ABB Malaysia, working environment, benefits etc...

TSAmilyNhotdog
post Nov 18 2006, 03:41 PM, updated 20y ago

15 posts

Any one here hav experience workin in ABB, M'sia located in Subang? I need advices frm u guys about tis company regardin to benefits, workin culture, inter-dept mobility etc... thanks in advance.
Coconut
post Nov 18 2006, 06:01 PM

1,268 posts

which dept. / position u are goin into?

TSAmilyNhotdog
post Nov 18 2006, 06:25 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Nov 18 2006, 06:01 PM)
which dept. / position u are goin into?
hey, coconut. Hav u ever work in tat company?
goliath
post Nov 18 2006, 08:09 PM

5,532 posts

I have friends working in ABB. Two typical situations that could be found everywhere in ABB;

1) Stay back after working hours
2) Politics
ahsia80
post Nov 18 2006, 08:16 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Nov 18 2006, 08:09 PM)
I have friends working in ABB. Two typical situations that could be found everywhere in ABB;

1) Stay back after working hours
2) Politics
I guess most company in M'sia has the same thing smile.gif
Coconut
post Nov 19 2006, 12:10 AM

1,268 posts

amily, yes i m

goliath : depends on your fren is working on which side, staying back doesnt applied much to hv side, while politics everywhere also have la, summore big co. biggrin.gif

TSAmilyNhotdog
post Nov 20 2006, 08:51 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Nov 19 2006, 12:10 AM)
amily, yes i m

goliath : depends on your fren is working on which side, staying back doesnt applied much to hv side, while politics everywhere also have la, summore big co. biggrin.gif
Coconut,

How long have u been workin in ABB? My frend been workin there for 3 yrs, and i bet the company not tat bad to work with. I'll work in production dept, hopefully, i could survive there for long term. hahahhaa...
BTW, few questions to ask:
1. Wat's the workin hour there?
2. Do they conduct any trainin course once a while to enhance their staff's knowledge?
3. How much the yearly increment & bonus?
4. Other info which relevant to company... eg leave, medical coverage, etc.

Would like to hear from u. smile.gif

aside to goliath:
company politic even worse in s'pore. shocking.gif
Drian
post Nov 20 2006, 09:55 AM

4,999 posts

There's always company politics everywhere. It is just how bad it is.
There are companies where people stab you in the back in front of the bosses because you defended what is right. The are companies where people scold using vulgar words, so the question is how bad is bad?

wah5
post Nov 20 2006, 02:23 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(AmilyNhotdog @ Nov 20 2006, 08:51 AM)
Coconut,

How long have u been workin in ABB? My frend been workin there for 3 yrs, and i bet the company not tat bad to work with. I'll work in production dept, hopefully, i could survive there for long term. hahahhaa...
BTW, few questions to ask:
1. Wat's the workin hour there?
2. Do they conduct any trainin course once a while to enhance their staff's knowledge?
3. How much the yearly increment & bonus?
4. Other info which relevant to company... eg leave, medical coverage, etc.

Would like to hear from u.  smile.gif

aside to goliath:
company politic even worse in s'pore.  shocking.gif
1. working hrs is fr 8:00am to 5:30pm, Monday to Friday
2. Yes, ABB does provide training courses for workers, it a year
3. Secret
4. I can send u the ABB handbook, u jus give me ur email or u pm me
Coconut
post Nov 20 2006, 08:57 PM

1,268 posts

wah5, u also in abb, which side are u in? biggrin.gif
and u have the handbook also? i thought all is in the hr portal

zepple
post Nov 20 2006, 10:30 PM

135 posts

hmm abb guys coming down to my workplace to do servicing next week smile.gif
post Nov 23 2006, 09:48 AM

311 posts

Abb? hahahaha

Theres this Mr.Yap who is base in ABB China right? Something like Vice-president of South-East Asia? And he has a daughter working in ABB malaysia also
Mclaren
post Jun 4 2007, 09:35 PM

206 posts

does anyone work at MV or HV side??at ABB.....
ChrisGirl
post Jun 5 2007, 08:16 AM

1,127 posts

ABB finance n accounting??? i got frens auditing ABB tongue.gif
SUSjoblessnoob
post Jun 5 2007, 04:47 PM

99 posts

ABB, my customers when i was working in my previous company.
Theres ABB xiamen china, sweden, italy etc.
Mclaren
post Jun 5 2007, 07:09 PM

206 posts

ABB is from Sweden...ya...there are ABB china,asia..and etc...
anyone from Engineering??
chgchksg128
post Feb 1 2008, 01:24 PM

1,002 posts

There will be one opening this saturday...want to go there and try my luck...anyone know beside Power...what else prouct from ABB...it should be wuite nice a working environment
rcracer
post Feb 3 2008, 01:00 PM

?????
3,772 posts

There is ABB Automation, ABB trains, ABB Enviromental. If i'm not mistaken ABB is Schwiez or Switzerland. They had a gas turbine division also but sold to ALSTOM Power, my boss.hahahaha
chgchksg128
post Feb 3 2008, 04:14 PM

1,002 posts

I get onterview for a project post...how was the working environment in ABB for project team?
chinrs
post Feb 3 2008, 06:24 PM

Wa my frien says ABB sucksss....POLITIC!!!!
He was d engineer there den jump out
BAN~~
SUSPrince_Hamsap
post Feb 3 2008, 08:57 PM

Nightmare of Solomon
542 posts

ABB is what? AmBank Berhad?
rcracer
post Feb 4 2008, 12:06 PM

?????
3,772 posts

Asea Brown-Bovieri, is a super huge company that deals with the power industry
chgchksg128
post Feb 4 2008, 05:04 PM

1,002 posts

Which department is too poltics?If whole company is like that it will be hard for them in the business world as it will drag back comp progress.

How was the remuneration there...if so pressure..n slary is so so...turnover sure very high....

Added on February 13, 2008, 5:15 pmany one know the project team in ABB?or anything of ABB working environment?

Added on February 13, 2008, 5:32 pmany know of Project department or working environment in ABB?

