Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

limeuu
post Apr 24 2018, 03:30 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Apr 23 2018, 02:28 PM)
Lately the processing of visas have been real slow. Didn't see any updates in weeks. Lodged in Jan but till nw yet to be allocated a CO. I wonder whats causing the delay, as the no. of applicants dropped drastically in Dec 2017, should be faster isnt it?
Processing has not stopped, new rounds every 2 weeks....but those invited are 80 and 75 pointers....with a few 70 points if there are extra slots....the last round was 18 April....

But yes, allocation of co after invitation has been slow....
limeuu
post May 6 2018, 09:38 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(gailfriz @ May 6 2018, 08:55 PM)
Does anyone know where I can get my documents to be translated from Malay to English in Malaysia which is certified?
The courts have a translation service...
limeuu
post Jun 15 2018, 08:47 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Jun 13 2018, 02:46 PM)
If I bought a property in Aussie, and decided to give up my PR after xx of years and go back Msia for retirement.

Can the property in Aussie be affected? will I really have to sell it?
you are allowed to own properties as a non resident....
limeuu
post Jun 16 2018, 09:59 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Jun 15 2018, 09:18 PM)
Thx..what about on going loan repayment? Do i have to pay upfront
I don't think the banks will significantly alter your loan terms....but you will lose any tax relief from the loan if you ceased to be a tax resident,(which has NOTHING to do with being an immigration resident)....

Non residents are also allowed to take Oz bank loans, but at a lower margin (was told max 50%) and subject to your certified income in your normal country of residence being enough to service the monthly payments (3 times oz loan repayment)....
limeuu
post Jun 16 2018, 09:45 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(roticanai92 @ Jun 16 2018, 06:07 PM)
Hey guys, was wondering anyone has experience flying out of the Sydney airport with AirAsia?

Do they weight the carry-on luggage religiously on every person, or can I get away with it without buying the check in luggage?
they will normally be strict with the hand carry...."get away with not buying check in" means how much are you expecting to hand carry?
limeuu
post Jun 17 2018, 08:00 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(roticanai92 @ Jun 17 2018, 05:19 PM)
I usually have a luggage weighing 6kgs, then another backpack around 3kgs, so it's slightly over  sweat.gif
You may get away with that...they usually not weight a small backpack, and only weight the trolley bag...
limeuu
post Jun 21 2018, 11:09 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(balz @ Jun 20 2018, 01:08 PM)
thanks mate. Are we legally allowed to be employed / work if i travel with a business visitor / tourist visa ?
Of course not...

The 482 TSS visa is a replacement visa for the now cancelled 457 visa....and you need a sponsor....is your company a registered sponsor in Australia for this visa?
limeuu
post Jun 25 2018, 09:07 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(rontol @ Jun 23 2018, 12:32 PM)
No idea, it seems like over there a lot of rental is per week  sweat.gif
Well noted, thank you for the insight!

Does it possible actually to strike a deal and negotiate and convert from weekly to monthly (with some discount) ?
Thank you for sharing this!
Well the 1:1 coversion is from my reading, so might not that accurate... might apply only to certain jobs/industry.....it could be one of the shorter goal from professional from MY when migrating to SG

It's already different when things like rent and salary is counted per week/year.....  wink.gif
Will do more reading....
Rentals are always calculated on a weekly basis, and paid fortnightly....

Salaries are look at as an annual package, and usually paid fortnightly too....
limeuu
post Jun 29 2018, 12:19 PM

12,290 posts

After the pte, many people are getting the full 20 points and that has pushed the processing cut off to at least 70 points, with 75 needed for immediate processing....

Those with 60 are in a queue, with some picked up for processing after some time, now stretching to a year....and up to 3 years for some professions.... From 1 July, those with 60 points on a queue will no longer be considered, and their eoi lapsed....they can try get more points and resubmit eoi....

The pte awards more marks for most people, especially those with good English and speaks the "angmoh" way....but some actually get lower marks in pte than IELTS....
limeuu
post Jun 29 2018, 12:20 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Jun 28 2018, 03:39 PM)
Just got my grant. . But its so sudden that idon't know where to start prepping for moving now. 😅
How long between your selection for processing to grant?

