SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

TSHansel
post Oct 11 2022, 12:42 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 10 2022, 09:41 PM)
sgh Just to confirm with you for redeeming SSB earlier, the accured interests are counted based on days or months?

E.g. for the Sept 2022 issue which I plan to redeem, if I apply to redeem now, the accrued interests will be including the whole month of October or just up to today (assume I apply to withdraw today)?

The SSB website formula counts based on days  https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/inve...s/how-to-redeem

but my SG friend says it's counted by month (i.e. irrespective of which day in the month you apply to withdraw, the entire month's interests will still be accrued and paid back).

Just want to confirm. Thanks.
QUOTE(sgh @ Oct 10 2022, 11:20 PM)
The URL has a formula at the bottom it count the days. It will accrued interest until the day the monies credit into your bank account (exclude the day interest come in) You redeem early or late in the month is the same so later can give you more days to think over
Bro,... no institution will pay you interest for days you have not 'completed',... surely it will be counted in days, not mths.
TSHansel
post Oct 14 2022, 01:07 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Oct 14 2022, 11:05 AM)
Better than MYR FD.. time to diversify
YES bro, thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif ... better than MYR FD today,... means even if it's expensive to convert into the SGD, you will earn back from a good SGD fixed income return.
TSHansel
post Oct 14 2022, 01:10 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 13 2022, 01:35 PM)
Bro,... this also means those money is locked-up for the next 6m to 1yr and will not be able to take advantage of better rates after MAS tightening this morning.
TSHansel
post Oct 14 2022, 02:09 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 14 2022, 01:38 PM)
Actually rates won't be better by a lot. Strong SGD/USD means the treasury bill rates will be slightly lower than US comparatively. There is an inverse relationship between currency and interest rates.

But ya you are right that dry powder is finite, maybe can skip the next few weeks T-bills, or bid closer to US rates to safeguard myself from kiasu kiasi low bidders in SG. laugh.gif 

(Some fellas on HWZ actually bid 0.01%..., hopefully it's just a troll.)
FRankly,.. nobody knows where the bottom is,... only way to do is to buy when one 'feels like it',.. and of course, must buy selectively.

REcently,... I averaged-up on DBS, at 33.25 and at 33.03. Then it plunged to a low of 32.xx yesterday,... sad.gif

But rose up again today,... what else to do ?

I also bought-in to KIT at 0.5300 yesterday,... thot the price was good,... then the price dipped to 0.525,.... it's okay,... I'm waiting for the EFR to come.

Hence, must buy selectively !
TSHansel
post Oct 15 2022, 12:45 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Oct 15 2022, 12:32 PM)
Ya, thanks to your tips, just started with 6M T-bills @ 3.3% p.a. 2~3 weeks back. If it hits 4.5% p.a. can consider lock in 1-yr.

Yes, only started converting since last month seeing how MYR has been depreciating against SGD lately... Also planning to buy some S-REITs which are "on sale" now due to high interest rates.
Glad my comment has helped you, bro,...

Emm,... don't lock-up your funds. If you lock-in for one year, the moment inflation has peaked in SG, you need to deploy FASTER into SREITs before the prices runaway. I heard from some chat groups yesterday that SG inflation has peaked.
TSHansel
post Oct 15 2022, 02:37 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 15 2022, 01:46 PM)
You lock-in if you think the yields have peaked and can't go higher. But if the Fed still wants to do it the "Volcker style" and inflation couldn't ease, you may lose some opportunities for higher yields during the 1-year period. At least that's what I read from BT yesterday (see my post above).
Which chat group is that? Can I join? Or it is just for lawyers only? tongue.gif
Bro, by the time the yields have peaked, the SREITs and tech shares would have started to run-up. You still want to lock-up your funds in some 'low-return' bonds ? Better pour into equities already.
TSHansel
post Oct 15 2022, 03:01 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 15 2022, 02:46 PM)
Ya that's correct, but the problem is we don't know when the yields would have peaked. And there might be some delays between run-up and yield peaking if the crisis and market stress drag on for some time.

