Minor accident, i need advice.

IvanWong1989
post Sep 9 2015, 05:07 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(askm3 @ Sep 9 2015, 03:42 PM)
u experience before? or talk for fun?

probably you are talking to someone like me(victim) that doesn't matter someone that bang my 1 month old RM140k++ car and din ask for single $$.

i forked our rm500+ to repair my front/side panel.

so? probably i'm just pure dumb la
Me victim kena Bang. Mine cheapo car. But still only 6 months old.

Damage is bumper and rear hatch. changed whole bumper. Realign for rear hatch. He wanted to settle at cheapo workshop that knock the bumper back out.. No way. Claim his insuranCe

Didn't even count inconvenience caused by lack of transport
IvanWong1989
post Sep 9 2015, 05:12 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 9 2015, 04:47 PM)
Actually the police report is done by the victim, not the TS. So if the TS refuse to pay anything, then the victim can make police report then use that police report to claim insurance. Then if not mistaken the insurance will go find the other party insurance and get the claim there, hence the TS will loose his NCD and need to pay police report of rm300.
CMIIW though but that's my understanding so far. That's why when I got hit one time before, that's also my negotiation point and hence the guy who hit me still knew that if I went to police and claim insurance, he would end up paying more than what I asked as damage compensation. But yeah I of course also asked a reasonable amount around rm400 which was fair to repair the bumper scratch & dent that he caused me.
Both have to make police report.
One side make. Cannot claim yet. Police can only issue order to the fellar to come and do police report. As long as he didn't make. Ur insurance cannot claim as his fault.

Yes. This means. Someone hit your car. And he runs away. Good luck. Best is to claim ur own insurance but lose ncd. Or wait police can korek him do police export
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 9 2015, 05:21 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

700 is for new bumper inclusive of painting.
Since the other party insists, pay for it but request for the old bumper.
If its only small scratch u can sell the bumper probably 400-500 to cover back ur losses.
Dont claim insurance coz its not worth it even if u have 0% NCD.
dvinez
post Sep 9 2015, 05:26 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Sep 9 2015, 05:07 PM)
Me victim kena Bang.  Mine cheapo car. But still only 6 months old.

Damage is bumper and rear hatch. changed whole bumper. Realign for rear hatch. He wanted to settle at cheapo workshop that knock the bumper back out.. No way. Claim his insuranCe

Didn't even count inconvenience caused by lack of transport
yup repair/replace waste our time, if bad work then more time wasted to rectified
i rather pay him and ask him go bang wall instead of my car
Alien5566
post Sep 9 2015, 05:30 PM

As so much comment i can see only ...why you want to drive ? when u on the road u should know its either u bang ppl or bang by ppl .. so , ride a bike ..problem solved
Quazacolt
post Sep 9 2015, 06:42 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 9 2015, 05:21 PM)
700 is for new bumper inclusive of painting.
Since the other party insists, pay for it but request for the old bumper.
If its only small scratch u can sell the bumper probably 400-500 to cover back ur losses.
Dont claim insurance coz its not worth it even if u have 0% NCD.
this one ma example of not reading thread lo

TS bump into people's fender wo... you think that metal fender panel that cheap a? laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 9 2015, 06:43 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Alien5566 @ Sep 9 2015, 05:30 PM)
As so much comment i can see only ...why you want to drive ? when u on the road u should know its either u bang ppl or bang by ppl .. so , ride a bike ..problem solved
ride bike, bang jor terus die, no need worry anymore since dead already right?
KennyKB
post Sep 9 2015, 08:47 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Sep 9 2015, 05:12 PM)
One side make. Cannot claim yet. Police can only issue order to the fellar to come and do police report. As long as he didn't make. Ur insurance cannot claim as his fault.

Yes. This means. Someone hit your car. And he runs away. Good luck. Best is to claim ur own insurance but lose ncd.  Or wait police can korek him do police export
I assure you the police won't bother. If he doesn't make report there is still a way to claim his insurance but it's a long and complicated process. Not worth it for RM700.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Sep 9 2015, 08:50 PM
KennyKB
post Sep 9 2015, 08:58 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Sep 9 2015, 04:40 PM)
well, as u said we have to be fair
if you bought a RM5K bag, i accidentally scratched it, u want repair or brand new? smile.gif
if u are so considerate and nice to opt for repair, do you prefer official or some third-party? brows.gif
outside can touch up for less than RM100, while official will change the whole side of leather at 10x price.

having less one enemy is always better than having one more
doing paint job at SC have warranty, you can do it countless time until you satisfy with it
thats why dont repaint or repair, just change new, no eyesore, paint or surface problem later and no headache
Using your logic better respray the whole car. Spraying one panel can have different colour right? Or why even respray the car? Better demand a new car because you want original paint.

