Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

Hansel
post Jan 19 2017, 10:54 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 18 2017, 11:27 PM)
Ya both move with interest. However it doesn't matter for me as long as it can achieve my goals. If EQ can reach, then EQ is it. If HY bond can reach, so be it.

Will do. But how to let you know if one needs to hold min 3 years?  hmm.gif
Bro,... buy the HY Bond Funds NOW ! Don't wait anymore,... as oil price recovers and edges up slowly,... the nav will go up ! Buy the SGD and the USD denominations.
Hansel
post Jan 27 2017, 02:25 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 27 2017, 01:13 PM)
FSM SG charges you platform fees for everything (stocks, equity funds, bond funds). It created a backlash among their community.
Avoid FSM SG at all cost as the platform fees will eat into your profit faster than service charge (platform fees is charged yearly while service charge is charged once)

This is if you want to invest in SG UT.
Bro,... charges in FSM come every quarter, not every year,...

Anyway, there is a promo period now for transferring unit trust hldgs from FSM to POEMS. POEMS will give out $20 to every $10000 worth of unit trust funds transferred to them. There will be the normal terms and conditions to be adhered to.
Hansel
post Jan 28 2017, 02:40 AM

9,353 posts

Many of my friends are also transferring their finds from FSM SG to POEMS. They're taking advantage of the promo now,..

I wonder if there is any weakness in holding ALL funds under one distributor. What if something happens to that particular distributor ?

Secondly, what are the weaknesses of holding funds under POEMS compared to FSM SG, besides, of course,... the good part, being no platform fees ?
Hansel
post Jan 28 2017, 04:39 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 28 2017, 08:53 AM)
Is there any concern about long term sustainability issue with the current Poems Sg 0% SC 0 % platform fees ?

Are they paid by the fund houses, that is they get paid via a split on the management fees between fund houses and themselves ?
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 28 2017, 08:57 AM)
Good. thumbsup.gif  Hope FSM arrogance with their platform fees will be their downfall and hope they realsie their mistake cand come out with something to compete against POEMS.  rclxms.gif

The downside if they fall, we all got no place to transfer the to as dollardex, fsm charges platform fees. Dollardex called it "trailer fees" and claim it's not platform fees. But in my opinion, they are too big to fall.

POEMS website is not a  well off to do compare to FSM. They don't have the ability to do charts/compare funds (they can but is rather useless). Use FSM to analyse, buy from POEMS  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif

That's what people do. Use platform like DBS V, OCBC, Phillip to analyse the stock, buy from SCB. Save themselves SGD18.

Anyway, I wouldn't worry too much as they are regulated by MAS. If you are really worried, buy from FSM, transfer straight to DBS lo for safe keeping.
I've not heard of any sustainability issues with POEMS,... perhaps we shld scan the net more,...

POEMS website not having enough facilities is not an issue, at least not for me,... I can use other facilities elsewhere in the net.
Hansel
post Jan 29 2017, 11:38 AM

9,353 posts

Looks like the risk that we are seeing here is that POEMS may not be able to sustain for the longer run,...
Hansel
post Jan 29 2017, 09:21 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 29 2017, 12:23 PM)
Well they did say until further notice. I am betting they will charge some stuff once they have enough customers from FSM. Keep in mind that they are one of the well establish broker (almost in the same league as DBS V)
Hmm,... I was thinking too along this line earlier,... but what to do,... at least run away from the one who is charging first,...
Hansel
post Mar 13 2017, 10:31 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 13 2017, 10:28 AM)
Dividends in UT are not important. Eg. They give you 10% dividends, the price drop by 10%
Not all funds, bro,... I have funds which give out divvies every mth, and the price still rises according to fundamentals,... eg oil price,...

Hansel
post Mar 15 2017, 02:43 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 15 2017, 10:51 AM)
Yes, it can rise after ex dividend date

But it doesn't change the fact that the divvies are from the NAV itself, means when dividend/distribution declare, NAV/share price will drop.

In essence, the dividend itself are not extra money from the company, rather, it is a rebalance of nav/share price, your value in the stock/share will not change pre and post dividend.

So a fund which declare 6% yearly dividend is not better than a fund which do not declare dividend.

Some people use dividend as a factor to determine a share/fund strength instead of their fundamental.

