8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 10 2010, 10:21 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(sk1llz @ Dec 10 2010, 07:38 AM)
hi guys..

my friend just bought new rig yesterday for multimedia purposes..

specs as below:

Gigabyte S-series MA74GMT-S2
AMD Phenom II X2 550 3.1Ghz
ATI Radeon HD 4670 1GB DDR3
4GB Kingston DDR3 RAM
WD Cavier 500GB
DVD Combo

He is now using Foxconn HH-500EATA, True 400W.
The system seems to be running fine. However, he wonder whether or not he should upgrade the PSU to 500W.

What do u guys think? 400W is ok?
More than enough. He could even run two HD4670 on the 400W power supply, provided that the board supports CrossfireX.
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 13 2010, 05:08 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

It's currently retailing for RM369 from Viewnet.
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 19 2010, 02:21 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

It will support smile.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 19 2010, 07:58 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

No.

A hard disk only consumes around 3W ~ 10W+- at most. Adding one extra hard disk doesn't mean you need to get a better power supply. Many people make the mistake of getting a high capacity power supply just because they have e.g 3 ~ 5 hard disks.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jan 31 2011, 05:47 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 31 2011, 05:37 PM)
if my system only need for example a 550w psu, but i buy a 800w gold psu instead of a 600/650w

will the end result,i pay more electric bill? XD
No. It will use only what it needs, for example, 550W. And the thing is, you might even save a little more money on your electric bill as a power supply usually has a higher efficiency when it's half loaded.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 12 2011, 05:13 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kuanzc @ Mar 12 2011, 01:33 PM)
Could Silver Stone SST-ST400 support HD5750?
Yes, it will be able to.

QUOTE(Searingmage @ Mar 12 2011, 02:33 PM)
Just wondering, how do we know if a PSU is true power PSU or not?
Seasonice silence pro series are true power psu?
Also, Gold, Silver and Bronze, is there really a difference for PSU?
You can determine whether a power supply is a true power power supply or not by checking its 12V rail.

An example of a non-true power power supply :

This is the label of the Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 500W power supply.

Notice that the 12V rail's combined Ampere is 36A, but the output wattage is only 360W. If you try calculating its total wattage by using the formula ( 12V x 18A )², you're supposed to get 432W. However, the label states that it outputs only 360W.

To find out true ( A ) that this power supply has on its 12V rails, you can do so by taking 360W and dividing it by 12V, and you'll get yourself 30A, which is the true (A) that the power supply can output. 36A would be its peak wattage then.

An example of a true power power supply :

This is the label of the Cooler Master Silent Pro M 600W power supply.

It has a single 12V rail, and that the 12V rail can output a total of 40A. Now to find out if it's true, you perform the same calculation above, by taking 480W and dividing it by 12V. It gets you 40A smile.gif.

For the "Gold, Silver and Bronze thing", it's there to indicate how efficient the power supply is. The best rating would be Platinum, next would be gold, then Silver then Bronze. The higher it is, the more efficient the power supply is.

TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 18 2011, 02:24 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(frey_zero @ Mar 18 2011, 02:19 PM)
what the best PSU for this solution my budget rm200++ only..
Go with the Seasonic Silence Pro 500W at RM199 from C-Zone smile.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 18 2011, 02:40 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(frey_zero @ Mar 18 2011, 02:37 PM)
SilverStone Strider Essential 500w RM239 or Gigabyte Superb RM179 can???
The Seasonic Silence Pro 500W is better than those two units you have stated.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Mar 18 2011, 02:40 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 18 2011, 05:33 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(frey_zero @ Mar 18 2011, 05:25 PM)
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 550W  can ea???
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1450284
like this...
That works too.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 18 2011, 05:48 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(frey_zero @ Mar 18 2011, 05:42 PM)
so i decide to buy this... at lowyat store how much this things ea??
I believe the Cooler Master Real Power Pro can no longer be found in shops. hmm.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 19 2011, 02:05 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Mar 19 2011, 02:04 PM)
Need advice :

Spec:
i3 2100 3.1GHz
MSi h61 mobo
2x Kingston ddr3 2GB
WD 1TB AV GP
Samsung 22x DVD rw

Future planning might install HD 5670

Can gigabyte power rock 390w able to power up the rig? Budget tight.
Yes, it will.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 19 2011, 02:15 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Mar 19 2011, 02:12 PM)
Is it stable? Even after installing HD5670? No OC on this system.

Btw how good is Gigabyte power rock 390w? Can't find it's details from gigabyte.

The Gigabyte PoweRock 390W's label.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 23 2011, 02:37 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

I would suggest that you get another power supply as the Cooler Master GX Series power supplies have high ripple and noise issues. Go with the Seasonic Silence Pro 500W at RM199 or the Silverstone Strider 500W at RM199 instead.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 23 2011, 03:33 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

The answer is already in the post #3614.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 24 2011, 08:33 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

For your system, since you have overclocked the processor, I'd say a 550W power supply would be sufficient for it. 700W is more than enough.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 25 2011, 06:41 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

For RM200, you can get the Seasonic Silence Pro 500W or the Silverstone Strider 500W at RM199. What card are you planning to get in the future and what would your budget be for the future card?

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Mar 25 2011, 06:41 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 26 2011, 07:24 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Well.. The only few cards that you can get at that range ( RM500 ~ RM600 ) would be the XFX HD5850 RM499, Leadtek GTX460 1GB OC RM549, Sapphire HD6850 at RM579. These three will run under a 500W power supply fine.

Otherwise, if you're talking about one year later or something, then we'll see what we have then smile.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 26 2011, 03:57 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Hard disk drive normally only take around 5W ~ 10W of power.

But if you'd like to stay on the safe side, then go with the Silverstone Strider Plus 600W at RM279.

Avoid the Cooler Master GX Series power supplies as these power supplies are terrible in quality and will damage your hardware in the long run due to the high ripple and electrical noise on its rails. smile.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 27 2011, 02:18 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(xiiao1047 @ Mar 27 2011, 02:13 PM)
what do you guys think about the Gigabyte GT ODIN 550w? Seems like a old psu.
It's old. But it was a highly recommended power supply back then. smile.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 27 2011, 04:12 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(0126910937 @ Mar 27 2011, 03:21 PM)
Hi wanna ask sifus here, is a cooler master silent pro m 700w enought for this setup:

core i5 2500k
asus p8p67 pro
corsair 4 gb ram 1333mhz
2 ASUS ENGTX560 Ti DCII TOP SLI
WD caviar blue 320gb
Kingston SSD 64gb
pioneer DVD writer
casing with 3 fans
Yes, it is enough. But if you haven't bought that power supply yet, I'd recommend buying the Seasonic Silence Pro 750W from Lingloong at RM329 excluding postage costs.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:49 AM