4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Engine oil in supermarkets are all genuine ?

bananabread
post Sep 29 2015, 12:09 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 28 2015, 11:52 PM)
Seldom use Castrol because also not often on promotion, but sometimes got promo in Tesco.
FS oil actually got a few grades. The higher end ones like Motul, HKS, Amsoil, Liqui Moly etc2 are all >rm200. Then there are the normal ones which can be <rm150 when on promotion (but their normal prices are also >rm200). Eneos also makes higher end and normal ones. For me, driving just normal cars, I don't see the need to spend money using such expensive oils when I can get still good enough quality trusted oils at much cheaper prices in those supermarkets. Of course if you ask those shops where you bought the oils at normal/expensive prices, they'd say the oils in the supermarkets are fake la, low quality la, not suitable for Malaysia spec/climate la, etc2 typical whatever bullshit coz they just cannot sell at such low prices. laugh.gif  Unfortunately some consumers do believe those BS and hence keep throwing money away at those shops.  doh.gif
Thanks for details.

I used to buy from tesco n jusco. For convenience sake, now mostly get from workshops. Sometimes I asked them to check this check that and only pay for service car labor feeling paiseh also, so many mechanics jz to check my car.

Sometime let me cut queue n service my car priority. In return, jz buy their oil to support.

Now I know how much they earn smile.gif surviving tactics bro.

sheahann
post Sep 29 2015, 12:12 AM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 28 2015, 11:33 PM)
Can get full synth oil at that price.  smile.gif
With labor charge. Oil filter etc all in. I think ok la.
Btw semi I also change at 5k km. usually 4plus change adyy
SUSSouzaDE
post Sep 29 2015, 12:17 AM

193 posts

Engine oil is best bought at hypermarket (eg. Tesco). They have promotion from time to time, very cheap.

This post has been edited by SouzaDE: Sep 29 2015, 12:17 AM
6UE5T
post Sep 29 2015, 12:30 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Sep 29 2015, 12:12 AM)
With labor charge. Oil filter etc all in. I think ok la.
Btw semi I also change at 5k km. usually 4plus change adyy
But if you really calculate, using FS oils bought at promo prices will still be much cheaper.
Let's take my latest example here:
Bought a few mths ago Mobil 3000 5w40 FS oil @rm119 for 5 ltr bottle or rm95.20 if convert to 4tlr volume
Filter cost was rm25, also bought on my own.
Labor cost was rm20 at the nearest workshop at my place.
So total was only rm140.20 but can last 10k km which is only rm70.10 for 5k km. So compared to your cost of rm110 all in for 5k km, your spending is still 57% more expensive than mine. smile.gif
cempedaklife
post Oct 3 2015, 09:39 AM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Sep 27 2015, 12:22 PM)
Sometimes you need to visit Tesco more frequently, it has offer for few days and the promo is quite cheap.
Castrol 10W-40 (semi synt) 4 liters or Mobil 1 (5 liter) sale around RM89 only.
Tesco at Ampang.
I do buy 2-3 bottles in 1 shot when it cheap. Long run, its save money and time to hunt for the engine oil, but remember to look at engine oil manufacture date. Shelf life for engine oil is about 1 year.
thanks bro, learned something new today.
shinjite
post Oct 3 2015, 10:31 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(towar @ Sep 29 2015, 10:03 AM)
that's really a lot cheaper than PETRONAS synthium 5000/7000 sold at petrol stations, which cost over rm 200 per 4 liter bottle.
Petrol stations can't do anything on the pricing of their engine oils, its the RRP from the manufacturers themselves.
6UE5T
post Oct 5 2015, 12:32 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(towar @ Sep 29 2015, 10:03 AM)
that's really a lot cheaper than PETRONAS synthium 5000/7000 sold at petrol stations, which cost over rm 200 per 4 liter bottle.
QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 3 2015, 10:31 AM)
Petrol stations can't do anything on the pricing of their engine oils, its the RRP from the manufacturers themselves.
That's why I never buy at petrol stations also.
k!nex
post Oct 5 2015, 06:08 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(bananabread @ Sep 28 2015, 11:18 PM)

Eneos sell over rm200
THis exact thing I bought from our forumer "gagak" for around RM150~ only. Good oil though.
For myself, I will see which one on offer then buy which one. However, if Castrol , Mobil and Shell on offer, then my first choice to last choice for full synthetic is:

1. Castrol Edge 5w-40
2. Mobil New Life 0w-40
3. Shell Helix Ultra 5w-40
4. Mobil Super 3000 5w-40

In terms of durability, I found Castrol Edge oil is more durable .

lowhankim
post Oct 28 2015, 05:58 PM

92 posts

I've been buying engine oil from Hypermarket.

