Unifi Best router for UNIFI 30 mbps, Budget around 400 to 500
blacktubi
Mar 31 2016, 10:55 PM
-
QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Mar 31 2016, 11:20 AM) IMHO, Mikrotik is more of an enthusiast router. Asus is more of a mainstream router, you buy, plug in, set in username and the rest is quite frankly automated. Up and running in 10 minutes. All these name calling is really unwarranted for. Your money, how you spent it is your choice. Nothing to do with anyone. This. Even configuring an Asus router is difficult for some people. Mikrotik produce great hardware but it is for the power users.
soonwai
Mar 31 2016, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(paddylam @ Mar 31 2016, 03:23 PM) should i upgrade to 30mpbs? mine now is 5 If you don't mind paying the little bit extra definitely yes, 5 to 30 is a huge difference. If you're in a contract, there's no penalty for upgrading but your contract is renewed. TM always happy to take more of your money. However due to contradictory experiences and as junclj suggested, it's always a good idea to check with TM when it comes to money. QUOTE(junclj @ Mar 31 2016, 02:47 PM) no, others modem does not offers free ddns. ... I believe you're right! It's been awhile since I used my modem but IIRC my Aztech DSL-600 modem does not offers free ddns. This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 1 2016, 12:34 AM
alcali
Apr 7 2016, 12:48 PM
Hi Sifu, is all Asus router has free ddns service? I'm leaving in 900+ sq apartment with 3 bedroom. each bedroom has pc and laptop connected wireless to TM stock router and also 5+ mobile phone connected when everyone at home. And we also game (WoW,Dota2,CS,mmorg).
Lately speed seems to slow down (i'm on 30mb package). Not to mention constant disconnection. ie, the router seems like hang and need to restart. Modem is ok.
I'm thinking to replace the stock router to help with the wireless speed.
I'm interested with Asus free ddns feature. Does it have capability to assign certain speed limit to the ssid? Can it create multiple ssid? ie. each room will have its own ssid to connect to.
Any good suggestion with reasonable pricing?
This post has been edited by alcali: Apr 7 2016, 12:59 PM
sHawTY
Apr 7 2016, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(alcali @ Apr 7 2016, 12:48 PM) Hi Sifu, is all Asus router has free ddns service? I'm leaving in 900+ sq apartment with 3 bedroom. each bedroom has pc and laptop connected wireless to TM stock router and also 5+ mobile phone connected when everyone at home. And we also game (WoW,Dota2,CS,mmorg).
Lately speed seems to slow down (i'm on 30mb package). Not to mention constant disconnection. ie, the router seems like hang and need to restart. Modem is ok.
I'm thinking to replace the stock router to help with the wireless speed.
I'm interested with Asus free ddns feature. Does it have capability to assign certain speed limit to the ssid? Can it create multiple ssid? ie. each room will have its own ssid to connect to.
Any good suggestion with reasonable pricing? RT-AC68U And yes, they do provide free DDNS
soonwai
Apr 8 2016, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(alcali @ Apr 7 2016, 12:48 PM) I'm interested with Asus free ddns feature. Does it have capability to assign certain speed limit to the ssid? Can it create multiple ssid? ie. each room will have its own ssid to connect to. Any good suggestion with reasonable pricing? Mikrotik routers can set multiple SSIDs and assign a speed limit to each of them. and have free DDNS also. Starts from around RM180 to RM12000. The features are the same from the lowest to the highest priced routers but you're limited to what you can do by the available RAM and CPU of the router. You can also build your own like building a PC by buying a case, motherboard, ram, wifi cards, power supply, etc... Basic setup is easy but gets complicated for more advanced configurations. This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 8 2016, 01:50 AM
yawnz8
Apr 9 2016, 01:03 PM
Hi guys planning on upgrading to unifis new 30mbps plan. Currently im on 5mbps plan and my router and modem is at the middle floor of my three storey house. I get bad connection at my 50% of the time since the coverage sometimes cant reach my room which is at the top floor. What modem should i get so that the whole house gets a stable connection?
sHawTY
Apr 9 2016, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(yawnz8 @ Apr 9 2016, 01:03 PM) Hi guys planning on upgrading to unifis new 30mbps plan. Currently im on 5mbps plan and my router and modem is at the middle floor of my three storey house. I get bad connection at my 50% of the time since the coverage sometimes cant reach my room which is at the top floor. What modem should i get so that the whole house gets a stable connection? How much are you willing to spend?
yawnz8
Apr 9 2016, 02:00 PM
maybe around 500
yawnz8
Apr 9 2016, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 9 2016, 01:13 PM) How much are you willing to spend? maybe around 500
nikaizad
Apr 9 2016, 03:07 PM
Whats all this fuss about. i never change router also 35mbps all the time.
