Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V23, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time
soonwai
Dec 23 2015, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(dreamthief @ Dec 23 2015, 03:39 PM) BTU for my case. My Asus router spoilt, using the default TM provided router, never touch that. When the person came, asked for router or BTU. He said BTU only. Is yours Alcatel BTU?
soonwai
Dec 24 2015, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(warlove3 @ Dec 24 2015, 05:14 PM) anyone can try pinging to this server? sgp-2.valve.net its been lagging on dota2 servers today... getting few packets dropped and above 100ms which usually in 30+ only Not so good here. IP currently 124.*. 210.* & 175.* also same thing. CODE mac$ ping -c 10 sgp-2.valve.net PING sgp-2.valve.net (103.10.124.1): 56 data bytes 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=56 time=111.176 ms 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=113.900 ms 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=56 time=111.777 ms 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=56 time=112.887 ms 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=56 time=117.082 ms 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=56 time=120.983 ms 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=56 time=113.241 ms 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=7 ttl=56 time=110.926 ms 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=8 ttl=56 time=112.666 ms 64 bytes from 103.10.124.1: icmp_seq=9 ttl=56 time=113.040 ms
--- sgp-2.valve.net ping statistics --- 10 packets transmitted, 10 packets received, 0.0% packet loss round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 110.926/113.768/120.983/2.909 ms This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 24 2015, 06:40 PM
soonwai
Dec 26 2015, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Dec 26 2015, 05:39 PM) Hi bros. Is 289 for the archer c7 a good deal? Damn good deal for a new one. The best I've seen is RM300. Where's the deal?
soonwai
Dec 26 2015, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(babycry123 @ Dec 26 2015, 07:16 PM) I've called TM cs to upgrade my Vip 5 to Unifi Adv 30mbps this afternoon. The person told me minimum 7 working days to upgrade my package. Is that person reliable though? 7 days? Do what? That long? How long does upgrade usually take? Mine VIP10 upgraded to Adv30 over phone on Weds afternoon and activated Friday afternoon. So about 2 days. They told me will take 3 days.
soonwai
Jan 10 2016, 03:40 PM
How much bandwidth does HyppTV use? Especially for HD channels. I checked Channel 622 Luxe TV HD and I got around max 8.9mbps. Do other HD channels go higher than this?
soonwai
Jan 10 2016, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Jan 10 2016, 07:50 PM) i think tm allocate around 8-10mbps for hypptv. normal channel normally use below 5mbps...hd will be using 7- 10mbps(normally below 10mbps). Thanks zi-tech & kebeckham7Setting up a wifi bridge for my uncle's house. The STB n the router are about 40ft apart and on different floors. Just want to make sure there's enough bandwidth for HyppTV to function. Homeplugs didn't work. :-(
soonwai
Jan 11 2016, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jan 10 2016, 09:39 PM) u mean u want do STB connect wifi which is connect to router?? Yah, connect STB (Huawei EC2108E) wirelessly to router because (i) dun wan to pull cable (ii) homeplug not fast enough, hypptv pixelate and jerk like mad. This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 11 2016, 02:03 AM
soonwai
Jan 12 2016, 01:45 AM
Guys, I'm facing a problem with my HyppTV. Actually haven't used it in years but decided to try it again. I'm on Adv30. My STB box is the old Huawei one that I got with VIP5.
When I watch HD channel like 622 Luxe HD and at the same time I download something which maxes my UniFi 30mbps, the HyppTV starts to jerk and pixelate. It's like there's not enough bandwidth coming to my house.
I'm using Homeplug to connect STB to router (Mikrotik RB2011UAS). I also tried using cable, same prob. My STB is Huawei EC2108E. My BTU is the old black Huawei one.
What do you think could be the problem?
Btw, this was today (Monday), I made a report to 100 at about 5pm. About 8pm, got a call from TM but I missed the call. Pretty good response huh? Then received an SMS where they reset my @iptv password. I re-login but of course, that didn't help.
Update: This Tues morning, missed another call from TM. Called 100 and ask them to call me back.
