125 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

Grengo01
post Jun 22 2007, 09:58 AM

7 star but no spesial tag...
4,669 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 15 2007, 02:36 PM)
Can you verify it? 
I never reinvest on my invested fund, all either getting cheque or bank into account for the distribution.

About the reinvest price, this is my relative telling me one.
QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Jun 15 2007, 02:47 PM)
yep confirmed, reinvested at NAV price. It is done recently on my funds which declared distributions. smile.gif
The redistribution is reinvested at NAV. However, they deduct corp tax, just like your stock dividend received. The tax is claimable against tax payable in your annual returns to IRB.
cherroy
post Jun 22 2007, 10:25 AM

25,802 posts

leekk8
post Jun 22 2007, 11:49 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 22 2007, 10:25 AM)
Thanks again for the re-confirmation. Still I will opt my fund to give me the distribution as cash, my personal perference.
But already get out a lot of my fund and only left 1 at time being to reduce my exposure in equities.
Why? You expect the stock market will collapse soon?
cherroy
post Jun 22 2007, 12:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Jun 22 2007, 11:49 AM)
Why? You expect the stock market will collapse soon?
Only god know. Just market has run up quite significantly and quite fast, my purchased fund(already sold one) had gain more than 25% since last year end so decided to take the profit off the table so that my profit is realised/protected any downward correction will spare from it. Since I sold the fund, the fund has dropped more than 5% afterwards (global fund). If you track back my posts, you will know I had sold previous.

The market does not mean will collapse or what since it is unpredictable but with market not longer at 'cheap' stage, currently is in ''fair' value stage, it is no harm done to lock in some profit. icon_rolleyes.gif If market goes higher, let it be, you already gain signficantly, while if market turns south, then you have extra opportunities then.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 22 2007, 12:52 PM
athlon 11
post Jun 22 2007, 11:15 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 22 2007, 12:49 PM)
Only god know. Just market has run up quite significantly and quite fast, my purchased fund(already sold one) had gain more than 25% since last year end so decided to take the profit off the table so that my profit is realised/protected any downward correction will spare from it. Since I sold the fund, the fund has dropped more than 5% afterwards (global fund). If you track back my posts, you will know I had sold previous.

The market does not mean will collapse or what since it is unpredictable but with market not longer at 'cheap' stage, currently is in ''fair' value stage, it is no harm done to lock in some profit.  icon_rolleyes.gif If market goes higher, let it be, you already gain signficantly, while if market turns south, then you have extra opportunities then.
Wau,thanks for this useful artical cherroy!before this my investment strategy is only redem a fund totally if it gain above 100%.now it looks like i am too greedy smile.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jun 22 2007, 11:26 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(athlon 11 @ Jun 22 2007, 11:15 PM)
Wau,thanks for this useful artical cherroy!before this my investment strategy is only redem a fund totally if it gain above 100%.now it looks like i am too greedy smile.gif
What you meant by gain above 100%?
cherroy
post Jun 23 2007, 09:56 AM

25,802 posts

One thing I learned from my 15+ years experience that only know when to buy what to buy is not enough, you also need to know when to exit or reduce your exposure or protect your gain when necessary.

Stock market doesn't always bull run every year due to cyclical nature of the economy. sometimes it drift lower, sometimes just stagnant throughout, sometimes bull run crazy (like 1991-1993, 1996-1997 and 2006-2007)

The most important is that you have fund when market is low.

Darkmage12
post Jun 23 2007, 02:21 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

then you lock in ur profit and bring the cash elsewhere?
shih
post Jun 23 2007, 08:57 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jun 23 2007, 02:21 PM)
then you lock in ur profit and bring the cash elsewhere?
Put in FD or Bond Fund seems like not bad. Else can look for some blue chips that offers good dividend return like BJTOTO?
TSedifgrto
post Jun 23 2007, 10:20 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(athlon 11 @ Jun 22 2007, 11:15 PM)

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 22 2007, 11:26 PM)
What you meant by gain above 100%?
Perhaps athlon's post meant for 10%, a typo there... As far as I know, local funds dun have over 100%. Over 100% ones are most likely funds from Europe or USA. But only few of them could have just over 100%. Correct me if am wrong. smile.gif

x11
post Jun 23 2007, 11:53 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(astreet @ Jun 21 2007, 09:17 PM)
You can open an account on below websites

http://www.dollarDEX.com
http://www.fundsupermart.com

and they do accept cheque and credit card and so on...
Do we have such website in Malaysia too? ie Trading online
leekk8
post Jun 24 2007, 12:16 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(astreet @ Jun 21 2007, 09:17 PM)
You can open an account on below websites

http://www.dollarDEX.com
http://www.fundsupermart.com

and they do accept cheque and credit card and so on...
Malaysian can invest there as well???
athlon 11
post Jun 24 2007, 12:29 AM

287 posts

i mean is if the fund performance have 100% gain in like lipper chart.after read some Malaysia mutual fund history,i feel this is the dangerous point,most fund will be down performance after they reach this.ofcourse the 100% gain rate i am not mean for 1 year,it can be even 3 years.

this is my strategy,if any wrong hope everyone feel free to correct me.and...ofcourse now i no more dare to wait untill get a 100% gain .....p....

This post has been edited by athlon 11: Jun 24 2007, 12:53 AM
airbag_grado
post Jun 24 2007, 04:20 AM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 26 2007, 11:21 AM)
Properties fund and Reit has been performing very good for the last 3 years or so, gaining about roughly 25-30% per annum for the last 3 years. Now, it is not so good considered that interest rate is on the way up for European Union also housing stock or company may face difficulty ahead with previous housing bubble.

