. Feels quite balanced and people are (hopefully) more accepting of different races.

When I went back to Msia in Dec too I felt less restricted in spending on food, though I usually have my kopitiam/roadside cendol type of food. It feels mostly dollar to dollar unless you go for mixed rice/Nasi lemak/kopitiam type of food. Groceries in Aus are so much cheaper we cook at home a lot more than we eat out, especially since we need to save. I do admit it feels really liberating to earn Aud and spend it as RM.

kagenn
post Jan 15 2019, 03:52 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 15 2019, 02:27 PM)
Yes - population growth has been a big factor in property prices going up. Incomes haven't kept up with property prices in Sydney which is the main reason why people cannot afford to buy nearer the cities. Having said that, however, Brisbane and Perth property prices have been pretty dormant compared to Sydney and Melb. I honestly find it hard to believe you can get a 2-bedroom unit near the city in Perth for around A$500k while in Sydney you will be looking at nearly double that.
Well to be fair as well, amenities weren't properly developed when starting off, this would definitely be a huge turn off to buyers, just like those who are comparing greater Sydney at the moment, though not as bad as back then.

Staying close to the city where jobs are a lot more abundant also contributes to the desirability of the places. People who could afford to pay these prices wouldn't mind.

Would you consider relocating to the other major cities in Aus for a cheaper house closer to city and lower cost of living?

kagenn
post Jan 15 2019, 06:14 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(PepelePewPew @ Jan 15 2019, 04:06 PM)
My SO loves Brisbane for some reason. Our other top choice is Melbourne. If I can get a job offer same as my current pay, I will move there the next day! After clocking 2 years, that is. Same state-sponsored situation here.
Salary wise, I think depending on your job, it might be possible. I'm in the IT line and I do see jobs with higher paying salary in Brisbane. Pay wise it's probably possible, but getting the job is probably a different story. In the company where I work, top level management doesn't quite see a diverse ethnicity group. In that sense the bamboo/glass ceiling is pretty apparent. Thankfully the team I work is comprised of a very diverse background and are very friendly/cohesive.

So are you gonna make the move after the 5 years?

kagenn
post Jan 16 2019, 07:33 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(PepelePewPew @ Jan 15 2019, 08:46 PM)
Sounds very familiar. IT line. White management. Diverse working level.

You mean 2 years. Chances are, we will buy an apartment unit in Hills District and settle down before 2 years are up. By then, no compelling reason to move.
Yeah, I meant the remaining years for the 5 years. Could've worded it better, hehe. Hills district as in Baulkham Hills? Or does it encompass all places with 'Hills' in the suburb name? Living in Chester Hill but I can't imagine people referring to it that fondly. I'm still learning up the different suburbs now, especially as the prices may fall even more and I'd like to know what areas are desirable.

Just curious though, why apartments? When we started looking around homebush / homebush west area there were plenty of units, about 550 - 700 range. Then we found that there are a few suburbs with houses with a slightly higher price range or even similar (Auburn, read it's worse than Bankstown), around the same distance from the city too. While I don't mind the smaller property to take care of, I personally feel houses are better in the long run, even town houses. I'm just bias towards houses, and less strata.

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 16 2019, 04:04 AM)
No doubt about the bamboo/glass ceiling. Just look at the ASX200 companies - only 2% of their CEOs has an ethnic background. Don't forget that the WHITE AUSTRALIA policy only finished some time in late 60s. You will need minimum another 2 generations before you establish some sort of neutrality.

I have a very good friend (Malaysian) who is the ex-CEO of a very big manufacturing company here in Sydney. He worked in the company for 10 years starting off as CFO. He said he had a very tough 10 years because he is Asian and he wouldn't have had to fight so many internal battles (with other directors) had he been white. His health took a battering during the 10 years and there are recurring scars (healthwise) even up to this day (left 3 years ago after company was sold off to a private equity firm).
My wife encountered a similar situation in her previous working role, different treatment for same-ish issues for other colleagues. To be fair this happens in Msia too, and bosses either takes care of their own, or favourites. We've both decided the need to climb the ladder too much. As long as we're comfortable enough financially and can achieve work/life balance, we'll be content.

No point stressing ourselves out trying to reach the top, but just do our best to reach a nice spot that balances money/time. Otherwise, just start one's own company and become the CEO there. Haha...

