QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jul 17 2017, 06:15 PM)
Dude! Didn't you hear TGV is not showing this in IMAX?!?!Regarding reviews, WB know they have a winner. Embargo ends in a few hours.
Movies Dunkirk | Christopher Nolan (2017), Based on the Battle of Dunkrik in WW2
Jul 17 2017, 08:37 PM
113 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Jul 17 2017, 08:43 PM
I don't get it?! Of ALL the possible movies TGV won't show in IMAX how the hell can it be Dunkirk?! The film was SHOT USING IMAX CAMERAS! The director designed the film to be shown in IMAX!
If TGV are giving priority to Valerian for IMAX screens I will be so mad.... |
Jul 17 2017, 11:40 PM
13 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
Anyone interested in Dunkirk Premiere passes?
Includes 2 tickets (RM50) Venue: MBO Starling Mall Date: 18 July (Tuesday) Time : 9.00 pm Interested PM me ASAP... This post has been edited by jj_don: Jul 17 2017, 11:40 PM |
Jul 18 2017, 12:33 AM
Jul 18 2017, 01:04 AM
13 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
Jul 18 2017, 04:30 AM
81 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
lol I dont see this coming at all.
anyway Dunkirk is not exactly a glorious moment for the allied them, hence the story is not well known like Normandy or Iwo Jima. and also considering typical Malaysian viewer who are not interested in historical movie, TGV make a decision to not play it here. Considering how this thread is 2 years ago and the lack of interest shown in this thread, I think TGV had done a good decision. One thing not many people know is that the brits left the french & belgian behind to be captured by the German I wonder if they will show that in the movie lol and some extra stuff |
Jul 18 2017, 07:43 AM
1,696 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Penang |
Tomato 97%...wow
hyped! |
Jul 18 2017, 08:13 AM
282 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
wow I'm surprised TGV isn't showing it in Imax. It's Christopher Nolan man. Which idiot made the decision la...might as well watch at other theaters then.
Jul 18 2017, 08:29 AM
1,844 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kingdom of Sarawak |
Kids nowadays just aren't interested in historical drama like this
they're more interested with eye candy pieces like Valerian a half empty Dunkirk IMAX hall vs a full Valerian IMAX hall? it's all about dollar & sense, man |
Jul 18 2017, 10:22 AM
9,333 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Jul 18 2017, 10:31 AM
72 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
The only reason I still go to TGV is IMAX. if Dunkrik not show in local IMAX, then sorry lah TGV, you out-dated normal hall not worth my money at all.
I have try Starling Mall MBO Big Screen, honestly it have better picture quality then IMAX screen i ever watch, that Big Screen hall use 4K laser projector, the brightness & color are much better then IMAX, the Dolby Atmos not as bombastic as IMAX but have better surround separation. maybe TGV should upgrade their IMAX to IMAX Laser ( If they care enough ) |
Jul 18 2017, 10:42 AM
851 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
I don't get the hoo haa over TGV not screening Dunkirk in IMAX. Our IMAX doesn't support the 70mm format that the film was shot in. Regardless of where you watch it, you're getting cropped visuals. It really doesn't matter if it's not screening in IMAX.
Jul 18 2017, 11:30 AM
2,671 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(Sgt_Pepeer @ Jul 18 2017, 10:31 AM) The only reason I still go to TGV is IMAX. if Dunkrik not show in local IMAX, then sorry lah TGV, you out-dated normal hall not worth my money at all. Checked TGV website this morning. Even normal tickets for Dunkirk is not even available for sale yet. First showtime for public supposed to be tomorrow midnight. I have try Starling Mall MBO Big Screen, honestly it have better picture quality then IMAX screen i ever watch, that Big Screen hall use 4K laser projector, the brightness & color are much better then IMAX, the Dolby Atmos not as bombastic as IMAX but have better surround separation. maybe TGV should upgrade their IMAX to IMAX Laser ( If they care enough ) Whereby GSC, MBO already on sale. TGV is kind of a joke sometimes. |
Jul 18 2017, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jul 18 2017, 11:30 AM) Checked TGV website this morning. Even normal tickets for Dunkirk is not even available for sale yet. First showtime for public supposed to be tomorrow midnight. my guess they haven't decided yet, because at this moment Valerian also didn't have IMAX version as their website latest info.Whereby GSC, MBO already on sale. TGV is kind of a joke sometimes. |
Jul 18 2017, 12:02 PM
2,671 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Jul 18 2017, 12:07 PM
1,376 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
When you see Nolan's name on the poster, don't ask, just go watch
Jul 18 2017, 12:10 PM
11,256 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Wow. Dunkirk is not screening. Dang.
Jul 18 2017, 12:16 PM
1,231 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
waiting for atmos hall screening at mbo
Jul 18 2017, 12:26 PM
Jul 18 2017, 01:37 PM
474 posts Joined: May 2007 |
I just messaged the TGV Facebook page and they replied that they update their schedule every Wednesday so I guess we will have to wait until tomorrow to see whether they finally will screen Dunkirk on their IMAX cinema (I asked about whether its true that they won't show Dunkirik on IMAX, so I guess there's still hope)
| Change to: | 0.0303sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:11 PM |