Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

deadravel
post Mar 10 2016, 12:15 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

hi guys, got question here regarding malaysia postpaid plan,

now i work in singapore and i still retain my postpaid plan for malaysia line,
thinking of changing it to prepaid or cheaper postpaid.
1. if change to prepaid plan, i still have to topup to keep the sim active (RM30 for 30days)
2. if change to postpaid i also need to pay monthly.

any idea? how u guys maintain the malaysia line?

deadravel
post Mar 10 2016, 12:24 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Mar 10 2016, 12:21 AM)
i am a digi user.
Can ask them how to pay rm50 to keep the phone alive / activated for 1 year.
Other telco u will have to check.
Hope that answer your question.
prepaid digi? rm50 for 1 year?
notworthy.gif i will try to research xia. tq

any other way?
deadravel
post Mar 10 2016, 10:25 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Mar 10 2016, 12:27 AM)
Yes, i was postpaid user but change to prepaid after getting a job in Singapore too.. but not tied to any phone contract.
Other way, need to ask them lo.
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 10 2016, 09:12 AM)
i used to be postpaid
then went prepaid but the prepaid value inside keep adding up -_-ll
now i am on RedOne postpaid...rm8 per month
i also switched my parents to RedOne.
so now my parents have rm24 to utilize before i get additional charges.
QUOTE(Blues89 @ Mar 10 2016, 09:20 AM)
using prepaid,i let it expired but not inactive.
as i back msia every 1-2months,so number still wont die...just reload and use when i back
I see I see.
then if you guys wanna use data how ah? top up money and buy data ? hmm.gif

QUOTE(aLertz @ Mar 10 2016, 09:48 AM)
I'm also previous DiGi postpaid user, switched to XOX prepaid since they providing 28 months validity so i no need to keep topup laugh.gif
is the XOX prepaid still available? where can I signup ? 28months without topup seems very good thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by deadravel: Mar 10 2016, 10:29 AM
deadravel
post Mar 10 2016, 10:31 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Mar 10 2016, 10:28 AM)
Change to Rm30 with 1gb so I can spam data when I back to MY laugh.gif
means that every month pay rm30? for 1gb data only? hmm hmm.gif
still seems expensive. at most 1 month I only back Malaysia 1 time. few days spend in Malaysia only
deadravel
post Mar 10 2016, 01:09 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Mar 10 2016, 11:23 AM)
That's why I spam data. Lazy to convert to prepaid and reload everytime.
haha. good point also
QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 10 2016, 11:49 AM)
I am using Umobile postpaid, RM28 + 6% GST monthly, 3GB + 50min talk time. Summore have free 50mb in Singapore daily or something, but I haven't tried that. If you switch to U, note that pay deposit (RM200 ??) for roaming or show them your previous telco you have roaming.
this is the only postpaid plan im stalking. I saw that u28 can apply 1 more subline which is only rm10.
I may ask my gf subline for me (she using u28). just wondering can the subline subscribe to any data plan when im in Malaysia.
hmm.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 10 2016, 10:36 AM)
Yes, can be used in overseas.
thanks . was looking thru xox website. seems like a good deal. mnp to xox and get 28months validity
do you know the price of xox data subscription ? how much for 1gb etc..
notworthy.gif

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Mar 10 2016, 12:01 PM)
Dafuq...  Thats like 18bucks a month...  Ur sg salary cant maintain this small cost?
chill. not that I cant maintain. nod.gif
im just looking for alternatives/options from other pros here before settling on 1.

QUOTE(pangch @ Mar 10 2016, 12:53 PM)
Usually where did u guys found your first job in SG ? Through joobstreet ? And how long does it response ? I send many resume in job street but not yet response, already around one week. Please advise thanks
I look thru jobstreet, jobsdb, monster, linkedin and others. send numerous resume.
only few apply after almost 2months.

This post has been edited by deadravel: Mar 10 2016, 01:11 PM
deadravel
post Mar 10 2016, 03:33 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Mar 10 2016, 01:27 PM)
we value for money ma.. and it is not "per month".. it is RM50 for a year.
And you pay as you need to use only.
yea. we value our money nod.gif
and which plan are you referring to rm50/year?
deadravel
post Mar 10 2016, 05:15 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Mar 10 2016, 03:45 PM)
It is not a plan..
I am just using Digi prepaid plan.. just go to any Digi Shop, ask them how can you keep the phone valid and wont be expired for one year.
So Digi told me i just have to pay RM 50 for this.

But when u need to use, make call or subscribe data, u need to top and up and pay accordingly.

Maybe call digi or ur operator for more info?
okok. thanks guys!
deadravel
post Mar 11 2016, 12:58 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(Ludicruce @ Mar 6 2016, 09:28 PM)
Hey guys,

Kinda in a dilemma here, my first job as freshie(masters accounting and finance) got offered for business development in SME company. Might be sending to Myanmar to expand business over there .

No commissions, only bonus/incentives  ( avg bonus 2-3months, top sales 6)

2.2 , after confirmation will increase 2.5

Drawbacks. Contract for 3years with 3 months penalty. Have to sign contract within the first month. Probation between 3-6months. 

Working hours 11-8pm. No OT , no hard sales because it's b2b.

