Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1
stimix
Nov 27 2010, 12:13 AM
Dunno
Wah Full House..Rain (bi) & song Hye Kyo..me interested haha. So far I'm not sure which island is that Bungalow located..(Is it wolmido as you mentioned?) Probably you can show me the wikimapia maps for eg Incheon airport here..Where is the island? North South East West of the airport? http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.4871181&lon=1...82&z=12&l=0&m=b
stimix
Nov 27 2010, 10:41 AM
Dunno
From your describtion, I think this blue roofed bungalow at Sido is the location of Full House http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5290446&lon=1...82&z=19&l=0&m=bQUOTE(lazybirdkorea @ Nov 27 2010, 12:43 AM) The name of that island is 'sido'. There are three beautiful islands (Sido, Sindo and Modo) connected one another by ocean bridges. You can get that island through Yeongjong island (which is Incheon airport located in) by ferry boat from SAMMOK warf. Unfortunately, it might not easy to get there for English speakers as there are not many English signs. check out the link : http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.4966523&lon=1...cheon%20airport
stimix
Nov 29 2010, 07:15 AM
Dunno
Sorry for your len cover..BTW, that lady I was suprise when I saw one of the Nat Geo doumentary about Seoul daily life mths back.din know they do have similar head balancing culture to Balinese ladies QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 29 2010, 12:11 AM) i dropped my camera on the floor and broke my lens hood. 
stimix
Nov 29 2010, 02:25 PM
Dunno
Actually from what I research, Yongpyong ski resort is located not far from Mt Sorak. Shjould hv cover it on the same day or stay overnite at Socho area.
For me I'm having almost similar itineraries except not going to Sorak due to time constraint.
For Ski resort, I'm thinking of those South of Seoul which is just 45-1 hr away by MRT & bus/taxi. For eg..Konjiam, Isan & Yangji. Konjiam is not far away from Everland and easier if those going to Everland.
Now i'm researching the vbest MRT/bus..taxi to bring me to Konjiam..The one East abit of Everland & the closest to Seoul
stimix
Nov 29 2010, 04:26 PM
Dunno
AeIOU228 has better recommendation on the phone rental...Here's what he explained earlier hope he can explain further on this phone rental soon  ..Put this on 1st pg. QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 23 2010, 08:21 AM) I rented 2 phones from KT SHOW (2000w /day) and it comes with a FREE T-money chip each phone. Just top up at the convenient store and you are good to go. The Iphone is FREE rental if you answer some questionnaires upon returning the phone. Iphone doesn't come with T-Money but the plus point is it has GPS with Google map. I recommend to rent 2 phones because you can split the group to two in shopping complexes and save a lot of time.
stimix
Nov 30 2010, 07:17 AM
Dunno
You probably saw the rate at departure hall? because I remembered AEIOU was telling me there is ahuge disparity between the exchange rate at Arrival (Selling Won) and at Departure (Buying back Won) and only 1 rate quoted.
I think should be 1113 buying back won to US? Can't be so good?
stimix
Nov 30 2010, 11:12 AM
Dunno
Aigooo..check the 1st page info lor..all there..The metro line & the tools on switching MRT, The link to visit korea on how to take AREX train to Gimpo & thereafter MRT & even Limousine Bus to the city if you decided not to take the train...
BTW, AREX train (ERL) by end of Dec will link Incheon to Seoul train station dy...So if you're going after 2010, yopu can take AREX directly to Seoul
stimix
Nov 30 2010, 11:59 AM
Dunno
Hmn..Even from the visit Korea site at 1st pg already having the info what: http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/ena/GK/GK_EN_2_2_2_3.jspThereafter also on the 1st pg..You can check the MRT tools to check where is your hotel (If you already booked, you should know where is the location & guide on which MRT station or limousine bus stop) Thereafter just use the tools on pg1 to your hotel: http://www.seoulmetro.co.kr/station/eng/linemap.action
stimix
Nov 30 2010, 03:24 PM
Dunno
Wah Wawasan rate atlast dropped liao after weeks at 2.95-2.98...now 2.90.
Probably pressure from others..haha...But if they dropped to 2.90 dunno how about others?