This post has been edited by chgchksg128: Feb 13 2008, 05:32 PM
chgchksg128
post Feb 13 2008, 05:35 PM

1,002 posts

any one know of ABB project team working environment n remuneration?
chgchksg128
post Feb 13 2008, 05:34 PM

1,002 posts

chgchksg128
post Feb 16 2008, 04:19 PM

1,002 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Feb 13 2008, 05:34 PM)
any one can comment on ABB working environment?since no body reply here.
chgchksg128
post Feb 18 2008, 03:02 PM

1,002 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Feb 16 2008, 04:19 PM)
any one can comment on ABB working environment?since no body reply here.
really no one know of ABB here?
aki_84
post Feb 18 2008, 09:05 PM

I am shortlsted for an interview after the walk in on 2nd feb.. Seriously, I dun know much about the company (and the industry) since I am a fresh grad.
Anyone here could help me? How will the interview like? technical?
And again, hows the working conditions like ? Heard that it deal with a lot of pressure
Being a fresh grad, how much should I expect my salary? Will 2.5K enough? or is it too much?
chgchksg128
post Feb 18 2008, 10:54 PM

1,002 posts

u apply for design engineer?
aki_84
post Feb 19 2008, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Feb 18 2008, 10:54 PM)
u apply for design engineer?
Yup.. err actually not. I applied for service, and the guy who interviewed me suggest that I go for design.. haha truly shows I dunno what's good for me.. you? when is/was your interview?..
chgchksg128
post Feb 19 2008, 02:58 PM

1,002 posts

may b this week....it is pretty jam in that area as is aorund sunway n summit
can not get any info here since no ppl can give any info for ABB
when is ur interview? any of your fren short listed?
I think they may pay u over 2.5k..i guess only
when first interview, did the interviewer said how stressful in design section?
u working in design for current job?
Mclaren
post Feb 19 2008, 09:17 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Feb 3 2008, 04:14 PM)
I get onterview for a project post...how was the working environment in ABB for project team?
if not mistaken,working environment in ABB for project team is quite stressful.i guess just 2 project engineers...

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Feb 18 2008, 03:02 PM)
really no one know of ABB here?
i got a fren who is now working at ABB,design Department.For him who know nothing power/electrical,really under pressure....if not mistaken,i heard that quite alot of ppl leaving ABB recently

QUOTE(aki_84 @ Feb 18 2008, 09:05 PM)
I am shortlsted for an interview after the walk in on 2nd feb.. Seriously, I dun know much about the company (and the industry) since I am a fresh grad.
Anyone here could help me? How will the interview like? technical?
And again, hows the working conditions like ? Heard that it deal with a lot of pressure
Being a fresh grad, how much should I expect my salary? Will 2.5K enough? or is it too much?
perhaps u might get 2.5k.according to my fren,HR may not offer tat high salary.....unless u have related experience.then u might able to negotiate for more

QUOTE(aki_84 @ Feb 19 2008, 10:02 AM)
Yup.. err actually not. I applied for service, and the guy who interviewed me suggest that I go for design.. haha truly shows I dunno what's good for me.. you? when is/was your interview?..
design depart??hahah....really short of manpower there....for switchgear?

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Feb 19 2008, 02:58 PM)
may b this week....it is pretty jam in that area as is aorund sunway n summit
can not get any info here since no ppl can give any info for ABB
when is ur interview? any of your fren short listed?
I think they may pay u over 2.5k..i guess only
when first interview, did the interviewer said how stressful in design section?
u working in design for current job?
hmmmm.....stressful??perhaps,if u dun have experience on the related field,hard for u to do the design cos there are many code,practice,design in power system.therefore,u might under pressure cos u have to perform well.but honestly,it's not easy especially deal with TNB project.Good Luck

chgchksg128
post Feb 19 2008, 10:21 PM

1,002 posts

for 3-5 yrs experience...what will ABB offer?all the engineer get the same paid or deisgn dept higher, production lower?
more chinese or malay?just want to know
aki_84
post Feb 20 2008, 10:52 AM

Thanks Mclaren for a bit of info.. but that doesnt help much for my interview.

So its true. working in design department is stressful. No wonder when I asked the interviewer, he said that they want to see if the candidates can cope with the pressure. hurm hmm.gif

chgchksg128, mine is on friday. I dunno anyone else who got shortlisted. Met my friend during the walk in, but she didnt get in. Now i'm a bit worry. I studied mostly electrical power, but my exam results doesnt show my understanding at all.. used to play around during uni time..sigh

No, I dun work for design rite now. I am not working, ie fresh and naive. =(

chgchksg128
post Feb 20 2008, 01:30 PM

1,002 posts

aki....dont said naive la..
I hv been working for 5 yrs...so no more fresh grad...but i cant tell u taht design is better than others dept....i can only said if u want better salary..u may join oil n gas or telco...
there r plenty of vacancy in sg for designer post...
i been in production before, unless there is other factory that is produce similar product, it is not taht easy to jump in manufacturing.
i am concern working environment and remuneration as well...i dun like job hopping...so must think clearly before moving...
i am fri morning
i think u not yet grads right?which uni?
aki_84
post Feb 20 2008, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Feb 20 2008, 01:30 PM)
aki....dont said naive la..
I hv been working for 5 yrs...so no more fresh grad...but i cant tell u taht design is better than others dept....i can only said if u want better salary..u may join oil n gas or telco...
there r plenty of vacancy in sg for designer post...
i been in production before, unless there is other factory that is produce similar product, it is not taht easy to jump in manufacturing.
i am concern working environment and remuneration as well...i dun like job hopping...so must think clearly before moving...
i am fri morning
i think u not yet grads right?which uni?
i have just grad on january.. overseas grad
good luck 4 ur interview

chgchksg128
post Feb 22 2008, 03:11 PM

1,002 posts

just finished interview.
they actually sent a interviewr form another dept to interview me..but i not interested in that post..then the interviewer for the first post come after half an hour.
very unpleasent interview. and they not willing to offer more than 4k. The job scope seem quite OK...enviroment also OK..but in actual..only those who work there can tell...
yes..majority chinese i saw in the office
john@
post Feb 23 2008, 07:18 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Feb 22 2008, 03:11 PM)
just finished interview.
they actually sent a interviewr form another dept to interview me..but i not interested in that post..then the interviewer for the first post come after half an hour.
very unpleasent interview. and they not willing to offer more than 4k. The job scope seem quite OK...enviroment also OK..but in actual..only those who work there can tell...
yes..majority chinese i saw in the office

Hi, do you hav the relevant experience for that post? you said that you've got 5 yrs working experience, it is related to power stuff manufacturing?
yes, i suggest freshie should go for design dept, although stressful by really can learn a lot, strengthen your chance for future also.

