Any guppy fans here?, come come come

tehoice
post Sep 13 2015, 11:10 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 9 2015, 01:50 AM)
I hope you are aware of the male to female ratio when it comes to guppy breeding.
those are recommended ratio only. i just put in a few male to 1-2 female (selected ones for breeding purposes) to make sure higher success rate.

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 9 2015, 02:41 AM)
Hi im new to guppy fish and would like to know more. What are the essentials to start a simple guppy tank? What's the minimum tank size needed? And what nice colour breed is recommended for beginners? Is it necessary to have soil and plants in the tank or just a plain tank with a pleco will do?
QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 9 2015, 07:14 PM)
Thanks for the info smile.gif any particular type of filter recommended? Any brand or model that you can recommend me?
no need to put pleco, if your tank is big you can opt to put corydoras, they can eat up the left over fish food, however, they can swim super fast and might injure your guppies if the guppy is not aware/alert. the best alternative is just put in some apple snails. if you need it, come collect from me, give you a pair for free.

keeping guppies does not require anything at all, just a bare tank will do, however if you want to have soil or plants is entirely up to you. you don't need a big tank if you separate the adult fish and fry. the tank size is also up to you, but just make sure do not overcrowd, unless you are willing to do 30-40% daily water change.

if you insist on a filter, i would recommend just get an air pump and use the sponge filter, cheap and easy to maintain.

This post has been edited by tehoice: Sep 13 2015, 11:11 PM
tehoice
post Sep 13 2015, 11:29 PM

5,529 posts

don't worry, the female can handle to prevent gang rape. biggrin.gif
tehoice
post Sep 14 2015, 09:22 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 14 2015, 12:53 AM)
Okay. It means i need a tank, water and an air pump. Thats sufficient right? Any good and affordable air pump to recommend? Thanks smile.gif
if you only want to keep guppy and nothing else, if not doing planted tank but just a bare tank? then go ahead and get an air pump.

if you wanna do a planted tank, i would recommend a 2ft (good size for a start) and you won't go wrong with eheim. get the 2215 (better) or 2213.

if just a bare tank, air pump would do, i use hilea. not too bad. not really cheap but not too expensive either.
tehoice
post Sep 15 2015, 12:12 AM

5,529 posts

just do something like this would do. simple and easy to maintain (at least for me)

literally nothing else in my tank.
tehoice
post Sep 15 2015, 09:53 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 15 2015, 01:13 AM)
Wow nice clean tank. smile.gif Is that a 2ft tank with 2 dividers? Where can you get those but without divider?
my tanks are individual tanks.

any aquarium shop you can get a 2ft aquarium.
tehoice
post Sep 16 2015, 04:03 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 16 2015, 01:11 AM)
Is this tank too small? How is it considered 2ft? Is the price reasonable?
2ft tank is 60cm long. Just go to any LFS and ask for a 2 ft tank they will show you. There are many grades, they ranges from say 30 plus to few hundred, not sure about ADA.

the one you're seeing is definitely not a cheap one. If you're planning to do a planted tank and if you have the budget, by all means go ahead.

Why I say 2ft? Cos it is a good size for a start for planted tank and good room for error. However, if you wanna breed guppies, 2ft tank is not the right size. Recommend to get those like 3 compartments in a 2ft tank.
tehoice
post Sep 16 2015, 10:55 AM

5,529 posts

and ya, that's a standard 2ft tank.
tehoice
post Sep 19 2015, 12:35 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 18 2015, 10:02 PM)
Hi sifus, would like to ask what is the suitable temperature for guppy? Might need to place my guppy outdoors(covered) and with a fan.
i think no need fan, guppies can live in a large range of temperature, but ideal is around 25-28. anything less than 30 would do.

many of my friends also keep guppies outdoor, but no direct sunlight.
tehoice
post Sep 19 2015, 10:16 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 19 2015, 02:36 AM)
Okay thanks smile.gif
what guppy food do you feed your guppies?
oh well, i have plenty. hikari, sera, tetra brand, spiralling, decapsulated brine shrimp, and some other dry fish food. most importantly, i hatch brine shrimp for my fishes (best food you can provide to guppies).
tehoice
post Sep 20 2015, 02:15 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 20 2015, 12:27 PM)
What do you mean by hatch brine shrimp? Dont understand😂
hatching own brine shrimp, for the fry/fishes to eat. live food are guppies' favourite.
tehoice
post Sep 22 2015, 11:29 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Sep 20 2015, 04:02 PM)
Got little fish now
What type of plant for guppy is the best?
[attachmentid=4970898]
actually for guppies, i prefer to keep in a bare tank only, easier to maintain, and keep fry in a separate tank, that way it grow faster too.
tehoice
post Sep 23 2015, 09:27 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 23 2015, 01:45 AM)
Is this an ordinary guppy?
can't see properly if it's yellow snakeskin or yellow lace. tail not big enough imo. can rotate the pic?
tehoice
post Sep 24 2015, 02:28 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 24 2015, 12:44 AM)
Hi guys, some questions for you all. smile.gif

Any special equipment you all use to suck up your guppy's poop?