Checking out either Kellyville or Holsworthy/Wattle Grove this weekend. Any feedback on those area? =)
kagenn
post Jan 16 2019, 09:44 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 16 2019, 07:57 AM)
There are a lot of big houses with huge blocks in Kellyville - very good for starting a young family. A bit colder in winter and you have a lot of migrants in that community. I have a few colleagues at work (Indians) who lives there and they tell me that they are very happy there even though they have a bit of driving to do.
Yeah with the new train station coming into the picture soon it might be even better. It's still a little bit expensive around that area, so gotta see if the property prices there drops still with the train station in vicinity. It does feel pretty far from the center of Kellyville though, probably not too accessible for some.

Have only been to Kellyville to visit a friend, but not really explored it. I'm guessing groceries might be a tad bit more expensive, compared to places like Chester Hill. As you said, the need for one or more cars per family may be a lot more common there. I'd prefer to take the trains (especially if its more competent than the Msian KTM) than drive. Hate being stuck in traffic with a passion.

Cold winters are alright, where we're living now gets pretty cold and we only have a small heater fan. We'll adapt... or freeze.
kagenn
post Jan 17 2019, 12:03 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 17 2019, 11:36 AM)
Thank you Showtime. I will check it out. I had to go into the NAB branch in Haymarket when i did it last time and the rate was very lousy. As the amount is quite big, even a small difference in the exchange rate is magnified.

Thanks again.
My wife tried OrbitRemit, which charges a 4 aud fee for transfer. Though the rates at the moment doesn't look too good.

At the moment: 1000 AUD is 2741 MYR.
kagenn
post Jan 17 2019, 03:29 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(PepelePewPew @ Jan 16 2019, 10:05 PM)
Not sure also haha. I think Hills District covers from Baulkham Hills to Rouse Hill. Never bothered to check. I also prefer house, or at least townhouse, but cannot afford one that is in my choice of suburbs. For 500 - 650k (my budget) sizable houses, they are generally in the southwest surrounding Liverpool and beyond, or to the west surrounding Mount Druitt and beyond, or to the northwest surrounding Riverstone and beyond. There are spacious and affordable ones, but distance and suburbs are just not to my liking.

So what to do, apartments lo. For 600 - 750k, can get decent sized 2 bedder at nice suburbs. I looked at Wentworth Point, 700k +/- for a 2 bedder with less than 80 sqm internal space. Crazy. So now I am looking out for one that offers the most bang for buck in a nice suburb. Imagine 500-650k for a 2-3r2b2g with 120 sqm +/- internal space, low strata, near bus/train/metro, big mall, good school, asian grocer. I will pay for one anytime now. Very difficult to find. But kind of also waiting for price to drop further.

Edit: I should also mention affordable sizable houses in north-northeast surrounding Woy Woy if you don't mind 2 hours train ride haha. I have white colleagues living in Central Coast and do this 2 hour ride daily. They say "gotta do what you gotta do" (big family with kids). Cannot imagine how they endure working in CBD.
You could look at homebush (west) area, sounds like it may meet some of your requirements: train station(s), decent strata, parks around dwellings, near DFO, plenty of asian grocers & eateries, decent school(s), & average safety at about those prices. On the bad side it's an oversupply of apartments in the area, overall cleanliness not too good & a lot of cars parked everywhere. Kept reading in news that this area is bound to drop in price in the near future.

Affordable houses you could prolly go Schofields/Campbell town: 3 Bedders 2 baths 1/2 parking for 600 - 800k, and it's 1 hour to the city. Prolly won't have asian grocers there though.. Haha. Always a give and take. We have about the same budget and requirements, lemme know if you find any nice areas. =p

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 17 2019, 02:31 PM)
This is a terrible exchange rate - it equates to 2.74. Most banks should be able to give you a rate of 2.90 at least which will work out to be RM2,900 for A$1000. I am more keen on getting a better rate on a single transaction (with a bigger amount) rather than lots of smaller transactions.

Thanks anyway.
Apologies, didn't realise the website set it to NZD instead of AUD. For AUD 1000 = 2920.5 MYR. Guess nicer banks are your best bet then. I heard that HSBC Premier may have better rates but requires a big sum like the amount you'd wanna transfer.
kagenn
post Jan 18 2019, 05:18 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 17 2019, 05:02 PM)
Epping, Carlingford and North Rocks are popular suburbs for Msians. I have a lot of relatives living around here. My sister lives in West Pennant Hills and i have my 6 nephews in Castle Hill/Cherrybrook. The Hills district is very livable if you want to have a family and i quite like this area.

