4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

New Honda City v06, First Batch, MUST check CVT Recall !

lil_flank
post Feb 5 2016, 11:41 AM

472 posts

Honda USA is recalling 2.3 million vehicles due to faulty takata airbag.

Models affected are:
2005-2012 Acura RL
2007-2011 Honda CRV
2007-2016 Acura RDX (early production MY 2016)
2007-2014 Honda Ridgeline
2009-2014 Honda Fit
2009-2014 Acura TL
2010-2014 Honda FCX Clarity
2010-2014 Honda Insight
2010-2013 Acura ZDX
2011-2015 Honda CRZ
2013-2016 Acura ILX (early production MY 2016)

Like i said before, i suspect our honda city is also using takata airbag therefore it is also affected. The longer the car expose to high temperature and humidity, the higher the risk due to instability of the ammonium nitrate.
Hopefully Honda Malaysia will take this case seriously. Currently Honda Malaysia is just doing recalls of old gen Honda cars.

And also why everytime i see news of US car having recalls and at the end of the line will mention that Malaysia cars are not affected?
Guess our lifes not that valuable, lol..
lil_flank
post Feb 5 2016, 01:10 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Jeffreynsx @ Feb 5 2016, 12:47 PM)
As you said, this source comes from Honda USA. Asia region have their own benchmark to evaluate the severity of the case. The most important thing is drive safely on the road.
Even if i drive safely on the road, wat if some idiot crash onto my car? The airbag will still ignite..
lil_flank
post Mar 25 2016, 09:13 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Mar 24 2016, 10:00 AM)
wow.. was never aware that Honda is that strict with their warranty..

Change rims void warranty I've only heard before from Lexus.. but that was a long time ago...
Now doing 20k km servicing in Honda Actmar Klang. The Customer Service officer say recently Honda has been strict with their warranty claims. U will void your warranty if u changed rims. Even if u changed your E spec rims to V spec rims, warranty will also be voided.
lil_flank
post Mar 25 2016, 02:04 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Mar 25 2016, 12:22 PM)
near our place  laugh.gif
Yeah.
Total bill for 20k km servicing is Rm310.30. The pricing is slightly different from the honda website. This is because the engine oil stated in the Honda website is mineral oil where else the engine oil recommended by the Honda service center is SN 0W-20.
I told the customer service officer do not fill the engine oil above the max line. I also inform him not to pour any coolant because i already top up with the Honda antifreeze coolant type 2. Just now got the car. Checked the engine oil and coolant level. Engine oil level was ok but they go and top up my coolant above the max line by 2cm <face palm>.
lil_flank
post Mar 28 2016, 10:18 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(ZGMF-X24S @ Mar 28 2016, 09:42 PM)
where can i buy this Honda antifreeze coolant type 2?
only at SC?
U can buy it at Hingan Auto Parts in KL for rm20+. But i bought mine in SC for Rm29. Too far for me to travel to Hingan.
lil_flank
post Mar 28 2016, 10:27 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Ash1988 @ Mar 28 2016, 03:57 PM)
I just done servicing 10k for my car last week and complained the issue. They said is the absorber issue and will change it once the part arrives this week.  hmm.gif
Wat kind of weird sounds are u guys referring to?
lil_flank
post Mar 28 2016, 10:58 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(kaparstall @ Mar 28 2016, 10:31 PM)
Y cannot top up the engine oil til max line?
I just done my 10k service at actmar as well, I checked the engine oil is top over bit max line, any concern?
Well i am not an expert in this but many people do not recommend to go above the max line.

Below is an explanation by EricTheCarGuy:
If the engine oil is too high, it can come into contact with the spinning crank shaft which would cause it to foam and aerate in the same way you would to make a baked Alaska. This aerated oil is full of air which is compressible meaning that it won't properly lubricate the engine and will allow the metal parts of the engine to come into contact thus causing increased wear. In short, it's the same as running low or no oil in the engine because the end result is the same.

How much your engine oil has exceeded the max line?
1/2 inch?

This post has been edited by lil_flank: Mar 28 2016, 10:58 PM
lil_flank
post Mar 29 2016, 09:18 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(kaparstall @ Mar 29 2016, 07:34 AM)
Hmm... ya, ard 1/2 inch above the max line..
Base on the explanation tht u posted, shall i use tools to suck it out?
No wonder when they return bek the balance engine oil to me and i feel so light...rupa2 they overfilled.. wtf...
Nx service i wan learn frm u, tell them in advance first liao...
Normally i will try to drive slowly to the SC center so the engine wont be too hot. This is so i can check the engine oil after the SC have refill the engine oil. Like wat uus831 has mentioned, it will not be accurate to check the engine oil while the engine is hot. Best is to check in the morning.

There are a few ways to remove the excess engine oil. Some use syringe, some use to drain from the bottom. Last time I just bring it to the SC to tell them to remove the excess engine oil.
lil_flank
post Mar 29 2016, 08:27 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(alxlimcg @ Mar 29 2016, 11:11 AM)
So I went to KL over the weekend. Here is the verdict.
I am impressed with the car. Drove 160km/h still not so floaty. Super damn steady. Close to 165 then it starts to float a bit. Didnt manage to hit 170 though.
Comparing with Vios which starts to float at 140km/h.
NVH for city is also way way better than Vios.
Wat is your car spec? V, E, S+, S?
When i got my E spec car, i notice my car was very floaty when driving around 140km/hr. Many user got feedback this car will be floaty when speeding. But after i notice my tyre pressure was too high (thanks to the Honda Center), i release the air to the recommend tyre pressure, i dont feel tat floaty any more.
lil_flank
post Mar 30 2016, 02:34 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(alxlimcg @ Mar 30 2016, 10:26 AM)
Mine is an E -spec but there should be no difference in terms of variants.
The pressure of my tyres are fine. I Went to check before my trip because I was going on the highway.
We can't rely solely on the SC all the time. We need to do some checks on our own especially if it involves our own lives driving fast on the highway.
Maybe we can feel the difference cos floatyness is subjective,
Road conditions, tyre pressure, car weight (only had 1 person in the passenger seat and some light baggages at the back seat) and personal perception of floatyness.

