[V28] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

-Hzu-
post Feb 27 2016, 06:52 PM

944 posts

What Beta? It's over long ago. I didn't had time for OBT but the CBT was pretty fun tho.
-Hzu-
post Feb 28 2016, 01:42 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Feb 28 2016, 01:35 AM)
The things I don't like about this club are
People chatting on the thread like PMs.
Trash talk that doesn't benefits the readers at all such as "you wanna buy that I sell my kb gf half price you buy half price (some trash like that)" do check previous page.
I thought of the same thing too (but not necessarily the same posts as you mentioned), #1 reason why I don't bother with Lowyat forums but then again this section doesn't add to your posts counts, aka they don't care whatever you post here.

Just like this post I'm writing.

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Feb 28 2016, 01:43 AM
-Hzu-
post Mar 7 2016, 12:50 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Mar 6 2016, 10:53 PM)
Any thoughts on this? http://www.wooting.nl/
Found it while researching about tkl.
Pretty cool concept as getting precise controls on keyboards is something that we still don't have (and thus the reason why keyboards are never meant for gaming). But really, for racing you can finger move even more precisely on an analog stick than maintaining pressure on the keys. But this could bring a pretty cool concept to games, especially rhythm games. I really love rhythm games and honestly, if we could have a game that utilises the switches on this to emulate the sound of an instrument being played loudly or softly (like a piano), I want it.

The design though, is actually pretty good. Hopefully it does come with a wrist rest, because that looks painful to use without one.
-Hzu-
post Mar 8 2016, 06:04 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(yokemit @ Mar 7 2016, 10:44 AM)
Hello just bought ducky shine 4 (blue switch) ! really happy
I want to know if this keyboard can change MX switch? If yes , where to buy MX switch? need to change certain key to red switch cuz i play o2jam alot
Don't get me wrong , I love blue switch
I play O2Jam a lot too but you don't want to do that as that will completely mess up your typing experience.
-Hzu-
post Mar 8 2016, 09:10 PM

944 posts

Ok so which one of you wrote this? Found this while browsing fb lol.

By the way, any of you experienced things like, you wear your earphones, heard your switches differently and felt like, "ah, this is the sound that I want." I wish my Greens are as quiet as linears or tactiles. Maybe I should invest on Clears next lol.
-Hzu-
post Mar 9 2016, 04:19 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Mar 9 2016, 04:10 PM)
Hello MK sifus I'm quite interested to get one MK (most prob TKLs) but am still reluctant due to the cost and worried that I may not like it after purchasing...
Though after so many research and have saw all who have used MKs rarely have negative feedback

Thus I'd like to have some questions answered to further help me decide   notworthy.gif

I'm still a uni student who've just started going into programming and have started to go into android app development (still researching myself and learning) / web dev (currently interning and long story short - doing front end web development, involves php/bash/database/simple html/ jquery etc... )

1) Does MK help in programming/developing/coding, hopefully there are some who have used a laptop keyboard and moved to MK and share your experiences as this is my current situation, (using laptop keyboard)

2) I'm planning to buy a blank keycaps, but as i'm still new to programming, i'm still not familiar with all the symbols used (it'll be pretty cool if i could code on a blank keyboard tho.. so badass haha  sweat.gif )

3) How does your colleagues react to those MK typing sounds as i understand they can get quite clicky (planning to get brown switches most likely)

4) Are all keycap size standard? Because i'm using a macbook air, and plan to remap the button via software for my command key and also change keycaps for the windows key to command key

I understand that MKs does not make a good programmer, but i'd just like some feedback and advices from sifus here and see what advices you all can give  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Also is it true that some programmer actually just bring their MKs to work and code on VI/VIM without a laptop??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Thank you all in advance  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

edit : added question
1) Proper layout will help you improve your typing speed and accuracy.

2) I do. My advice is: Learn touch typing first.

3) "Badass AF." "WHOA." "Is this even necessary?" "WHAT IS THIS FEELING"

4) Mods are sized differently than the alphabets but CTRL and Win key should be of the same size.

Also, to avoid from kena pukul by your colleagues, check with them first if they're OK with your keyboard noises. And vi, emacs, whatever does not matter. You use what you want.

For starters, get a cheap ones. The RM150 being sold by one guy here should be pretty good, just make sure turn off the LED to show your prowess as a professional, not some bling-bling vidya gaymens kid.

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Mar 9 2016, 04:24 PM
-Hzu-
post Mar 9 2016, 07:52 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Mar 9 2016, 05:23 PM)
can you tell me who are selling the RM150 MK? I may be interested in getting one for myself too.
I read your question #1 again since I misread it. Mechanical keyboard won't help you get better in programming. I'm not sure what you're trying to say but I think you may have written your own question wrong. And about that keyboard, I can't remember his name but he's here. Just go few pages back, he have a big link in his signature. Also, MX Board 2.0 (by Cherry Corp. themselves) is now selling for RM170 only at Ultimate.Zone.

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Mar 9 2016, 04:16 PM)
feel like using mech kb at work too, but pairing it with laptop abit weird, unless there is way to disable laptop keyboard?

anyone else using it at work with laptop?
I use it with my laptop since my laptop gets very hot at the palm rest (stupid Nvidia).

Bonus:

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Mar 9 2016, 07:59 PM
-Hzu-
post Mar 9 2016, 08:11 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Panda2K @ Mar 9 2016, 08:08 PM)
Interesting, I game on a gaming laptop due to portability. Abosolutely hate chiclet keys. Won't be looking at the more expensive keyboards, as my laptop would be obselete for probably the next 4-5 years. From there I'll be moving to a desktop, and then I'll be getting a fancy mkb. Would need your advice in the future then  icon_rolleyes.gif
Don't get a fancy board. Get the most basic you can find and make it fancier yourself. Avoid gaming brands at all cost.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0411sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:20 PM