Seiko Watch Thread V5, - Seikoholic kopitiam
andrewhtf
Jan 2 2019, 10:57 AM
After some time of buying a few cheap mechanical seikos, i have finally decided that i would one day aim to keep only 3 watches in my box. still not doing anything about it yet but it is an end goal for future
1. a Diver for casual, most probably Seiko, with modded parts 2. a Digital for abuse, no better option than a Casio G-shock 3. a Dress for special occasions, still undecided on this but it should be a very special piece i can best afford.
so as much as i was mad at Casio for not storing replacement parts for >10 years old g-shocks despite advertising themselves to be rough tough watch, i have come to terms that digitals are meant to be disposable anyway, unlike mechanicals which we can service for as long as the parts are available.
andrewhtf
Jan 2 2019, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jan 2 2019, 11:50 AM) That's the same lies we keep telling ourselves bro  One day. Future. not now mah... now i am still enjoying seeing my watch box filled with un-worn watches while my wife bising that it act as dust magnet in the room.
andrewhtf
Jan 2 2019, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jan 2 2019, 11:57 AM) I told a friend I ultimately want to go down the path of a two watch piece, one for dressier events and another as a beater. The Rolex 16014 for the former with a date year piece and maybe the EP1 for the rest. I got eye rolled at  ahhahahahah go go go... something like "this is the last watch i'll buy" eh?
andrewhtf
Jan 8 2019, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(GarageSales0202 @ Jan 8 2019, 07:50 AM) 650??  ask ken lor... the last confirmed buy from a fellow forumer here was a few months back
andrewhtf
Jan 8 2019, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 8 2019, 11:17 AM) RIP. i bought 1 watch fromhim many many years back. So sad to hear that. Is he the one who has a watch outlet somewhere in a mall in penang (IIRC) and now the wife is handling it? this sounded like something i read on fb or whatsapp group in recent weeks. something about the wife doesnt want to continue with the business and is selling the watches at cost. need to contact and arrange time for meetup... could it have been the same person?
andrewhtf
Jan 23 2019, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jan 23 2019, 03:59 PM)  got any info? cant find anymore. dunno hilang where liao
andrewhtf
Jan 31 2019, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(abaraikun @ Jan 31 2019, 09:55 AM) Hi, anyone could recommend me which watch repair shop in PJ/ KL to repair my Seiko Prospex, it has been running slow in time. tq  I have always recommended steven wah foong in jalan raja laut. But i think there are many capable watch repairers in pj too.. try amcorp mall.
andrewhtf
Feb 6 2019, 01:48 AM
Pretty pricey for a 5.
For that money, just top-up abit more u can get a samurai already
andrewhtf
Feb 7 2019, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(Doomsday @ Feb 6 2019, 11:20 PM) I dont like the dial But evrything else in the case is good.
andrewhtf
Feb 7 2019, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(Doomsday @ Feb 7 2019, 10:49 PM) Yeap I rike the case too... Based on which model? No idea yet. I tried the case number, no match. 4r36-06M0 in fact it looked very much like the MM200 case, except with 3 o'clock crown position instead of 3:18. This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Feb 8 2019, 02:09 PM
andrewhtf
Feb 8 2019, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(Doomsday @ Feb 8 2019, 12:07 AM) Passed.... Looks like kiddy watch with that b.ape style dial. dial can always be swapped. not an issue. i am more interested with the rest of the whole case.
andrewhtf
Feb 27 2019, 08:08 PM
Meh, i somehow dont get captivated by alpinist at all
andrewhtf
Mar 1 2019, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Mar 1 2019, 12:27 PM) This watch is bling alright. Big Dial, 20 mm strap. Maybe 22 mm would look more balanced. However since it is all black, it is kind of hard to appreciate it. Hopefully they come up with something smaller and contrast colours. The main problem I think is the price. Seiko SNZG15 is definitely more value for money since it is an automatic with better lume. Iinm, the lumes here are a bit pathetic just at the 12 o'clock region. I tried it, sensed it was big, measured against my SGEG097P1 lug to lug on the table, definitely noticed the extra lug distance. It is thin being a quartz.. The automatic variant of this line is 50 mm lug width. Saw that too but not interested since I was more interested in the big date version. I have slender wrist, so anything above 40mm dial and 46 mm will appear to be big. Still finding my next watch to complete my collection. Drooling for aqua terra 38 mm... But I can buy lots of watches for that price. Snzg ftw Pop in a double dome sapphire and a nice leather strap
andrewhtf
Mar 6 2019, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Mar 6 2019, 01:21 PM) Guys, just bought a Seiko SRPC97J1. Can recommend good straps to pair with it? Hirsch Massai Ostrich This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Mar 6 2019, 01:35 PM
andrewhtf
Mar 6 2019, 10:51 PM
Srpc97 is dress-styled, the usual black calf, padded leather or even croc has become all too typical, predictable and boring.
Ostrich will tone the dressiness down abit yet maintain a unique, classy expression, unlike canvas or nato that is a total mismatch to this watch.
andrewhtf
Mar 8 2019, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(malcolm86 @ Mar 8 2019, 11:32 AM) can pair with black leather strap? why not?
andrewhtf
Mar 8 2019, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Mar 8 2019, 01:40 PM) Bro, got metal bracelet to recommend as well? I don’t like the stock clasp. wah, aftermarket metal bracelet gua no pay attention. janji boleh pakai saja. the stock bracelet not good meh?
andrewhtf
Mar 8 2019, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(malcolm86 @ Mar 8 2019, 01:44 PM) for me ok, solid bracelet but hollow end link .. Actually i tak kisah even if it's straight ended too
andrewhtf
Mar 11 2019, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 11 2019, 02:35 PM) Lately was into this baby tuna SRP637K1. Checked Jammaymay but no stock. Know any other place that sells reasonable/good price? It's abit heavy imho. There's a guy trying to sell off his SRP639 on mudah though, you might wana try his?
andrewhtf
Mar 12 2019, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Mar 12 2019, 08:25 AM) The Seiko samurai is one heavy watch too Nah, the SRP637 is much heavier. due to the additional metal shroud on the case. it look big on my wrist when i tried it on, i still can accept the size but the weight is a bother.