One should focus on the fundamental instead of the dividend because dividend distribution alone doesn't affect your holding value at all

p/s: this does mean the monthly dividend fund is not good. The fund is good because of its fundamental, not the dividend.
Tq AIYH,...

I'll just respond with one of the monthly payout funds that I hold for which I bought when the nav dropped back when oil price dropped. The fund is the Allianz US HY Cl AM-USD, entry price USD7.79 per unit, monthly dividend payout USD0.06 per unit.

Hence, yield for me is at 9.24%.

The price of this fund is now at USD9.13 per unit.

Of course, the dpu payout and the nav can fall, with similar risks to buying stocks and REITs.
Hansel
post Mar 17 2017, 06:36 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 04:06 PM)
There's a reason why I usually keep quiet when bro hansel say something. It's quite impossible to convince him what he has in mind is not necessary right

This fund doesn't look attractive to me for long term play; yes, in the past one year it may have done not bad, 1 yr return of 17.08%. The performance is similar to the other funds in this class
[attachmentid=8604915]

But with the feds raising rates, is this really the asset class you want to be in. If you look at 2 years and more, it's not particularly spectacular either

If you compare it to the US EQ funds, this one really pale in comparison lor
Bro/Sis,... appreciated yr comments,....

1) The HY funds are said to have properties closer to equities than to bonds. With a growing economy in the US, if equities do well,...theoretically, the HY funds will do well too.

2) I have reinvested the dividends I've collected over the years INTO other asset classes besides these HY funds themselves. It's not easy to calculate the returns from there, but I hold on to the concept that the faster I get my money in my hands, the faster I can reinvest them into other instruments to generate more returns.

3) The table that you showed are in SGD terms, meaning the returns have been converted into the SGD and then calculated in SGD, hence,... exchange rate effect is there. In their absolute currency terms, my returns are higher.

4) Your performance table was pulled from either Fundsupermart SG or POEMS, and the returns are in SGD terms because their investors normally convert the dividends received into the SGD. I don't, I collect my returns in the foreign currencies that such dividends were generated in,... and,... when the exchange rate is favourable, I may convert over. Otherwise, I my use the same currency cash in hand to invest into instruments of similar currencies.

Egs,... I will use the USD divvies I earned to invest into Manulife US REIT. I may use the AUD divvies I earned to invest into the ASX !

I guessed I don't have specific numerics to illustrate my returns,... but I noticed I keep getting more and more foreign currencies dropping into my different wallets.

What is the average return of a good US Equity fund ?
Hansel
post Mar 17 2017, 07:02 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 17 2017, 06:45 PM)
Check out Fidelity America/Fidelity Global Tech (this one is in Eur but 70-80% coverage of the US so it's basically a US fund).

For fidelity America, you can choose to pay in SGD or USD (there are 2 funds with different currency). For me I will choose SGD as there's no way to do online transfer from a USD/MCA account into FSM/Phillip. Heck even SG banks does not allow one to transfer USD/HKD/AUD between banks via online which I thought they can. Kind of a let down considering SG is suppose to be "advanced". They only let you transfer SGD doh.gif
Bro,... you still have much to experiment and to discover in terms of moving funds ard the banks in SG without being onsite physically,... guessed this is one skill that an offsite investor must learn to pickup if he wants to invest in SG. Otherwise, it will be totally impossible and too costly to invest there !
Hansel
post Mar 17 2017, 09:49 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 07:10 PM)
Sigh, this is why I malas ni

The table i showed is USD denominated funds; the forex gain/loss in SGD is not considered. Your returns may be higher due to the timing you bought in; but since you don't use XIRR to calculate, actually we can't really tell what's your returns in annualised % terms.

All this "I feel my returns is good" is hard to be quantified. No offense but you really do that a lot. Including how much forex gains you made by converting RM to SGD and AUD, without doing the maths, it's just shiok sendiri. Not too different from the property talk folks; "I made RM100k from one project" etc; without quantifying the net returns and time apportion the gains

[attachmentid=8605397]
This is US EQ fund sorted by 3 years annualised returns. All those in the list are >10% per annum over the past 3 years. So if you say HY bond behaves like EQ funds, then the returns definitely is no where near
It's okay, if you feel lazy, do not reply,...