When my aquarium water evaporates, do i add the water immediately? Or only add when i do water changes.

The water i change (added anti-chlorine), when i add in after water change, do i add salt? Or when should i add salt?
i only use air tubing to suck out the poop.

I change water almost on daily basis, if not daily then every 2 days. so my water level is always optimum.

you should first keep water first, in an empty tank with just air pump running for 24 hours (recommended), you can add some anti chlorine into this water tank. after 24 hours or more, you can transfer the water directly into the fish tank (after you suck out poop and certain % of water). this is how i change water.

I only use salt when the fishes are sick, otherwise i don't use at all.
tehoice
post Sep 25 2015, 12:29 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Sep 24 2015, 12:52 PM)
[attachmentid=4991652]
Is double tail rare ? Just found this guy in my water lily pond .
it doesnt quite look like a double sword tail and the tail is kinda short though. it happens by accident.

This post has been edited by tehoice: Sep 25 2015, 09:39 AM
tehoice
post Sep 25 2015, 11:36 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Sep 25 2015, 04:58 PM)
Not talking about the swordtail but rather the guppy ( guppy thread , hello )

[attachmentid=5000042]

Anyway it's good already - arapaima babies snack .
of course i'm talking about guppies. you not sure doesn't mean it don't exist, hello.

this is my double sword yellow lace

want to see more?
these are all double sword guppies

there are sword tail guppies too.

tehoice
post Sep 25 2015, 11:40 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(buje72 @ Sep 25 2015, 11:35 AM)
hey guys,

need suggestions... slangor or kl..any recommended shop selling fancy guppies? any knows anybody selling those?  need to add some high grade guppies for collection... wassap me also can.. 0192662231 muz shah alam
you can let me know what strains are you looking for, we can find you many kind of guppies but not sure if you are willing to spend only. we import a lot of guppies from taiwan and they don't come cheap. but locally we can find some cheaper alternative.

QUOTE(EternalC @ Sep 25 2015, 11:52 AM)
can find tehoice
recommended seller

ps: tehoice commission plox
lol, thanks bro. but not many people are keen and into guppies la, when it comes to fancy guppies. got friend wanna buy? i give very good price yo. lol.
tehoice
post Sep 26 2015, 09:10 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Sep 26 2015, 12:45 AM)
double sword refers to the tail part, not fish as a whole
i smell commission  brows.gif  brows.gif
weh ur double tail sibeh cantik

got extra?
Commission? Can, give you more fishes when you purchase fishes from me? biggrin.gif

Of course nice la. 1st runner up of this category leh.

Nola don't have yet, breeding it now. Gotta wait for few months and see. Interested?
tehoice
post Sep 26 2015, 11:16 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Sep 26 2015, 09:18 AM)
where is your location - i want to put some bright yellows in my pond
I don't have shop, we're guppy club. We keep guppies as hobby only. We can find you different type of guppies you want, mainly from Taiwan.
tehoice
post Sep 27 2015, 01:00 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(AppleTwist @ Sep 26 2015, 11:19 AM)
My girlfriend big fan of guppies..  Not sure why...
they are beautiful, no?

QUOTE(Xnet @ Sep 26 2015, 12:20 PM)
Please suggest the bright colored ones for pond use and will buy from you
you may go for platinum full white. that's the brightest i can think of.

QUOTE(buje72 @ Sep 26 2015, 01:11 PM)
can put photo here for those guppies u r selling...
i posted many photos here before, go back a few pages and you should be able to see.
right now i only have japanese sky blue for sale. but if you are looking for others, i can help you to source for it.

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Sep 26 2015, 04:08 PM)
Bought this for my guppies and they love it smile.gif
i hope it is sterilised one, feeding with this type of worm comes with a risk as they might carry parasites, make sure you feed this only in the morning, don't feed at night, if you do, keep the lights on whole night.

This post has been edited by tehoice: Sep 27 2015, 01:00 PM
tehoice
post Sep 27 2015, 04:53 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Sep 27 2015, 02:49 PM)
Sorry about the misunderstanding as don't keep guppies , but I am referring to like in fighting fish - double tail [attachmentid=5010839] 2 separate tail !!
oh. ok.jpg.

18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0484sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:08 AM