Previously Shell Semi was at RM 89
and Shell FS is RM 139

I stock up due to promotion

I used to for Lim Tyre and they charged me RM 130 + for semi oil which cost RM 89 in Tesco
Don't jump to conclusion that I'm not letting them to earn but they also charged Labour Cost seperately on bills.

then Oil filter is RM 25 which I got it for RM 12 for the same one but buying in 10 pcs.
Bulk purchase.

Is a lot of savings at the moments that can be consider.

Just my 2 cents that I :
Started changing my own oil, save up to RM 50 each time...
The economy is so bad that I have to DIY a lot of things.
6UE5T
post Oct 28 2015, 06:46 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(lowhankim @ Oct 28 2015, 05:58 PM)

and Shell FS is RM 139

I used to for Lim Tyre and they charged me RM 130 + for semi oil which cost RM 89 in Tesco
Don't jump to conclusion that I'm not letting them to earn but they also charged Labour Cost seperately on bills.

then Oil filter is RM 25 which I got it for RM 12 for the same one but buying in 10 pcs.
Bulk purchase.

Just my 2 cents that I :

That's the spirit! thumbup.gif
tbcheese
post Oct 29 2015, 05:28 PM

313 posts

and Shell FS is RM 139

Bulk purchase.

Just my 2 cents that I :
Please discard of the used oil properly. Don't just pour it into the drain.
lowhankim
post Oct 29 2015, 09:41 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Oct 29 2015, 05:28 PM)
Please discard of the used oil properly. Don't just pour it into the drain.
I pass it back to the workshops, no worries smile.gif
tbcheese
post Oct 29 2015, 10:07 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(lowhankim @ Oct 29 2015, 09:41 PM)
thumbup.gif
TSkkk8787
post Oct 29 2015, 11:30 PM

Julyd8th
2,529 posts

QUOTE(lowhankim @ Oct 29 2015, 09:41 PM)
Why would they take in free
am_eniey
post Oct 31 2015, 08:54 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

buy at petrol station, surely it's genuine
arza04
post Nov 1 2015, 08:41 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Oct 29 2015, 11:30 PM)
Why would they take in free
Because they sell back the oil.
cempedaklife
post Nov 7 2015, 12:05 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

and Shell FS is RM 139

Bulk purchase.

Just my 2 cents that I :
I buy my own engine oil and filter. For Honda city. Rm80 for genuine Honda semi and rm15 for genuine Honda filter. Buy from the shop where most workshops around get their supplies from.
But I'm okay with paying the labour rm15 at workshop, as its hassle free and wanna give biz to ppl also LA.

TSkkk8787
post Nov 7 2015, 12:38 PM

Julyd8th
2,529 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 7 2015, 12:05 PM)
I buy my own engine oil and filter. For Honda city. Rm80 for genuine Honda semi  and rm15 for genuine Honda filter. Buy from the shop where most workshops around get their supplies from.
But I'm okay with paying the labour rm15 at workshop, as its hassle free and wanna give biz to ppl also LA.
Why some say even these supply shops might not be genuine
cempedaklife
post Nov 7 2015, 12:48 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Nov 7 2015, 12:38 PM)
Why some say even these supply shops might not be genuine
Too much to worry lor. I feel its okay la. Unless I heard rumours that particular shop sell fake stuff then baru switch lor.
overfloe
post Nov 8 2015, 07:27 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,213 posts

Well, engine oils outside malaysia is pretty affordable.. so there is no surprise that synthetic oils are sold cheap at hypermarkets coz mostly imported.

For fully syn, mobil 3000 is the best deal dirt cheap for 5 litre.. but this is the mid tier grade from mobil. Castrol edge is better but rarely got special discount. Total mc3 also ok but again this is not not high grade fully syn oil.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0215sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:46 PM