Personal relief Income tax, legally, reduce income tax

Andy0625
post May 23 2008, 07:05 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ May 23 2008, 06:57 PM)
i asked my accountant and he also told me the same thing. company vacation is not business related.

but if you change it to "business trip", then it's allowable expenses
It's really very weird scenario though , workers can take vacation while the boss need to pay for himself. doh.gif
Even if it's a vacation trip and declare as business trip , who knows aye ? biggrin.gif *but still need to pay for wife and children ones. blush.gif

I haven't go through all the pages yet , from what i heard from my accountant , they say that children books can claim up to rm1000.
I'll browse through all soon , thanks for the prompt reply. smile.gif
mousepad87
post May 24 2008, 10:42 AM

1,008 posts

collect all the purchase receipt.. so income tax will reduct somehow.( my mom told me )
and pay zakat is one of the way and no limits to( i thinks so))
lwb
post May 24 2008, 04:52 PM

1,504 posts

hi lucifah,

i empathize with those whose income tax bracket is fast approaching the highest tier bracket.

a solely salary-worker will have little reprieve as the government will find ways to disqualify/reduce exemptions and rebates over time (while having a balancing act at appeasing other groups of benefactors)

i did thought about extremes, such as working in a tax-free environment (which may either include a company that provide tax-free compensation or at a country that does not have any income tax)

if the main bulk of your rm 70,000 annual income derives from employment, then there's little room to maneuver (whatever reductions are already at max level and it's just too little to bring down the stated income).. oh, forget about those insurance thingy as mentioned by some folks here, i'm sure you're not crazy to buy into that just for the rebates.

the reality is, moving forward to a high employment income earner, comes with it a great responsibility/accountability which restrict alot in terms of seeking additional stream(s) of business to park/protect/preserve one's income. conflict of interest may arise and you may be required to reduce your own participation in those avenues where you can seek a little more protection to your income as a whole.

this is where a full business owner/man/woman have advantage over salary worker..

the question that i asked myself occasionally.. am i ready to go into this "arena" full time? mind you, my income tax is 5-digit and i feel the pain (whenever the government screw around with public funds)
TSlucifah
post May 24 2008, 04:55 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 23 2008, 07:05 PM)
It's really very weird scenario though , workers can take vacation while the boss need to pay for himself.  doh.gif
Even if it's a vacation trip and declare as business trip , who knows aye ?  biggrin.gif  *but still need to pay for wife and children ones.  blush.gif

I haven't go through all the pages yet , from what i heard from my accountant , they say that children books can claim up to rm1000.
I'll browse through all soon , thanks for the prompt reply.  smile.gif
just re-checked with my accountant. he says vacations for staff is allowable expenses. vacation for business owner / proprieters are not

HOWEVER, if the vacation is "business related", then it's justifiable as allowable expenses (faham faham la...)

now, business related can also be defined as "motivational rests" (cuti lah) - a good rests and to meet up "potential" clients (your frens / family)

for books, this year it's has been bumped up to rm 1,000. not just limited to children books - any type of publication qualifies

SUSDavid83
post May 24 2008, 09:29 PM

52,874 posts

Sport equipment will be starting next year? YA of 2008?
arsenal
post May 24 2008, 10:08 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

yup...i heard can claim for next year onwards
SUSDavid83
post May 24 2008, 10:09 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ May 24 2008, 10:08 PM)
yup...i heard can claim for next year onwards
From LHDN website. Can file for tax relief up to RM 300.
TSlucifah
post May 25 2008, 12:23 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ May 24 2008, 04:52 PM)

the question that i asked myself occasionally.. am i ready to go into this "arena" full time? mind you, my income tax is 5-digit and i feel the pain (whenever the government screw around with public funds)
yes, that's the kind of sentiment i have

worse, i'm in sarawak where the public infrastructure lags 10-years behind that of semenanjung

and i'm only paying a 4-digit tax

i share your pain, mate - and yours with a 5-digit, i can't imagine

Lawyer1
post May 26 2008, 08:09 PM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ May 25 2008, 01:23 AM)
yes, that's the kind of sentiment i have

worse, i'm in sarawak where the public infrastructure lags 10-years behind that of semenanjung

and i'm only paying a 4-digit tax

i share your pain, mate - and yours with a 5-digit, i can't imagine
My friends, it's relative. If you are supposed to pay a 5-digit tax but you are only paying a 4-digit tax, then no pain.

