SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

TSHansel
post Sep 13 2022, 10:49 AM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM)
I hope that is the case. But I still think a spread of 150 bp isn't enticing enough.

I guess you will subscribe to this issue?

Also curious how high a yield you plan to bid for the upcoming 6 month SG T-bill? I find it funny SG T-bill rate to be lower than US ones by some 50-60 bp.
I'm sorry,... I'm afraid I have no intention to participate in these instruments,... I study them to compare with my instruments to gauge the risk-levels, and to have a better understanding of the debt mkts because the equities I invest in also issue debt papers.

I think it's becos SG T-bills are considered safer compared to US ones,... simply becos the Feds prints more money. Our SG Dollar is also more stable and stronger,.. approaching the quality of the Swiss Francs.
TSHansel
post Sep 13 2022, 11:05 AM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 13 2022, 10:56 AM)
Oh you didn't touch bonds at all? Only stocks?
I bought Astrea PE bonds to park my idling funds.

I do REITs, stocks, forex,... can't remember anymore,... I used to do High-Yield bonds many years ago and when the interest rates start to waver and I couldn't understand the concepts behind them,... I sold my HY bonds at a gain or at breakeven.

Edited by correcting : Sorry,... not HY bonds, BUT HY bond funds,... I diversified my bond holdings,...

This post has been edited by Hansel: Sep 13 2022, 11:06 AM
TSHansel
post Sep 21 2022, 12:34 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 21 2022, 12:44 AM)
I am not aware of US rights subscription legal details. Perhaps Hansel can say something on this. I guess US companies rights subscription may not be available to non-US persons too, but I am not sure as I have not ecountered one.

Back to your question:

Some countries' laws requite the residential/mailing address to be stated to ensure the residency of the stockholder is determined, say for tax reasons etc. It's just legal requirement (and sometime political ones...). Just because everything can be done online does not mean you can override people's law. wink.gif

Convenience is one thing. Different legal systems are whole another story. Like I say, when things go south, the companies won't want to embroiled in legal papers nightmares and pay high fees to corporate lawyers in both countries. SG and Malaysia corporate laws aren't entirely the same, different legal systems/cultures etc. Correct? Hansel

Also, SGX CDP relies on your physical signature to verify your identification. In this case, the rights subscription forms are mailed to an SG address rather than foreign address as there is no guarantee of mail service efficiency in other countries. There might be delays in receiving the empty or signed/completed forms due to various issues. So to be secure, they just use SingPost's service. 

https://www.sgx.com/cdpfaqs

In the future, they may add corporate actions via CDP Internet however.

And it's not that all SG counters don't allow foreign investors to subscribe to rights. OCBC allows Malaysians to subscribe to rights on IBKR.
Hi bros,...

I have not read the background to this discussion. But I can say this : everything depends on the brokerage you are with. If your brokerage has a mechanism that allows you to do something, then you can decide what to do. Otherwise, you just have to follow what they say,...

The law is one thing,.. but the capability of the brokerage you are attached to and from where you use to buy your instruments dictates what you can do when an action pops up.
TSHansel
post Sep 21 2022, 12:41 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 21 2022, 10:21 AM)
BT 200922: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1LX6B32lxFU...iew?usp=sharing

Yes !

SGD has fallen 4% vs the USD YTD. Compare this with other currencies,... I heard my peers out there saying,... all other currencies also dropped what,... then I replied : Which one dropped the least ?

The one that dropped the least will strngthen against the others that dropped more, this is the mathematical formula.

MAS Mtg on Oct 14 ( I think,... can't remember exactly),... and if MAS tightens again at that date,... then,... chances are high for the SGD to equal back the drops vs the USD,... or perhaps becomes even stronger than the USD.

Guess what happans to the SGDMYR exchange rate after that ???!!??
TSHansel
post Sep 22 2022, 03:59 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 22 2022, 02:12 AM)
Capital protection is no longer my portfolio. It used to be. Caused my teacher taught me don't bother so much with capital protection if example every year you get 7%, for say 5 years, then year 6 you get -10% so what. You will be up Vs a guy who's in FD say 3%p.a
You don't compare with a guy who's with a 3%FD. You compare against what you may face in the new normal. Who knows,... the guys with the 3%FD may end up preserving hos capital more than you're able to...
TSHansel
post Sep 22 2022, 04:08 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 22 2022, 04:01 PM)
Yes if your time frame is in the near future. Mine is 15-20 years horizon. So no issue for me.
How would you know if the next few years will not wipe out your asset values ?
TSHansel
post Sep 22 2022, 04:11 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 22 2022, 04:09 PM)
Line I said if it happens, let it be. I am buying more. Never fear a down market/red market if fundamentals are strong.
You are not prepared for the worst scenario. You will always be hoping that the CPI numbers turn down,... and Feds stops hiking.
TSHansel
post Sep 22 2022, 04:16 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 22 2022, 04:12 PM)
Actually I want the feds to keep hiking and CPI to be persistently high.

