[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

Ivan Sac
post Feb 29 2016, 05:53 PM

368 posts

Is there any major difference between Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) vs Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4). Sorry for the very noob question. Im following this thread regularly and found that each time different types of motherboard being recommended but I still couldn't figure out the main difference other than number of SATA Ports, different types of display port, USB port etc.
terence_nwb
post Feb 29 2016, 06:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Sac @ Feb 29 2016, 05:53 PM)
Is there any major difference between Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) vs Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4). Sorry for the very noob question. Im following this thread regularly and found that each time different types of motherboard being recommended but I still couldn't figure out the main difference other than number of SATA Ports, different types of display port, USB port etc.
The main difference is the form factor, one is ATX another one is mATX.

The next major difference is the chipset it is carrying, H170 vs B150.

As for the difference between H170 and B150, you can google it, plenty of info online.
kahtsin
post Feb 29 2016, 07:27 PM

524 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 29 2016, 05:02 PM)
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1318
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 488
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 330
Zotac GTX980Ti 6GB GDDR5 AMP! - RM 2999
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 409
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M - RM 369
BenQ XL2411Z - RM 1150
Corsair Strafe MKB - RM 469

Total: RM 7986 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

16GB single stick DDR4 is quite rare in Malaysia so just for go for 8GB x 2.

Keyboard selection is too subjective, you can opt for cheaper Ducky brand to reduce cost if you wish.

Speaker isn't included as there are too many options out there, 2.1, 5.1, 7.1 etc.

On-board sound card is sufficient for normal user unless you are an audiophile, cheap dedicated sound card isn't going to give you significant sound quality improvement so just stay with on-board sound card for the time being and buy a high end one when you need it/have money to buy in the future.

Since you are coming from laptop, most likely you need WiFi card unless you are going for wired connection, you can add one if needed (TP-LINK TL-WN881ND, RM 58).
Thx for the recommendation bro. I think the keyboard can remove la. BTW isn't 620W too risky for the 980ti? NviDia website stated that the minimum requirement is 600. What about 800W gold +psu? Thx in advance!
terence_nwb
post Feb 29 2016, 08:01 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Feb 29 2016, 07:27 PM)
Thx for the recommendation bro. I think the keyboard can remove la. BTW isn't 620W too risky for the 980ti? NviDia website stated that the minimum requirement is 600. What about 800W gold +psu? Thx in advance!
Risky? You cannot even touch 600W on a non-oc setup, the max draw is around 400 - 450W only during load.

Seasonic 620W is enough for GTX980Ti.

If you want 800W 80+ Gold then you gonna downgrade other parts.

And you said the keyboard can remove? Do you mean you don't need the MKB anymore? If yes then the funds can be used to cover up the cost for a 80+ Gold PSU like CM V750 or Corsair RM750x etc.
MyPIA
post Feb 29 2016, 08:56 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Feb 29 2016, 07:27 PM)
Nvidia website stated that as recommended.

600~620 watts power supply is more than enough for 980Ti

800~850 watts is more than enough for SLi setup of 980Ti's

This post has been edited by MyPIA: Feb 29 2016, 08:57 PM
kahtsin
post Feb 29 2016, 09:32 PM

524 posts

Guess I'll get the 800w psu for future proof etc . thanks for the recommendations ! Appreciate it!

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 29 2016, 08:01 PM)
Risky? You cannot even touch 600W on a non-oc setup, the max draw is around 400 - 450W only during load.

Seasonic 620W is enough for GTX980Ti.

If you want 800W 80+ Gold then you gonna downgrade other parts.

And you said the keyboard can remove? Do you mean you don't need the MKB anymore? If yes then the funds can be used to cover up the cost for a 80+ Gold PSU like CM V750 or Corsair RM750x etc.
Yup, removed keyboard to fund PSU.

QUOTE(MyPIA @ Feb 29 2016, 08:56 PM)
Nvidia website stated that as recommended.

600~620 watts power supply is more than enough for 980Ti

800~850 watts is more than enough for SLi setup of 980Ti's
OK thanks man.
redline_81
post Mar 1 2016, 04:05 PM

hi, need advice/recommendation for below spec... my budget around 7-9k.
mouse, keyboard/monitor exclude

thank you

ASUS Motherboard INTEL Socket1151 Z170 PRO GAMING
Cooler Master CPU Cooler Water Cooling NEPTON 240M
KINGSTON SSD HyperX SAVAGE 240GB (SHSS37A/240G)
KINGSTON RAM Desktop DDR4 HyperX FURY 8GB PC2600 --- (2x)
Western Digital HDD INT Desktop BLACK 2TB SATA3 64MB
CORSAIR Power Supply CX Series CX850M 850W
ASUS VGA GTX980Ti 6GB DDR5 384BIT STRIX OC STRIX-GTX980TI
INTEL Processor Socket1151 CORE i7-6700K 4GHz BX80662I76700K
NZXT NOCTIS 450 GAMING CASING # BLACK

