16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

USD/MYR drop, V2

Hansel
post Sep 10 2015, 02:53 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 10 2015, 02:46 PM)
Just for investment variety sake, my experience in malaysian properties has been a lot more lucky. That is the best performance sector to me over 20+ years averaging low-mid teen % pa. Of course it is helped by the super bull run of the last few years and prices still not coming down (yet ?)
I have been a bit luckier,... my props have appreciated and with full tenancy, my SG REITs have not dropped till my Average prices, and most of my stocks and fund holding everywhere are still holding.

The single biggest problem tat I have is my ASX holdings. and the second major problem is an oil ctr in the US that has depreciated in price by 80%, though still giving out dividends.

Hansel
post Sep 10 2015, 03:02 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 10 2015, 02:55 PM)
I tot u have disposed almost all ASX?
Not all,.. yet. But even if I have, I would still classify that investment as a risky one for me this year. I have not divested any other instruments except for the ASX this yr..
Hansel
post Sep 10 2015, 05:28 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 10 2015, 03:07 PM)
U can perform realignment of portfolios by assigning perhaps 1% as risky
Tks Will,... I will do that provided that :-

1) The risk/return reward is worth it, but for a reducing 6.40% per year, allocating even 1% of my portfolio for it needs to be thought about carefully, AND

1) I don't have any other avenues that could provide me a better return.
Hansel
post Sep 10 2015, 05:49 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 10 2015, 05:24 PM)
Brazil's national oil co. Petrobras billions scandal caused it to be rated junk today.
Tq,.. I was watching Bloomberg the other night and I saw the words : Brazil on the brink. Today I saw Brazil has been rated 'Junk'. Now I know the reason.

Hansel
post Sep 10 2015, 09:46 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 10 2015, 08:07 PM)
well the reporter needed to "cari makan" lor.. so they need to write something even if the info are recycle over n over again tongue.gif
That's right ! Everybody must be given a chance to make a living and survive. rclxms.gif

Hansel
post Sep 11 2015, 03:23 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Sep 11 2015, 03:17 PM)
The stock market does not have boundaries.
The charts will say it does within a given timeline.
Hansel
post Sep 11 2015, 06:30 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 11 2015, 06:08 PM)
BNM maintain OPR at 3.25%
Will MYR continue to drop?
Very High probability ! Might not drop so much against the USD if certain events detrimental to the USD unfold next week, but will most probably depreciate against the SGD ! More so if the PAP wins by more than 81 seats in Parliament tonight !

Long live the SGD !
Hansel
post Sep 11 2015, 10:41 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Sep 11 2015, 07:16 PM)
You are adding time into the equation.

By adding time into the equation, boundaries are set by the maximum daily drop of the stock market.
Without time, the equation is not logical. One can always say something will happen, of course anything and everything can happen if given infinite time...Hence, time must be declared upfront for an event to take place for accuracy.
Hansel
post Sep 11 2015, 10:43 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 11 2015, 06:34 PM)
if PAP can maintain all the seat won last GE also good enuf  rolleyes.gif

most likely lose more seats tis time but still hold majority hmm.gif
I don't think so,... in the last GE, PAP won,.. 80 seats, if my memory serves me correctly ! I was there,... I think and hope that this time, it wil be better for the PAP.
Hansel
post Sep 11 2015, 10:47 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Sep 11 2015, 09:31 PM)
went to tesco this evening. shocked to see the crowd in front of the mamak money exchanger. normally there is hardly any customer at the counter. is this a sign that ringgit is going to drop further?
Depends on what denom they are changing from and into which denom they are changing into....
Hansel
post Sep 12 2015, 03:36 PM

9,353 posts

Long live the SGD ! Long live the PAP, friendly to international investors !

