125 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

dzi921
post Aug 7 2007, 11:28 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(ejleemy @ Aug 7 2007, 10:51 AM)
You guys should make a discipline to set a target range to top up as well...I will only top up when the price fell 8-10% more than my latest entry NAV. Anything less I don't bother.

Take PCSF for ex, I did my research and didnt enter when it first launched. Now, I think it's getting more and more attractive. But I still set my entry price to be 0.215. If it doesnt go below that, forget it.
How often will the price fall 8-10%?

Take example 2006 and 2007?

SUSDavid83
post Aug 7 2007, 11:33 AM

52,874 posts

PM Fund NAV prices for 7th August:

[attachmentid=274099]
ejleemy
post Aug 7 2007, 03:14 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Aug 7 2007, 11:28 AM)
How often will the price fall 8-10%?

Take example 2006 and 2007?
Look at the volatility, standard deviation of 10+ (mayb 20+ for china market). It is not an uncommon thing to see a surge/fall of 8-10% at all.

shih
post Aug 7 2007, 06:29 PM

1,148 posts

Is this a good time to switch? Average loss unrealized profit around 8-10% in 10 days. Or keep until GE?
athlon 11
post Aug 7 2007, 10:06 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Aug 7 2007, 06:29 PM)
Is this a good time to switch? Average loss unrealized profit around 8-10% in 10 days. Or keep until GE?
it hold unit is little,10k unit or --,better hold or redem to save the swtch cost.
SUSDavid83
post Aug 7 2007, 10:33 PM

52,874 posts

The local share market could see somoe bullish trend till GE. It's up to you to make the finest decision.
Darkmage12
post Aug 7 2007, 11:24 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

i would rather switch than hold on for now smile.gif
shih
post Aug 7 2007, 11:32 PM

1,148 posts

my UT portfolio is more than 30k. RM25-RM100 for switching fee is considered penny since the UTs suffered ~10% since two weeks ago. Almost rm3000 unrealized profit gone with the wind.
SUSraynman
post Aug 8 2007, 01:21 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Aug 7 2007, 11:32 PM)
my UT portfolio is more than 30k. RM25-RM100 for switching fee is considered penny since the UTs suffered ~10% since two weeks ago. Almost rm3000 unrealized profit gone with the wind.
If your UT portfolio is X ringgit two weeks ago, it becomes 0.9X now if you suffered a 10% loss.
You must incur a 11.11% gain just to bring it back to X, and I can guarantee you it will not happen
in the next two weeks with this prevailing bearish sentiment. This is just for capital preservation,
without profits yet.

I suggest you switch to bond funds ASAP to stop the bleed in the coming days.

For me, I have cashed out all UTs and KLSE stocks two weeks ago, now waiting for the
right time to pick up some bargains in the coming months.

As investors, we must not only know what and when to buy, but equally important
is when to sell. I have a lot of friends who got caught because they dont know when
to sell. Most dont realize paper loss is actually real loss.

Good luck icon_rolleyes.gif
shih
post Aug 8 2007, 01:48 AM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Aug 8 2007, 01:21 AM)
If your UT portfolio is X ringgit two weeks ago, it becomes 0.9X now if you suffered a 10% loss.
You must incur a 11.11% gain just to bring it back to X, and I can guarantee you it will not happen
in the next two weeks with this prevailing bearish sentiment. This is just for capital preservation,
without profits yet.

I suggest you switch to bond funds ASAP to stop the bleed in the coming days.

For me, I have cashed out all UTs and KLSE stocks two weeks ago, now waiting for the
right time to pick up some bargains in the coming months.

As investors, we must not only know what and when to buy, but equally important
is when to sell. I have a lot of friends who got caught because they dont know when
to sell. Most dont realize paper loss is actually real loss.

Good luck  icon_rolleyes.gif
How to get the 11.11%?

I dont know how the market is going to be, but i dont think any panic decision will help. Because I miss out the 10% profit and I dont see a long lose streak coming. Maybe I will switch partial of my UTs. I dont really think that the 10% will come back in 2 weeks time. Just hope it would be better until next Chinese New Year.

I considered myself lost some potential profit, not losing capital yet but for long term, it is still ok. Let's see what is the US Fed outcome.

