QUOTE(Xnet @ Sep 27 2015, 03:20 PM)
depending on the grade you want. it is usually ranging from say 30 to 2-300, depending on what kind of fish you want. i remember one guy selling for 30 per pair for beginner fish.
Any guppy fans here?, come come come
Sep 27 2015, 04:55 PM
5,529 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Sep 28 2015, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 27 2015, 11:33 PM) i really don't recommend feeding this skinny worms, they might have problems later on, personal experience, female can't get pregnant (not sure male or female problem), after feeding this pair for a period of time, but the siblings on normal diet can breed. if you really insist on feeding on worms, i recommend frozen ones, you can get it from fish depot, just tell them the one to feed guppy, cost around 3 bucks or something. but feed in the morning ya. |
Sep 29 2015, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(ImUrDaddY @ Sep 28 2015, 11:27 PM) well FYI guys.. there's a few good breeder in penang that i personally know.. they have good quality guppy. normally price range from 50 -350 depend on grade. visited their farm/colections before.. gooding yooo.. yeah, like pandora, MK, desmond, just to name a few, there are many more guppies keeper in penang. unlike KL, not so many. good quality guppies doesn't come cheap, pandora's YS line yellow tux going for 350 per pair, seen it before, really awesome. getting a pair soon from ys too. MK's main fish also gooding yo! Desmond's short tail red lace is also drooling not sure if any1 of u been to the latest guppy compettition in mines this month? yeah, i was there at the mines, you came? |
Sep 29 2015, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(ImUrDaddY @ Sep 29 2015, 09:34 AM) yes correct.. and also wu ming ren.. champion for red lace lol. yeah, his red lace very nice, i got a photo of it bought guppy before from all of them.. KL the 1 I know is john yee.. legend lol... but I I think he slowed down edi. he had nice afr and yellow tux. and yeah was there with my family...wanted to try my afr for competition but.. aiya lazy la .. lol..just for my own collection jay lee la, not john lee... haha, he quit few years back, now hes back. now he got more strains than before ad, come back in 6 months time, fishie more gooding. haha.... why didnt bring it for competition? very easy nia, pack and hand it to the organiser only what. why not post a pic of your afr and see? |
Sep 29 2015, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(ImUrDaddY @ Sep 29 2015, 11:38 AM) bruh its JOhn yee.. kl fellow...LEGEND! ohhh,.... okay okay..... noted....not jay pain lee the tattoo fellow haha yea I shud had done itt , enter the comp.. but well.. lol.. will try to take some louya pics.. it's ok la, next competition coming soon also, can get it ready. afr pics by tonight? |
Sep 30 2015, 11:09 PM
Oct 2 2015, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(elite87 @ Oct 1 2015, 11:52 AM) What is the basic requirement needed for guppies? I have a17inch tank and a hangging filter and 2 live plants. Is that enough for guppies?? guppies are very easy to keep, it depends you want them to survive or to thrive. i reckon, if 17 inch tank, you can house 2-3 pairs of fish easily, enough room for them, if you wanna keep more also can, but make sure you do frequent water change |
Oct 5 2015, 11:41 PM
Oct 6 2015, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(piglover @ Oct 6 2015, 05:59 AM) it don't seems to have problem from what you described, or maybe the female fish got stressed.whether it is fertile, we can't really tell. I have a tank with a pair of fish, after 2 months also no sign of pregnancy then i added in another male fish, they chase her but after another 2-3 months also nothing happen. now all of them consider old fish ad about 7-8 months old ad, don't think can give birth anymore. lol..... so in this case, i deem the female fish not fertile. QUOTE(EternalC @ Oct 6 2015, 08:00 AM) lol.... can teach me how to use that? |
Oct 8 2015, 12:03 AM
Oct 26 2015, 12:47 AM
Oct 26 2015, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 26 2015, 08:36 AM) How many % of the water do you change? (What's your tank size btw?) I change quite a lot of water like 30-50% of water in every 1-2 days. My tanks sizes are small, ranging between 11 litres and 18 litres max each tank. Many of those is like 3 compartments in a 2 feet size tank. Anyway yes, correct that it's good to leave water as it is for a while for chlorine to be removed. Need not be a tank, just a large pail will do. Pump not necessary though, just leave it overnight will work. Changing tank water ever day / 2 days isn't good either, water changing can stress the fish and it also the chemical properties keep going through changes. Just change 10% - 20% water every week or so would be fine, that also depends on what's the stock like in your tank. Ya, can just store the water in a large pail. Pump is recommended, if you do not have one, best is leave it still for 2 days before using it. Air pump quickens the process in removing the harmful chemicals in the water. I guess the frequency of changing water depends on individuals, there is no hard and fast rule. Stick to the one that is best for your fish. I change water like 50% every 2 days and they are very healthy, they love fresh water. This link to your next