I have been right till now !!! Hopefully will be right again for another five years, thirty more at least, if possible !!! rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Hansel: Sep 12 2015, 03:39 PM
Hansel
post Sep 12 2015, 03:40 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Sep 12 2015, 03:37 PM)
Yes, but sad to Jibby cry.gif
I'm afaid I disagree, sad to the general Msian population, perhaps,... BUT,.. Jibby has prepared himself well,... I think he's celebrating too, personally.
Hansel
post Sep 12 2015, 03:51 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Sep 12 2015, 03:45 PM)
cause he has 2.6b rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif
Hansel
post Sep 12 2015, 06:08 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 12 2015, 04:16 PM)
Y 30 more?
Till end-of-lifespan,... biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Sep 15 2015, 08:07 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 14 2015, 09:25 PM)
Folks,

You have no choice but to pay EPF.  This tied up 20+% of your gross income.

Do not put all your eggs into ONE basket.

Dreamer
The above statements are true onlyif you are 50 and below. For those 'lucky' ones who have reached 50 yrs of age, they can withdraw all from their Account 2. For those who have reached 55 years of age they can withdraw all from the EPF.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Sep 15 2015, 08:08 AM
Hansel
post Sep 15 2015, 08:11 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 14 2015, 10:38 PM)
Not just ASx lah, almost everything valued in MYR would be affected. Unless u diversified to overseas (as long as their currencies appreciate substantially against MYR).
True,... but the difference here is you can move your ASX out if you wished to. You can't demand for your salary or your fees be paid in the USD, and you can't take out all your money from the EPF if you have not reached the required age.
Hansel
post Sep 15 2015, 08:21 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 15 2015, 08:19 AM)
Hansel,

Which does not help if a person only move money out of ASx after RM drop XX%. 

It is like the famous saying:

closing the stable door after the horse has bolted

Dreamer
Dreamer,...

One is not able to move ALL money out of the country that easily. There are just that many things 'tied' to this country, from your earlier eg : can you move out your EPF funds if you have not reached the required age ?
Hansel
post Sep 15 2015, 09:53 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 15 2015, 08:30 AM)
What dreamer is saying is EPF have no choice. Others one is given a choice to invest in GLC or not. Dreamer is asking us NOT to invest in GLC but remove that money and dump it overseas or simply hold cold hard cash under out pillow.
Not true,... what he meant to say was one of the following :-

1) it does not help to move only the ASX funds out of the country, from : 'Which does not help if a person only move money out of ASx after RM drop XX%.'

This was after I said : ASX can be moved out but there are other funds that could not be moved out so easily. Please check back my posting and my reply to MGM.

2) it's too late or may be too late to move the funds out, so be careful and quick to decide, from : 'closing the stable door after the horse has bolted'.

On my side, I look at the long term. It's okay that the USD and the SGD have appreciated now. It's still okay to convert into the SGD and the USD now. no problem-lar,... Even if the MYR rebounds later (due to pegging or whatever other reasons), I would not have the long term confidence on it anymore. I would still believe that diversifying out and having foreign currencies is still the way to go for the long term.

My only objective now is to study the long term prospects of the countries that appeal to me, and then support the currency and investments of that country.

Hansel
post Sep 15 2015, 10:05 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 15 2015, 08:31 AM)
Hansel,

I did not say ALL MONEY.  I specifically say ASx.  Do not add in words that are not in my post.

Dreamer
Dreamer,...

I agree that you did not have the word : ALL in your posting. BUT : you have the word 'only' there, from : 'Which does not help if a person only movemoney out of ASx after RM drop XX%.'

..which implies that we are talking about ALL other assets that belonged to us within Msia besides the ASX. Frankly, such thoughts of selling-off my props did occur to me too...

Hansel
post Sep 15 2015, 10:12 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Sep 15 2015, 09:07 AM)
Like that ma need buy deposit box to store the cash? If need myr then need change back again? Woisehhh.
Hi Ancient,.. yeah, it looks like that then. Thoughts occurred to me whereby if I am not working anymore, and my fixed income nstrumnts are all overseas, everytime I needed money, I will have to TT back some funds for everyday usage. Then there will be other skills to pickup too if we wished to do that.

Likewise, yes,... if one is holding hard cash, and to be safe, hard cash in the safe deposit box, without sources of RM income flowing-in, he will have to take out from the safe deposit box everytime and convert if he needs money. The worrying thing then becomes what happens if the cash runs out.

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0504sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:42 AM