I need more time to accumulate and need to accumulate more when it's in sale. How else am I going to buy things on sale? I need to thank the feds for giving me some good discount.

So nope. I want the fed to continue be hawkish and let me low ball people. The only time you can low ball is if people are scared.
Till the day when you run out of bullets. But like you said in the other thread,... you hold an iron rice bowl. Then I wished you the best.
TSHansel
post Sep 23 2022, 12:55 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 23 2022, 10:41 AM)
Biotechs, bro,... I hoped Vertex can find a good target to merge with in future,... I am one of the first supporters for the SPACs mkt in SG. I hoped SPACs in SG will succeed, just like their REITs,...

Majulah Singapura !!!!!!!!!
TSHansel
post Sep 29 2022, 02:07 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 29 2022, 11:39 AM)
Ya indeed. Don't know what Temasek is doing behind the back door...

----------------------------------

BT 280922: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eSoXh7VsRB...iew?usp=sharing

I am caught off-guard by BOE's surprising decision to save the market at the last minute, now yields are failing again, not sure my 3.5% bid will be sufficient to make it through the cut-off yield today
Msia's PVIP Program : Applicants need to pay a one-off fee of RM200k, with RM100k for each dependant.

All undocumented foreigners in Msia now can apply,.... biggrin.gif
TSHansel
post Sep 29 2022, 02:51 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 29 2022, 02:12 PM)
A burden to M40...  sweat.gif
RM200K,... everybody can apply,.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Just USD50K only,...
TSHansel
post Sep 29 2022, 02:55 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 29 2022, 01:25 PM)
Cut-off yield 3.32% money to be refunded...

https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2022-10-04
Bro,... I have never applied for this before,... biggrin.gif

So for this, we bid whatever yield we are happy to receive, and then the party asking for the lowest yield will be awarded, is it ? You'll have to put down your funds upfront for them, and then for the successful bidders, they will get the bonds; and the unsuccessful ones will be refunded, right ?
TSHansel
post Sep 30 2022, 04:59 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 30 2022, 11:34 AM)
BT 290922: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qJsgfHcazu...iew?usp=sharing

What is the percentage of SATS' dividend payout ratio ? Anybody knows ?
TSHansel
post Sep 30 2022, 09:00 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 30 2022, 07:39 PM)
0% bro... They have stopped paying dividend since pandemic...

Which is why retail investors are furious with this acquisition. No money to pay back to shareholders but have big M&A plan instead which significantly strains balance sheets...

No wonder HWZ members call Temasek: "Temasick" laugh.gif
Tq for the info, bro,... I used to own this with SIA Eng'g a few years ago and have taken profit after that.
TSHansel
post Sep 30 2022, 09:15 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 29 2022, 04:59 PM)
50k USD bro, is erm, not a small amount in not-so-"maju" Malaysia.  laugh.gif The foreign expats surely can afford it, but not likely to be the case for all undocumented foreigners.
You should apply bro. Risk free rates are rising sharply now except when BOE messed things up yesterday...

Yes, for competitive bid, you can bid at any rate you like, minimum 1000 SGD up to 1 million SGD per competitive bid. If the auction result is such that your bid rate (e.g. my bid was 3.5%) is higher than the cut-off yield (3.32% in this recent issue), then your money will be refunded (unsuccessful application). If you bid 3.30% for example, and the cut-off yield is 3.32%, then you will be successful in the bid. If your bid rate is exactly the cut-off yield (e.g. you bid 3.32% and cut-off yield is exactly 3.32%), then you can expect partial allocation.

You need to put your funds upfront (again, 1000 SGD - 1 million SGD for competitive bid), the application opens 1 week before the auction date and closes 1 day before auction date. To earn some more bank interests, I usually apply at the last minute (around 5 pm for DBS, deadline is 9 pm the day before auction day) but there are risks associated so some people apply a few days earlier instead.

If you are successful in the bid, at around 5pm or 10 minutes past 5 the same day as auction results are announced, DBS will refund you the discounted value of the bill (i.e. your "interest") and the bill is held by MAS till maturity when the entire bill is retired at par value, i.e. (the 1000 SGD - 1 million SGD amount you bid for earlier). Of course, this is provided MAS/SG government is still functioning 6 months after the bill is issued.

If you are not successful in the bid, e.g. CDP account not yet set up, DCS service still not activated, or like in my recent case (today), my bid yield is higher than the cut-off yield, so my entire bid amount (1000 SGD) will be refunded around the same time as the case if bid is successful and discounted value is refunded, i.e. around 5 pm to 10 minutes past 5 the same day as auction results are announced.

Note that DBS is always the slowest among the 3 primary dealers in refunding unsuccessful bid/pay discounted value. OCBC and UOB usually refund unsuccessful bid/pay discounted value to you shortly after auction result, i.e. around 2-3 pm. DBS's 5 pm is the latest. So you might want to apply using OCBC/UOB accounts for T-bills if you have one. 