I too feel lazy at times to QUANTIFY things like what you said, and especially after how you said things,.... so,.. no need to read my postings,...yeah,.. I must be 'shiok sendiri' then,... biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Mar 17 2017, 09:56 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 17 2017, 07:17 PM)
Can you share? I have tried emailing the banks, they all told me your only option is TT from SGD into USD account even though both banks are in SG.  doh.gif
That I know. I asked Phillip. Told me you can pay in SGD. AIYH and I was having a talk about which platform to use to buy Fidelity Global Tech. FSM SG let you buy small amout while Phillip keras want you to topup min EUR500 worth
Bro,.. let me ask you this first,... you wish to buy in USD or in the SGD ? Do you have the USD in hand now ?

Hmm,... after reading dasecret's reply to me,... I'm kind of discouraged to help here,... since he/she is helping here with his/her great quantified ways,.... biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Mar 17 2017, 09:58 PM

9,353 posts

If wanting to help also need to think of this and that, and consider this and that first before replying,... then no need,... it's okay ! Let me help those who don't give me too much problems,...

I took years,.. and even helped out DBS to develop their techniques in their infancy,... I don't have to take all these,...
Hansel
post Mar 24 2017, 08:43 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 24 2017, 09:03 AM)
Well what to do. As elea88 said. Earning RM and investing in SGD doh.gif
Bro,... everybody starts like that,... you need to start somewhere,.. initially you convert first to invest into SG instruments. Then as time goes by, you start to earn from your instruments, and your earnings will be in the SGD.

Further down the road, your earned SGD will become more and more, and when you start pouring yr earnings back to invest into more SG instruments, you will feel 'lighter' because you do not need to convert yr RM into SGD anymore.

This is when you will earn the SGD already,...

You must buy the right instruments,... this is the condition.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Mar 24 2017, 08:44 PM
Hansel
post Mar 29 2017, 05:25 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Mar 29 2017, 03:51 PM)

Bro,.. High Yield Bonds or High Yield Bond Funds ? Why did you not reply him/her ? It's yr money,... even if you wished to throw it into the drain also... it's up to you,... biggrin.gif

If you believed in High Yield Bond Funds,.. as I have been doing all these years,.. then so be it,... speak yr mind,... no need to be careful of him or her or of anyone,... biggrin.gif

This is just a forum,... no need to be overly careful to speak,... thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Mar 29 2017, 07:22 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 29 2017, 05:45 PM)
That High Yield Bond Fund which I invested in has become a very low yield bond fund. So I have decided to switch out of it.  vmad.gif
Which fund was it, bro ?
Hansel
post Mar 29 2017, 07:30 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 29 2017, 07:24 PM)
The only one on FSM MY
United Asian HY Bond Fund
OK,... I guessed he got caught by some fundamental events,... sometimes must watch closely, and must understand the fund's behaviour too. Like the ones I'm holding,... I see they have strong correlation with oil price,...then I will know when to buy,....
Hansel
post Mar 29 2017, 10:51 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 29 2017, 07:43 PM)
It was a very brief duration. To be fair.

But since there is no switching fees i am not staying through. Can always come back later.
Yeah,.. good decision,... but before you go back to this HY fund, would you know what effects it ? What are its underlyings, and how does the price move ?
Hansel
post Mar 30 2017, 02:49 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 30 2017, 11:01 AM)
I have manulife AP reits and it was performing better than amasia dry.gif
What is Manulife AP REITs, bro ?
Hansel
post Mar 30 2017, 04:01 PM

9,353 posts

Yes,... bro Ram has a strong point there.

I've opened an acct in FSM SG LONG BEFORE they set up shop in Msia. My experience has been with the SGD all along.

One thing I noticed is with the SGD being strong always, whatever dividend that I earn, when converted into the SGD is always 'lesser relatively',... I noticed during times when the SGD is weaker, then only will I get more SGD divvy.

Hence, I supposed if we invest using the RMin FSM MY, we will GET MORE RMs when the RM depreciates.

Wait a minute,.. does the base currency get converted directly into the RM, OR does it gt converted into the SGD first, then only into the RM< since FSM is SG-based ?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0513sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:39 PM