Was there any communication from your case officer?

Someone I know was called for processing mid April, and after completed submission of all required documents, no news, not even any information if a case officer has been assigned...

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jun 29 2018, 12:29 PM
limeuu
post Jun 29 2018, 01:11 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Jun 29 2018, 01:05 PM)
I lodged 21st Jan with everything upfront. Incl Med and PCC Got Direct Grant by Wed noon.
That's a full 5 months!...

This was as fast as 3 weeks in 2016....

Any communication from CO?....or complete silence till grant?

Edit: just to be clear, you lodge eoi in Jan, or you were called for processing in Jan?

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jun 29 2018, 01:12 PM
limeuu
post Jun 29 2018, 02:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Jun 29 2018, 02:17 PM)
Complete silence. I lodge my application and made payment in January.
Thanks. So 5 months from start of processing till grant, if all documents in order, no communication from CO....
limeuu
post Jul 1 2018, 02:21 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenrac87 @ Jul 1 2018, 12:08 AM)
i need at least 65 for PTE
65 only get you 10 points....how many points do you have....?

Note that the minimum is now 65, and to get immediate processing in a non pro-rata profession you need 75.....pro-rata profession higher....
limeuu
post Jul 2 2018, 08:55 AM

12,290 posts

Working experience points is only awarded if accredited by the governing body....in this case vetassess.....

Assuming you can, even with full English points and the extra 5 from 190, you are at the bottom 65, and will be in a long queue....as people are applying with 75 points in great numbers lately....
limeuu
post Jul 4 2018, 01:04 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenrac87 @ Jul 4 2018, 11:39 AM)
if i remember correctly currently 50 + 10 PTE and states sponsor 5 = 65, i might be eligible to get additional 5 points for my working experience (this i am not sure yet)

I already done my skill assessment under ICT
Ict is under the pro-rata profession....very restricted numbers called, hence needs 80, Minimum 75 points to have any chance of quick invites...at 65 points the queue is like 2 years....

Last round official results: https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/WorkinginAus...tion-round.aspx

A useful website: http://www.iscah.com/will-get-189-invitati...10th-june-2018/

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 4 2018, 01:11 PM
limeuu
post Jul 5 2018, 11:12 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Duxia999 @ Jul 5 2018, 01:46 AM)
I check naati website for possible CCL 5points.

Did i read correctly the registration alone is 121 aud and CCL test 800aud?
Don't know anything about naati, but that would be about the kind of fees in Australia for this sort of thing...
limeuu
post Jul 5 2018, 12:09 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Duxia999 @ Jul 5 2018, 11:22 AM)
Thxs. Probably getting a bachelor degree is the best option now.
An it degree takes 3 years and will cost at least aud60k in fees....

And generally needs a pre-u qualification, so another year of foundation is needed....
limeuu
post Jul 11 2018, 09:25 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Sunshine1818 @ Jul 11 2018, 12:16 PM)
Hi guys,just to confirm i don't need to  get my docs  and passports,etc translated  and certified when submitting for assessment right?
Only when lodging EOI i need to get my docs certify and get it translated?

Appreciate your advise

You do not need to submit any documents at submission of eoi....only when you are called for processing.....
limeuu
post Jul 11 2018, 09:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(PepelePewPew @ Jul 10 2018, 03:11 PM)
Something wrong with dibp/DHA lately.... processing numbers dropped significantly, way below previous month's.....and processing time very long....in 2016, it only took 3 weeks from invitation to submit for 189 to grant.....now it's 5 months....
limeuu
post Jul 12 2018, 12:11 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Jul 11 2018, 11:46 PM)
And Indians are not holding back in scoring the highest in English, to gain the 20 points. Retaking exams more than 10 times to get the required score
That's why minimum points to ever get processed since end last year is 70....

Edit: the last round of 20 June, nobody with 70 selected for processing..... minimum 75 points, and 80 for pro rata professions....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 12 2018, 01:55 PM

21 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.1905sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:48 PM