Just my 2 cents, as long as harmonics3 manage his cash flow well liquidity shouldn't be an issue I think.
We watched the numbers too,... since Feds also watching numbers,....then we atsart guessing when we think the numbers are beginning to peak. Mkts are highly fwd-looking today,... there will be no delay. Mkts would have tried to move first before we started to decide the numbers have peaked.

Investors have learnt from the 2020 V-shaped recovery. There is no chance to go in at low when the mkts suddenly started to run-up !
TSHansel
post Oct 15 2022, 03:46 PM

9,353 posts

Deleted,...

This post has been edited by Hansel: Oct 15 2022, 03:50 PM
TSHansel
post Oct 26 2022, 03:54 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 26 2022, 01:55 PM)
We just got a very reliable indicator for tomorrow's 6M T-bill auction.

12-week MAS bill auction results today: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2022-10-28

Cut-off 4.35%, median yield 4.2%. But average a bit low at 3.59%.

Median yield moving closer to cut-off, suggesting many bidding between 4.2-4.35% p.a. for a 3M equivalent T-bill.

All number in units of p.a.
Bro,... I looked at the T-Bills screen yesterday,... I saw only the 182 days tenure. 182 days = 6-mths.

Where is this 3-mth tenure T-Bill ?

Secondly,... wouldn't your funds be locked-up for 3 or 6 -mths if you go for these T-Bills ? What if the mkt turns suddenly and you wished to deploy your funds ?
TSHansel
post Oct 26 2022, 05:01 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 26 2022, 04:10 PM)
Hi bro.

3 month is just a hypothetical comparison. MAS stopped issuing 3M T-bills since 12 Dec 2013.

Yes, funds will be locked up for 6 months/1 year in general. If you need, you can sell OTC via the 3 primary dealers (UOB, OCBC, DBS). But in general do expect some spread there (I have no data on spread as I have not found anyone who sold these bills and commented over the Internet).

So, you need to time your cash flow well enough as most people hold till maturity.

If anyone stay in SG can drop by any DBS, OCBC and UOB branch to query about T-bill spread that would be very nice info to update us here. biggrin.gif

A phone call to the branch can also be sufficient already if I am not mistaken.

Thanks!

---------------------------

Add-on: Today is also the last day to redeem previous months' SSB(s) if you want to subscribe to Nov/Dec22 or future issues with higher average rates. Remember to do so before 9 pm.
I have subscribed on the first week of october for the Nov SSB, bro,... tq for your help,..... thumbsup.gif

Looks like there are too 1-mth and 3-mth instruments, namely MAS Bills, but these are reserved for insto's only. I Whatsapp'ed my RM after reading yoru reply above,... he said must find a buyer for this,... adn the spread depends upon how close the T-Bill is to redemption. The nearer to Redemption Day, the larger the spread,... guess she makes money there too.

The spread starts at 2% betw buy-and-sell upon issue,.... but I think this depends on the RM,... and on the bank that you're dealing with. If you have a good relationship with the bank,... probably the spread is smaller. Hoped this helps, bro,...
TSHansel
post Oct 28 2022, 12:05 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 28 2022, 07:54 AM)
First S-bank to report 3Q results: UOB

https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...738daa9b6c302b9

DBS and OCBC reporting next week.
Yes,... saw the ping into my phone when I got up tis morning. 34% hike in earings,... saw the one-liner from CNBC. Didn't read anymore.

My OCBC and DBS reporting next week,... DBS paying out qtrly dividends,... divvy increase ? Or big special divvy for this year-end....
TSHansel
post Oct 28 2022, 12:26 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 28 2022, 12:12 PM)
Seems to me the NIM expansion and NII income rise contributed a lot to the banks profits. But already the yield curve is inverting, worries me if the rates start to go down again plus economy turns bad. That would be double whammy for S-banks.