terence_nwb
post Mar 1 2016, 04:31 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(redline_81 @ Mar 1 2016, 04:05 PM)
hi, need advice/recommendation for below spec... my budget around 7-9k.
mouse, keyboard/monitor exclude

thank you

ASUS Motherboard INTEL Socket1151 Z170 PRO GAMING
Cooler Master CPU Cooler Water Cooling NEPTON 240M
KINGSTON SSD HyperX SAVAGE 240GB (SHSS37A/240G)
KINGSTON RAM Desktop DDR4 HyperX FURY 8GB PC2600    --- (2x)
Western Digital HDD INT Desktop BLACK 2TB SATA3 64MB
CORSAIR Power Supply CX Series CX850M 850W
ASUS VGA GTX980Ti 6GB DDR5 384BIT STRIX OC STRIX-GTX980TI
INTEL Processor Socket1151 CORE i7-6700K 4GHz BX80662I76700K
NZXT NOCTIS 450 GAMING CASING # BLACK
Jumping from 2133MHz to 2666MHz isn't worth the money and effort, recommend you to go at least 3000MHz or more for a more significant improvements over memory speed.

Change the PSU, the PSU you listed is overpriced and not worth our money too due to lower grade of internal components compared to other same price PSU.

As for the GPU, only get Asus/Gigabyte/MSI/EVGA if and only if your budget allows and no compromise to other parts.

And I see you picked a 850W PSU, going for SLI setup in the future? I am going to include a SLI ready PSU now just in case you need it, if no plan on SLI, then you can choose 600W - 650W (save money).

Intel Core i7 6700K - RM 1599
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - RM 719
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 3000MHz RAM - RM 630
Asus GTX980Ti 6GB GDDR5 Strix - RM 3559
Corsair Force LE 240GB SSD - RM 369
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Corsair RM850i - RM 738
Corsair Hydro H115i - RM 583
NZXT Noctis 450 - RM 619

Total: RM 9031 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

redline_81
post Mar 1 2016, 05:34 PM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 1 2016, 04:31 PM)
Jumping from 2133MHz to 2666MHz isn't worth the money and effort, recommend you to go at least 3000MHz or more for a more significant improvements over memory speed.

Change the PSU, the PSU you listed is overpriced and not worth our money too due to lower grade of internal components compared to other same price PSU.

As for the GPU, only get Asus/Gigabyte/MSI/EVGA if and only if your budget allows and no compromise to other parts.

And I see you picked a 850W PSU, going for SLI setup in the future? I am going to include a SLI ready PSU now just in case you need it, if no plan on SLI, then you can choose 600W - 650W (save money).

Intel Core i7 6700K - RM 1599
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - RM 719
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 3000MHz RAM - RM 630
Asus GTX980Ti 6GB GDDR5 Strix - RM 3559
Corsair Force LE 240GB SSD - RM 369
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Corsair RM850i - RM 738
Corsair Hydro H115i - RM 583
NZXT Noctis 450 - RM 619

Total: RM 9031 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
thanks for suggestion

yes.. not for SLI..

i. can i know your reason for Corsair Hydro H115i instead of Cooler Master CPU Cooler Water Cooling NEPTON 240M

ii, any recommendation for casing around my budget (NZXT Noctis 450)

thank you
terence_nwb
post Mar 1 2016, 05:46 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(redline_81 @ Mar 1 2016, 05:34 PM)
thanks for suggestion

yes.. not for SLI..

i. can i know your reason for Corsair Hydro H115i instead of Cooler Master CPU Cooler Water Cooling NEPTON 240M

ii, any recommendation for casing around my budget (NZXT Noctis 450)

thank you
1. Hydro H115i is a newly announced product, its predecessor (H110i) is having better cooling performance and build quality than Nepton 240M so I assume the newly announced H115i will be even better.

2. Corsair Carbide 600C, Corsair Carbide Air 540, CM Master Case 5 Pro, Fractal Design Define R5 etc.
philip42
post Mar 1 2016, 07:18 PM

1,396 posts

[Budget] RM2,400 max 2500

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none

[Personal preferences] Skylake i5

[Location] Kuala Lumpur /Subang Jaya

terence_nwb
post Mar 1 2016, 09:28 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Mar 1 2016, 07:18 PM)
[Budget] RM2,400 max 2500

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none

[Personal preferences] Skylake i5

[Location] Kuala Lumpur /Subang Jaya
What game you are planning to play? I am asking this because once you fit a Skylake i5 in your budget then you will have to sacrifice on the GPU part, if the game you intend to play isn't CPU demanding then go for i3 build.