Coconut
post Feb 23 2008, 09:04 PM

1,268 posts

chgchksg128 : wat post u applied? Block a,b,c ?
aki_84
post Feb 23 2008, 09:19 PM

i got sale support for power system.. salary not as high..
soon to decide hmm.gif
SUSSeLrAhC
post Feb 24 2008, 02:50 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

my friend works there... it pays peanuts
chgchksg128
post Feb 25 2008, 10:29 AM

1,002 posts

aki...u cant get design post. or u also like me, they cahnge the post while the 2nd interview...?
relevant but to fully relevant to the post i applied...
OK..many give bad comments of ABB..pay like peanuts is how much..ur peanuts may b like a donut to me.hha
Mclaren
post Feb 26 2008, 08:26 PM

206 posts

design not bad wat......fully time staying in the office...but not so challeging cos u dunknow wat is the situation/condition at site and how u design to suit the site...
perhaps,project is much challeging...but stressful...
Anco
post Apr 28 2008, 04:41 PM

ABB Malaysia has lowsy HR. They do not even keep a database of employee competency or a record of employees clocking in for work. They keep employees' salary to the minimum but they waste money on something else. There are a bunch of bureaucrats at corporate level that do not have many things to do while other people are busy around. There are so many competent people leaving ABB Malaysia that their HR has changed the policy that an employee cannot leave the company without 3-month notice (last time it was only 1 month). Their working time is from 8am to 530pm, which is the longest among the MNCs.vmad.gif

Unless you are a senior manager in ABB Malaysia, you have no practical benefit. Join ABB in other countries instead for any post lower than senior manager.

This post has been edited by Anco: Apr 28 2008, 04:46 PM
silverwave
post Aug 16 2008, 12:32 PM

4,082 posts

anyone heard of the graduate trainee program? how is it?
THEINSIDER
post Aug 22 2008, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(silverwave @ Aug 16 2008, 12:32 PM)
anyone heard of the graduate trainee program? how is it?
hello silverwave,

forget about this program, apply for a permanent position, currently, they are MASS hiring

hello Anco,

3 months notice had been implemented for quite sometime, as for money, they are at the medium range, not to say peanut la...

Hello Mclaren,
project is stresful, so is design...wei...ppl pay you, pressure is surely in the package lo smile.gif

I agree with john on joining design if you are a fresh, probably after a week here, you will be handling 2-3 projects, each worth more than millions smile.gif
silverwave
post Aug 22 2008, 08:37 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(THEINSIDER @ Aug 22 2008, 02:37 PM)
hello silverwave,

forget about this program, apply for a permanent position, currently, they are MASS hiring

hello Anco,

3 months notice had been implemented for quite sometime, as for money, they are at the medium range, not to say peanut la...

Hello Mclaren,
project is stresful, so is design...wei...ppl pay you, pressure is surely in the package lo smile.gif

I agree with john on joining design if you are a fresh, probably after a week here, you will be handling 2-3 projects, each worth more than millions smile.gif
Thanks for the reply. Oh no, i just sent in my resume for graduate trainee post. If permanent post, what kind of positions are there?

This post has been edited by silverwave: Aug 22 2008, 08:40 PM
THEINSIDER
post Aug 25 2008, 09:48 AM

Send in your application seeking an engineering position. Coz there are vacancies for many positions...hope you get short listed
Max_07s
post Aug 25 2008, 11:35 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(THEINSIDER @ Aug 25 2008, 01:48 AM)
Send in your application seeking an engineering position. Coz there are vacancies for many positions...hope you get short listed
are u ABB staff? PPMV? design? tongue.gif
silverwave
post Aug 25 2008, 11:49 AM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(THEINSIDER @ Aug 25 2008, 09:48 AM)
In the website, there are only 3 available positions which are graduate trainee, executive/engineer and engineer-design. However, the other 2 jobs besides graduate trainee requires experience. I'm a fresh grad. Do you think i should apply for a general engineering post instead?

Added on August 25, 2008, 11:50 am
QUOTE(Max_07s @ Aug 25 2008, 11:35 AM)
are u ABB staff? PPMV? design? tongue.gif
i was wondering about the same thing tongue.gif

This post has been edited by silverwave: Aug 25 2008, 11:51 AM
Max_07s
post Aug 25 2008, 12:16 PM

260 posts

recently probably they are looking for new design engineer.. many projects keep coming..
THEINSIDER
post Aug 26 2008, 06:17 PM

most company wish to get experience engineers, but ABB do consider fresh grads... but is definitely a lil' tough without some1 from the inside to recommend you.

mention "seeking for an engineering position" in your resume, that will keep your option open for other positions...thats my advice

good luck

I am a sub-con hehe

silverwave
post Aug 30 2008, 10:52 AM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(THEINSIDER @ Aug 26 2008, 06:17 PM)
most company wish to get experience engineers, but ABB do consider fresh grads... but is definitely a lil' tough without some1 from the inside to recommend you.

mention "seeking for an engineering position" in your resume, that will keep your option open for other positions...thats my advice

good luck

I am a sub-con hehe
I actually sent my resume thru someone inside but she is an accountant if i am not mistaken. I just sent thru another mail to them as u suggested. I was just wondering how is ABB's interview process and do they provide training for engineers?

Thanks for the advise.
THEINSIDER
post Sep 2 2008, 10:30 AM

introducing an engineer into abb gets RM 1000, and after confirmation, another RM500, total RM1500.

Deparment manager will interview you, and of coz, there are other candidates. if you are short listed, they will call you within 2 weeks, then you will meet up with the higher level of management, then you will talk about package.

training? there's plenty for you ^^
Max_07s
post Sep 3 2008, 08:09 AM

260 posts

they have training at least once a month.. usually they will call u for interview with HR staff and engineering department...

ooo sub con aaa... ehehehhe..
silverwave
post Sep 3 2008, 11:51 AM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(THEINSIDER @ Sep 2 2008, 10:30 AM)
introducing an engineer into abb gets RM 1000, and after confirmation, another RM500, total RM1500.

Deparment manager will interview you, and of coz, there are other candidates. if you are short listed, they will call you within 2 weeks, then you will meet up with the higher level of management, then you will talk about package.

training? there's plenty for you ^^
Good. Lets just hope i get called soon coz i'm bored at home blush.gif

Added on September 3, 2008, 11:52 am
QUOTE(Max_07s @ Sep 3 2008, 08:09 AM)
they have training at least once a month.. usually they will call u for interview with HR staff and engineering department...

ooo sub con aaa... ehehehhe..
Are u in ABB too? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by silverwave: Sep 3 2008, 11:52 AM
THEINSIDER
post Sep 3 2008, 12:27 PM

i am still in abb ^^
syyang85
post Sep 3 2008, 10:39 PM

982 posts

QUOTE(THEINSIDER @ Sep 3 2008, 12:27 PM)
i am still in abb ^^
Can you introduce me into ABB?

