post Jan 12 2016, 04:39 PM

373 posts

CVT Transmission Service ESTIMATED price at Proton Edar Service Center

CVT Fluid [1Liter x 4bottles] = RM40x4 = RM160
CVT filter = RM 235.25
CVT labour charge = RM 60.00

Total: RM 455.25

QUOTE(azothshock @ Jan 12 2016, 10:30 AM)
Heyyy, my car just reach around 38,000 but already 36 months so when i go to a nearby service centre they quote me around 800++ for service because need to change CVT Fluid. Since it's quite expensive, my dad told me to go some other bengkel he usually goes to. Total for service is 284 (including changing the gear oil). Is this like correct ah?
Now, the best thing to do is to go back to the shop and check what oil did they used. Snap a pic of the oil. Also if you still have the receipt, snap a pic of it and upload it here.

You are lucky if they did use the same exact fluid that Proton uses. If not, you've got the ball rolling for the damage of your CVT.

If they had use a different fluid, QUICKLY go to the nearest SC to change the fluid and filter altogether. IF possible, flushing is advisable. You should ask and discuss with Proton SC is they got flushing for CVT fluid for those like your case.

It might costs slightly extra, but it will save you a bomb to change your CVT gearbox.

And let's just hope the damage done to your CVT gearbox is minimal and won't cause any issues...

icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(azothshock @ Jan 12 2016, 10:49 AM)
But now I already changed outside. So what should I do the next time I go to the service centre ?
QUOTE(protonstradale @ Jan 12 2016, 11:23 AM)
U can say a goodbye to warranty. And the cvt oil is very expensive. There is very high possibility they did not use the correct oil. Can u go to the shop and ask which oil they use. Snap pic if possible.
QUOTE(n3w @ Jan 12 2016, 12:56 PM)
Most probably dia change fluid saje + labour.
If dia change fluid saja, I just hope it's the right CVT fluid and not ATF or any other fluid.

AFAIK, it's kinda hard to get the original CVT fluid that Proton uses at 3rd party shops.

Those who want to service CVT oil outside should buy the CVT oil and filter from Proton and have outside shop to change it for you to save on the labour charge but this is not advisable as it's still much much better to let Proton SC handle the CVT.

But again, after changing CVT fluid, need to do CVT adaptation (but AFAIK if don't do also it won't cause any damage to the CVT, only less smooth), which I think only a few outside shop knows how to do it. The shop pulak may sound like they really know how to do but actually they don't. doh.gif

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Jan 12 2016, 12:58 PM)
deswai i tell him la. he said at SC change CVT 800++. he ask why sc so expensive.
284 definitely change cvt fluid only, not maybe. but he also not give the receipt also.
QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Jan 12 2016, 01:58 PM)
Could be ATF fluid also.  hmm.gif
It could be as the amount RM284 may have include quite a no of things changed...

QUOTE(n3w @ Jan 12 2016, 02:50 PM)
11th January 2016

Anyway, somehow managed so catch up with sifu/ leng zai TitanRev yesterday at mcd seremban 2 on the way back to hometown.

JamesBotak could not make it so next time yaah. Seeing and touching the modifications done face to face proved to benefit myself much.

Looking forward to next TT yah Joe! Thankiuuu. laugh.gif

I'm jealous now !!!! cry.gif
JamesBotak
post Jan 13 2016, 10:44 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Jan 12 2016, 04:56 PM)
i met TitanRev biasa2 only. tarak special pun whistling.gif
QUOTE(n3w @ Jan 12 2016, 06:54 PM)
He feels you tak hensem. yawn.gif
QUOTE(TitanRev @ Jan 12 2016, 07:42 PM)
Ok next Tt I wear skirt come
Hahahahahaha...
JamesBotak
post Jan 17 2016, 02:55 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Jan 16 2016, 11:17 PM)
Your Ramcar can last almost 4 years kah? So long?
As some mentioned previously, how long the battery can lasts depends on luck.

I don't know whether driving everyday or long distance would make the battery lasts longer but what I've found is somehow this ramcar (stock) battery can last quite long.

This is based on what I've been reading about this battery on FB saga club.

And his is definitely very long indeed... thumbup.gif

I'm jelly... I hope mine will last as long as his as well... blush.gif

Seriously 4 years is considered long and that's good... icon_rolleyes.gif
JamesBotak
post Jan 19 2016, 01:58 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Jan 19 2016, 01:13 PM)
What to do? Money hard earn ah boss.. even though its a 40k punya kereta but i want to claim every faulty parts.. if not rugi mah.. huhuhu..
I loike this ! thumbup.gif

Since got warranty so we should claim each and every fault part... icon_idea.gif

But you are very lucky... blush.gif
JamesBotak
post Jan 20 2016, 11:59 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(TitanRev @ Jan 20 2016, 11:57 AM)
I see if I have time to make 1 set of 4 or not then only I tell you
I also want... blush.gif
JamesBotak
post Jan 26 2016, 10:24 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(FLXM @ Jan 26 2016, 10:01 AM)
if kaya... sudah beli Vios maa sad.gif  sad.gif

if can afford expensive cars.. expensive tires also no issue maaa... nod.gif

but i seen youngster nowadays .. baru grad terus beli new car like honda City, vios pujot 208 hmm.gif ... no wonder they say they are poor... coz spending too much for cars. rclxub.gif
This is the main reason why they are poor

