12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

kagenn
post Apr 12 2021, 09:14 AM

26 posts

Weather's pretty darn cold now in Sydney, do keep warm people.

Would anyone know how different winter is in Queensland? I keep hearing that it's most similar to Msia and summer/winter are much more tolerable.

Is there the same issue with flies/mosquitoes there? Is the infrastructure on par with Sydney/Melbourne?
kagenn
post May 2 2021, 08:13 AM

26 posts

It's been a busy few weeks, and it's probably gonna continue to be that way till June is over. May have to fly down to Shepperton (3 hours from Melb I think) mid June and I'm dreading the -2'c. Hopefully it'll stay above 10, that's bearable for me.

Thanks for the explanation on QLD. While the sub-tropical weather sounds like a great place, I'd rather endure the cold than deal with mosquitoes and flies. There are so few of those where I live - I'd encounter them once a month or so, rather than a daily basis back in Msia. I do miss the feeling of zapping those bugs, it used to be so satisfying.

Personally more a quieter area closers to greenery than the constant crowd of beaches (and insufficient parking). Keeping an eye out for houses in suburbs further away but prices are pretty scary now in Sydney. On the (minor) plus side, the apartment we're living in has gone up a little too.
kagenn
post May 29 2021, 07:04 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ May 4 2021, 03:44 AM)
Thanks for the information - didn't realise there are allocated quarantine slots per flight. I read from passenger comments from flights flying in that planes were mostly full and i had the impression that airlines could just fill the plane up with passengers but what you say makes sense.
So did you successfully manage to go back to KL?
kagenn
post Jun 8 2021, 03:16 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 1 2021, 11:36 AM)
The govt has this philosophy that strong housing prices gives 'confidence' to people. Whether it is flawed policy or not, no one can really tell until later. At the moment, everyone in my retirement group is bragging to each other  smile.gif  that the house they live in has gone up A$500k and their retirement portfolio has also shot up A$290k in the last 6 months - what could be more rosy than that? Retirees are all smiling now (esp the self-funded retirees). Hopefully this dream can continue or could be sustained as everyone of us retirees are feeling good  smile.gif
It's definitely great for those who already own properties or wealthy enough to buy more. Gonna be terrible for those who seek to own their first proper house like myself. Can't imagine having a chance to buy a property anywhere within the next 5 years.

Even Riverstone properties are expensive - probably only viable to buy around that area if we find jobs closer to those areas too. Either that or both myself/wife sell off redundant organs, haha.
kagenn
post Jun 10 2021, 11:25 AM

26 posts

My mum helped with about 40% of our down payment for the unit in Lidcombe or otherwise we'd have to gather money for another 2-3 years, which at this rate the price would be closer to 700++ than the 650 when we got ours.

It's easier said than done if we are to move to somewhere cheaper - if we choose to remain on the outskirts of Sydney, it'll be far from CBD. Even the houses at Doonside which is considered pretty unsafe are selling at prices pretty close to suburbs around my area.

I've also considered Brisbane as an option - but it depends on if we can find jobs that suit our career or starting fresh (again). As simple as it sounds, how many people relish starting anew from scratch leaving friends, family, networks and familiarity behind by moving to a different city (potentially on the other side of the country)? If the only way to buy proper houses is to move to the very edge of the city or to a different city, there won't be any first home buyers anymore unless they have parents to back them up or with couples with high paying jobs.

kagenn
post Jun 25 2021, 03:40 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 18 2021, 09:52 AM)
No worries about the catch-up, can always have it back in Msia anyway since my familly/in-laws live around the Kepong Baru area.

Looks like going to Msia might have been a good move (provided everyone's vaccinated and no new variants appear) - We might have Covid super spreader event taking place in Sydney metro.
My company has told us to work from home for the remainder of this month until further notice. That's about save about 10 hours if I don't have to drive. rclxm9.gif

kagenn
post Jun 25 2021, 08:24 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 25 2021, 05:16 PM)
Definitely catch up with you when you are back in KL.

I don't go out much in KL - try to minimise interaction with others as much as possible. My wife loves it so much as she has been re-united with her younger sister. I take an hour walk around my apartment (Mt Kiara) at 7am every morning - i see a lot of expats here walking in the morning as well.

Looks like Randwick is one of those suburbs that is affected in Sydney this time. I go to Westfield Bondi Jn a lot to shop as my wife bought two Chanel bags there recently(just before we flew back to KL) and that is her favorite shopping venue (other than the city) and Westfield Bondi Jn is one of those buildings with a few infections  smile.gif

Wow! Saving 10 hours drive to work! So you like WFH without the need to drive in to your office, huh?  biggrin.gif
Yeah on average its about 45 mins from Lidcombe to Miranda area in the morn and 1 hour to 1 hr 15 - 25 mins on the way depending on time.
Some days it's like 1.5 hrs total drive and it's already much better than driving in KL. Driving in KL would take me 1 hr minimum each way. I really hate traffic and driving is terribly boring for me.
I'll take train rides anytime: I can sleep, read or play games, even while standing. Heck, I'd put in an hour+ extra to work if I can WFH.

