33 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Discussion who's dive the most?, EPL players who dive the most in game

MADReaLJL
post Jun 4 2008, 07:39 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(myhotgary2 @ Jun 4 2008, 02:39 AM)
i dunno about u guys...
but i observed that portugal, esp their national players, dive quite often...
correct me if i'm wrong...maybe its part of their training..lol

not 100% directed at C Ronaldo...
Deco dives too, and i'm a Barca fan...
so, lets not be team biased here, and really judge on the player himself..
yeah, i agree
everytime i see portuguese club playing in champions league they dived a lot
example, sporting lisbon vs man utd and porto vs liverpool
Duke Red
post Jun 4 2008, 08:11 AM

6,112 posts

Again, I wish to draw a distinction between going down under the slightest bit of contact, and going down under no contact at all. Gerrard went down under the slightest of contact from Gattuso. Could he have stayed on his feet had he wanted to? Probably but was there contact? Yes. He was English to perhaps the English media would not pick on him according to the conspiracy theorists. Ok, fairplay. This was however a Champions League match and I doubt the Italian media would be as compassionate. We don't read Italian you say? Well I personally do get to read translated articles from foreign press on the net. I did get to read posts from AC Milan fans that visited RAWK. None of them accused Stevie of diving. Maybe it's because Italians are used to seeing Inzaghi? Who knows?

Let's ask this question instead; which players has never gone down easily in his life before? Which player has never dived? Harder to answer these questions isn't it?
boxsystem
post Jun 4 2008, 08:28 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

English media are biased. Simple as that. Dives? As a United and a football fan, I hate dives. To be honest, I hate Ronaldo's antics. But he has cut down of those a lot. Still people are claiming him to be the leaders of all divers.

I've watched BPL week in, week out. I noticed Adebayor dived, Drogba too and as well as Gerrard. As much as I hate to say this, dive has become a part of the game.

And yeah, Nani's antics are stupid too. I would say, all of United fans claimed Nani was being stupid over the red card incident. I'm pretty much sure A.B.U. would still love to point out that Ronaldo is the master of all dives. Heck, whatever you wish.

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Jun 4 2008, 08:28 AM
Duke Red
post Jun 4 2008, 09:15 AM

6,112 posts

To what extent is the English media biased?

I have to admit that as an English writer, I'd find it hard to berate the same players that carry the hopes of my nation on their shoulders but aren't most journalists football fans as well? I'm sure that like any other fan, they have their favourite teams and they are biased in some ways.

Rio Ferdinand has come into bad press for this love for parties and for missing a drug test. There was no cover up I don't think. Lee Bowyer, Jonathan Woodgate and Michael Duberry were in the press for an alleged assault on an Asian student. Joey Barton is no stranger to bad press. Tony Adams and Paul Gascoigne had problems with alcohol and this was highlighted in the press. Paul Merson had drug problems and the list goes on. More recently, the English press has berated Steve McLaren and certain players for not playing hard enough.

Perhaps the English media does offer some protectionism but they can only do so much to cover obvious facts up.
boxsystem
post Jun 4 2008, 10:07 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 4 2008, 09:15 AM)
To what extent is the English media biased?

I have to admit that as an English writer, I'd find it hard to berate the same players that carry the hopes of my nation on their shoulders but aren't most journalists football fans as well? I'm sure that like any other fan, they have their favourite teams and they are biased in some ways.

Rio Ferdinand has come into bad press for this love for parties and for missing a drug test. There was no cover up I don't think. Lee Bowyer, Jonathan Woodgate and Michael Duberry were in the press for an alleged assault on an Asian student. Joey Barton is no stranger to bad press. Tony Adams and Paul Gascoigne had problems with alcohol and this was highlighted in the press. Paul Merson had drug problems and the list goes on. More recently, the English press has berated Steve McLaren and certain players for not playing hard enough.