If I switch 2 weeks back, I will switch to equity again. Dont know. I believe what I believe, KLCI suffered but will rebound, 100points is a good healthy correction.
athlon 11
post Aug 8 2007, 02:30 AM

287 posts

some add on to my previous statement,some company do not post high service charge to investor who switch from bond to equitidy,so they may switch even have lesser than 10k units or they believe the drop are not high and long term.
SUSraynman
post Aug 8 2007, 06:06 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Aug 8 2007, 01:48 AM)
How to get the 11.11%?

I dont know how the market is going to be, but i dont think any panic decision will help. Because I miss out the 10% profit and I dont see a long lose streak coming. Maybe I will switch partial of my UTs. I dont really think that the 10% will come back in 2 weeks time. Just hope it would be better until next Chinese New Year.

I considered myself lost some potential profit, not losing capital yet but for long term, it is still ok. Let's see what is the US Fed outcome.

If I switch 2 weeks back, I will switch to equity again. Dont know. I believe what I believe, KLCI suffered but will rebound, 100points is a good healthy correction.
Supposing your portfolio two weeks ago is RM30K. Now it is worth 10% less,
which is RM27K. Your reduced portfolio value of RM27K need to add RM3K to
bring it back to RM30K. 3K is 11.11% of 27K.

You definitely will get back your RM30K eventually because the equity markets
are always cyclical. The question is how long do you have to wait while you
stay vested. For me, it took 1 week for a market downturn to wipe out 50%
of my KLSE portfolio, and 7 years to bring it back to its original value. Never
again will I hold on to paper loss or gain from this experience. Cash out and
live to fight another day when conditions are decidedly in my favour.

shih
post Aug 8 2007, 08:34 AM

1,148 posts

Ok, thanks for your advice.
dzi921
post Aug 8 2007, 09:37 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

I have an equity fund and were to switch to bond, and later on when I switch back from bond to equity

Will I be charged for the 5% to 7% again?
shih
post Aug 8 2007, 09:46 AM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Aug 8 2007, 09:37 AM)
I have an equity fund and were to switch to bond, and later on when I switch back from bond to equity

I dont think you need to pay the service charge again since you initially bought equity fund and paid the service charge already.
SUSDavid83
post Aug 8 2007, 10:30 AM

52,874 posts

Switching will be at NAV price. Therefore, no service charge imposed.

You need to pay RM 25 switching fee.
athlon 11
post Aug 8 2007, 10:32 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Aug 8 2007, 09:37 AM)

if you bought is public mutual's pm or pb serious,i think need.hope pm's agent can clerify our enquiry.
shih
post Aug 8 2007, 10:45 AM

1,148 posts

I check the prospectus already. Confirm NO addtional SERVICE CHARGE if you were charge 6.5% once. Just have to pay the switching fee. When you paid 6.5% for your units, it is called 'Loaded Unita'. No extra 6.5% charge again.

For switching from bond/money market fund, you pat 0.25% only and it is called 'Low-Loaded Units'. So, if you switch to equity, you need to pay 6.5%.

You need to be charged 6.5% ONCE only if you are playing switching to and from equity fund, including the initial service charge. Plus whatever switching fee.

dzi921
post Aug 8 2007, 10:48 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Aug 8 2007, 10:45 AM)
I check the prospectus already. Confirm NO addtional SERVICE CHARGE if you were charge 6.5% once. Just have to pay the switching fee. When you paid 6.5% for your units, it is called 'Loaded Unita'. No extra 6.5% charge again.

For switching from bond/money market fund, you pat 0.25% only and it is called 'Low-Loaded Units'. So, if you switch to equity, you need to pay 6.5%.

You need to be charged 6.5% ONCE only if you are playing switching to and from equity fund, including the initial service charge. Plus whatever switching fee.
If I were to buy Bond then switch to Equity, I will loose 0.25% + 6.5%

So, my theory of parking my money in Bond and do switching is not so effective huh?
shih
post Aug 8 2007, 10:55 AM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Aug 8 2007, 10:48 AM)
If I were to buy Bond then switch to Equity, I will loose 0.25% + 6.5%

So, my theory of parking my money in Bond and do switching is not so effective huh?
Initially you will be charged 0.25%, and then if you switch to equity fund, 6.5% applied on that. After that, you can along with it any way you want it to be, just have to pay RM25 for every switching except money market.

125 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0266sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:26 AM