If you are paying a 5-digit tax when you are supposed to pay a 6-digit tax, then no pain too.

If you are paying tax accordingly, then be happy that you are not staying in a western country whereby the high tax bracket can be hit easily.

Be happy. How the government uses the money is beyond your control, you can only vote who you want to be using this money.
Ken
post Aug 20 2008, 03:42 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 22 2008, 09:37 PM)
Charity must be with receipt right? can it be temple  or any charity with receipt?
the question is will G recognise those receipt from temple ?
eltaria
post Sep 18 2008, 11:13 PM

GO GO GO
1,040 posts

Hi Hi, I'm a bit perplexed on the tax thingy too.

My first time getting salary high enough to get taxed sleep.gif'

Right now we have this deduction thingy from our monthly salary.
On top of that, do we still need to pay additional taxes?

And how would the rebate be?
The computer purchase is 3.5k

If my annual tax is less than 3.5k, how much would I be able to get back?
All of the amount I paid in tax I guess?
nicktarc
post Sep 18 2008, 11:32 PM

125 posts

easy... upgrade ur company status... the reality it the bigger ur business the less taxation... coz u get a lot of tax avoidance...
ronnie
post Sep 19 2008, 08:54 AM

Not enough stars
21,322 posts

Can we claim book/magazine receipts from Store Copy receipt ?
The receipt have MPH written on it but without the usual address and phone numbers. Each description is itemised as [BUKU] or [MAJALAH]
De_Legend
post Oct 7 2008, 11:00 PM

146 posts

according to my fren, he always use [ART] to reduce his tax payable amount.... he buy some printing/decorative...

but i chk'd at personal relief at LHDN, there is nothing shown related [ART]... or it ady been classified under [BOOKS]?

pls advise!~~
eric.tangps
post Oct 8 2008, 12:18 AM

640 posts

List of acceptable and approved Charity by LHDN

http://www.hasil.org.my/melayu/bm_Derma.asp

SSPN also allows deduction.
QuickFire
post Dec 3 2008, 09:54 AM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Any new updates?

QUOTE(miuk @ Apr 27 2008, 04:19 PM)
guys,

I got this from YourMoney section NST newspaper dated 23 April 2008.

"Buying sports and exercise equipment can also be claimed as tax relief of up to RM300"

I tried finding it everywhere but cant seem to find this clause, anyone can enlighten me?

What if I buy a pair of Nike/Adidas/Reebok sneakers (not for sports use lol), can I claim it under this?
mtsen
post Dec 12 2008, 02:52 PM

1,473 posts

Is the currently all those personal relief under the Income Tax Act 1967 keeping with current cost of living? Is it fair, reasonable and equitable in this bad economy time?

I think its fair, job less means no pay tax. smile.gif
cherroy
post Dec 12 2008, 03:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mtsen @ Dec 12 2008, 02:52 PM)
I think its fair, job less means no pay tax. smile.gif
I LOL this statement. Fair enough biggrin.gif sweat.gif
full
post Dec 12 2008, 05:49 PM

262 posts

i dont mean that noneed pay tax. i means bout the amount of that personal relief, is it fair? as some of the family or individual earn at the moderate level, some has high earnings... is that amount of relief sufficient to lesser burden on tax payer?
Hadey
post Dec 13 2008, 05:51 AM

59 posts

If to make the gov tax us less during the bad economy time is almost impossible la looking at how our gov is now. I guess that is why TS and most probably others(including me) are all looking at ways to get tax relief. Im sure we can use our own creative ways to make sure we pay less in tax every year. Such as taking someone else's book receipt, take life insurance, charity, zakat etc. People who are not aware of these tax relief are in a even worse condition since they just pay whatever the gov ask them to pay.

I think this thread is actually a good idea since can make more people aware of tax relief so that they can legally take advantage of it. Maybe if we can compile a list of legal ways to reduce the tax that we are paying and then later pin this thread so that it can be useful to others. Just my opinion..

77 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0271sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:36 AM