Perhaps the English media does offer some protectionism but they can only do so much to cover obvious facts up.
No offense Duke. What have you stated down there all are well known facts. It's hard to cover those. And most of them are related to the personal life of the footballers as I would say it as 'off-field' issues.. But when it comes to comparisons of local talent and foreigners on the field issues, i found that foreigners usually are the limelights. take this dive issue for an example, ronaldo, drogba and gerrard. which of which are always being headhunted as the master of all dives? what about terry? involves in referee's decision in every single match if he could? for example, the incident where he tried to take the yellow/red card away from the ref. why wasn't that being highlighted? as a matter of fact, mascherano became the 'hot issue' in disputing the referee.

can't you see the biasness there? it is very apparent, don't you think?
Duke Red
post Jun 4 2008, 11:15 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Jun 4 2008, 10:07 AM)
No offense Duke. What have you stated down there all are well known facts. It's hard to cover those. And most of them are related to the personal life of the footballers as I would say it as 'off-field' issues.. But when it comes to comparisons of local talent and foreigners on the field issues, i found that foreigners usually are the limelights. take this dive issue for an example, ronaldo, drogba and gerrard. which of which are always being headhunted as the master of all dives? what about terry? involves in referee's decision in every single match if he could? for example, the incident where he tried to take the yellow/red card away from the ref. why wasn't that being highlighted? as a matter of fact, mascherano became the 'hot issue' in disputing the referee.

can't you see the biasness there? it is very apparent, don't you think?
Who dives and who doesn't are also well known facts if you watch enough games. It's easier for the media to cover up something that no one saw (i.e. Joey Barton biting Richard Dunne's ear) than a player diving for a penalty while watched by millions all over the world.

I think it's a double edged sword with this issue on foreigners. They do get a lot of good press as well. You see Ronaldo being touted as arguably the best player in the world at the moment. Torres is suddenly one of the best forwards after just one season. Superlatives have been written about players like Dmitar Berbatov, Didier Drogba, Cesc Fabregas, Mathieu Flamini and company.

kazek
post Jun 4 2008, 11:31 AM

The Bringer of Rain
1,116 posts

These topics normally go nowhere but since it's up why not. Believe it or not...

...Steven Gerrard !!!

Can't stand him. When he goes down its so evident. He falls flat on his belly.

Of course then there's the likes of Drogba but no point mentioning him when it's that obvious.

This post has been edited by kazek: Jun 4 2008, 11:33 AM
Duke Red
post Jun 4 2008, 11:34 AM

6,112 posts

Gerrard dives more than Ronaldo? Sure mate. To each his own. Maybe I'm blind but I fail to see the basis of such an accusation. Someone please enlighten me. I remember how a certain someone goes down under zero contact and stares down the ref as though he had just been up ended.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 4 2008, 11:36 AM
mizivincible
post Jun 4 2008, 11:35 AM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

QUOTE(kazek @ Jun 4 2008, 11:31 AM)
These topics normally go nowhere but since it's up why not. Believe it or not...

...Steven Gerrard !!!

Can't stand him. When he goes down its so evident. He falls flat on his belly.

Of course then  there's the likes of Drogba but no point mentioning him when it's that obvious.
But I guess this is just a personal POV. Doesnt mean other players aint doing the same thing right ?
kazek
post Jun 4 2008, 11:39 AM

The Bringer of Rain
1,116 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 4 2008, 11:34 AM)
Gerrard dives more than Ronaldo? Sure mate. To each his own. Maybe I'm blind but I fail to see the basis of such an accusation. Someone please enlighten me.
Remember Blackburn last season.

And.. Drum Roll notworthy.gif

But then again you're a Scouser. No point trying to convince you.
Duke Red
post Jun 4 2008, 11:42 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kazek @ Jun 4 2008, 11:39 AM)
Why? Just because you're thick I am too? Never said he doesn't dive but the topic clearly states "who dive's the most". I see you are of the opinion that Stevie dives more the Ronaldo? Good on you then. Let me go out on a limb and assume that you are a manc then?
kazek
post Jun 4 2008, 11:48 AM

The Bringer of Rain
1,116 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 4 2008, 11:42 AM)
Why? Just because you're thick I am too? Never said he doesn't dive but the topic clearly states "who dive's the most". I see you are of the opinion that Stevie dives more the Ronaldo? Good on you then. Let me go out on a limb and assume that you are a manc then?
Didn't imply you're thick. It's just that it would be a lot harder convincing you than it would be convincing someone other than a scouser.

I think you can see where this is going.

Gooner to the core btw !!!

You're probably going to come out and tell me how Fabregas dives as well.
Duke Red
post Jun 4 2008, 12:02 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kazek @ Jun 4 2008, 11:48 AM)
Didn't imply you're thick. It's just that it would be a lot harder convincing you than it would be convincing someone other than a scouser.