But so far SG economy holds up better than the US, it seems.
We need to invest either way,... be it into fixed income instruments, or into equities. A Recession will hammer everything, this is where the fixed income instruments will preserve our net worth.

SG, being small and highly dependant on the world economy, will be affected by anything that happens in the world, the extent of which is the thing that will make a difference.

We, residents of Msia has an advantage when investing in SG. The worse the world situation takes place,... the weaker the Ringgit becomes,... the stronger the SGD becomes,... and the more money we have for our spendings. Perhaps less returns from our investments in SG,... but when converted back, more money for us to spend in Msia,... we shld be happy that we are earning SGD but spending in Msia,... and staying in Msia.

If we need to travel, there is more money to convert with when we need to spend outside of Msia. Comparing this to if we need to use the Ringgit to chg into foreign currencies,... using the SGD to buy foreign currencies is much more worthy.
TSHansel
post Oct 28 2022, 06:55 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 27 2022, 01:40 PM)
Yes, I submitted 4.1%. Anything below 4.19% you surely get allocated. Those bidding at 4.19% will get partial allocation (14% of original bid amount in this case).
Good evening, bro,...

To test out,... I sub'd $1000 as Non-Competitive on 26.10.2022. Then on 27.10.2022, I got a refund of $20.89 in my Savings Acct...

If we divide as 20.89/1000, I got only 2.089%.

How do we calculate this pls ?

I saw everywhere the interest is 4.19%,.... biggrin.gif

Tq bro,...
TSHansel
post Oct 28 2022, 07:05 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 28 2022, 07:01 PM)
I know someday somebody will ask this question. So I already prepared something for you guys earlier. tongue.gif

Here is an Excel spreadsheet to simplify stuffs: [attachmentid=11292952]

Here is your reference: https://pages.stern.nyu.edu/~wsilber/treasurybills.pdf
Your reply is hilarious, bro,... But thank you for the materials,... I'll take a look first.
TSHansel
post Oct 28 2022, 07:23 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 28 2022, 07:15 PM)
Haha I actually use that spreadsheet to check for myself too.

Anyway, note that the actual returns (Effective annual rate) will be lower than the 4.325% computed if you strictly discount your cashflow based on the day you pay to MAS via DBS/OCBC/UOB.

When I use sis Gracie's IRR spreadsheet calculation, it turns out that for our case where we paid on 26th Oct, discount paid back on 27th and mature on 2nd of May 2023, the actual effective annual rate is about 4.18% p.a. (coincidentally about the same as the cut-off yield of 4.19%, but not related mathematically at all).

If you alter the date to a theoretical situation where you pay 1000 SGD on 1st Nov, discount paid back on 1st Nov, and mature on 2nd May 2023, then Gracie's IRR spreadsheet will show the correct 4.32% p.a. effective annual return.

Just some "bond convention" nuances to take note of.
This is complicated then,... for you need to compute the thing first before you are able to bid at the yield that you wanted. And furthermore, if we put in a Non-Competitive Bid in order to guarantee success in applying, we might end-up with a lower yield (I got only 2%), and have our funds locked-in for 6-mths like what is happening to my $1k now.

So,... it's not straightforward apply and they will give you what yield they have fixed themselves on,....
TSHansel
post Oct 28 2022, 07:56 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 28 2022, 07:37 PM)
Uhm I don't quite get your point bro. The T-bill rates are benchmarked against major market yields, in particular US 6 month yield, in our case. So, it's known to the public to a high degree of certainty, barring those who bid at 0.01% if they choose to.

And effective annual yield is always higher than the quoted cut-off yield due to the nature of computations.

For your concerns on the non-comp. Again, first check the markets. If it's already 4.5% in the US, and recent benchmarks from MAS bill whose bids are from institutions or previous day T-bill yields all indicate range of 3.6% to 4.3%. Your range is pretty much narrowed down.