Is this offer fair? I am alright with the jobs scope and arrangements so far. But is worried sick for the contract and would be pleased if tai kor here's can share their opinions in such arrangements.
3 years contract is a lot. a lot can change in 3 years. think about that carefully. sweat.gif
deadravel
post Mar 11 2016, 03:14 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(Ludicruce @ Mar 11 2016, 01:15 PM)
Noted with thanks guys, your opinions are much appreciated. After much consideration. The best step would of course to flake or delay signing the contract, in which my friend told me can be done. As in continue to work without signing the contract. Anyway, yes, I wouldn't mind or expect to have any better remuneration just because I have masters, after all business is business. My salary can only be justified with my performance. So have to just join as freshie with 2.2k.

Also my own research from most of friends working in Singapore as a Malaysian, they also started with this salary and below(subject to qualification).

Based on guys experience, is it possible to get any better pay than 2.5/2.6 for a freshie? As in , should I keep continue to find a better package job while working there. Then hop to another later. Or this current job seems fair for a freshie like me  IF exclude the contract thingy?
my fren. IT industry. bachelor degree fresh grade get 3.1k thumbsup.gif
deadravel
post Mar 15 2016, 05:22 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(pangch @ Mar 15 2016, 12:52 PM)
Currently i had three years exp in IT field and i want to change to work in sg. Curently salery is 5k. It is ok if i put expected salery to 4k sgd if working in sg? Will it too high ?
I put the same number, but in SGD icon_idea.gif
u can put whatever u think you are worth flex.gif

This post has been edited by deadravel: Mar 15 2016, 05:22 PM
deadravel
post Mar 21 2016, 01:34 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Mar 21 2016, 11:34 AM)
PR application kena pending for 9months+..den kena rejected.
sibeh sienz sia
2 of my fren here apply jor 1year
1 still pending after 1 year
1 just got approved

edit: 1 when submit got bring the ori copy of everything
the other one still pending dint bring his ori copy of cert.
that's their only diff.

This post has been edited by deadravel: Mar 21 2016, 04:57 PM
deadravel
post Mar 28 2016, 05:03 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(ahcab @ Mar 28 2016, 03:55 PM)
Hi..
Got offer to work with SG company as Software Engineer, but will be station in Johor.
They will offer me salary in SGD.
Got 1.5 years of experiences, they will add ~25% since no epf will be given.
how much should I demand in terms of salary?

And anything that I should be worry?

Sifuu please  icon_question.gif
Sg company but based in Johor?
and ~25% is based on ur current salary in MYR? confused.gif

deadravel
post Mar 29 2016, 10:31 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(ahcab @ Mar 29 2016, 09:56 AM)
SG company but will be station in Johor to take care of their network.
25% will be added to my salary. All in SGD.
icon_rolleyes.gif
good stuff.
if u earning around 3k myr now. just request them for around 3k sgd should be ok.
and since u reside in JB for at minimum 6months, u could save a lot in this period

and after they move u back to SG then only u decide whether ok or not.
but 3k sgd should be enuf for normal living + saving. thumbup.gif
deadravel
post Mar 31 2016, 10:02 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Mar 31 2016, 08:15 AM)
last night around 9.30pm i change at raffles money changer in jurong point they give me 2.94
I just checked raffles website, not only 2.91 doh.gif
deadravel
post Mar 31 2016, 05:04 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Mar 31 2016, 04:43 PM)
Hey, sifus. I have an interview at Jurong at morning 8am ? What is the best way can i reach there on time. Bus ? Plane ? Or should I stay overnight at JB or Singapore ? Any suggestion is certainly welcomed... Thank you
if your budget allows, I would suggest u to come 1day early and stay overnight near jurong or the company u going to interview.
this also prevent unforeseen situation like accident/jam/etc happen. and you wont have to rush nod.gif

deadravel
post Apr 3 2016, 07:32 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Apr 3 2016, 06:57 PM)
Hey, sifus. I have some questions here. The company called me to make an appointment for signing the employment letter, I have some doubts regarding it.
(i) Usually the letter will be signed on the spot ?
(ii) Should I take it back and sign after study the term and condition in it ?
(iii) The company will bond you for a number of year ? For instance, cannot quit in the first half year.
Hope your reply can enlighten me. Thank you.
1. ask them to send u soft copy to review first in email.
2. normally they will ask u review on the spot
3. depends. some do some don't
deadravel
post Apr 5 2016, 08:38 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(bujubomb @ Apr 5 2016, 07:02 PM)
even my name is not in there is fine? confused.gif
yes. the bank just wan the address stated there.
deadravel
post Apr 5 2016, 10:04 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(Kayo @ Apr 5 2016, 09:09 PM)
be careful not to rent from a second landlord, my friend just paid his rental fees to his landlord but apparently that landlord is also renting from the first landlord
actually alot ppl here rent the whole unit n rent out the room again. whistling.gif
so sometime unavoidable.
deadravel
post Apr 6 2016, 04:49 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Apr 6 2016, 04:29 PM)
Hey, guys. May I ask regarding the IPA document, should employee print, sign and submit it back to employer OR the employer print and let the employee sign during meeting for contract signing ? I have an appointment with the HR next week for contract signing but the HR sent me the IPA without giving any instruction, hence I am looking for your previous experience. Thank you.
for my case, I printed the IPA and fill in everything needed and sign before I go SG. thumbsup.gif
deadravel
post Apr 6 2016, 05:12 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Apr 6 2016, 04:58 PM)
Thanks for your sharing. How about your medical examination form, you print it as well ?
the medical exam form is part of the IPA right?
u need to pass the form to the clinic/hospital when u register for medical checkup. the doctor will fill up the form after checkup.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0644sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:23 AM