I can't any trainee opening in ABB.com
THEINSIDER
post Sep 4 2008, 09:58 AM

I can't recommend you. However, try sending in your application.

good luck
benedictHHH
post Oct 30 2008, 11:40 PM

Emo Mode | ON
1,597 posts

Just finished my 2nd interview ...

Applied for Sales Engineer in Robotics Division....

Dunno will be selected or not...
walle
post Oct 31 2008, 12:21 AM

1,151 posts

from wat i heard ABB not bad...as 1 of my fren work there...
silverwave
post Nov 1 2008, 04:08 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(benedictHHH @ Oct 30 2008, 11:40 PM)
Just finished my 2nd interview ...

Applied for Sales Engineer in Robotics Division....

Dunno will be selected or not...
First level if interview is general while the second is technical?
johnnight2
post Nov 1 2008, 08:52 PM

183 posts

I'm deal with ABB before. I can said there is so many people involve with one scope of work. Nobody can decide and they always keep asking same question. Gosh can you imagine how worse political insinde there!!

Too many chefs spoil the cook afterall.
benedictHHH
post Nov 12 2008, 11:57 AM

Emo Mode | ON
1,597 posts

I am officially hired as a sales engineer for ABB. Robotics Division smile.gif

Anybody working in the same field? smile.gif
kamal007
post Nov 12 2008, 04:47 PM

334 posts

congrats!!
benedictHHH
post Nov 13 2008, 01:01 AM

Emo Mode | ON
1,597 posts

QUOTE(kamal007 @ Nov 12 2008, 04:47 PM)
congrats!!
Thanx.... !!

U working with ABB also ?
RvD
post Nov 14 2008, 02:43 PM

30 posts

WHat's the job scope of Technical Support Enginner in ABB do? anyone know? pls share.. appreciated!

Beside this, how's the working enviroment and operation of the company?
kamal007
post Nov 14 2008, 03:37 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(benedictHHH @ Nov 13 2008, 01:01 AM)
Thanx.... !!

U working with ABB also ?
one of my fren works there. but my office is quite close to you. hihi
charis85
post Nov 14 2008, 10:25 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(RvD @ Nov 14 2008, 02:43 PM)
WHat's the job scope of Technical Support Enginner in ABB do? anyone know? pls share.. appreciated!

Beside this, how's the working enviroment and operation of the company?
Which dept? Different depts would have different job descriptions for Technical Support Engineer. Usually, you provide and handle day-to-day technical requests/enquiries from sales engineers (as far as I know)...

Working environment... Ok-lah, not too bad, some depts would have quite a bit of interaction with other ABB offices abroad. Depending on which dept too, might have rather long working hours. A lot of hierarchy and politics and bureaucracy in the company, but oh well, I reckon it's the same case for lots of other companies too.

I could be wrong/inaccurate, so you could ask around wink.gif
benedictHHH
post Nov 14 2008, 10:28 PM

Emo Mode | ON
1,597 posts

QUOTE(charis85 @ Nov 14 2008, 10:25 PM)
Which dept? Different depts would have different job descriptions for Technical Support Engineer. Usually, you provide and handle day-to-day technical requests/enquiries from sales engineers (as far as I know)...

Working environment... Ok-lah, not too bad, some depts would have quite a bit of interaction with other ABB offices abroad. Depending on which dept too, might have rather long working hours. A lot of hierarchy and politics and bureaucracy in the company, but oh well, I reckon it's the same case for lots of other companies too.

Wah ... means i can torture the Technical Support Engineer !! tongue.gif

Joking la ....

@ kamal007

Nice to know we are so close tongue.gif

@ charis85

U work at ABB too ? Which department?
charis85
post Nov 14 2008, 10:36 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(benedictHHH @ Nov 14 2008, 10:28 PM)
Wah ... means i can torture the Technical Support Engineer !!  tongue.gif

Joking la ....

@ kamal007

Nice to know we are so close tongue.gif

@ charis85

U work at ABB too ? Which department?
You're in Robotics? Not too sure about that dept though, wasn't there long enough to find out tongue.gif

No longer working there, today was my last day...
benedictHHH
post Nov 15 2008, 01:14 AM

Emo Mode | ON
1,597 posts

Ya.. i am in Robotics Dept tongue.gif

Not working there anymore sad.gif
What a coincidence.. i join .. u leave tongue.gif

RvD
post Nov 17 2008, 12:31 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(charis85 @ Nov 14 2008, 10:25 PM)

Mine is under AC/DC motor and switchgear division. smile.gif
benedictHHH
post Nov 21 2008, 12:56 AM

Emo Mode | ON
1,597 posts

First few days at ABB tongue.gif

It was quite fun smile.gif

I got to train with Proton Maintenance Crew.
Programming the ABB robotic arm was easy coz i did tht b4 in skool . The best thing is i get free breakfast, lunch and high tea coz it comes in the training package smile.gif

My department was friendly. Ppl are willing to help out noobs.

Basically a nice company to work with.

Politics do exist a bit tongue.gif

Ignore tht, think + and ABB would be perfect smile.gif

My point of view smile.gif

RvD
post Nov 24 2008, 06:25 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(benedictHHH @ Nov 21 2008, 12:56 AM)
First few days at ABB tongue.gif

It was quite fun smile.gif

I got to train with Proton Maintenance Crew.
Programming the ABB robotic arm was easy coz i did tht b4 in skool . The best thing is i get free breakfast, lunch and high tea coz it comes in the training package smile.gif

My department was friendly. Ppl are willing to help out noobs.

Basically a nice company to work with.

Politics do exist a bit tongue.gif

Ignore tht, think + and ABB would be perfect smile.gif

My point of view smile.gif
Sound like you are very enjoying with ABB..
Me might be regret? I turned down their offer.. Do you meet any1 from Motor and switchgear division?
nabelon
post Nov 24 2008, 09:51 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

Well, I've met an ABB engineer before, compared to schneider, i must say that ABB hires humbler engineer.
RvD
post Nov 26 2008, 12:19 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Nov 24 2008, 09:51 PM)
Well, I've met an ABB engineer before, compared to schneider, i must say that ABB hires humbler engineer.
yaya.. heard that schneider is better pay compare to ABB.
are you familiar with schneider? It seem like very good company..
Bees
post Dec 10 2008, 08:49 AM

15 posts

benedict,

you join in ABB on 17/nov/2008?
benedictHHH
post Feb 16 2009, 02:56 PM

Emo Mode | ON
1,597 posts

QUOTE(Bees @ Dec 10 2008, 08:49 AM)
benedict,

you join in ABB on 17/nov/2008?
Yup...