This is how it looks like in my DBS account transaction summary:

I applied for 1 6M T-bill 2 weeks ago on 14th of Sept (1k SGD deducted) and the auction was done on the 15th in which I was successful, so around 5:10 pm the discounted value was paid back to my account. Upon maturity next March year, the entire 1000 SGD will be paid back (if SG government is still financially sound). The most recent 1000 SGD debit yesterday refers to the 6M T-bill I applied yesterday which was not a successful bid and I am still waiting for the refund. 

EDIT: Refund just came in at 5:09 pm.

You can read red devil's first 2 posts in HWZ's SG T-bill thread. It's well explained there for you: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...-bills.6769601/

Hope that helps bro, can always ask me here if you have problems with the application process. biggrin.gif
Bro,... thank you very much for taking the time to write all these.

Appreciated it very much,... thumbsup.gif
TSHansel
post Oct 7 2022, 08:12 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 3 2022, 04:57 PM)
SSB NOV 2022 rates are now published online.

https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/Sing...e-Savings-Bonds

98% accuracy compared to the projected ones by https://www.ilovessb.com/

Rates are correct for all years except for the second year with a difference of 0.01%.

Note that due to the high rates max allocation might be lower for this one. 2 months ago it's 9k SGD, last month was 42k SGD due to the unfavourable rates.
I forgot,... Do I earn any pro-rata dividend if I am to take out the principal after, say,.... one mth of letting the funds remained in the SSB Account ?
TSHansel
post Oct 7 2022, 11:27 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Oct 7 2022, 10:38 PM)
Redeem once a month. Interest pro-rated if redeem.
QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 7 2022, 11:01 PM)
As bro sgh stated, there will be pro-rated dividends paid based on a predefined formula: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/inve...s/how-to-redeem

(Scroll to bottom to find how accrued interests are calculated.)

There is no such thing as an "SSB account" bro. Your SSB bonds are registered under your CDP account. But if you have SingPass (for those with NRIC no. only, i.e. PR or Sporeans) and provided that your CDP account is registered with SingPass too, you can login here to check your SSB holdings: https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/ssb/

Otherwise (e.g. foreigner like me, or SingPass FIN no. holder). you need to check from CDP Internet/CDP statements.

Take note that the redemmed principal and interests are credited during the 2nd business day of the following month. The link I shared above has detailed information about the redeeming process, schedule and payment info.

Hope that helps bro. biggrin.gif
Bros SGH and TOS,

Thank you very much for your replies,... yeah, I did invest into the SSB to park my funds a few years ago, and I recalled when I withdrew before 6 mths, I still got some dividends credited. No need to wait for a whole 6 mths to pass before getting hold of some earnings.

Yeah,.. I said something wrongly - there is no such thing as an 'SSB Acct.',.. what I meant to say was the bank acct linked to my CDP. And yes, I normally logged-on to my CDP session to chk my holdings inside CDP, incl my Astrea bonds and previously, my SSBs too.
TSHansel
post Oct 9 2022, 01:17 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 7 2022, 11:27 PM)
Bros SGH and TOS,

Thank you very much for your replies,... yeah, I did invest into the SSB to park my funds a few years ago, and I recalled when I withdrew before 6 mths, I still got some dividends credited. No need to wait for a whole 6 mths to pass before getting hold of some earnings.

Yeah,.. I said something wrongly - there is no such thing as an 'SSB Acct.',.. what I meant to say was the bank acct linked to my CDP. And yes, I normally logged-on to my CDP session to chk my holdings inside CDP, incl my Astrea bonds and previously, my SSBs too.
What do you guys predict the allocation for the coming Nov 2022 tranche to be at ? Can get more than $10k allocation ? $20k ?
TSHansel
post Oct 9 2022, 02:15 PM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 9 2022, 01:24 PM)
This one still need to see how the Dec curve looks like towards the end of the month and USD/SGD movements. After upcoming Friday MAS policy statement release we may see more clarity.

Now the Dec curve is very flat, but only 25% accuracy.

September tranche when 10Y average rate is 2.8% and the 10th year rate breaks above 3% the max allocation is only 9k SGD. Nov tranche rates for all years, all above 3%. Surely much less than 9k. But if Dec yield profile looks a lot better than Nov then people might not subscribe Nov in large amount towards the end of this month to lock-in rates.

You may check HWZ forum on SSB discussions for bellwether: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...006693/page-478 although these days the discussions are more on financial arbitrage planning of switching money from CPF OA to SSB/T-bills  laugh.gif
Thank you, bro,... appreciated your reply.
TSHansel
post Oct 10 2022, 10:55 AM

9,359 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 9 2022, 08:12 PM)
Ya, forgot to mention. Hansel can try the currently open 6M and 1Y T-bill applications too. Curiously, both applications have the same deadline: this Wednesday (12th Oct.) (9 pm for DBS). Then 2 days later we have MAS policy statement.

A hectic week for MAS (and possibly volatile SGD) ahead.
Looks to me like they want to 'clear the T-bills as much as possible with a lower coupon rate' before the new higher rate kicks in....

71 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0553sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:46 AM