It can't be 2% unless the market yield is indeed close to 2% p.a. Then you might as well not bid at all in the first place, or put a high bid (say 2.5% or even 2.75%) to secure your returns.

And no, MAS can't fix the yields themselves. Remember it's BBC framework in Singapore. Basket, Band, Crawl. MAS never influence the rates, they only influence SG$NEER. The yields are determined by market participants like us.

I don't really get your question. sweat.gif Would be nice if you could clarify bro.
I think I overlooked something earlier,...

Like I said, I got back a refund of $20.89 against $1000 T-Bill bought.

And the stated yield after close is 4.19%.

Since this tenure is for 6 mths and NOT for 12 mths, hence,... the yield is 4.19%/2 = 2.095%. So, it's abt there, since I got back a refund of $20.89.

Did I miss something else here ?
TSHansel
post Oct 28 2022, 08:23 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 28 2022, 08:08 PM)
Ah I see the issue now bro. Yields are always quoted per annum. biggrin.gif

This is standard market convention. Just like your fixed deposit bro. You never see people talk about 0.333% for 1 month FD, but 4% p.a. FD for say, 12 month.
Yes bro,... my bad, I saw wrongly,.... biggrin.gif

So, the next one that will come along will be announced on 3.11.2022, and we can start applying from that date right up till 10.11.2022. Results will be known on 11.11.2022. Am I right ?

You applying again, bro ?
TSHansel
post Oct 29 2022, 04:52 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 29 2022, 10:43 AM)
Have been thinking about this bro.

Your statement is only true if:

MY retirement inflation rate < SGD/MYR appreciation rate + SG retirement inflation rate 

So it kind of depends on your retirement spendings and also the rate at which BNM prints money.
Bro,..

MY retirement inflation rate actually depends on your lifestyle, bro,... this can be controlled.

And secondly,.. if your nestegg is big enough in SG, this can withstand a smaller SGD/MYR appreciation rate and still fulfills your retirement needs in MY.
TSHansel
post Oct 29 2022, 04:53 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 29 2022, 02:16 PM)
Personally - best to retire in countries with high enough medical facilities & standards, yet cheap enough health care, food & blue-collar services like home/electrical/wetwork maintenance WHILE making passive income in USD, GBP, SGD, etc. Best of both worlds - relative monetary strength with cost effective living
Sure, bro,... which ctry is that ? biggrin.gif
TSHansel
post Oct 29 2022, 05:05 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 28 2022, 08:39 PM)
Good that we clear things up!

Uhm for the date. Announcement is from 3rd of Nov yes, you can start buying from that day onwards (or 1 day latter if banks need time to update their system to display the auction details).

Unfortunately, you interpret the next 2 dates wrongly. The auction date is 10th of November (Thursday), which is the day the auction results are known, e.g. cut-off yield, median/average yield, BTC ratio etc. So the last day to apply is 1 day earlier 9th of Nov (Wednesday) (and time is usually 9pm for DBS ibanking applicants, sources on HWZ claimed 12 pm for UOB/OCBC, so it depends on the banks, make sure you check with them by login into the respective online banking portal).

SG T-bills are issued every 2 weeks, and for this year, you will notice the auction day is always a Thursday. And the last day to apply is 1 day prior to it, i.e. Wednesday.

1 year T-bills are issued every quarter (so 4 issues per annum).

--------------------------

As for whether I will apply, it really depends on the rate movement. Now the yield curve is inverting, so the rates may peak sooner than we thought. I will keep a close eye on US 6M rate before deciding. If rates aren't too far from current levels, I will bid higher to secure my position, otherwise, I will just forego the auction for the next one.
Thank you so much for the explanations, bro,... appreciated it,....

Mkt could be turning around,... don't know if still want to lock-up funds for 6 mths till May next year. ... Need to go back into the mkt already soon,... how abt you ?

71 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.1469sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:44 PM