But overall I am satisfied with the car.
From my old myvi, I drove a Relatives 2013 Vios on the highway to KL before too. I was actually quite impressed.
Then comparing the Vios to my own City. The city seems to drive better.
The stock tyre size for E spec is 175/65r15 where else the V spec is 185/55r16. Due to the slight difference in width, there should be a slight difference in grip although not so significant , hehe..
But i will change my tyres to 195/60r15 in future. Hopefully can improve on the handling and tyre grip.
lil_flank
post Mar 31 2016, 09:29 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Taeng9389 @ Mar 31 2016, 03:29 PM)
conclusion, it's the same~  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
So maybe need to switch to the new hydrogen, hehe...
lil_flank
post Apr 2 2016, 09:22 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Apr 2 2016, 09:08 AM)
Anyone service their car in old Klang Road sc? I feel like buying the coolent there, not sure expensive or not... The coolent type 2 average what price? Hingan too far from my area..
I bought mine in Actmar sc for rm29.35.
lil_flank
post Apr 4 2016, 01:36 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Apr 4 2016, 08:49 AM)
Actmar near where?haha I will check it out.. Reasonable price
Klang. i believe u can call your SC to check whether do they sell.
lil_flank
post Apr 21 2016, 11:42 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Apr 21 2016, 10:57 AM)
any idea when this model available here? the most important is got VSC?
Yup, new engine, cvt transmission and vsc.

lil_flank
post Apr 21 2016, 11:45 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 21 2016, 11:29 AM)
bangwall.gif
vios very good got rear disc brake lah......city only rear drum brake lol
City can use rear drum brake coz the car is light. Can check out in paultan driven as they did a comparison.
lil_flank
post May 8 2016, 09:36 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ May 8 2016, 08:08 PM)
Slow down . won't jerk . the first 10x push start is jerking..after that no more .
Last time i met two flood incidents. The water level was 1/2 of my rim. Luckily nothing happen. But not sure did my engine took any damage or not.
Read some flood driving tips.
They mentioned rev high and drive slowly using gear 1. Does it mean we drive slowly using S mode?

This post has been edited by lil_flank: May 8 2016, 09:41 PM
lil_flank
post May 8 2016, 10:47 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ May 8 2016, 10:27 PM)
I also drive slow and Rev high, but never engage S mode.
Ok. I guess its best to avoid going through the flood if possible.
lil_flank
post May 10 2016, 09:24 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ May 10 2016, 08:29 AM)
Auto possible? Manual can Haha.. Gear 1 keep vroom vroom but release less clutch
Yeah, i have no issue last time driving manual.
When i drove my city after 2 weeks, encountered my 1st flood. Thanks to waze, lol.. I wanted to U-turn but couldnt coz many cars was queuing behind me. The water level was 1/2 my rim. I saw a kancil manage to go through with no issue. So i thought, even a kancil can make it, why not mine. My initial understanding was not to let the water go in my exhaust pipe so i rev high and sped in high speed through the flood.
2nd encounter was in Kajang ktm. The water level was slightly above 1/2 of my rim. When i went through it, the car infront of me suddenly stopped so i panic and went to the opposite lane. The opposite car highlighted me so i drove to the side of the road but my right wheel sunked in almost 3/4 of my rim. I quickly drove out of the flood and notice my car got some jerking so i kept reving the car. After a few minutes of reving, the car seems ok.
So i read up some tips of driving through the flood and notice i done so many mistakes. I was lucky that my car didnt stall.

Some tips when encounter flood:
1) Always avoid driving through the flood if possible.
2) If no choice and u plan to drive thru the flood. Check the water level and any hidden dips by observing the cars passing through the flood.
3) Off your air con, radio or any electrical components.
4) Make sure the car infront of you has cleared the flood before u go in.
5) Engage gear 1 for manual or L for auto (some people uses D).
6) Drive slowly into the flood to prevent the water seeping into the air intake and gear shifting up. But keep the engine rev high so the water does not seep into the exhaust pipe.
7) Never stop your car in the middle of the road.
8) Be careful of the opposite car as their car may create waves and splash into your air intake.
lil_flank
post May 12 2016, 11:49 PM

472 posts

Hope no one's honda city is stuck in the flood today..
lil_flank
post May 14 2016, 10:50 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ May 14 2016, 04:24 PM)
Oops...ok.then I better buy flood insurance . anyway , my piston and piston ring is alright . that's more important . engine part not that worry as not much water entered into and I changed the eo alredi .

I still do my service at SC ,juz that I changed oil outside earlier due to last week incident only

The way u replied is very sarcasm and made ppl worrysome.
May i know how they check the water has entered the engine and your piston & piston ring was ok? I am interested to know coz i drove through a flood a few months ago. There was some jerking after i drove through the flood. After a while, it was ok.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0335sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:36 PM