My wife is also slightly influenced to get bags now, luckily we have to start saving more now in case of any upcoming covid issues (like possible redundancies). Both our companies are going through more restructuring and upheaval.
There'll be plenty of shopping to be had in KL as well once things hopefully calm down. Also don't forget how common snatch thieves are back in Msia. Always watch your back.
kagenn
post Jul 7 2021, 08:34 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(LengluihunteR @ Jul 6 2021, 12:55 PM)
Bro my drive to work during peak hour is about 1 hour each way also loll from Rhodes to Darling Harbor!
Yeah it can such a pain sometimes - especially when an accident occurs & a fair number of people slow down to watch. Thankfully not as bad as Msia where some stop almost entirely.
Driving now would be pretty good as traffic would be minimal - it does look like the lockdown in Sydney will be extended another week.

Went past Regents Park to Chester Hill yesterday and it looks like lots of people aren't masking up even in mandated areas.
I'm personally more afraid of the fines than catching covid, lol.

kagenn
post Jul 7 2021, 08:35 PM

26 posts

Eastlakes sound as bad as some of the things my colleague tells me about Blacktown. Would've thought an Eastern suburb would be too expensive for them to live in. Another ex-colleague living near old Toongabbie also had his car radio and other contents stolen (his old car had lock issues). Guess most suburbs have their own issues. Fair number of road accidents near my area as lots of impatient drivers.

Rhodes doesn't seem to bad. I usually drive through King George's Road, with so many traffic lights. The alternative is driving past Bankstown down to Bangor Bypass and heading on part of the Princess Highway. Both easily takes 45 mins but diff traffic conditions depending on time. Plenty of reading, gaming and learning to do while on lockdown.

kagenn
post Jul 16 2021, 11:09 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 8 2021, 07:28 PM)
The reason why Eastlakes has such a high crime rate is because there are a lot of public housing (used to be called Housing Commission). Part of Mascot which borders Eastlakes also has a lot of public housing. Never buy near public housing because crime rates are always high in those areas. Public housing is a problem that society has to face and Aust wants an egalitarian society so it tries to spread the problem across all suburbs. The most famous block of public housing is at the Rocks whereby rows of terraces were used to house these welfare recipients - some of the terraces had beautiful views of Opera House and Harbour Bridge. The govt took a long time before they managed to sell off all this houses as there was a huge public backlash and it was a political time bomb. Eventually after more than 10 years, they managed to start selling off these terraces. The govt doesn't want welfare ghettos like Claymore so is very reluctant to sell off the more expensive areas (even Vaucluse and Double Bay has quite a lot of public housing). The govt is forcing some developers into offering some parts of their development for public housing so as to spread the problem throughout society and avoid welfare ghettos  smile.gif  .
How fair of the government, to distribute this equally biggrin.gif Not sure why they aren't phased by crime when the public housing residents will have to live beside the rich in some suburbs vs those closer to their own income level.
Ghettos will probably form anyway at some time or another when they obtain some upward mobility.

Msia has reached 13k cases/day yesterday - how are things back home so far? My parents/friends feel like the gov is dropping the ball so badly. sad.gif
kagenn
post Jul 16 2021, 07:47 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 16 2021, 11:26 AM)
I don't go out much so the mco doesn't really affect me that badly. I wouldn't like to be working in Msia at the moment because cases are so high and govt seems to have totally lost control on how to handle the pandemic. I think the poor will suffer really badly this time - at least in Sydney govt will give handouts but here the country is already so poor. Luckily i didn't bring too much money back to KL - with the ringgit dropping to US4.20, people are wondering what is going to happen next!

I like the variety of food that we are now getting (even though we cannot eat in), it is still nice to get the variety of food here and it is so cheap!!  sad.gif. In Sydney, my wife and i are so sick of what we have been eating in Chinatown and Kingsford. I still dare not eat Indian and Malay food now in KL because my wife will not let me order them (she says i will get Covid because the food is dirty  smile.gif . There is a eatery opposite my condo called Seng Kee Restaurant (Solaris Mont Kiara) and i buy quite a lot of my meals from them - they are quite nice!

