Unsubscribe SMS Spam from 23238, Receive SMS Spam that cost me RM1

spoonudus
post May 30 2023, 11:56 AM

189 posts

Hi maxis, i just received this sms and wanted to know if anything has been charged to my account (1218328589)

Below is the sms.

RM0.00. TAC for your English Novel88 subscription service is (6 numbers). TAC is valid for 2 minutes. Reminder! DO NOT share your TAC with anyone. Maxis/Hotlink will never request for your TAC.
Maxis
post May 30 2023, 03:07 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(spoonudus @ May 30 2023, 11:56 AM)
Hi maxis, i just received this sms and wanted to know if anything has been charged to my account (1218328589)

Below is the sms.

RM0.00. TAC for your English Novel88 subscription service is (6 numbers). TAC is valid for 2 minutes. Reminder! DO NOT share your TAC with anyone. Maxis/Hotlink will never request for your TAC.
Hi, we have replied to you via PM.
TQ
p4n6
post Jun 4 2023, 10:58 AM

5,968 posts

Why cant telco make it mandatory opt in for all these sms content charges? or kill it once and for all …

I believe 10/10 of these are illegitimate charges as no biz will be so outdated to use this form of sms way of charging service anymore … this is used during the 90s before smartphone goes mainstream

Esp this macrokiosk, highly suspicious …
PRSXFENG
post Jun 4 2023, 01:25 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jun 4 2023, 10:58 AM)
Why cant telco make it mandatory opt in for all these sms content charges? or kill it once and for all …

I believe 10/10 of these are illegitimate charges as no biz will be so outdated to use this form of sms way of charging service anymore … this is used during the 90s before smartphone goes mainstream

Esp this macrokiosk, highly suspicious …
Sometimes you gotta put some blame on the user too

They click on some sketchy site
it redirects to some "Verification" site and tells you to enter your phone number

and there you go, subscribed.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 27 2023, 07:06 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,722 posts

QUOTE(Maxis @ May 30 2023, 03:07 PM)
Hi, we have replied to you via PM.
TQ
thumbsup.gif
scrub
post Jan 22 2024, 12:14 PM

Got this scam charge me for every week rm3 from 26700 …maxis pls unsubscribe n waived this ..my account number is 1494961640

contestchris
post Jan 23 2024, 05:54 PM

5,516 posts

QUOTE(scrub @ Jan 22 2024, 12:14 PM)
Got this scam charge me for every week rm3 from 26700 …maxis pls unsubscribe n waived this ..my account number is 1494961640

Just cancel it on your own lah, will be faster than you posting in this forum.

1) Search for the number on your SMS history
2) Follow the instruction to unsubscribe.
pokchik
post Jan 24 2024, 06:28 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

Hi Maxis,

My wife is using a Surf & Talk Plan number on a dumbphone,
she often deletes her SMS (it's a dumbphone, small-sized inbox)
so there's no trace of where this particular SMS charge is coming from.

32001 - AHEAD SMS 0374922123

Tried googling it but I was unable to find info.

It's just an RM0.30 charge, but the funny thing is it's only appearing once in a while..

Jan-24 32001 - AHEAD SMS 0374922123
Dec-23 -Nothing-
Nov-23 32001 - AHEAD SMS 0374922123
Oct-23 32001 - AHEAD SMS 0374922123
Sep-23 -Nothing-
Aug-23 -Nothing-
Jul-23 -Nothing-
Jun-23 32001 - AHEAD SMS 0374922123
May-23 -Nothing-
Apr-23 -Nothing-
Mar-23 -Nothing-
Feb-23 -Nothing-
Jan-23 -Nothing-

How do I stop it?

Does sending an SMS STOP to 32001 can stop it indefinitely?

p4n6
post Jan 25 2024, 11:40 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jan 24 2024, 06:28 PM)
Hi Maxis,

It's just an RM0.30 charge, but the funny thing is it's only appearing once in a while..

Dec-23 -Nothing-
Sep-23 -Nothing-
Aug-23 -Nothing-
Jul-23 -Nothing-
May-23 -Nothing-
Apr-23 -Nothing-
Mar-23 -Nothing-
Feb-23 -Nothing-
Jan-23 -Nothing-

How do I stop it?

RM0.30 not much but spammer will spam millions of num at once. So they will randomize and circulate the number every month to not to raise suspicion.

Need to report to telco to ban that provider.

Some of these shortcodes come from 1 provider e.g. macrokiosk, and they basically no governance allow anyone to subscribe to it with no question asks. Alot of scammers/spammers just use their service. Telco also dun want to care cause they are beneficiary as well.

So, telco earns money (provide network svc), provider like macrokiosk earns money (provide platform svc), scam/spammers win the most money … loser = end users.

Maxis
post Jan 28 2024, 11:43 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jan 24 2024, 06:28 PM)
Hi Maxis,

Dec-23 -Nothing-
Sep-23 -Nothing-
Aug-23 -Nothing-
Jul-23 -Nothing-
May-23 -Nothing-
Apr-23 -Nothing-
Mar-23 -Nothing-
Feb-23 -Nothing-
Jan-23 -Nothing-

How do I stop it?

Hi, please PM us for assistance. TQ - Maxis

20 Pages « < 18 19 20Top

0.0224sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:45 PM