Movies Dunkirk | Christopher Nolan (2017), Based on the Battle of Dunkrik in WW2

defaultname365
post Aug 8 2017, 12:03 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Aug 6 2017, 04:55 PM)
I really don't understand y Tom hard did what he did in the end ? Can he just eject?
I believe he was running out of fuel and he was too low to eject.

QUOTE(nasiayam @ Aug 7 2017, 12:02 PM)
i dun wanna be a soldier after watching this lol
As real as it can get... scary stuff. This film managed to capture the horrors of war with little to no dialogue.

QUOTE(cringe @ Aug 7 2017, 01:53 PM)
I watched it yesterday at TGV Sunway Pyramid IMAX.

The sound system is really awesome. It feels like you in the war.
This is my first Christopher Nolan movie I've ever watched.

I think I gave 4.5/5.

I never watch his other movies, so after this, I will start his previous movies and make comparison.
IMAX did justice for this film. The roaring sounds of the planes, the gunfire, the explosions - - incredible.

Dare I say, this is one of those rare films you have to see on IMAX to truly grasp the nature/horrors of the story.
uk15029
post Aug 8 2017, 12:45 PM

1,031 posts

Best movie

Superb
nasiayam
post Aug 8 2017, 04:06 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Aug 8 2017, 12:03 PM)
I believe he was running out of fuel and he was too low to eject.
As real as it can get... scary stuff. This film managed to capture the horrors of war with little to no dialogue.
IMAX did justice for this film. The roaring sounds of the planes, the gunfire, the explosions - - incredible.

Dare I say, this is one of those rare films you have to see on IMAX to truly grasp the nature/horrors of the story.
can feel the "will i die next" stress

khelben
post Aug 13 2017, 06:24 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Just had my 2nd viewing but on IMAX this time.

It still hit me right at the feels just like how it did the first time.

And yeah it's still an awesome ride of a movie.
eric84cool
post Aug 14 2017, 08:27 AM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

agreed with sound beat. The movie truly utilize the Imax sound to the max......

I was sleeping in the beginning and got caught by 1st shot sound....so loud.
skylinelover
post Aug 14 2017, 01:28 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,251 posts

haha seems like the epic soundgasm is stronk in here laugh.gif rclxms.gif
PeterSi
post Aug 30 2017, 01:59 AM

60 posts

I really want to watch this film, I missed it coming out in theatres, I like to watch such films that are large-scale. The only thing left is to watch it on tv
defaultname365
post Dec 31 2017, 12:54 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

This is simply brilliant. Just comes to show that a great film can transcend time. No need for hi-fi visuals or sounds. Simply, the power of visual storytelling.

skylinelover
post Jan 4 2018, 05:36 PM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 31 2017, 12:54 PM)
This is simply brilliant. Just comes to show that a great film can transcend time. No need for hi-fi visuals or sounds. Simply, the power of visual storytelling.

genius

I would kill 2 watch this version of Dunkirk more laugh.gif rclxms.gif

btw here is my favorite chaplin film of all time hahahaha

skylinelover
post Jan 25 2018, 10:52 AM

11,251 posts

Dunkirk running for 8 awards with top 2 out of the big 5 categories (picture / director) laugh.gif rclxms.gif

more here laugh.gif rclxms.gif http://variety.com/2018/film/news/list-201...ons-1202668757/

Best Picture:
“Call Me by Your Name”
“Darkest Hour”
“Dunkirk”
“Get Out”
“Lady Bird”
“Phantom Thread”
“The Post”
“The Shape of Water”
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Director:
“Dunkirk,” Christopher Nolan
“Get Out,” Jordan Peele
“Lady Bird,” Greta Gerwig
“Phantom Thread,” Paul Thomas Anderson
“The Shape of Water,” Guillermo del Toro

Cinematography:
“Blade Runner 2049,” Roger Deakins
“Darkest Hour,” Bruno Delbonnel
“Dunkirk,” Hoyte van Hoytema
“Mudbound,” Rachel Morrison
“The Shape of Water,” Dan Laustsen

Film Editing:
“Baby Driver,” Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss
“Dunkirk,” Lee Smith
“I, Tonya,” Tatiana S. Riegel
“The Shape of Water,” Sidney Wolinsky
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Jon Gregory

Sound Editing:
“Baby Driver,” Julian Slater
“Blade Runner 2049,” Mark Mangini, Theo Green
“Dunkirk,” Alex Gibson, Richard King
“The Shape of Water,” Nathan Robitaille, Nelson Ferreira
“Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” Ren Klyce, Matthew Wood

Sound Mixing:
“Baby Driver,” Mary H. Ellis, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin
“Blade Runner 2049,” Mac Ruth, Ron Bartlett, Doug Hephill
“Dunkirk,” Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo
“The Shape of Water,” Glen Gauthier, Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern
“Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” Stuart Wilson, Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick

Production Design:
“Beauty and the Beast,” Sarah Greenwood; Katie Spencer
“Blade Runner 2049,” Dennis Gassner, Alessandra Querzola
“Darkest Hour,” Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
“Dunkirk,” Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis
“The Shape of Water,” Paul D. Austerberry, Jeffrey A. Melvin, Shane Vieau

Original Score:
“Dunkirk,” Hans Zimmer
“Phantom Thread,” Jonny Greenwood
“The Shape of Water,” Alexandre Desplat
“Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” John Williams
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Carter Burwell

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jan 25 2018, 10:55 AM
6so
post Jan 25 2018, 09:04 PM

135 posts

On 2nd viewing...some continuity errors and couple of bad acting scenes quite jarring. More or less of cross cutting the different timelines loses the appeal for me. It's like you already discover the inner workings of a magic trick. The barren art direction also becomung more distracting and everything looks too clean visually. Dunno why went to overdrive nitpicking maybe its that one trick pony experience.

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0187sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:45 PM