How are you there in Sydney? It is now middle of winter so another one and a half months to go for you. I really dread winter in Sydney - where i am now, my condo is quite cool and i have not been needing to turn on the air-conditioning yet. Lately the weather in KL is very cool and it always rains in the afternoons  smile.gif which keeps things a lot cooler .
Those eateries must be happy to have a customer like you, but I think eating out cost about the same as cooking from home unless its in bulk.
I do miss a lots of food back home too and the cheap price. We do get diarrhea fairly often each time we eat the roadside food.
You guys eat too much at Chinatown/Kingsford tongue.gif

It's 12'c right now, but it isn't too bad - the current apartment is much better than the previous - 3'c in a 'papan' house was so damn cold. In contrast it's more than bearable with a thick jacket now without the need for a heater.

The more it rains the more mosquitoes there are, and flies too. Also floods are fairly common too with constant downpour.

QUOTE(Rand @ Jul 16 2021, 01:04 PM)
Gold standard Gladys isn't doing that great at COVID either tbh.
Haha, can't deny that - locking down the Fairfield suburb with the current rules is too much of a rushed plan, which probably is gonna generate more discontent.
Looks pretty obvious that they weren't ready for any sudden surges like this.

Still we're a far cry from the current Msian situation (at the moment). Things do feel a lot more manageable and there's a much better chance of recovery if they play the right cards.
Not quite a fan of people calling the cops on others though, but that's the direction Aus seems to be heading in.
kagenn
post Jul 19 2021, 08:45 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(tiptop007 @ Jul 18 2021, 12:37 PM)
How to get PR without employment offer and having a Malaysian degree/masters? I keep hearing people say it's possible but I only see Canada having that sort of programme
If you're referring to Aus, you can check out this list:
https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/worki...occupation-list

I got mine via 189 via enough points. Read it to get an idea on what jobs are available and how many points you need.

Either that or pump in money to buy your PR.

kagenn
post Jul 19 2021, 11:59 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 19 2021, 09:35 AM)
I think a lot of rich investors can invest A$5mil and get visa 888. This is the visa class a lot of rich PRCs have got in with. A mortgage broker friend of mine told me that he has been applying a lot of loans for these rich PRCs and this is the visa with minimum fuss and approval is usually granted quite fast. I think it is called the substantial investor visa or something like that. Aussies kicked a big fuss about this when it was implemented but now everyone has quietened down now. Money talks  biggrin.gif
Oh yes: https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/getti...-investment-888

Lower end: you must have held a designated investment of AUD1.5 million for 4 years
To higher end: you must have held a complying investment of AUD15 million for the duration of your subclass 188 visa

Yeah I've also seen news where the amount of the wealthy in China are looking to get out. It will be tough as the CCP is making it harder to get money out of there. My sis-in-law + husband who worked there foir a few years were also unable to get the bulk of the local currency the earned out of the country.
Plenty of fuss going around still with the current property prices and people blaming it on the PRC folks - which inevitably spills onto some of us just cuz we look similar.

kagenn
post Jul 19 2021, 07:50 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 19 2021, 01:20 PM)
The fact that they can't tell whether we (as Malaysians) are PRCs, we all get lumped into that category tongue.gif .
Just something we have to live with I guess, no big deal to me - not like I'm gonna be able to afford a nice landed property anytime soon tongue.gif

QUOTE(tiptop007 @ Jul 19 2021, 04:39 PM)
Thanks man. If you don't mind, how many points did you have? I checked and I should have ~75, not sure if that's enough realistically.
I applied back in 2013 I think, and I had 55 points (+5 for state sponsored so I ended up in Sydney) - as a software engineer. It's been gettin progressively harder to get in, and they probably want the youngest and brightest at this stage.
The scoring might also depend on the particular job/skill - heard accountants had to score more than a niche job (welder perhaps), but I've not been looking into this for a few years now & my input is quite likely outdated.
kagenn
post Jul 27 2021, 08:14 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(fuserdef @ Jul 27 2021, 12:37 PM)
I got an email recently from imigration.com.au to say that mechanical engineers has been added to the priority migration list and I have been seeing so many ads to say that Australia is looking Doctors, Nurses and Engineers.

I wanted to check with the kind folk here...
a) how true is this news ?
b) is immigration.com.au a scam site ? is it worth it paying for an eligibility assessment ?
c) if your skill is in the migration priority list, how much faster does your application get process compared to regular application ?
d) I see there a few english test accepted for aussie visas, (IELTS, TOEFL, Pearsons, OET and Cambridge C1) which one of these are the easiest to get the highest points ?
You should check the gov websites, like this:
https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/emplo...g-workers/pmsol

Not aware of the site you mentioned. It could be a migration agent or a scam, you gotta do your due diligence.

The list does contain mechanical engineer on the priority list, which I assume would mean they're still taking people in as long as they can score enough points.
As a few other have mentioned above, some occupations like accountants require up to 90 points. Randomly searching through migration agent sites show that you may require up to 80 points to qualify.

