4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

TechnoG
post Jun 2 2011, 10:34 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Jun 2 2011, 09:59 AM)
i know its old..
i just happen to have one lying around not used at my bro's home. laugh.gif
iinm = ?
IINM = If I'm Not Mistaken tongue.gif

Only if you're planning to buy, then get the Seasonic one. But since you have one lying at your bro's home, then just use that.

TechnoG
post Jun 2 2011, 04:08 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Jun 2 2011, 12:54 PM)
cant be simply loanin em forever.. oso just found that out..
but 300 is gonna have to wait a while.. xD
wait, you're planning to get one HD6850 only right?
then something cheap like FSP Hexa 500W will do. nod.gif
TechnoG
post Jun 5 2011, 06:23 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(bahrin @ Jun 5 2011, 02:28 PM)
frien how u calculate it..can teach me,
TechnoG
post Jun 5 2011, 09:54 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fazil0610 @ Jun 5 2011, 09:07 PM)
Actually I also got the same PSU and planning to get GTX 570/580, just curious whether it could support those GPU or not?
Yup, CM Silent Pro M600 is sufficient for single GTX 570 and GTX 580 nod.gif
TechnoG
post Jun 5 2011, 10:01 PM

9,338 posts

Yup.
TechnoG
post Jun 16 2011, 07:20 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(bizarrEaster @ Jun 16 2011, 01:01 AM)
1 question, heard alot of ppl said that coolermaster's PSU quality not good, is it true?

cuz i juz bought a CM Silent Pro M1000 2 months ago and burnt out, now in RMA still no sign of coming back T.T

Should i just buy another good PSU and sell M1000 off when it comes back later?
Well, CM SPM PSU is quite good imho, so far no complaints about them.
if you can wait, then wait for it. If you can't get a new one.

Added on June 16, 2011, 7:20 pm
QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Jun 15 2011, 11:00 PM)
Silver Stone SST-ST60F-ES 600W is a good PSU?
Yeah.

Added on June 16, 2011, 7:22 pm
QUOTE(cardin @ Jun 15 2011, 10:10 PM)
hi guyz i wan to ask some questions here...

what if?

my system is using 300W

and i use:

i) 500W PSU with 80 plus rated
ii) 400W PSU with 80 plus rated

does it mean that if i choose option no (i) i'll be using more power (high electricity) because of higher power output that can be produced by 500W psu while my system requires only 300W and does it mean that if i use 400W psu instead my electricity consumption will be lesser?
theoretically, yes. But if your usage doesn't even hit 500W, and won't even take in that much electricity, then it doesn't makes sense. If you say that it'll pull 500W from the socket, then where the extra electricity go? heaven? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Jun 16 2011, 07:22 PM
TechnoG
post Jun 21 2011, 04:25 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(diablo1051 @ Jun 21 2011, 03:49 PM)
hi, thanks for your info..
just wondering if CM or seasonic 500W how much is the prise rather? is it RM250+
FSP, CM and seasonic 500W which is durable?
TQ
I'll say Seasonic. But FSP is a good PSU too flex.gif it is something like a Rolls-Royce vs Bentley.

Seasonic Silence Pro RM199
FSP Hexa 500W RM159
CM, forget about it.

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Jun 21 2011, 04:25 PM
TechnoG
post Jun 22 2011, 05:00 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Jun 22 2011, 04:43 PM)
hi
is PSUs that sells in china(taobao) trustable?? will it fire??

eg. this
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=9838509644
No, cause it is cap ayam smile.gif
count the +12V rails, total is around 400W+ only on a 600W PSU.
TechnoG
post Jul 1 2011, 07:01 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(supernothing @ Jun 29 2011, 10:57 AM)
still not available for malaysian market sweat.gif

[attachmentid=2302147]
I think this will cost a bomb laugh.gif
TechnoG
post Jul 14 2011, 05:58 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ Jul 14 2011, 05:40 PM)
FSP HEXA 400/500W is very good spec on the paper & "drooling"  drool.gif  with it's current offer/selling price. Saw a lot recommend them in this topic.

But IMO, after building some rig for my customer, I notice few flaws on this model. I guess that's justified the price / product offered. Not to "boikot" them but only want to express my opinion and any HEXA 400/500W user can share your view too  smile.gif

1. 4+4pin cable for motherboard is shorter than other brand PSU, it's impossible to route from the back of the motherboard for neat cable management. Try on the CM Elite 430, Thermaltake V3 & Aerocool VS-9, all phailed  laugh.gif
Same apply to it's 24pin

2. Cable is not nicely sleeved, make it look like cheapo PSU. And not all cable is sleeved

3. And this PSU kinda light, again make it feel "kinda cheapo" or "cap ayam". It's lot lighter than other model like Seasonic, CM, SST, Corsair or Acbel @ 500W range models. Normally good PSU you can feel it's weight as good quality parts ect it's transformer, the heavier the better. The terms is like gold, "lagi berat, lagi best". It's more like the build "feel" solid and "ada UMPH!"
~ correct me if I'm wrong, maybe new technology from FSP in PSU can produce good quality PSU with light stuff  blush.gif

4. Power cable NOT included in package

For system builder and personal preference, my 1st choice will be Corsair CX500, 2nd will be Seasonic SP 500W & 3rd will be SST ST50F-ES if ya all looking for solid 500W PSU in term of quality, features, build & price/performance. All 3 models price range RM199-RM225 if you survey around garage sale or lowyat plaza

Suppose Seasonic S12II-520W will be my all time favorite/recommendation but as u guys know, this PSU is not avaialble in our market anymore  sad.gif

Well, those is more like outer built or the 'solidity'. But the quality of FSP is wink.gif what we want is the quality and how this PSU can support a system without fail, not some outer stuff.
of course PSU like Silverstone Strider is another RM50 more? no?

and uhm, I thought Hexa is a relabeled version of the previous SAGAII?