Some of them baru grad earning 2.5k paying for car almost 1k how to survive la

If pay for house 1k it's good as it's investment but car is liability

rclxub.gif
JamesBotak
post Jan 26 2016, 12:15 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jan 26 2016, 10:25 AM)
last time i kena same case like uts cvt light on frequently..after tukar tayar from silverstone to dunlop no more cvt light
Hmmm maybe the CVT don't like Silverstone tyre. Maybe I should change tyre as well... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(n3w @ Jan 26 2016, 11:17 AM)
Be smart, buy a Saga. brows.gif
QUOTE(FLXM @ Jan 26 2016, 11:32 AM)
Smarter a bit buy kapcai... hahhahaa
QUOTE(TitanRev @ Jan 26 2016, 12:11 PM)
I got inquire before those KTM Duke or ER6N because I also got think of changing to bike or getting a bike to work....not cheap to maintain also... smile.gif I thought since it's a bike it's cheaper but when I go shop ask tire price...Zzzz
Honda EX5
JamesBotak
post Jan 27 2016, 09:17 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(bunnyzai @ Jan 26 2016, 10:57 PM)
An update from my issue posted a while back to those who might be interested.

It was found that the relay for fuel pump was faulty. Replaced that and the car is running good again.

Hopefully that will solve the problem. smile.gif
Do you have the pic of the relay ? Is the relay located under the dash, driver side near the obd port ?

I was reading on FB few days ago and the mentioned that same thing. Fuel pump relay.

They said it's either the relay is faulty or the wiring is loose.

icon_rolleyes.gif
JamesBotak
post Feb 2 2016, 09:37 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(Invader Zim @ Feb 1 2016, 10:48 PM)
So the first pic is supposedly my "bocor cooling coil"

The 2nd pic is the ice build on the tube
Wow. That's a lot of ice build up. Maybe there is sumbat somewhere in the ac pipes ? icon_rolleyes.gif
JamesBotak
post Mar 14 2016, 11:33 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(jesseclane @ Mar 11 2016, 04:14 PM)
ohmy.gif

maybe i should vacuum my SAT area  hmm.gif
You should. I did vacuum mine and turned out the SAT light has never turn on since. It's confirmed the SAT button is the culprit in 90% of the cases where the light turn on. But, please be aware that it could also mean some serious issue with your CVT if the light turns on. Please head over to the nearest SC if the light turns on AND your CVT operates differently (meaning maybe suddenly it jerks as it never did before, or your rpm revs higher than normal or your clutch slips more than usual or whatever that's not as usual... I mean you should know how your car is if you drive it everyday). But if the light turns on, and your CVT operates as usual, try pressing the SAT button on and off hard (99% of the time this works). If this works, then it's obvious it's the SAT button. FB groups have shared MANY MANY cases of the SAT button failing thus causing the CVT light to turn on. Also if your car is under warranty, go to your nearest SC and tell them you need replacement for the SAT button unit. Proton somehow has acknowledged this (not officially) and have changed quite a no of SAT units for their customer. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(AMenzZ @ Mar 11 2016, 10:11 PM)
Bro, you just makan cili padi ker?

Im not the one ask la...

Not sure why my phone Google Chrome after clicked the link it go to the forum board only..

Chill bro... i just laugh my phone cant open the link...  sweat.gif

Now i have time to sit in front my lappy to view the link you given... aiyoyo..
Btw, the link brought me to the same forum board as well. biggrin.gif I guess my phone is TAHI phone as well. rolleyes.gif We are in the same boat bro. I feel you... console.gif

This post has been edited by JamesBotak: Mar 14 2016, 11:35 AM
JamesBotak
post Mar 16 2016, 04:31 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Mar 16 2016, 04:23 PM)
bro u replaced ur SAT button adi? haha

btw i wonder how long do they actually take to replace the SAT button  sweat.gif  anyone who replaced their SAT can please enlighten  notworthy.gif

always wanted to go to SC to ask for replacement but all the time, but worried that it will be a very long process lol
plus 9 out of 10 times they told me reset adi will be fine bangwall.gif
Nop. Never bothered to replace. They take their own grandmother sweet time to replace. I don't have such time to waste with them. bangwall.gif

Btw, if you really wanna get a replacement for your SAT button, then you need to be a bit rude to them. I'm aint teaching you this tho but it's the reality of Proton SC. vmad.gif

You need to make noise when you go SC. Tell them many of your friends have managed to get replacement and bla bla bla bla... then... the magic happens... suddenly they'll tell you, they'll replace immediately or they'll order it for you.