This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 12 2016, 12:14 PM
soonwai
Jan 12 2016, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 12 2016, 03:28 AM) Did you tried to check on the interface through Winbox on how much of bandwidth are pushed through vlan600 when you max out vlan500? Anyway, if it only happens when you stream HD channel through stb and at the same time downloading stuff that maxes your 30mbps but the stb is not able to get 6-8mbps of bandwidth to have a smooth streaming experience, then I think a suspect to be suspected of would be your BTU. Another suspect would be TM where they don't have that much of bandwidth. TM called again this morning and I missed the call again. Called 100 and asked them to call me back. Anyway. For channel 622, vlan600 runs steady at 8.6-8.9mbps. Problems start occurring when vlan500 reaches about 28mbps with some slight pixelation on HyppTV. At 30mbps the HyppTV is pretty bad. For non HD channels, of some which I've observed to run at 2mbps, it's fine.
soonwai
Jan 12 2016, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(jusbella @ Jan 12 2016, 12:43 PM) Try change better router. Thanks, never thought it could be the router but it could be something in it that might be causing the problem.
soonwai
Jan 12 2016, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 12 2016, 12:45 PM) I guess that its the BTU? unlikely to be your router because your mikrotik router is a dual core model. I suspect it's the signal of the fibre coming in or maybe the BTU. Could be the router too though I don't think it is but wouldn't hurt to check. I've got tons of firewall, mangle rules and queues though nothing that I can see that affects vlan600. Anyway TM techs called and this time I managed to answer so they are coming to check at 3pm.
soonwai
Jan 12 2016, 08:21 PM
Bandar Sungai Long here. Both my neighbour and myself are now at 10mbps up. Change happened yesterday for me.
soonwai
Jan 13 2016, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Jan 13 2016, 05:49 PM) Yang tak dpt jgn la kecoh2, later all revert back to normal.  Lol, all for one, one for all mah. If my bro don't have, I also dun wan lah.
soonwai
Jan 14 2016, 03:00 PM
Wow! the Maxis Technicolor router tg748n not bad ah. Last night at my local kopi shop, got 35 active hosts, the router still working ok.
soonwai
Jan 14 2016, 05:25 PM
First time get 1ms ping. Anomaly? http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4995726045 This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 14 2016, 05:38 PM
soonwai
Jan 15 2016, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 14 2016, 06:16 PM) Try running for few times and see.   Just did this a min ago. Still 1ms ping. Wierd huh? This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 15 2016, 05:06 PM
soonwai
Jan 15 2016, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(Colonel Cabuk @ Jan 15 2016, 05:08 PM) Try the HTML5 one: beta.speedtest.netbeta.speedtest giving 4ms. Maxis server. http://beta.speedtest.net/result/4998709807The Puchong server giving 5ms.
soonwai
Jan 16 2016, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 12 2016, 01:32 PM) let's see what the TM tech will say then In case you forgot. This was about the HyppTV pixelation problem when total traffic approaches 39mbps. TM techs came later that day but as blur as me. Says they've never seen this problem before. So they tested the fibre and said the signal was OK, good enough for 50mbps if I were to subscribe to it. They changed the STB to the new Android one and the problem seemed less but still happening. They also offered to change the BTU but I said no. That BTU has been reliable and I didn't want to disturb it. Also because it occurred to me then that my vlan600 is bridged to port 10. My pppoe lives on port1. The RB2011 has 5 GB ports (ether1-5) and 5 100mbit ports (ether6-10) on separate switches. Maybe that has something to do with it. When I have time, I'm gonna move HyppTV back to port 5 and test again.
soonwai
Jan 16 2016, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Jan 16 2016, 07:37 PM) Yes the cable is long enough for where I want to place it, but I have no experience with DIY work, especially with fragile fiber cable, which is why I want to know if TM contractor can help me move it. Another thing I forgot to mention is that my Unifi equipment is placed on an elevated platform made exclusively for it that is screwed into the wall, which also needs to be moved to the new location. Don't worry, it's not that fragile. Maintain a min 2in turn radius. Actually 1in also can if there's no load on the cable but 1in radius looks scary. And try not to step on it.
soonwai
Jan 16 2016, 11:15 PM
Ever wondered how congested 2.4GHz WiFi is? Here's a spectral scan of the frequencies around 2.4Ghz in my house. A spectral scan or even AP scan is a good way to find the least dirty channel to use. The big red part is when I start a speedtest on my phone. The Maxis LTE channel is steady and strong. Quite worrying as I'm about 100m from the telco tower. The blue stuff you see outside of the wifi channels is probably from regular devices like microwave ovens, TVs, etc... Test done on a Mikrotik RB2011UiAS. This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 17 2016, 12:55 AM