Furthermore, bank Negara also not much changes still ~ 2.735 level since b4 the war threat
stimix
Nov 30 2010, 03:46 PM
Dunno
WOW  That's so goooddd...OK meaning converting to US$ 1st is the best option actually!! At this rate, we are actually converting at 2.83!! Even paying double commission of converting 1st to US$ in KL... From the rate, you are changing US$200 and getting 222,600won..meaning if we changed to US$200 here in KL @ RM3.15 (RM630) The effective rate will be 2.83 But any idea at the arrival hall any landmark to this Shinhan Bank exchange counter? QUOTE(athirah88 @ Nov 30 2010, 03:27 PM) The rate was from the Shihan at the arrival hall. There was only one rate quoted. Here's my receipt: [attachmentid=1913107] In Jeju now  . Eastar Jet is pretty good, their airplane is old and pretty cramp but the air hostess made up for it, really nice and friendly. And it's not too cold 
stimix
Nov 30 2010, 07:28 PM
Dunno
There is ski Resort (Konjiam) not far from Everland.. I was thinking of this Konjiam too  Check 1st pg wikimapia link to that resort (I think the largest in Seoul area) QUOTE(Battle-Hardened @ Nov 30 2010, 05:44 PM) I will fly into seoul via beijing this saturday, arriving morning sunday. Heres my itinerary for 4 night stay (I will set up base in itaewon): day 1: everland - 1/2 day trip day 2: ski resort (any one near seoul - bears town / star hill) - 1 day trip
stimix
Dec 1 2010, 09:02 AM
Dunno
You need this adaptor. as posted earlier by aeiou. Similar to Indonesia socket system.  Anyway, if you are having the 2 pin plug wth narrow sidewall, also can fit in. I tried that by directly inserted to Indonesian sockets. QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 23 2010, 06:04 PM) Added on December 1, 2010, 9:03 amPhone rental tips posted on 1st page: QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 23 2010, 08:21 AM) I rented 2 phones from KT SHOW (2000w /day) and it comes with a FREE T-money chip each phone. Just top up at the convenient store and you are good to go. The Iphone is FREE rental if you answer some questionnaires upon returning the phone. Iphone doesn't come with T-Money but the plus point is it has GPS with Google map. I recommend to rent 2 phones because you can split the group to two in shopping complexes and save a lot of time. This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 1 2010, 09:04 AM
stimix
Dec 1 2010, 09:36 AM
Dunno
Do share your transportation to konjiam ski resort. Th einfo on transportation with few options really messy..I am thinking to skip their suggested tranport route but take MRT to Suwon 1st & thereafter by bus/etc to Konjiam.
BTW, Konjiam is near Everland. Not doing both together to save travel cost?
stimix
Dec 1 2010, 10:24 AM
Dunno
Wow..That's cheap..If at this rate, no need to change to US$ & change back to Won liao QUOTE(Carmein @ Dec 1 2010, 09:44 AM) I manage to change the Korean won at RM 2.84 at BB, the one next to Maybank. I was given all new notes! There's another that offers 2.83 but the place looks unpromising. Haha. Is anyone going to Korea from 6-14 Dec? Maybe we can meet up and travel together.
stimix
Dec 1 2010, 10:52 AM
Dunno
Well, not mucg diff liao compare wth the huge disparity of >RM0.20 off market rate by Wawasan earlier...if at 2.83, only RM0.10 off market rate..Changing won here is more hassle free than searching for the best rate in Korea..(yeah probably cheaper abit but the hassle..) QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 1 2010, 10:42 AM) If here drop, likewise over in Korea. one forumer already confirmed 1,113 per 1 USD yesterday.
stimix
Dec 2 2010, 09:56 AM
Dunno
most budget & guesthouses sdhould provide free wifi. Not sure about star rated hotels as those are the one wanna make money from wifi haha
stimix
Dec 3 2010, 11:49 AM
Dunno
AEIOU. OK I decided dy. Maintained the amt I got from you earlier, and the remaining I convert 1st to US$ and change at nandaemun on 2nd day...yeah...
stimix
Dec 3 2010, 04:57 PM
Dunno
Wah can pluck the persimmon or not wor? BTW, I've found another ski resort & updated on 1st pg..i.e Elsyian Gangchon Ski Resort located near to Gapyeong & Nami Island..I think good for those wanna save on transport cost & time ..kill 2 birds in 1 stone lah http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.8210396&lon=1...75&z=14&l=0&m=bWondering if I wanna enter the resort but dunwan to ski, just look-see & probably play wth the slide & etc..dunno how much hor  Anyone been to the ski resort but don't ski..can share the experience or not
stimix
Dec 3 2010, 06:28 PM
Dunno
Cool..Tnx...now much better bcos purpose just goto any ski resort and look see nia haha
stimix
Dec 3 2010, 08:17 PM
Dunno
Current realtime weather at Seoul Gimpo airport = -2C Yesterday I saw they forcasted Today light snow expected at Seoul http://www.wunderground.com/global/stations/47117.html Added on December 3, 2010, 8:18 pmYes it will be cheaper..When M'sian Money changer at RM2.95, someone here reported he withdraw using his citibank ATM at ~ RM2,78 QUOTE(nyemah_mulya @ Dec 3 2010, 08:16 PM) What about the rate when we withdraw from ATM Machine there? Has anyone tried? Is it competitive? This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 3 2010, 08:18 PM