Forex Trading Corner, Let's discuss forex strategy

F1meteor
post Nov 23 2006, 03:15 PM

1,391 posts

QUOTE(Minimayo @ Nov 23 2006, 02:38 PM)
To make it easy , let's say u have deposited $1000 (USD) and u open a position for 20000 quantities = ( 200usd) .  At the PortFolio it will show that your Used Margin : 200.00 and Available Margin : xxx - (Amount after deduct your Used Margin and Total Profit)

Example :  GBP/USD  [Bid = 1.9143]  [Offer = 1.9148]

You Short on G/U at 1.9143 with 200 USD and u will see a -5 pips because of the 5 pips spread. What will show in your Portfolio is like below :

[USD 1000.0000]
Used Margin : 200.0000
Available Margin : 790.00
Total Profit : -10.00
ok ok.. i get it..
it was
buy: 1.9148 * 20000 = 38296
sell: 1.9143 * 20000 = 38286

so, i'll lose $10
correct?

This post has been edited by F1meteor: Nov 23 2006, 03:36 PM
ky_khor
post Nov 23 2006, 03:39 PM

No.22
894 posts

i've started to trade using Marketiva. Putting my bet based on GUTS while i go surf around start studying the strategy, indicator, lingo and other stuff about Forex. yeah i lost USD3000 when i finish all the reading/researching. great lesson i have there. that's how ppl who're lack of knowledge lose money. will start trading based on tech/fundamental analysis tomorrow.

fyi i haven't start live yet. biggrin.gif
Minimayo
post Nov 23 2006, 03:50 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Nov 23 2006, 03:39 PM)
i've started to trade using Marketiva. Putting my bet based on GUTS while i go surf around start studying the strategy, indicator, lingo and other stuff about Forex. yeah i lost USD3000 when i finish all the reading/researching. great lesson i have there. that's how ppl who're lack of knowledge lose money. will start trading based on tech/fundamental analysis tomorrow.

Learn from mistake and prevent from repeating the same mistake again
Minimayo
post Nov 23 2006, 04:04 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Nov 23 2006, 03:15 PM)
ok ok.. i get it..
it was
buy: 1.9148 * 20000 = 38296
sell: 1.9143 * 20000 = 38286

so, i'll lose $10
correct?
YES , you are right . but that calculation is for EU GU and some USD pairs
ky_khor
post Nov 23 2006, 06:26 PM

No.22
894 posts

can someone illustrate an example on the calculation of overnight interest charges?
whtrader
post Nov 23 2006, 07:58 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(Minimayo @ Nov 23 2006, 03:50 PM)
Learn from mistake and prevent from repeating the same mistake again
That's correct, emotional mistakes is the hardest mistakes to correct IMO.

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Nov 23 2006, 06:26 PM)
can someone illustrate an example  on the calculation of overnight interest charges?
http://www.ac-markets.com/en/online-forex/...t-positions.asp. Hope this helps.
Inside marketiva
Overnight Interest

Every currency and commodity has a "cost of carry" associated with holding the position for more than one day. It is called "overnight interest" or "premium". In currencies, this cost is a function of the "interest rate differential" of the two currencies that comprise the exchange rate.

For example, in USD/JPY, the interest rate differential is the difference between short-term U.S. interest rates and short-term Japanese interest rates. If, for example, U.S. interest rates are 5.0% and Japanese interest rates are 1.0%, the interest rate differential is 4.0% (5.0% - 1.0%). This means that if a trader was to sell USD/JPY, he would have to pay 4.0% of the notional amount of the contract per year to hold the position. If position quantity is 100,000, the trader would have to pay approximately $4,000 to hold the position for one year. This translates to approximately $11.00 per day for holding the USD/JPY position ($4,000 / 365).

I am used to Oanda but finally decided to test run marketiva. What the heck. Lucky me made 970 in my first trade, paper of course tongue.gif . laugh.gif . Not to complain but IMO marketiva is really simple. Also a salute to treadstarted for showing his trades here. Hope to learn something here. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by whtrader: Nov 23 2006, 08:16 PM
alieamin
post Nov 23 2006, 08:48 PM

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

woooo forex looks intresting...but risky....

not ready yet.... biggrin.gif
whtrader
post Nov 23 2006, 09:35 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(alieamin @ Nov 23 2006, 08:48 PM)
woooo forex looks intresting...but risky....

not ready yet.... biggrin.gif
Haha ya train first. You can't eliminate risk but you can try to shift it. tongue.gif
apengfx-
post Nov 23 2006, 10:28 PM

I'm a Master Trader.
1,553 posts

QUOTE(flattyre @ Nov 23 2006, 02:31 PM)
Correct me if I'm wrong...

the $1k u put in is the margin a/c..

basically covers the profit / losses arrising from the trade..

Max u can loose is the $1k you put in...

If more.. then "Margin Call" lah... like playing futures ??
yea..u are right..