If there are a lot of applicants for the occupation - things may be slower, IMO. I received feedback after about 8-9 months when I applied about 6 years ago.
I did IELTS and scored about 7.5 if I recall correctly. You have to be excellent with English to score 8 and above.
Maybe someone with more recent experience will be able to provide better input.
kagenn
post Jul 29 2021, 07:31 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(fuserdef @ Jul 28 2021, 10:00 PM)
Are you happy with you decision thus far, were you able to find a good career there ?
Honestly it took me a few years to get to the 'happy/content' stage. I reckon my experience is similar to many other Msian migrants - renting a room with wife while jobless for 6 months was pretty stressful. Got my PR as a software engineer but couldn't even land a programming job for a junior role, much less something akin to my 5-6 years programming experience.

Found a job helping a tradie out with heavy lifting & computer work. Then found a data-entry job in a factory while helping out in the production lines.
Applied for an IT role when there was an opening and got it - now doing end-user support and projects (testing, training, docs, troubleshooting, etc).
Decent career progress, but probably stuck now and will need to branch out to specialise in project management or go back into programming.
Pretty content with my job but it's at a boring stage as I don't get to learn new things within the role besides new unsolvable problems with the software.

Overall I'm much happier as my work is very manageable and work hours no longer the 10-12 hours daily I used to put in as a programmer in Msia. Other than missing the food, friends and family back home - I do not regret my decision. Plenty of issues here too though, but I can live with em.

kagenn
post Sep 9 2021, 08:48 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Retrohits8198 @ Sep 8 2021, 12:56 PM)
Hi Guys,

I am a Australian PR holder and have managed to extend my visa till next year. For those who are currently in Australia, how is the job market like during the covid times?

I am currently working as a Business analyst/ consultant in KL. Any folks who are currently in Australia working as a BA or Consultant within the IT / digital space?
Oh no, job competition! I'm in the IT line as a project analyst - weird amalgamation of business/project related work + helpdesk.
It does look pretty good, my team's main BA is leaving the company and we hired a contract BA person about half a year ago so it looks pretty good to me.
Plenty of people still moving around with jobs, especially in my company so I'd think the IT and general job market is good for now but may slow down closer to the end of year.

As long as you enjoy working remotely or from home I suspect it'll be a lot easier to find roles & there's a heckload of IT roles on seek.
Covid situation is slowly deteriorating (imo) so this may negatively affect business more in Sydney. Good luck with your search.
kagenn
post Sep 25 2021, 11:29 AM

26 posts

Hi all,

Just sharing this - a cyber security program implemented by the Aus De Force:
https://www.digitalprofession.gov.au/austra...ber-gap-program

It shows that it's priority are for citizens, but I'm checking with them to see if they allow for PRs to get this as well. If you have a citizenship (or can apply) and interested in taking up a cyber security course this may help you.
kagenn
post Dec 15 2021, 03:45 PM

26 posts

Hi all, it's been a pretty wet spring/summer, which was personally quite welcome for me. It resembled Msia's hot and humid weather really closely.
Occasional cloudy days which were my favoured type of day back home. How's everyone enjoying the (limited) freedom?

Also, has anyone (or your family) been able to get the visa and exemption to travel to Aus? I'm hoping my my mother will be able to visit early next year and stay for a bit.
kagenn
post Dec 19 2021, 09:30 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Dec 15 2021, 04:24 PM)
When i was younger, i also liked the overcast weather but as the years progressed, i liked the warmer weather and rainy days are the worst.

Heard this year's summer been pretty cool as well - i always like a warm summer. The good thing about summer is the sunset-ing after 8pm. I have always lived near the beach and my wife and i will go for walks along the beach after dinner. Cannot imagine i have lived 40 years in Sydney  smile.gif .

Life in KL is very different. Don't need to wear long johns all the time. It has been raining a lot in the aftrennons so evenings are quite cool. I like retirement in KL as food is everywhere and CHEAP!! My expenses are halved what it was in Sydney. I now understand why a lot of Westerners live in Phuket for their retirement.
It's plenty warm today - the weather is ping pong-ing around. I'm already missing the slightly gloomy weather. I can get where you're coming from, sometimes my knees ache when it gets colder too, a rewards for excessive squats in my early twenties.
The sun setting at 8pm is pretty good, feels like you have a much longer day and it still feels alright to wake up a bit later too.

I've seen a few pics of the flood in KL due to the rain. It's probably good you're not caught in them or the bad daily traffic. I would think inflation hit KL badly with the recent prices of vegetables I saw being circulated in my family chat.
Has the food prices not gone up a fair bit?

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.1660sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:31 AM