And you don't have any hardware to reuse, does this include monitor? If yes then Skylake i5 build is not possible sweat.gif
philip42
post Mar 1 2016, 09:45 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 1 2016, 09:28 PM)
What game you are planning to play? I am asking this because once you fit a Skylake i5 in your budget then you will have to sacrifice on the GPU part, if the game you intend to play isn't CPU demanding then go for i3 build.

And you don't have any hardware to reuse, does this include monitor? If yes then Skylake i5 build is not possible  sweat.gif
how if i change it to haswell i5? erm this is for rig only. I'm asking this on behalf of my friend. He plays games like guild wars 2 and archeage, and some AAA games.

This post has been edited by philip42: Mar 1 2016, 09:46 PM
terence_nwb
post Mar 1 2016, 10:07 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Mar 1 2016, 09:45 PM)
how if i change it to haswell i5? erm this is for rig only. I'm asking this on behalf of my friend. He plays games like guild wars 2 and archeage, and some AAA games.
Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 792
ASRock H81M-VG4 - RM 202
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 159
Zotac GTX960 2GB GDDR5 ZT-90302-10M - RM 869
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Bitfenix Nova - RM 149

Total: RM 2574 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Over budget a bit, hope your friend is ok with this. I am using the lowest end mobo already, it is very hard to squeeze in i5 + GTX960 for gaming purpose under 2.5k now.
philip42
post Mar 1 2016, 10:15 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 1 2016, 10:07 PM)
ASRock H81M-VG4 - RM 202
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Bitfenix Nova - RM 149

Over budget a bit, hope your friend is ok with this. I am using the lowest end mobo already, it is very hard to squeeze in i5 + GTX960 for gaming purpose under 2.5k now.
yeah thanks for your help bro smile.gif
drkpower
post Mar 1 2016, 11:15 PM

150 posts

HI need some sifus help

Budget: rm4k - rm4.5k
Purpose: for work only (heavy simulation on GIS software and LIDAR related software)

SSD in range of 256gb to 512gb would be good addition

Monitors and MKB would be reused

p/s: i have the specs given by sifus here but the price was way back to August 2015
would love to have new suggestion. thanks

philip42
post Mar 2 2016, 12:09 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 1 2016, 10:07 PM)
ASRock H81M-VG4 - RM 202
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Bitfenix Nova - RM 149

btw if my friend wants a fhd monitor he will need to downgrade the gpu to 750ti right? thanks again
terence_nwb
post Mar 2 2016, 08:54 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(drkpower @ Mar 1 2016, 11:15 PM)
HI need some sifus help

Budget: rm4k - rm4.5k
Purpose: for work only (heavy simulation on GIS software and LIDAR related software)

SSD in range of 256gb to 512gb would be good addition

Monitors and MKB would be reused

p/s: i have the specs given by sifus here but the price was way back to August 2015
would love to have new suggestion. thanks

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1324
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 403
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 336
Zotac GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 ZT-70605-10M - RM 509
Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD - RM 659
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 400W - RM 145
Bitfenix Nova - RM 149

Total: RM 3911 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Not all software use GPU as hardware accelerator so the dedicated GPU might not be so useful, if you need more raw performance on CPU and RAM (more preferable), you can upgrade to i7 6700K + Z170 + high speed RAM + 3rd party cooler and drop the GPU, the iGPU of Skylake is quite powerful (almost equivalent to GT740/R7 250) for normal use but lack of CUDA technology which some software might use it as mentioned earlier.
terence_nwb
post Mar 2 2016, 08:59 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Mar 2 2016, 12:09 AM)
btw if my friend wants a fhd monitor he will need to downgrade the gpu to 750ti right? thanks again
Frame rate of i5 + GTX750Ti isn't as good as i3 + GTX960 unless you are ok with low/medium graphics settings (the i5 won't be fully utilize if the game is not CPU demanding).

i3 + GTX960 will yield a better frame rate and graphics settings compared to i5 + GTX750Ti is most of the games provided demand on CPU isn't that particular heavy.

ASRock H81M-VG4 - RM 202
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Bitfenix Nova - RM 149
BenQ GW2270 - RM 429

Total: RM 2621 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

drkpower
post Mar 2 2016, 10:19 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 2 2016, 08:54 AM)
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1324
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 403
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 336
Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD - RM 659
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 400W - RM 145
Bitfenix Nova - RM 149

Total: RM 3911 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Not all software use GPU as hardware accelerator so the dedicated GPU might not be so useful, if you need more raw performance on CPU and RAM (more preferable), you can upgrade to i7 6700K + Z170 + high speed RAM + 3rd party cooler and drop the GPU, the iGPU of Skylake is quite powerful (almost equivalent to GT740/R7 250) for normal use but lack of CUDA technology which some software might use it as mentioned earlier.
Tqvm bro!

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0423sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:40 PM