I visited a long-time friend in Campbelltown recently and i spent a whole afternoon in Macarthur Square - i found that the South East Asian community seems lacking in this area.
Guess there's a reason for that with the high cost and heavy traffic constantly about that area. But thankfully not as bad as KL and its horrendous traffic.

I'm expecting Wattle Grove/Holsworthy to be similar to Campbelltown. Hopefully places with less SEA / asian population are not as bad as some stories I hear about those in the Shire. Asked a few colleagues about Auburn and they're like "We're never gonna stay there, ever!". And I'm really racists as well for seeking out a suburb where the ethnicity is more mixed and multicultural, not too dominated by any. =/
kagenn
post Jan 18 2019, 06:43 PM

26 posts

Annnnddd it's Friday! I miss the Malaysian holidays a fair bit, beside friends and family.

Weather is pretty much a killer too as we've only got 2 stand fans at home. Times like this one truly misses the Msian weather.

Lots of colleagues recommended areas around Kellyville, so that's where we'll be checking out tomorrow. Anywhere between Rouse Hill, Stanhope Gardens & Kellyville itself.

kagenn
post Jan 20 2019, 07:08 PM

26 posts

On Sat both the missus and myself went to Seven Hills/Parklea/Stanhope/Acacia Gardens and found this: https://www.domain.com.au/9-9a-dale-street-...2147-2014871880

Feel free to ignore this if you feel it's not contributing to the thread. This is a combo of a house (3/1/1) & granny flat (2/1/1) going for an asking price of 700k. House is going on auction as the place has received several offers of 700k. It's 18 mins walk from the train station. Auctions are way above my capabilities and thought I'd just share.

I like the areas around Stanhope/Rouse Hills. People are quite different to the general public in like Bankstown, which I suppose I am stating the obvious. On the side, pretty happy the weather isn't too hot (for the weekend).
kagenn
post Jan 20 2019, 08:19 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(jaijaidin @ Jan 20 2019, 07:11 PM)
hello guys, can you help me with some names and addresses of good agency/lawyer in kuala lumpur for helping skill migration/ working visa/PR into Australia?
The one that I used was Ausasia, though last I remembered they were way too busy and overloaded.

You could probably check if your job is available on the skilled migrant list to Aus. Been reading that immigration might be cutting down on migrants.
Either that or they'll be trying to put them further away from cities. A few on this thread has mentioned if you've done your research you could apply yourself and potentially save up to 30k, if I remember correctly?

Either way, have fun researching!
kagenn
post Jan 21 2019, 11:13 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(PepelePewPew @ Jan 20 2019, 10:51 PM)
3 rooms in total 78sqm for the main residence. A tad bit small. After viewing many units by now, I find that any room that is less than 3m x 3m is just too small. The school's ranking is above 2000. Location is not that ideal. Even if it's convenient enough for you, it may not be so for people looking to rent the granny flat.

The granny flat may not earn you much after tax. Recently, I did some calculations on this one. Based on rental collection of about 19K, I would have to pay about 7K tax, without factoring in deductions yet. It's still money to help pay off mortgage nonetheless, but not as rosy as I had thought.
Probably depends if you're going through an agent or collecting cash I guess. Probably doesn't pay getting cash, in case someone rats you out. As an investment home it's even better though, rent both out for 400 - 500 each, and then it's much better. Too bad I'm in no such position, would've loved to do that.

The thing about schools, I guess some schools constantly maintain and achieve their standards. As I'm still without kids, 6-7 years from now things can change drastically, and all the current rankings may be switched up. It's probably better to have more options than just aim for one particular school or those only within top 150, for example. On that note, where do you check the school rankings? Is there a site displaying all schools and their respective ranks? I can't seem to find one that's cohesive enough...

Also, Quakers Hill has a number of 3/4 bedders for first home buyers prices too, some too big for my liking. Wouldn't wanna take care of anything bigger than 300 sqm. I've been clearing out Redback spiders every summmer at my current rental place, just taking care of our own stuff. I dread to think about handling a whole house by myself.