How's life in North Port?
chyuan
post Mar 2 2009, 11:56 AM

46 posts

Any idea what to prepare for design engineer interview?
syyang85
post Mar 26 2009, 10:02 PM

982 posts

Any openings right now?
cikacika
post Jun 27 2011, 10:08 AM

Anyone know which bus to take to get to ABB from KTM subang?
I'm planning to take bus, stop along persiaran kewajipan and walk my way there.
Then, which bus to take from persiaran kewajipan to KTM subang?
Anyone can help?
cicakubin
post Feb 24 2012, 12:30 PM

203 posts

Hi, I got an invitation to an interview for a post of Mechanical Engineer next week at ABB subang. but i dont know to which department/project they will put me in. anyone can tell me how the interview is going to be, what sort of questions they'll ask? how many stages of interview?
Lyagami
post Feb 24 2012, 10:20 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(cicakubin @ Feb 24 2012, 12:30 PM)
Hi, I got an invitation to an interview for a post of Mechanical Engineer next week at ABB subang. but i dont know to which department/project they will put me in. anyone can tell me how the interview is going to be, what sort of questions they'll ask? how many stages of interview?
dude where did u get the job ?
cicakubin
post Feb 24 2012, 10:34 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Lyagami @ Feb 24 2012, 10:20 PM)
dude where did u get the job ?
emailed my resume to the HR
kotaklalala
post Mar 17 2012, 08:25 AM

got interview next week wednesday for pos. service engineer there...huhu...what to prepare pls icon_question.gif

Max_07s
post Mar 17 2012, 10:13 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(cicakubin @ Feb 24 2012, 04:30 AM)
i think probably in medium voltage. if yes, focus on switchgear
wywy2020
post Apr 2 2012, 11:26 PM

1,638 posts

mind to share the working environment?
is it a great work place?
how about bonus and yearly increment good?

wah5
post Apr 11 2012, 10:59 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Apr 2 2012, 11:26 PM)
mind to share the working environment?
is it a great work place?
how about bonus and yearly increment good?
ABB is a great place to learn especially to newbie.
sheahann
post Apr 11 2012, 11:12 AM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/in-the-fina...ake-in-afg.html
bbacc
post May 8 2012, 01:49 AM

40 posts

Hi, I am looking to apply as sales engineer in ABB, can anyone share with me the estimation of salary, the general training duration and what is the environment like?is it conducive for career growth?
don_kass
post Apr 10 2013, 01:36 PM

41 posts

anyone apply for graduate engineer this year?
athrun300
post Apr 11 2013, 05:21 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(don_kass @ Apr 10 2013, 01:36 PM)
Why don't u apply for permanent post instead of graduate engineer?

aaabeckett
post Apr 11 2013, 05:25 PM

24 posts

Hi everyone, I got a call to attend an interview tomorrow, for post Service Sales Engineer.

Thing is, I am now a sales engineer and after quite awhile, it seesm like I don't belong at doing sales. The heart is not there for this sales area.

I actually applied for ABB graduate engineer post as well, but they didnt want me for that, but for service sales eng instead.

Pls give me your suggestions, experience, comments, anything to ease me. I am kinda worried coz I dont wanna do things that im not happy at, but if the job offers great career advancement and environment, might as well just try. hmm

This post has been edited by aaabeckett: Apr 11 2013, 05:45 PM
Stefanov
post Apr 12 2013, 12:53 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(don_kass @ Apr 10 2013, 01:36 PM)
why not apply for particular region you want to master in?
which you will do everything but master of nothing. Idk what the HR is thinking.
no wonder nowadays fresh blood nobody wants. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Stefanov: Apr 12 2013, 12:55 AM
clamp_wl
post May 16 2013, 02:43 AM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

Hey I will be doing my industrial training in ABB this coming June, under Low Voltage department. I would love to know what kind of work is given to intern students in ABB?
ZaiZai1989
post May 19 2013, 08:56 PM

275 posts

hi there.. ABB just called me last friday.. they phone interviewed me on the spot as well..

but ABB asked me wait for their email for further interview..

mind me asking questions?

the subang jaya HQ is actually an office only? or production site as well?
what about those located at kuching, johor and penang?

thanks guys..

fyi.. i am going to graduate soon.. if i am selected to work under ABB, they will provide me 18months training.. 12months in malaysia.. 6months abroad training in south east asia..

This post has been edited by ZaiZai1989: May 19 2013, 08:59 PM
nenasmanggis
post Jun 9 2013, 01:16 AM

for ABB training program, are we bonded?
Acherleon
post Aug 15 2013, 05:47 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(nenasmanggis @ Jun 9 2013, 01:16 AM)
for ABB training program, are we bonded?
do u work in ABB now? so how was it?
Acherleon
post Aug 18 2013, 08:11 PM

149 posts

no one replying cry.gif
bong87
post Aug 21 2013, 10:03 PM

how was ABB company environment now days? Does ABB company is good company to join ?
clamp_wl
post Sep 2 2013, 04:24 AM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ May 19 2013, 08:56 PM)
hi there.. ABB just called me last friday.. they phone interviewed me on the spot as well..

thanks guys..

fyi.. i am going to graduate soon.. if i am selected to work under ABB, they will provide me 18months training.. 12months in malaysia.. 6months abroad training in south east asia..
The graduate training program. That's good
clamp_wl
post Sep 2 2013, 04:26 AM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

QUOTE(bong87 @ Aug 21 2013, 10:03 PM)
how was ABB company environment now days? Does ABB company is good company to join ?
There are politics issue. But it is a great place to gain knowledge though
Acherleon
post Sep 4 2013, 12:36 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 2 2013, 04:26 AM)
if we reject ABB offer..will they blacklist us
clamp_wl
post Sep 4 2013, 02:24 PM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