Using Huawei modem with Maritime trg212m.
but Ping like shit in dota/cs cause ya know TM nut sux
btw why you people cant setup Asus router? i thought this is Lowyat.net not PavillionFashionDesign.net
alcali
Apr 11 2016, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 7 2016, 03:22 PM) RT-AC68U And yes, they do provide free DDNS thanks alot sHawTY
alcali
Apr 11 2016, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 8 2016, 01:49 AM) Mikrotik routers can set multiple SSIDs and assign a speed limit to each of them. and have free DDNS also. Starts from around RM180 to RM12000. The features are the same from the lowest to the highest priced routers but you're limited to what you can do by the available RAM and CPU of the router. You can also build your own like building a PC by buying a case, motherboard, ram, wifi cards, power supply, etc... Basic setup is easy but gets complicated for more advanced configurations. thanks alot soonwai
firdausbhari
Apr 11 2016, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(yawnz8 @ Apr 9 2016, 01:03 PM) Hi guys planning on upgrading to unifis new 30mbps plan. Currently im on 5mbps plan and my router and modem is at the middle floor of my three storey house. I get bad connection at my 50% of the time since the coverage sometimes cant reach my room which is at the top floor. What modem should i get so that the whole house gets a stable connection? for multi floor, i suggest u get AC55UHP or if dont need 5ghz, then N12UHP or N14UHP should be good for u. multi floor needs a high dbi antenna. im staying in 3 story house. and currently using AC55UHP
zhuoyang
Apr 11 2016, 03:25 PM

If your DIR-615 is still working you can use any router you want by using this guide https://web.archive.org/web/20121028145502/...tom_routers.phpOld but gold  Currently using Mi router mini with openwrt
soonwai
Apr 11 2016, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(alcali @ Apr 11 2016, 11:07 AM) No probs, do let us know which router you decide on eventually. QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Apr 11 2016, 02:59 PM) for multi floor, i suggest u get AC55UHP or if dont need 5ghz, then N12UHP or N14UHP should be good for u. multi floor needs a high dbi antenna. im staying in 3 story house. and currently using AC55UHP What's the antenna gain of the AC55UHP? It's better to use low gain if you want to reach more vertically. High gain antennas will concentrate the Wifi signal horizontally.
zhuoyang
Apr 11 2016, 10:51 PM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 11 2016, 07:28 PM) No probs, do let us know which router you decide on eventually. What's the antenna gain of the AC55UHP? It's better to use low gain if you want to reach more vertically. High gain antennas will concentrate the Wifi signal horizontally. Want hear something mindblowing ? If you turn your antenna horizontally , it will concentrate WiFi signal vertically (I actually not sure if that's how it works , just joking around  )
soonwai
Apr 11 2016, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(zhuoyang @ Apr 11 2016, 10:51 PM) Want hear something mindblowing ? If you turn your antenna horizontally , it will concentrate WiFi signal vertically (I actually not sure if that's how it works , just joking around  ) You're right, actually. Think of low gain vs high gain as a doughnut vs a douhgnut you just stepped on.
firdausbhari
Apr 12 2016, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 11 2016, 10:57 PM) You're right, actually. Think of low gain vs high gain as a doughnut vs a douhgnut you just stepped on. tired low gain. doesnt work for me. high gain for better coverage.
alcali
Apr 15 2016, 12:56 AM
i found that my TM stock router can create 5 ssid. and then there's QoS option. So i created 3 ssid, then i go into the QoS option and i saw the 3 ssid that i created earlier. then i enable the QoS on each ssid. i set Committed Rate:10240, Peak Rate:10240. does this means the router has the capability to do what i wanted originally which is to control bandwidth (download/upload) on ssid?
soonwai
Apr 16 2016, 01:57 AM
QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Apr 12 2016, 02:20 PM) tired low gain. doesnt work for me. high gain for better coverage. If it works for you in practice, that's what's most important.