I think you can see where this is going.

Gooner to the core btw !!!

You're probably going to come out and tell me how Fabregas dives as well.
No I'm not. I only call it as I see it. I do think Fabregas is a prick at times but I won't associate him with diving. If you follow my posts, you'll notice that more often than not, I try to defend our players rather than attack others. If I do make an observation, I try to back it up with reasoning.

What I'm trying to imply is that shout outs for Gerrard and Torres from mancs in particular have a lot to do with the fact that many Liverpool fans voted for Ronaldo (gee I wonder why?). I'm not sure if they admit to Ronaldo diving more than Gerrard seeing as they never really answered the questions (i.e. "Gerrard dives as well"). Maybe they do believe Gerrard dives more, to each his own. I do try to be as objective as possible and it appalls me to see ANY player dive.

My bottom line is this; Gerrard does dive. Does he however dive more than Ronaldo? Hmm...
boxsystem
post Jun 4 2008, 12:22 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

Ronaldo dives more than Gerrard, no doubt. But I'm not sure whether he dives more than Drogba or not. As I've said earlier, A.B.U. brigade would personally headhunted Ronaldo because of his paint reputation.

He has cut down the dives a lot these days. It would be better if he has none. But then, no offense Duke, what kazek trying to point out is that Gerarrd doesn't need to be a hypocrite by saying things and his autobiography while at the same time he does those things.
Duke Red
post Jun 4 2008, 12:34 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Jun 4 2008, 12:22 PM)
Ronaldo dives more than Gerrard, no doubt. But I'm not sure whether he dives more than Drogba or not. As I've said earlier, A.B.U. brigade would personally headhunted Ronaldo because of his paint reputation.

He has cut down the dives a lot these days. It would be better if he has none. But then, no offense Duke, what kazek trying to point out is that Gerarrd doesn't need to be a hypocrite by saying things and his autobiography while at the same time he does those things.
No offense taken. I fully admit that Gerrard has been hypocritical and I hate that he did what he did. I'm just trying to keep everything in context and address the thread title is all. I do admit that Ronaldo has cut down on his antics as has Drogba (well I don't know about this recent season, but definitely the one before). My stand is I hate divers/cheaters whoever they may be. It's the reason my favourite player is Jamie Carragher and not even Steven Gerrard.
Klesk
post Jun 4 2008, 12:40 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 4 2006, 02:27 PM)
I'm surprised Robbie Savage was mentioned. I'll have to go with Diouf as he has already admitted to diving when it is in his best interest to do so.
like duh they dont call him the Joker for nuts, he even celebrated once when he managed to win a penalty from his dive...
Jason_T
post Jun 4 2008, 10:48 PM

466 posts

And.. Drum Roll  notworthy.gif

why the sudden show of Gerrard diving video?We know that but how much video can u show us?
Should we put in everything we got from ronaldo?
Even this thread cant fit the videos..too much...and if u are having problems with ur eye...JUZ CLICK CTRL and SCROLL DOWN...see the word MOST? doh.gif

Added on June 4, 2008, 10:50 pm

And.. Drum Roll  notworthy.gif

why the sudden show of Gerrard diving video?We know that but how much video can u show us?
Even this thread cant fit the videos..too much...and if u are having problems with ur eye...JUZ CLICK CTRL and SCROLL DOWN...see the word MOST? doh.gif

This post has been edited by Jason_T: Jun 4 2008, 10:50 PM
MADReaLJL
post Jun 4 2008, 11:05 PM

4,050 posts

if they feel that gerrard dives the most, then what to do?
same like the people who always ever convinced still the king of divers when there are a lot of divers out there in the form of drogba and diouf and else
boxsystem
post Jun 4 2008, 11:06 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Jason_T @ Jun 4 2008, 10:48 PM)

Added on June 4, 2008, 10:50 pm
don't be so quick to judge that he's an United fan. He's a gooner. Sheeeshh.
Jason_T
post Jun 4 2008, 11:09 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Jun 4 2008, 11:06 PM)
don't be so quick to judge that he's an United fan. He's a gooner. Sheeeshh.
laugh.gif juz notice...paiseh paiseh wink.gif

33 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:14 PM