The fund started at Rm1.00 now drop to 0.93xx just about 2 months time, bad timing of the launching since it lanuched when properties stock and Reit is on the high side.
But long term, reit is a nice play if you look for yielding, can consider when Ringgit reach its peak since Ringgit appreciation will mean exchange loss for the fund also and vice versa.

Personally think that should avoid any equity fund in near term as stock is not cheap at current moment. Anyway just my personal view, not necessary correct, just like China stock market although is on bubble state, the bubble keep on inflating non-stop. You never know when the bubble stop inflating and burst. But for sure, it is bubbling.
this pan euorope property fund have registred a lost of 10%+ in 3 months and agent predicted it will go down for another 1-3% , so buy more now if u think in future it will raise high, but for now its performance a great letdown for most people. it might need longer time to generate gains.

This post has been edited by airbag_grado: Jun 24 2007, 04:22 AM
TSedifgrto
post Jun 24 2007, 05:21 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(athlon 11 @ Jun 24 2007, 12:29 AM)
i mean is if the fund performance  have 100% gain in like lipper chart.after  read some Malaysia mutual fund history,i feel this is the dangerous point,most fund will be down performance after they reach this.ofcourse the 100% gain rate i am not mean for 1 year,it can be even 3 years.

Ain't that 1 year rate typically would be HIGHER than 3 years one. Then 3 years is higher than the 5 years one. Brother, please use compound gaining rate in financial...

In year 2006, the best performance fund in Malaysia is PB Growth,
1 year 32.37%,
3 year 19.74%

And, you are saying 100% ROI...

this is my strategy,if any wrong hope everyone feel free to correct me.and...ofcourse now i no more dare to wait untill get a 100% gain .....p....

hmm.gif I think you really need to do more studying instead of keep thinking that 100% gain. If got any investment vehicle that could have 100%, please let me know ASAP... notworthy.gif
cherroy
post Jun 24 2007, 05:40 PM

25,802 posts

100%, can, take times, may be 7-15 years, with good fund.

For 3 years chart or statistic, currently, it will give you quite impressive return rate record but if you track back more than 5 years + then the average will lower down because from 2004-2007, stock market (worldwide) is on the bull run stage so the lastest 3 years surely will give you quite good return.

But if you get the 3 years chart from 2000-2003, it will be very low, some may register almost 0% return rate, some poor one even record -ve return rate.

So it is not about after 3 years UT can give you handsome return rate, which a lot of people has mis-perception on it also a lot of agents talk like this especially at current situation, using past 3 years performance of UT to persuade people to buy UT.

But rather it is largely depends on market and economy situation. But for sure, historically, UT and stock market (with good quality stock) give more than 10% average return rate over long term (talking about decades on long term, not a few year)

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 24 2007, 05:41 PM
airbag_grado
post Jun 24 2007, 06:01 PM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

Near 100% percent gain take longer time(5 years) but possible, i once gained it thru cms premier.

I think this is quite a good fund, have been doing quite well. I think won 10 years best equity fund.

Think of review my porfolio, want to choose 2 unit thrusts as my core and do regular investment.

Read a article suggest that invest in balance fund and global fund. Any comments?

This post has been edited by airbag_grado: Jun 24 2007, 06:08 PM
shih
post Jun 24 2007, 07:23 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(airbag_grado @ Jun 24 2007, 06:01 PM)
Near 100% percent gain take longer time(5 years) but possible, i once gained it thru cms premier.

I think this is quite a good fund, have been doing quite well. I think won 10 years best equity fund.
Think of review my porfolio, want to choose 2 unit thrusts as my core and do regular investment which can generate at least >10% yield.

Read a article suggest that invest in balance fund and global fund. Any comments?
I've invested in a few Public Mutual Funds, it gives me a good return now, which is PEF and PIEF for less than 5 years. However, I do not think that the next 30-50% is coming soon. Market is quite high and people are worry about economy crisis, so the market sentiment would be lower for the coming few years. Unless government make some other positive announcements.
TSedifgrto
post Jun 24 2007, 09:42 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 24 2007, 05:40 PM)
100%, can, take times, may be 7-15 years, with good fund.

Personally I won't hope for 100% ROI from funding. It takes too long time as you commented. For such ROI, I would try(my best) to get from stock market. cheers.gif

edited:
I mean for one share return only(perhaps could get 100% ROI)... if by averaging all, my averaged rate from stocks is only 15 till 20%.

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Jun 24 2007, 09:50 PM
cherroy
post Jun 24 2007, 10:11 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(edifgrto @ Jun 24 2007, 09:42 PM)
Personally I won't hope for 100% ROI from funding. It takes too long time as you commented. For such ROI, I would try(my best) to get from stock market. cheers.gif

edited:
I mean for one share return only(perhaps could get 100% ROI)... if by averaging all, my averaged rate from stocks is only 15 till 20%.
That's about it. Unless you are brave enough to 'bang' on one stock only which is very very risky. Not worth the risk sometimes, what if 'bang' into stock like Transmile then. rclxub.gif, sure fainted.

So diversification is essential although sometimes it drag down the return because of certain component in your portfolio.

PS: Gov positive annoucement will only boost short term trend of the stock market eventually you needs robust economy growth and improvement in company earning to drive the market to a sustainable level. Annoucement alone is not enough.

125 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:38 AM