para, it also depends on the number of livestock in your tank. Generally my tank won’t be too overcrowded, at most 4 pairs of fishes in a tank (main breeding tank). Frequent change in the fry tank, like 60% to 70% every 2 days promotes the growth of the fry. I keep my fry in plastic tanks only, approximately 7 litres of water only. Changing just 10-20% is really too little and my fish would already long died due to high ammonia, cos I feed really a lot!! Till the fish stomach is bulging everyday, they grow very fast that way (then only they can showcase of what they have got). If you feed your fish moderately like once every 2 days, then I suppose your way could work. Anyways, it is all depending on yourself and what do you want for your fish. I’ve been doing this for 2 years running, I’m producing good fishes. So I guess I my advise is considered okay. I often get some questions like, how come the fry doesn’t grow much even after 1.5-2 months. So I ask the questions, did you feed them like mad? Did you do frequent water changes? If no to the both, then your fish can’t really grow healthily and bit of nutrition malfunction and won’t be able to grow into those really beautiful guppies (show guppies) even if their genes are great. I hope that explains. I’m happy to share my guppies knowledge so long if you guys ask me. This post has been edited by tehoice: Oct 26 2015, 10:36 AM StarScream01 liked this post
Oct 26 2015, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 26 2015, 10:37 AM) If you feed a lot then it's not surprising you're changing water like that. Yeah, I feed a lot, moderately on dried food (flakes and pellets), but I feed a lot of artemia baby brine shrimp, if they are not eaten then they can live in the water for 1-2 days, so usually won’t contaminate the water. But usually they won’t have that long to live in the water haha…There's not hard and fast rule but 10% - 20% water change per week is the general practice. In your case, small tanks so it's easy. 2ft tank onwards - not so easy to change 50% every day. As for the air pump, it's about water movement rather than the pump itself. If you put the pail at a reasonably airy area then it will do fine. The only time that I try to change water on daily basis is for Betta, their fins curl once it past certain 2 days. I know the general practice, but changing more frequent is more encouraging, the way I see it. I think my tanks are small, but I have 25 tanks ……….. not easy too, big big small small altogether. I’m changing a total of about 60-70 litres of water every 1-2 days for the entire 25 tanks… (just ordered new tanks yesterday) lol…… Ya, it is the movement in the water, that’s why the air pump can do the tricky job. If the pail is left there untouched then the movement won’t be that great. Yeah, betta too requires frequent water changes. What kind of betta you keep? Halfmoon? Big year? This post has been edited by tehoice: Oct 26 2015, 11:40 AM StarScream01 liked this post
Oct 27 2015, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 27 2015, 10:02 AM) I used to have Crowntails, but they curl damn fast. In the end go with HMPK. i see... nice... you can still continue, in a small scale. don't go too big or too much. then it should be very manageable.... The fishie stuff I had - MANY. QUOTE(victorsoo @ Oct 27 2015, 01:02 PM) Hi sifus. normally LFS doesn't carry female endlers, you gotta order or look for breeder, if you want, i can look for you, i think i was quoted rm25 per pair last time.I started keeping some endler's guppies recently but I realised all LFS that sells them only sell the males. Does anyone know any LFS that stocks female endler's? Also, a guy working at one of the LFS told me that I can breed endler's guppies by mating them with the regular female guppies. Is this true? Thanks in advance. yes, you can mate it with normal guppies, it will then become hybrid. or alternatively, what you can do is, you can go catch those longkang female guppies from those ponds (i know there is one in TTDI), choose the very big size and the most plain one (no colour type), quarantine it for about 1 month (to see if it carries any bacteria or so), then you can mate it already. this should be able to produce endlers offsprings. good luck and have fun. |
Oct 29 2015, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 28 2015, 12:09 AM) I have 1ft tank before. yeah, for a planted tank, it is always recommended to start with a 2ft tank, that way you can have more room for error, hardscape, room for fauna and flora. I prefer to have at least 2ft tank. but when it comes to rescaping, it can be a pain. rescaping a 1ft tank is so much easier, as i always change a scape towards the end of the year. so not so painful when i do the rescape. haha. |
Oct 29 2015, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(victorsoo @ Oct 28 2015, 02:08 PM) Wow, thanks for the advice. Let me try the "low cost" (catching longkang guppies) first. Haha. Incidentally, I've been to the TTDI park to catch red cherry shrimps. alright, good luck! Anyway if the guppies don't breed, then I'll look you up again for that breeder contact. QUOTE(EternalC @ Oct 28 2015, 02:35 PM) wanna come here and catch? haha... |
Oct 29 2015, 12:19 AM
Oct 29 2015, 09:29 AM
Oct 29 2015, 09:37 AM
Oct 29 2015, 10:42 AM
| Change to: | 0.0478sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:12 AM |