QUOTE(Acherleon @ Sep 4 2013, 12:36 PM)
if we reject ABB offer..will they blacklist us
not so sure. sorry cant help u.
jack~daniel
post Sep 4 2013, 03:17 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 2 2013, 04:26 AM)
That is true,,
clamp_wl
post Sep 29 2013, 02:55 AM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

no new member joining abb?
jack~daniel
post Sep 29 2013, 09:51 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 29 2013, 02:55 AM)
no new member joining abb?
people come and go la, not a good company! plus they pay peanuts
clamp_wl
post Sep 29 2013, 03:02 PM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Sep 29 2013, 09:51 AM)
people come and go la, not a good company! plus they pay peanuts
well, i heard employees move out after 2 or 3 years just for the experience sake.
jack~daniel
post Sep 29 2013, 03:17 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 29 2013, 03:02 PM)
well, i heard employees move out after 2 or 3 years just for the experience sake.
You heard!, in reality most of them just a year
clamp_wl
post Sep 29 2013, 03:21 PM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Sep 29 2013, 03:17 PM)
You heard!, in reality most of them just a year
seriously? it is the same across all division?
jack~daniel
post Sep 29 2013, 03:31 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 29 2013, 03:21 PM)
Yes Bro!..all division, try to avoid working with them unless u cant find a better job
athrun300
post Sep 29 2013, 08:21 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Sep 29 2013, 03:31 PM)
Yes Bro!..all division, try to avoid working with them unless u cant find a better job
I has been working at ABB for close to 1 year now. So far, ABB has given me extra miles in terms of pays and technical. I get to travel overseas a lot and staying in nice hotel. Sometimes the management will fxxx up but it is expected in every company. Cheers.
jack~daniel
post Sep 29 2013, 08:27 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Sep 29 2013, 08:21 PM)
I has been working at ABB for close to 1 year now. So far, ABB has given me extra miles in terms of pays and technical. I get to travel overseas a lot and staying in nice hotel. Sometimes the management will fxxx up but it is expected in every company.  Cheers.
seem like u are fresh graduate?, travel to oversea and staying in 5 star hotel is very normal for me and for those who working with MNC company..
athrun300
post Sep 29 2013, 10:10 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Sep 29 2013, 08:27 PM)
seem like u are fresh graduate?, travel to oversea and staying in 5 star hotel is very normal for me and for those who working with MNC company..
My point is that ABB is not really that bad as a company. Like any other other company out there, the company got its own perks and cons. For sure that ABB is a not company that everybody should avoid working with. I has meet Malaysia ABB employee that has been working with the company for 20 years and there is no complained from him.
Brave_82
post Oct 17 2013, 08:20 AM

138 posts

Hi guys,

I am going to ABB interview soon, any advice.... I am going for engineering post but I haven't got any details on the job scope. I am asking for it with the HR person.

I am not fresh graduate but have 7 working experience. Anything to share?
yoong81
post Oct 17 2013, 05:33 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(Brave_82 @ Oct 17 2013, 08:20 AM)
Hi guys,

I am going to ABB interview soon, any advice.... I am going for engineering post but I haven't got any details on the job scope. I am asking for it with the HR person.

i don't get it. how can u get interview, without knowing abt job scope?
Brave_82
post Oct 18 2013, 01:02 PM

138 posts

This is for project engineer job.
Just got confirmation from HR regarding the interview next week.

Basically, anyone from project engineer job?
Brave_82
post Oct 18 2013, 01:03 PM

138 posts

I mean project engineering department.....
Max_07s
post Oct 19 2013, 09:21 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 29 2013, 07:21 AM)
PA division yes, but MV and HV division usually 2-4 years cabut.. I am one of them.. tongue.gif

its a good place to gain tech knowledge and experience. it is how u adapt the environment. office politic? not interested. biggrin.gif

the payment is only average.
clamp_wl
post Oct 19 2013, 06:48 PM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

QUOTE(Max_07s @ Oct 19 2013, 09:21 AM)
PA division yes, but MV and HV division usually 2-4 years cabut.. I am one of them..  tongue.gif

its a good place to gain tech knowledge and experience. it is how u adapt the environment. office politic? not interested.  biggrin.gif

the payment is only average.
What division is PA? i heard the same as well a very good place to learn and accumulate experiences.
Max_07s
post Oct 21 2013, 08:45 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Oct 19 2013, 10:48 AM)
What division is PA? i heard the same as well a very good place to learn and accumulate experiences.
usually that division handle oil and gas project.
ardnisa
post Oct 21 2013, 10:57 AM

17 posts

I am currently working in Oil & Gas, specific in machine maintenance and service (generator n etc)
I also worked in Manufacturing line for almost 1 and half year as tooling engineer.

I've got to choose one from these 4 departments.
1. Manufacturing engineer
2. Service Sales engineer
3. Mechanical Design.
4. Project Engineer

Which dept would u recommend esp in technical skills, training and department growth? (I am mechanical engineer background)

Tq.

zicco
post Oct 21 2013, 12:27 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Max_07s @ Oct 21 2013, 08:45 AM)
usually that division handle oil and gas project.
Sorry, what is PA?

wywy2020
post Oct 21 2013, 12:39 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(ardnisa @ Oct 21 2013, 10:57 AM)
I am currently working in Oil & Gas, specific in machine maintenance and service (generator n etc)
I also worked in Manufacturing line for almost 1 and half year as tooling engineer.

I've got to choose one from these 4 departments.
1. Manufacturing engineer
2. Service Sales engineer
3. Mechanical Design.
4. Project Engineer

Which dept would u recommend esp in technical skills, training and department growth? (I am mechanical engineer background)

Tq.
ABB is better than others oil and gas company?
ardnisa
post Oct 21 2013, 01:32 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Oct 21 2013, 12:39 PM)
ABB is better than others oil and gas company?
Oil & gas is good. Well paid. but need to be closer to my husband n family in Subang. Now i'm in kerteh. No internal transfer option.
Currently, I want to apply company that can provide me training to be more technical competent and at the same time closer to my family.
Hv background in Mechanical, minor in Turbomachinery; that explains my interest in ABB.

Max_07s
post Oct 21 2013, 01:37 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(zicco @ Oct 21 2013, 04:27 AM)
Sorry, what is PA?
process automation.. correct me if i'm wrong..

mechanical background? not much too learn there.. if electrical yes.. smile.gif
wywy2020
post Oct 21 2013, 01:38 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(ardnisa @ Oct 21 2013, 01:32 PM)
Oil & gas is good. Well paid. but need to be closer to my husband n family in Subang. Now i'm in kerteh. No internal transfer option.
Currently, I want to apply company that can provide me training to be more technical competent and at the same time closer to my family.
Hv background in Mechanical, minor in Turbomachinery; that explains my interest in ABB.
petronas now?
ABB salary package competitive to oil n gas company?
hitsugaya2010
post Oct 21 2013, 01:41 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(ardnisa @ Oct 21 2013, 01:32 PM)
I believe you are working with one of the end users.