FOREX IS ALL ABOUT MONEY MANAGEMENT AND DICIPLIN

money management is very important...20% of ur available margin..

if u have 1000usd..u can only trade 200usd max pertrade..to avoid margin call n less the risk of loss.
~~5ive~~
post Nov 23 2006, 10:31 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

HI...new here...
quite confused.....u guys talking bout real money or demo?
mind to explain briefly?
apengfx-
post Nov 23 2006, 10:32 PM

I'm a Master Trader.
1,553 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Nov 23 2006, 06:26 PM)
can someone illustrate an example on the calculation of overnight interest charges?
normally SWAP depend on the broker..some broker charge u 3% per day..

but i suggest to use marketiva first..no SWAP n u can start trading using 1usd..even u get 5usd free when signup thumbup.gif

other broker need big margin to start trading
apengfx-
post Nov 23 2006, 10:35 PM

I'm a Master Trader.
1,553 posts

QUOTE(whtrader @ Nov 23 2006, 07:58 PM)
That's correct, emotional mistakes is the hardest mistakes to correct IMO.
http://www.ac-markets.com/en/online-forex/...t-positions.asp. Hope this helps.
Inside marketiva
I am used to Oanda but finally decided to test run marketiva. What the heck. Lucky me made 970 in my first trade, paper of course tongue.gif . laugh.gif . Not to complain but IMO marketiva is really simple. Also a salute to treadstarted for showing his trades here. Hope to learn something here. thumbup.gif
trade wit marketiva..but do analysis with meta 4 platform..marketiva is too simple platform...

i tell u one secret..sometime marketiva platform is slow than meta trader..so u have chance to enter the market at metatrader price thumbup.gif thumbup.gif icon_idea.gif
apengfx-
post Nov 23 2006, 10:37 PM

I'm a Master Trader.
1,553 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Nov 23 2006, 10:31 PM)
HI...new here...
quite confused.....u guys talking bout real money or demo?
mind to explain briefly?
for beginner ..i suggest u to trade with virtual money..or demo..to built ur confident first..
then start using real money..
i also trade virtual money for 6 month b4 i start use real money.
apengfx-
post Nov 23 2006, 10:43 PM

I'm a Master Trader.
1,553 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Nov 23 2006, 03:39 PM)

jump into market with out knowing the trend is like gambling.

90% of newbie trader will lost all they money, some go bankrup 10% of elite trader will make profit..so lets be in the 10% group, the elite trader group.HOW??
----> find all the basic trading knowledge b4 u enter the market. smile.gif
apengfx-
post Nov 23 2006, 10:48 PM

I'm a Master Trader.
1,553 posts

signal for the day..hehe

AUD/USD short ..wait until the right moment to enter market..

best price to enter: 0.7750 and above

stop loss= 30 - 100 pips..how much u willing to loss?

Take profit:

1st target : 0.7714

2nd target : 0.7700

3rd target: 0.7668

happy trading

This post has been edited by hafifee: Nov 23 2006, 10:55 PM
~~5ive~~
post Nov 23 2006, 10:53 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(hafifee @ Nov 23 2006, 10:37 PM)
for beginner ..i suggest u to trade with virtual money..or demo..to built ur confident first..
then start using real money..
i also trade virtual money for 6 month b4 i start use real money.
so it is a free software to try that?
use marketiva?
apengfx-
post Nov 23 2006, 10:57 PM

I'm a Master Trader.
1,553 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Nov 23 2006, 10:53 PM)
so it is a free software to try that?
use marketiva?
yes..it is free to try..
marketiva is a very simple platform..
but to to the analysis ..i use meta trader..also free if u just open demo account

but first...invest in ur self first to get the knowledge about forex b4 u start trade real money...trust me, i've learn the hard way biggrin.gif
~~5ive~~
post Nov 23 2006, 11:01 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(hafifee @ Nov 23 2006, 10:57 PM)
yes..it is free to try..
marketiva is a very simple platform..
but to to the analysis ..i use meta trader..also free if u just open demo account

but first...invest in ur self first to get the knowledge about forex b4 u start trade real money...trust me, i've learn the hard way  biggrin.gif
if talking bout real money, wat is the minimun capital needed?
apengfx-
post Nov 23 2006, 11:12 PM

I'm a Master Trader.
1,553 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Nov 23 2006, 11:01 PM)
if talking bout real money, wat is the minimun capital needed?
if u using marketiva...100usd u can start tradebut only using micro lot..

if u consider to trade using mini lot(500usd) or standart lot(1000usd)..

u got to have atleast 4k as ur free margin..to be on the safe side

This post has been edited by hafifee: Nov 23 2006, 11:13 PM
~~5ive~~
post Nov 23 2006, 11:26 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(hafifee @ Nov 23 2006, 11:12 PM)
if u using marketiva...100usd u can start tradebut only using micro lot..

if u consider to trade using mini lot(500usd) or standart lot(1000usd)..

u got to have atleast 4k as ur free margin..to be on the safe side
confuse again....i thought that marketiva is a virtual software so mean i like playing a game, right?

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:35 PM