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Jul 14 2011, 05:59 PM
TechnoG
post Jul 14 2011, 10:28 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ Jul 14 2011, 06:45 PM)
Well, mind to "spoon feed" as I hardly find reviews for this PSU in website with the help of google  tongue.gif

Manufacturer can label the spec on the paper but I'm hardly convince by them as I trust more in 3rd party reviewer  biggrin.gif

kingkingyyk owns both Hexa 500W and SAGAII 500W, and from what he concluded, both of them is the same. smile.gif Hexa is a relabeled version of SAGAII.

don't you trust FSP? tongue.gif ada banyak manufacturer guna OEM, bang. Be Quiet! etc.
TechnoG
post Jul 20 2011, 08:02 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ Jul 20 2011, 12:19 AM)
For GTX560 SLI setup, my recommendation now is ENERMAX NAXN 750watts 80Plus Bronze (Modular) @ RM399 with freebies  smile.gif

Another option will be ENERMAX NAXN 600watts 80Plus @ RM249 with freebies

Reference: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/801613

For SEASONIC PSU, let me inform you guys that the current distributor has drop distribution-ship for this brand, so refrain yourself from looking for SEASONIC PSU especially the X-Series. I manage to get supply for ENERMAX PSU with good price/performance ratio for the time being. ENERMAX is among the best PSU brand and plenty of reviews to convince you of it's quality & reliability  thumbup.gif

lol, if they drop then if I want to RMA my PSU, how? sad.gif why they drop?
Enermax...don't know much about their PSU, but I know their fans is gooding. tongue.gif

TechnoG
post Jul 23 2011, 03:27 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(hahanep @ Jul 23 2011, 02:16 PM)
which is better for my rig?..fsp hexa 500w or gigabyte odin gt 550w??dont forget, i do OC on my proc..thx
both is fine. Whether you want to spend extra RM10 for the extra 50W, you call the shots. smile.gif
TechnoG
post Jul 23 2011, 05:12 PM

9,338 posts

^

not recommended. Get a 450W unit smile.gif
TechnoG
post Jul 30 2011, 01:01 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(MrBushido25 @ Jul 30 2011, 12:19 PM)
WTA u guys, im buying a pc, some of the main parts are cpu i7 2600, gpu gtx 570..

can u guys suggest what psu should i buy? tried these psu calculators but their results differs form each other
don't use PSU calculators, it is crap tongue.gif
GTX 580 - 600W
GTX 570 - 550W
GTX 560 Ti - 500W
GTX 460 - 450W
TechnoG
post Aug 1 2011, 06:11 PM

9,338 posts

^

Your PSU is not a true power unit sad.gif

but I think it should be okay, you can try OC it and see whether it hangs or not tongue.gif 80% prolly can.
TechnoG
post Aug 2 2011, 02:24 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 1 2011, 07:57 PM)
Starting from 7/8 Seasonic PSU will be carried by CEX+moderno
hmm tongue.gif then what about existing users? my warranty is still running..
will they cover us?

Added on August 2, 2011, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(Auriel @ Aug 1 2011, 08:20 PM)
hmm, if i'm looking for a new psu what would you suggest? I just had a look at Silverstone Strider 500w and it looks OK for me, or do I need a better one?

EDIT : also saw this guy selling 550w psu for rm135 only. (i am price concerned)

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1799064

can his psu work?
Yup, that PSU is gooding drool.gif cheap mang.

Added on August 2, 2011, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(Wii_hunter @ Aug 2 2011, 12:55 PM)
Does anybody know when the corsair TX modular series will arrive here?
not quite sure, maybe you can ask the distributor?
here you go, http://www.cudo.com.my/

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Aug 2 2011, 02:28 PM
TechnoG
post Aug 3 2011, 02:22 PM

9,338 posts

^

doesn't matter what CPU you are using. So, what GPU you using?

btw, both selection is garbage wink.gif
TechnoG
post Aug 4 2011, 02:38 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(babywsh18 @ Aug 3 2011, 03:42 PM)
i choose integrate graphic on i5
QUOTE(adbacc @ Aug 3 2011, 06:46 PM)
In that case, any low power PSU will do. But I recommend at least
Gigabyte PoweRock 390W - RM69 (ALLIT)
Gigabyte N400A - RM100+
are you planning to put on any GPU later?
if not, then actually a cap ayam PSU will do.

Added on August 4, 2011, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(lingloong @ Aug 4 2011, 01:34 AM)
The new distributor will continue to provide warranty for previous SEASONIC PSU. For those who bought from me, the warranty still valid, I will help to claim from new SEASONIC distributor as per inform by them. So no worries here  rclxms.gif
uhmm, hell yeah tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Aug 4 2011, 02:39 PM
TechnoG
post Aug 4 2011, 05:53 PM

9,338 posts

^

then get those cheapo ones smile.gif around RM50 or less.
if you're willing to pay more, then can get some low-end Gigabyte PSUs.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0287sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:17 AM