ABB is consider as a contractor in oil and gas. You may have to accept pay cut and the work load might be more depending on the department you are in. As I know, ABB have more products on the system side. I am not sure whether mechanical background have much to do with them. But if you are good in electrical and also software yes it might applies. Nevertheless, you may still try, no harm. =)

Since your family in Subang, you may try applying Cameron, they are more into instrument which applies more mechanical background. Or try searching in Shah Alam, more options there I guess. =)
Max_07s
post Oct 21 2013, 01:43 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Oct 21 2013, 05:41 AM)
I believe you are working with one of the end users.

ABB is consider as a contractor in oil and gas. You may have to accept pay cut and the work load might be more depending on the department you are in. As I know, ABB have more products on the system side. I am not sure whether mechanical background have much to do with them. But if you are good in electrical and also software yes it might applies. Nevertheless, you may still try, no harm. =)

Since your family in Subang, you may try applying Cameron, they are more into instrument which applies more mechanical background. Or try searching in Shah Alam, more options there I guess. =)
Cameron, aker, technip and Sapura kencana. biggrin.gif
wywy2020
post Oct 21 2013, 02:14 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(Max_07s @ Oct 21 2013, 01:43 PM)
Cameron, aker, technip and Sapura kencana.  biggrin.gif
thanks for sharing.
which of the listed above is better?
hitsugaya2010
post Oct 21 2013, 03:04 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Oct 21 2013, 02:14 PM)
thanks for sharing.
which of the listed above is better?
hahaha.. try to apply all first... then if you can get an offer then only think... haha..

it's not easy.. =)
wywy2020
post Oct 21 2013, 03:46 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Oct 21 2013, 03:04 PM)
hahaha.. try to apply all first... then if you can get an offer then only think... haha..

it's not easy.. =)
tired la to attend all interview.
just aim one by one better and good focus.
hitsugaya2010
post Oct 21 2013, 04:53 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Oct 21 2013, 03:46 PM)
tired la to attend all interview.
just aim one by one better and good focus.
erm... what i mean is to get interview first.. then you only choose,

These companies are not so easy to get, it will not just call you for interview, just because you send in your resume.

Even if after interview it's not easy to land a job in those companies.

Therefore, get first then think later. apply all.
ardnisa
post Oct 23 2013, 10:36 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(Max_07s @ Oct 21 2013, 01:43 PM)
Cameron, aker, technip and Sapura kencana.  biggrin.gif
Thanks. I did apply for other o&g comp. but ABB is one of the comp, i applied but not related to o&g.
Actually, I am now working in SapuraKencana. No matter how much i love working in this comp. Like i said before, internal transfer is not an option. sweat.gif

Back to the topic,
I applied to ABB because of these 4 options i mentioned earlier. These post is for mech eng background. Need advice on the comp culture and work culture.

Max_07s
post Oct 23 2013, 11:40 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(ardnisa @ Oct 23 2013, 02:36 AM)
Thanks.  I did apply for other o&g comp. but ABB is one of the comp, i applied but not related to o&g.
Actually, I am now working in SapuraKencana. No matter how much i love working in this comp. Like i said before, internal transfer is not an option.  sweat.gif
Back to the topic,
I applied to ABB because of these 4 options i mentioned earlier. These post is for mech eng background. Need advice on the comp culture and work culture.

as far as I know u cant get much technical knowledge for mechanical background. if electrical yes u can get much knowledge.

company and work culture? when I was there, I was surrounding by fun and easy going colleagues.
roxxzor
post Nov 19 2013, 11:46 PM

I have been working for ABB Malaysia for the past three months, the atmosphere is professional compared to other businesses operating in Malaysia.

The office is full of people from ABB India, Australia, Europe etc so if you want a job with options for relocation this may be a good for you.

From my experience working there this job requires you to have your own initiate and drive to succeed or you will remain on left on the bottom - like with most jobs

PS. also take on civil/ chemical engineers not only electrical engineers. so don't be discouraged because ABB's core business relates to electrical engineering

SUSmrfuad87
post Nov 20 2013, 11:49 AM

169 posts

my friend work at ABB as IT but from vendor
work rileks and enjoy open all internet access
FreedomX
post Nov 21 2013, 02:37 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Brave_82 @ Oct 17 2013, 08:20 AM)
Hi guys,

You should ask for the highest salary possible.
FreedomX
post Nov 21 2013, 02:38 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Brave_82 @ Oct 18 2013, 01:03 PM)
I mean project engineering department.....
Which division MV or HV or LV or robotics or PA or machine drive?
lordzahrani
post Dec 9 2013, 04:29 PM

can anyone give the list of benefits for their employee?
kchyeleong
post Mar 30 2014, 02:56 PM

KC here. I get an offer as project executive.
could I know is it good to work there?
don_kass
post May 6 2014, 05:12 PM

41 posts

Hi guys, got an interview invitation from ABB this monday. Currently working in m&e consultant firm. Almost 2 years working exp. Any advise? They pay good to their employees?
blah88
post Jul 8 2014, 09:05 AM

Anyone recently got a job with ABB? Does anyone know how much is the annual increment like? As in how many % for engineers?
And how is the bonus like?
bjornrockefellar
post Aug 16 2014, 01:54 PM

14 posts

i will be join ABB next month, may I know the benefits of this company? how about the work culture? is it too many backstabbing person or i may work happily and make to the top with on my own without need to kipas2 my boss
bjornrockefellar
post Aug 19 2014, 11:49 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(serenaslut @ Aug 19 2014, 09:28 AM)
no place where u can promoted without kiaps ur boss.....
oh damn, world nowadays ohmy.gif
Stephen80
post Aug 19 2014, 02:47 PM

41 posts

It looks like ABB is expanding worldwide...
Recently ABB Singapore is also employing people in industry automation field.
Just few weeks ago got invited from ABB recruiting officer to attend the interview but I rejected it.
silverwave
post Sep 5 2014, 10:13 AM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(serenaslut @ Jul 11 2014, 09:22 AM)
recently saw ABB factory opened inside Sungei Way FIZ, near Western Digital.
Curious what they are doing...they have a factory near Sunway Lagoon area already
expansion or warehouse??
yea i saw this too and it's seems pretty quiet. I'm not sure if renovation is going on or it's a warehouse.
eastern
post Sep 7 2014, 10:34 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(bjornrockefellar @ Aug 16 2014, 01:54 PM)
i will be join ABB next month, may I know the benefits of this company? how about the work culture? is it too many backstabbing person or i may work happily and make to the top with on my own without need to kipas2 my boss
Just curious, what position you applied for?
wywy2020
post Sep 8 2014, 09:44 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Sep 5 2014, 10:13 AM)
yea i saw this too and it's seems pretty quiet. I'm not sure if renovation is going on or it's a warehouse.
where is it located? near to?>
silverwave
post Sep 9 2014, 10:04 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Sep 8 2014, 09:44 PM)
where is it located? near to?>
Sungei way industrial zone.
wywy2020
post Sep 10 2014, 01:22 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Sep 9 2014, 10:04 PM)
Sungei way industrial zone.
near to western digital?
bjornrockefellar
post Sep 19 2014, 12:53 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(eastern @ Sep 7 2014, 10:34 PM)
Just curious, what position you applied for?
Engineer - Steam
xediox
post Sep 22 2014, 10:01 PM

14 posts

Hi guys, may I know how's the Graduate Engineer Program (GEP) in ABB like? Like hows the salary, work, culture, environment, etc? A degree fresh graduate here smile.gif
xediox
post Sep 23 2014, 11:46 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ May 19 2013, 08:56 PM)

thanks guys..