If else, you go there and tell them nicely, each and every time they'll tell you they have reset it and there's no problem and bla bla bla bla... rclxub.gif
JamesBotak
post Mar 21 2016, 06:19 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(RegistraCHAN @ Mar 21 2016, 04:57 PM)
to  ease my worry..
the car goin to wakil Servis Proton kat putrajaya to look out for the CVT Indicator pop OUt
Been said that Will Cost me RM 80 @ at least RM30 (Still Under waranty)

Call 1800 And ask me to go to CoSE
Wakil Ll Charge Me
Servis Center ll do For Free
.. but hav too book schedual first

so End UP
Putrajaya Proton Servis said ini SAT button Problem,
No Charge for RM sweat.gif
No Paper Printed doh.gif

so wait for CoSE schedule than,  thumbsup.gif
By The way TQ for all the head Up b4 Guys  icon_rolleyes.gif
They have somehow acknoeledge the issue but I don't think it's official. So there you go... they'll replace the SAT button unit with a new unit (I'm not sure whether the new unit is a better unit but I haven't heard or seen anyone who have changed theirs complaining of the same issue anymore).

I'm too lazy to go SC to change... tongue.gif

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Mar 21 2016, 05:30 PM)
come TT belanja teh tarik  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
JamesBotak
post Mar 21 2016, 06:21 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Mar 21 2016, 06:04 PM)
my SAT suddenly haywire thn back to normal..lol
i never enable it..gear indicator from D to S thn D in 1-2 sec..lol
The button longgar like lifeless didi that's why it went from D to S for a while.

Btw, I whacked my SAT button hard enough, and since then it never had any issues...

icon_rolleyes.gif
JamesBotak
post Mar 24 2016, 09:15 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Mar 23 2016, 11:01 PM)
the other way round. door open but no roof lamp. the spring dun struck back on time. thus in the end my car alarm sense no door is opened.
Same with mine. But mine only happens with the rear passenger door (driver side).

If unlock car, then open that door, while putting things all, the car thinks no doors has been opened, it locks it selfs automatically.

The irony is, right after the car locks automatically, the spring kicks out and there goes the alarm. LOL

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
JamesBotak
post Apr 7 2016, 10:28 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(azmie1289 @ Apr 7 2016, 10:27 AM)
Hi guys. I'm new here. Noobies reporting in...
Welcome to the club azmie1289 rclxm9.gif
JamesBotak
post Apr 22 2016, 09:02 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(DonMe @ Apr 22 2016, 05:48 AM)
Driving cvt using L to go down? No use one, engine braking just cut off very fast and car will be left rolling in neutral. Best is still use D for downhill, at least engine braking will make you lesser use brakes, even thou high rpm, @2.5~4K, but brake pad won't fade too easily.
I don't get your point. It's either you haven't drove FLX CVT before or the L gear in your car acts differently.

The L gear itself will provide continuous lower gear ratio which = higher engine rev/ rpm.

So please define what makes you say it's "No use one".

I have used both D and L to go down Genting before and it's proven in L it's 99% engine braking. In fact, I dare say in L your car will be going down the hill too slow till you'll need to accelerate a bit. Even when you accelerate, after you let go of the pedal, it's gonna get real slow again. From my experience using L, I used very very less brakes. In between the corners, you'll get short straight road, I used to accelerate on that straight stretch a bit and before the corner let go of the pedal and take the corner without any brakes as the car is already very slow.

Meanwhile in D, you'll have engine braking, but not as much as in L. Why ? Because when you step on your accelerator pedal, the engine braking automatically cancels so that you'll go faster. You'll then need to step on your brakes to slow down and sometimes that car will put itself in engine braking mode and sometimes not.

So again, I don't see where in L, "engine braking cut off very fast and car will be left rolling in neutral" ?

I'll say for CVT, it's best to use L to go up and down Genting. I have also tried L going up and down Cameron Highlands.

Why use L to go up ? Because it's always in the higher revs and that's where our engine is good at.

This is just my 1 cent... icon_rolleyes.gif
JamesBotak
post Apr 22 2016, 09:23 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(DonMe @ Apr 22 2016, 09:11 AM)
Erm... Been driving a 2013 flx exec, from 2013. Been climbing up and down Genting using D instead of L, L will engage but when it is below 40km/h, the engine will rev down and the speed will pick up. While in D, so Long it feels it is going downslope, it will keep using engine braking all the way down to 20~30km/h. Going uphill, I just keep my rpm at 3k to climb without issue. my L is very jerky in Low speed.
Could there be any chance that our TCU has different software version or something ?

Because I'm driving a 2015 FLX SV and it's totally different from yours...

hmm.gif
JamesBotak
post May 11 2016, 06:24 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(kiien_kyan @ May 11 2016, 05:36 PM)
thanks. nice to meet you too. btw, anyway we get to know the quality(level?)..

i'm planning to change the tinted cos felt hot (after few years only got budget to do so sad.gif )
but worry after i change it, the tinted worse than the original one tongue.gif tongue.gif blush.gif
Summoning CannyCool icon_rolleyes.gif
JamesBotak
post May 16 2016, 09:58 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(iskazulka @ May 11 2016, 08:11 PM)
Ms.Canny la noob.
Sorry king
JamesBotak
post Jun 10 2016, 09:21 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Jun 10 2016, 08:01 AM)
the one that suits your wallet.
tyre :anything except silverstone.
Why not silverstone? hmm.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0526sec    1.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:20 AM