New Honda City v06, First Batch, MUST check CVT Recall !
lil_flank
Jun 28 2016, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 28 2016, 06:19 PM) But i am still curious what airbag they use for City/Jazz 2014? Newer Takata airbags?? Or other brands? I bet is either the old dangerous Takata airbag inflator or the newer Takata airbag that contains ammonium nitrate with chemical drying agent. If it is the old Takata airbag inflator, just wait till they recall or you sell your car when the car is > 6 years old. This post has been edited by lil_flank: Jun 28 2016, 09:50 PM
lil_flank
Jul 1 2016, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(hctang @ Jul 1 2016, 08:16 AM) Hi i am surveying to buy honda city.. struggling in choosing between s+ and e.. is e is worth to get by paying extra 5k ? thanks The main reason most of us bought honda city instead of vios is the VSA safety feature. Only V and E spec has this VSA feature. This post has been edited by lil_flank: Jul 1 2016, 08:47 AM
lil_flank
Jul 2 2016, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(mayalab @ Jul 1 2016, 08:26 PM) New Takata air bags should be safe. Not sure whether they put old Takata airbag inflator or new improved Takata airbag inflator. Even if they use new improved Takata airbag inflator, it still uses ammonium nitrate as propellant. Just that they added some chemical drying agent to minimize humidity. However this has not been tested in the long run so not sure is it still safe after a few years of using it.
lil_flank
Jul 2 2016, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(mayalab @ Jul 2 2016, 01:16 AM) Personally i feel the risk of accident caused injury due to insufficient air bags is much higher than of probability having faulty new designed air bags. Maybe only that's me... Well u are not wrong too. So far those 4 death accidents in Malaysia only occur to old Honda city. There are a couple of accidents involved in the new gen Honda city and the airbags have worked properly. Still safe at the moment. Just need to monitor and bring it to service when there is a product recall in future.
lil_flank
Jul 2 2016, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 2 2016, 11:57 AM) If not mistaken, the replacement airbags are non ammonium nitrate types from Takata. The newer ones might be non ammonium? Or could be like you said with something else to reduce humidity to ensure stability of it. You can read the article below and judge whether is Takata still using ammonium nitrate for their airbag inflator. http://www.nytimes.com/2016/06/02/business...rbags.html?_r=0Take note that Takata's supplies were unable to meet the high demand in recall cars and new cars (2014 to 2016). They have already increased their production to 450,000+ per month. They even request help from their competitors to meet the demand in the recalls however due to the Takata design is different, their competitors requires time. Well, only Takata and car makers knows what propellant is being used. This post has been edited by lil_flank: Jul 2 2016, 12:52 PM
lil_flank
Jul 2 2016, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 2 2016, 01:58 PM) Looks like we are all involved, and the more recent models are deemed "safer" because it is still working fine... but we are living in a all year around humid environment... dangerous isn't it?  Yeah, just try to be careful and take note of future product recall. Not just Honda, but other car brands as well..
lil_flank
Jul 3 2016, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(Split_dec @ Jul 3 2016, 08:28 AM) Hi fellow sifus, I just got hold of my City V for a while. Wondering these two things. - back suspension is pretty bad for comfort, humps and bumps are strongly felt by back passengers. would changing the tyres and suspension help? If yes, any suggested brand and will it void my warranty? - I was on the slope and I let go of the brake pedal, I still reversed. Is hill start assist on by default? Or am I getting the wrong impression that it will hold the car in place ata slope? Truly appreciate any input and feedback on the above. Thanks in advance masters! Check the tyre pressure whether is it overinflated. Follow the recommended tyre pressure sticker at the body chassis when u open the driver/passenger door. Normally Honda Malaysia overinflate the tires when deliver to the customer.
lil_flank
Jul 3 2016, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(uus831 @ Jul 3 2016, 03:18 PM) That is not quite correct. For my City, it basically holds indefinitely. Until I press the accelerator to continue driving. However, still depends on how steep the hill is. If it is too steep, then it will not be able to hold. Mine was not too steep, therefore it moved forward, lol..