TS made a small mistake but it doesn't mean you can korek anything you want out of him. Agreee with Ginny88 both sides have to be reasonable. The settlement should not make any party feel victimized or bullied. Remeber that TS can just walk away leaving the other fellow with nothing.
McPeePee
post Sep 9 2015, 09:35 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Darkmagic88 @ Sep 8 2015, 09:22 PM)
I recently bumped into some guy's kia sorento as i was trying to park into a small space. It's a minor scratch at the spot above the front-right tyre. He's asking me to pay RM700 as he is sending it to Kia Service Centre. I feel like he's trying to take advantage of me. And normal paintjob at workshops probably cost less than that. Can anyone please advice me on this? I'm really lost and i don't want the guy to take advantage of me.
he is asking for 700, not KIA sc asking for 700. get it?

Honda SC repaint my accord bonnet only 550 with gst...
IvanWong1989
post Sep 9 2015, 09:39 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(McPeePee @ Sep 9 2015, 09:35 PM)

hmm.gif

seems legit.....

If it is the guy that asks for it... then it's wrong....

It should be go SC, get quotation.... hmm.gif
awyongcarl
post Sep 9 2015, 10:01 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(McPeePee @ Sep 9 2015, 09:35 PM)

What happened to your bonnet? Did it involved with knocking? Replacing the entire bonnet?
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 9 2015, 10:52 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 9 2015, 06:42 PM)
this one ma example of not reading thread lo

TS bump into people's fender wo... you think that metal fender panel that cheap a? laugh.gif
Really didnt read coz tl;dr and no pic.
Fender oso depends wat car model lor..
May even be more expensive than bumper.

My advise still same.
Get official quotation and fix it, if possible retrieve the old part and sell off to cut losses.
RM700 claim insurance is really not worth it, unless its 3rd party insurance not 1st party.
Quazacolt
post Sep 10 2015, 12:21 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Sep 9 2015, 08:58 PM)
Using your logic better respray the whole car. Spraying one panel can have different colour right? Or why even respray the car? Better demand a new car because you want original paint.

TS made a small mistake but it doesn't mean you can korek anything you want out of him. Agreee with Ginny88 both sides have to be reasonable. The settlement should not make any party feel victimized or bullied. Remeber that TS can just walk away leaving the other fellow with nothing.
Oh you're very wrong.

The "victim" (TS admit bumping to said victim car anyways) can always make a police report, and if TS no show, definitely rm 300 summon, and if still determined TS fault and official report /conclusion made, there goes TS insurance NCD/ncb
xxYonG
post Sep 10 2015, 12:27 AM

117 posts

My frd bang someone vios rear bumper before, a minor scratch can settle easily with a simple pain job but that fella wn to claim insurans 1.5K including changing bumper + paint in Toyota authorize workshop ... Mayb u can ask him to your body shop and ask for quotation because service centre sure gonna be more expensive. + last time some body shop quote me 180 for bumber/ fender
noir7559
post Sep 10 2015, 08:43 AM

Take My Advice, I Don't Need It
592 posts

QUOTE(Alien5566 @ Sep 9 2015, 05:30 PM)
lol

even riding a bike if u bang someone's side panel/bumper etc with enough impact it probably going
to cause a same amount of damage, meaning a same amount of money u have to forked out

and not to mention car vs bike, usually bike suffered the worst, so yeah, there goes ur money again

and last but not least, the risk of bike rider falling/flying off the bike tergolek/patah tangan/patah kaki/patah tengkuk etc

"problem solved"...really? laugh.gif
dvinez
post Sep 10 2015, 08:48 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Sep 9 2015, 08:58 PM)

yes, for me owner is being considerate spraying only the part, with risk having different color tone
remember he wont be making a fuss over a small scratch if he does not care about it in the first place

nevertheless, if cannot come to conclusion, just let him claim insurance smile.gif notworthy.gif
6UE5T
post Sep 10 2015, 02:42 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Sep 9 2015, 05:12 PM)

Yes. This means. Someone hit your car. And he runs away. Good luck. Best is to claim ur own insurance but lose ncd.  Or wait police can korek him do police export
Hmm then there's a loophole for those who make a mistake to simply get away with just a max rm300 cost to the police. By right if one fails to make a report then that party should be on the wrong side by default an hence must bear the cost of the damages. Insurance should have the means to get the claim from the other party so he'd still be penalized to the max for his/her mistake.
McPeePee
post Sep 10 2015, 08:59 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Sep 9 2015, 10:01 PM)
What happened to your bonnet? Did it involved with knocking? Replacing the entire bonnet?
some stone chips, cos moving behind some highway monsters.. vmad.gif vmad.gif
awyongcarl
post Sep 10 2015, 09:46 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(McPeePee @ Sep 10 2015, 08:59 PM)
some stone chips, cos moving behind some highway monsters..  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Well..If no knocking or panel replacement then 500+ for the paint job is fair considering you did it in the service center.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0181sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:16 PM