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 2 2013, 04:24 AM)
The graduate training program. That's good
Hi, may i ask about how's the GEP interview like? Especially the second interview? Really hope that there's someone who could spare some advices. Thanks in advance
wwhwee
post Oct 16 2015, 01:21 PM

87 posts

Is anyone know is that ABB will provide any fix allowance for Engineer? Eg. Car, phone? How much?
DriksoN
post Mar 16 2016, 03:23 AM

119 posts

Received a call from ABB last 2 days. Request for my updated CV and holla, she called back today and arrange me for an interview next week.

TBH, I have no intention to quit my current job as I am extremely contented with my current pay, job flexibility and working culture. Nevertheless, since they came looking, I was thinking why not have a try and see how it goes after the interview. BTW, I am from Chemical Eng. background but has been involved in industrial automation (mostly electronics and electrical) for the past 2.5 years.

Anyway, the position they're offering now is Sales Engineer for EP Division. Seriously, she did not give me much description of the job. May I know what EP stands for? And how's the working culture, pay and perks around there?
cannyeo
post Mar 16 2016, 10:36 AM

Looking Up
609 posts

QUOTE(DriksoN @ Mar 16 2016, 04:23 AM)
Received a call from ABB last 2 days. Request for my updated CV and holla, she called back today and arrange me for an interview next week.

TBH, I have no intention to quit my current job as I am extremely contented with my current pay, job flexibility and working culture. Nevertheless, since they came looking, I was thinking why not have a try and see how it goes after the interview. BTW, I am from Chemical Eng. background but has been involved in industrial automation (mostly electronics and electrical) for the past 2.5 years.

Anyway, the position they're offering now is Sales Engineer for EP Division. Seriously, she did not give me much description of the job. May I know what EP stands for? And how's the working culture, pay and perks around there?
Electrification Products division

https://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/ABB-Malay....4,12_IN170.htm

BTW its their internal HR or third party recruiters, i suspect the later.

This post has been edited by cannyeo: Mar 16 2016, 10:37 AM
DriksoN
post Mar 16 2016, 02:37 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(cannyeo @ Mar 16 2016, 10:36 AM)
Electrification Products division

https://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/ABB-Malay....4,12_IN170.htm

BTW its their internal HR or third party recruiters, i suspect the later.
I think it's their internal HR as the girl who emailed me the details is using ABB email along with two persons she CC'ed. All are from my.abb.com.
MoneyChaser
post Mar 16 2016, 03:37 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(DriksoN @ Mar 16 2016, 02:37 PM)
I think it's their internal HR as the girl who emailed me the details is using ABB email along with two persons she CC'ed. All are from my.abb.com.
is their office in sunway
cannyeo
post Mar 16 2016, 04:07 PM

Looking Up
609 posts

QUOTE(DriksoN @ Mar 16 2016, 03:37 PM)
not bad, shes clear of who shes recruiting.
DriksoN
post Mar 16 2016, 05:36 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(MoneyChaser @ Mar 16 2016, 03:37 PM)
is their office in sunway
Yes they have an office in Sunway. But the interview will be at Kelana Jaya.
DriksoN
post Apr 1 2016, 07:53 PM

119 posts

Sorry the interview was indeed at Sunway. And guess what, their hiring manager and HR called and offered me the position. I really did not expect that. Now, I am in a real dilemma. The package is highly tempting.

Anyone care to share more on the working environment, etc there?
FreedomX
post Apr 3 2016, 02:08 PM

63 posts

hows the offer?
[revolution]
post May 10 2016, 09:51 PM

>> Revolution Yourself : Engage and Transform <<
1,321 posts

Anyone working at ABB midvalley for IT Software position?
ZzZzz...
post Jun 21 2016, 09:23 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

anyone work in ABB midvalley, software engineer position? pls share some experience...thanks alot smile.gif
mikazzz
post Mar 21 2017, 03:14 PM

< / >
879 posts

Anyone have opinions on what it's like working in ABB as a software engineer in midvalley?
kevler
post Mar 24 2017, 04:25 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

I turned down their offer for role Senior Unix Administrator.

Yes. They offered me 5figure but it is not matching with the workload..

If they could give me around 15k.. i would reconsider.

I told them that he could get better candidate than me...who will take the offer 5figure.

Done.
mafa2801
post Mar 24 2017, 05:00 PM

765 posts

wow! 5 figure
junxian32
post May 15 2018, 06:53 PM

28 posts

Hi, anyone still working there? How's the current environment?
keyboardmouse
post Oct 25 2018, 09:53 PM

QUOTE(junxian32 @ May 15 2018, 06:53 PM)
Hi, anyone still working there? How's the current environment?
anyone still working in ABB? how is the current situation?

how is the management now? what is the most interesting benefits in ABB?

keyboardmouse
post Oct 29 2018, 06:14 PM

anyone working in ABB or worked there before? can share the experiene
Nymphetamine666
post Oct 29 2018, 09:07 PM

708 posts

Seems like this thread become syiok sendiri. No one from ABB dare to respond...

Those who got interviewed, so how? Hired? Now u tell us, how is it going in there? Surviving?
wywy2020
post Dec 10 2020, 08:11 PM

1,638 posts

What is the different ABB Subang and Hitachi ABB Power grid?
Also, anyone can share the working environment?
ZZMsia
post Jan 28 2023, 10:20 PM

3,491 posts

Recently, ABB opened up many vacancies on Linkedin.
A friend there said, there's work life balance when he was there. He left to join another O&G company during the pandemic.

jack~daniel
post Mar 27 2023, 12:43 PM

834 posts

How long does it take for them to respond to successful candidates?

0.0935sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:06 AM