8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v12, Najibnomics to lift KLCI?

xuzen
post Nov 13 2015, 10:53 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2015, 10:46 AM)
Thanks,.. I understand,... but sometimes reading too much makes one too risk-averse and misses all the opportunities in life,... because of being too fearful. I read too much too,... because it'd be expensive if one under-estimates the risks.
I read it somewhere before in this forum, quite a while back actually of a poster here who said he/she knows of a CFA graduate who only put his/her money in FD because after studying too much, he is too afraid to even invest anymore....

Fact is stranger than fiction.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Nov 13 2015, 02:40 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Nov 13 2015, 12:58 PM)
Not just too much information, but they seem to contradict one another.

One day the news say China's service sector grows, and we top up;
Another we are told China's manufacturing contracts, and we sell;
Still another day the news say China's PMI is down, but beats expectation, and we are confused, do not know what to do...
Noob! You need to discriminate between those that are purely information / news versus analysis and credible opinion.

Too difficult?

That is why you need to consult professional Licensed Financial Planner.

your Uncle, Auntie, Ah Kong, Ah Ma, some silly stranger called Xuzen you met on the net, some random person with a gay name like "Pink Spider" are not consider credible opinion....

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 13 2015, 02:41 PM
xuzen
post Nov 13 2015, 02:44 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 13 2015, 02:42 PM)
Oi! Drag me into water! laugh.gif

So, Algozen™ is a credible ANAL-ysis? whistling.gif tongue.gif
LOL Ha ha ha rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
xuzen
post Nov 14 2015, 01:17 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2015, 04:06 PM)
Licenced Financial Planners go with statistics to make their decisions, in order not to be held at fault in case in case their investments failed. Licenced Fin Planners charge fees.

They are expensive, and they lack one very important factor in their advice - human sentiment.
I think you may have confused Lic Financial Planners with Robo-advisors

LFC are real human beings and they will possess all the human sentiments you want.

Whether it is expensive or not is highly debatable and it depends for example; if you are a noob and a dummy wrt investment, making investment mistake will even be more expensive.

If you are a very busy man/women and money is flowing in very fast; you can outsource the planning headache to a paid 3rd party very similar to this line of argument:

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 14 2015, 01:22 PM
xuzen
post Nov 16 2015, 12:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Nov 16 2015, 12:38 PM)
How will our Malaysian economy and share market perform for the 4Q of 2015 and the 1Q of 2016? Will it still continue to trade sideways? With the current low oil price and depreciation in RM, the Government need to increase its revenue. If you were the Finance Minister, what would you do?

(1) Increasing the toll for PLUS highways

PLUS aka the Government has confirmed an increase of about 5% for 2016. It is only a question of timing. Possibly before the CNY holidays in February 2016 to maximize the income?

(2) Increasing the GST

VAT in Europe ranges from 15% to 27%. It may be political suicide for the Government to increase the GST to 7% or more before the next general election in 2018. But gradually the GST should go up to more than 10% in the mid term to long term.

(3) Increasing the personal income tax

Already done. Maximum tax rate for the wealthy (i.e. earning RM1 million and above) has been increased from 25% to 28%.

(4) Increasing the sin tax.

Already done. Over 40% increase in excise duty for cigarettes.  Current price for a packet of Dunhill is about RM17.00.

(5) Reducing the remittances by foreign workers to their home countries.

In the pipeline. The Government is proposing a scheme requiring foreign workers to pay a part of their monthly salaries into a fund. Alternatively, their salaries could be deducted directly as a remittance to the fund, in a manner similar to the Employees’ Provident Fund (EPF) contributions.

(6) Any other possible revenue?
(7) - slash the PM Dept slush fund by 50%?
(8) - reduce the manpower of PM Dept by 25% - why do we need 7 ministers + 7 more deputy ministers under the PM Dept is beyond my comprehension. Also why do we need one finance minster + 2 more finance ministers + 3 more deputies?
(9) - reduce the overall bloated civil service by 10%

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 16 2015, 12:50 PM
xuzen
post Nov 21 2015, 12:23 PM

4,436 posts

My distribution for Titan came in liao (four digits brows.gif)

As such I am taking profit from Titan (reducing my exposure of Titan by 15%)

Increasing my exposure of Ponzi 2.0 by 27%.

Afer my rebalancing, my equity portion holding shall be Titan (40%): Ponzi (40%) : Small Cap (20%)

Xuzen

xuzen
post Nov 21 2015, 04:23 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(JAIDK23 @ Nov 21 2015, 03:55 PM)
top up lor.... brows.gif
Top up Ponzi 2.0 like me.... five figures ? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 21 2015, 04:26 PM
xuzen
post Nov 21 2015, 05:56 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Nov 21 2015, 05:54 PM)
So daring ar you... when will reach 6 figures?!!
Already reached liao, so far I have only talked about my equity portion because it is more exciting. I have never talked about my fixed income portion before mah brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 21 2015, 06:02 PM

4,436 posts

My Algozen™ sezs for me Titan has run enough liao... time to take profit.

She sezs time to move more into Ponzi 2.0.