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 21 2019, 03:28 AM)
I must agree with you that school ranking is very important if you are planning to have children. It seems that is the most important factor when determining where people buy to live. You can save a lot of money by sending your kids to a good selective school instead of a private school. However because everyone is thinking like that, suburbs with good schools are usually a lot more expensive compared to one that has none.

I don't think you would need to pay much tax on the rental income if the property is highly geared (due to the tax deductions you get). I find the property quite attractive in a lot of ways for a new migrant esp the block size. Nowadays properties with a granny flat seems to be very popular with retirees as it gives them extra income (on top of their age pension).
I noticed a there's a lot of tuition and extra classes for students as well. Like it's never good enough for students to just attend the schools. I suppose it's like Malaysia where people trust extra tutoring for their kids, unless they're constant top scorers. While I agree a good school and education is important, I know a number of smart guys that just can't study. In that sense Aus is great for them where trade skills has a similar earning power (if not respect) and gives them a chance to compete with other white collared jobs.

Granny flats are great (to me) as they can earn you some extra money, as mentioned, also to house any family members temporarily or the long run without compromising your own living space. I would've tried my luck with that place if I had saved up like half a year / one year more.

kagenn
post Jan 23 2019, 11:17 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(PepelePewPew @ Jan 22 2019, 10:21 PM)
Need some advice about flooring and Owner's Corporation. There is a unit that I am interested in, but it turns out the owner unknowingly (or knowingly, who knows) installed hard ceramic tiling in the living/dining room without getting prior approval from OC.

How serious is this, and what are the possible ramifications to the buyer? The unit, however, is a ground level unit in a 3-level apartment building. But then, I do not see any explicit exemptions from by-law for ground level unit.
I use http://house.speakingsame.com/search_school.php. Going by ICSEA rank. A score of 1000 is the average, 800 being the worst, and 1200 being the best. A rank 400+ school is about 10xx score. Still above average and that gives me a piece of mind.

Peers play an important role. I think good schools tend to stay good because it's people who care about good schools that intend to stay within catchment area. People who care are generally well behaved, I'd like to believe (generalisation, I know). Conversely, bad schools suffer from an influx of children whose family care less or place less importance about academic excellence, and that collective attitude will manifest in the school's system. Some manage to excel still, but like I said, peers play an important role. That's my layman theory anyway.

If you do not have stringent location-based requirements, or at least not yet, you should have quite a lot of options for affordable sizable houses. Somewhere like Liverpool or surrounding area, or Mount Druitt or surrounding area. Hills district is definitely out of your budget range (no offense, you know my budget range too) if you are looking for a house, much less a sizable one. Or go further up in Riverstone.
Saw this: https://www.fairtrading.nsw.gov.au/housing-...mes/renovations
So the scenario falls under "minor renovations", but doesn't seem too big of a problem: https://www.lookupstrata.com.au/nsw-renovat...thout-approval/

Probably not too much of an issue unless they dislike the current owner. Good luck with this, it's pretty tough finding a design you'd like with the way they design houses here. Some are utterly mind boggling in design I do not understand he reasoning behind the floorplan.

Thanks for the link. I used this before but didn't dissect it down to the ICSEA rank level. Probably useful for me when deciding on a place as well.

I do agree that competition makes things better, in a way, and will definitely push schools to perform if they wish to attract students/ I guess for me I never did enjoy my school/college education, and do not feel it's very vital. An average school with a safe environment to grow and explore, coupled with minimum problems is mainly what I'm looking for. Also perhaps depends on the kid. I'll find out eventually and modify my opinion of things accordingly.

I believe we have about the same budget & requirements, except with schools being the least of my worries at the moment (don't even know if we'll have to move/rent after 5+ years to find a good school) & houses as a preference. It was always gonna be between a unit 20ish KM from CBD or a house in a suburb we can afford much further out. Ideally, a townhouse in between the two that's also close to public transport, but compromising on smaller stuff like asian groceries. Thinking of Stanhope Gardens/Schofields/Acacia Gardens or around those suburbs, minus the areas with public housing and potential problems it may cause. I used to live in near Kepong, and there was a number of break ins nearby my home/missus's place. Hoping to save some money not installing grills/crimsafe for the property.

On a more positive note, I'm told Haymarket / Fairfield area usually celebrates Chinese New Year. Would anyone know if this takes place during the weekend prior or after since the event falls on a Tuesday?
Anything else to recommend? I want to bring my wife to such events if it's on a Friday/weekend. Thanks in advance!

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:28 PM