Algozen™ has a built in buy & sell signal.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 24 2015, 08:20 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Nov 24 2015, 06:54 PM)
my india holdings are red since months..and now not helping with india slowing down...
I still like India and M'sia small cap because they are a great diversifier to our core portfolio. The up and down swing provided by India and small cap fund can add some zest in an otherwise boring core portfolio.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Nov 26 2015, 09:56 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 25 2015, 10:41 PM)
My portfolio as of 24 Nov:

1) CIMB Global Titans (32%) - bought in April 2015 - up 8.56%
2) Ponzi 2.0 (29%) - bought in April 2015 - down 4.87%
3) Big Cap China (22%) - bought April 2015 - down 10.80%
4) Aberdeen Islamic (17%) - bought Feb 2015 - up 3.89%

Should I dump Ponzi 2.0?
Darn it... I just top-up! Five figure somemoar!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 26 2015, 10:32 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 26 2015, 10:02 AM)
u sound so like that mad cat blink.gif
LOL, kena his poison liao....

xuzen
post Nov 27 2015, 01:26 PM

4,436 posts

N14M4H! See peh beh song ar!

Monday top up Ponzi 2.0, Wednesday until now dropping like mad.

Xuzen

p/s Pink Spider, You notice boh our Bolehland large cap moves towards positive territories liao. See I told you so, when gwailo fund moves down, our Boleh fund cheong upwards and vice-versa.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 27 2015, 01:34 PM
xuzen
post Nov 27 2015, 01:35 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 27 2015, 01:29 PM)
lai lai let Pinky give u some salt...

Today I top up tongue.gif

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 27 2015, 01:36 PM
xuzen
post Nov 28 2015, 10:05 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dexk @ Nov 27 2015, 10:21 PM)
Yes, my KGF started since 14-Sept is up by 5.6% net today. I follow templeton's advice about Malaysia.
What did that Botak Ang-moh say about Malaysia?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 28 2015, 10:14 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Nov 27 2015, 10:53 PM)
Can shed some lights on how to determine the correlation matrix of the funds?  hmm.gif
Plot the daily NAV of the fund you want to find the Correlation with:

1000 observation or 1000 days is good.

Then calculate the mean, the standard deviation and the variances of those observation.

Put them into this formula:

Corr-Coeff = Co-variances btw Fund-A & Fund-B / (Std-Dev of Fund-A x Std-Dev of Fund B)

That or

Xuzen

xuzen
post Nov 28 2015, 09:55 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wonglokat @ Nov 28 2015, 06:37 PM)
Below is my current fund allocation and I'm planning to embark on my first rebalancing act. With the hype about the [rate] hike, suggestions please?  notworthy.gif

Kenanga Growth - 29%
Eastspring MY Focus - 25%
Ponzi 2.0 - 31%
Titanic - 15%

KGF & eastspring both invest in the same thing i.e., Malaysia stock market. If it is up to me, I'll choose KGF over Eastspring because KGF is less volatile. (KGF Std-Dev = 11.1 vs Eastspring Std-Dev = 14.1)

Their rate of return lebih kurang sama aje. When this is the case; a savvy investor should then choose the less volatile fund if the rate of return is around the same.

My preferred holding is Titanic x 40%: Ponzi 2.0 x 40%: KGF x 20%.

Xuzen

P/s: Volatility a common name for Standard deviation aka Riskiness to the lay-person.
xuzen
post Nov 30 2015, 09:05 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Nov 30 2015, 06:27 PM)
Dear Sifus,

I have a serious question to ask.

Assume we have 3 separate FSM accounts. One main account for ourselves, a second beneficiary account for our wife and a third beneficiary account for our infant child. Let's assume an investment horizon of 20 years.

Would it be foolhardy to buy the same funds for all 3 accounts? This means if the funds perform badly for a particular period, all the 3 separate accounts would be equally affected. Wouldn't this be a classic case of putting all your eggs in one basket?

May I know what is your view?
I would still buy the same fund because you have already chosen the best out of the 200++ funds available in FSM, why fix the wheel if it isn't broken?

However, I would tailor it to each individual by allocating the percentage according to the risk appetite / age / investment horizon. This is how I personalize their portfolio.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 30 2015, 09:11 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 30 2015, 06:52 PM)
Key point:
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...16-Outlook-6560

Would love to see how crystal ballman xuzen interpret this report rolleyes.gif

What I would do...slow down on top ups, build up cash reserves. CMF2 yield is quite good now.
This report is written for the future and many of the points are "prediction". As of now, the numbers are still pretty much the same as before.

Nonetheless,Pinky, if you'd recall, I have mentioned previously, not long ago, I am paring down my exposure to Titan (Developed mlkt) whilst increasing my Ponzi 2.0 exposure (Asia Pac ex-Jp). Which is consistent with what was written in the article. Hmmmm.... come to think about it, I wrote about it first before FSM come out with this article.

Xuzen 1: FSM 0

I am now topping up more frequently (twice a mth instead of mthly) but in smaller quantum. This is another method to mitigate volatility.

I am still not going big time into bond yet.

Xuzen.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 30 2015, 09:12 PM
xuzen
post Dec 1 2015, 10:07 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 1 2015, 07:53 PM)
doh.gif my portfolio stopped "cheong"...
hmm.gif why it cannot keep on "on Viarga" for a few more months?..... cry.gif  sad.gif
Maybe it is experiencing The Refractory Phase?

Xuzen

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0446sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:51 AM