6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

TSedifgrto
post Nov 15 2006, 09:39 PM, updated 19y ago

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

(Disclaimer: There is not a recommendation on the examples being discussed in this particular thread(OR mentioned in any posts here) and I am (or anyone is) not responsible if any loss is suffered by any person due to this thread. As we all knew, Investments are with risks.)

-Information displayed might be obsoleted by the time you reading here. Hence, please keep yourself updated from time till time.

-I'm not any Public Mutual funds agent at all. Nor I got any employment relationship to Public Bank(and any banks globally). Some members who reading this thread might got an WRONG impression that I'm promoting Public Mutual funds. As a matter of fact, I'm an investor out of millions in the market. I responsible for what i saying here. Notwithstanding the aforesaid, I'm not guarantee myself to anyone here that, one day I could not be a Public Mutual fund agent in the future. Personally I invested quite a lot of funds. Since Public Mutual fund quite reliable, may be there is why me or anyone keep mentioning that. The fact is simple as that. Believe or not, is up to individuals here.

Guess, I would need to spend much time in this section. I do play some investment. Problem is I doing that by agent. Thus, still many stuffs I'm unaware of. Just listening to the agent/unit trust. Recently I got some $ invested in Public Savings Fund. Was quite a big amount. Therefore,... what is this actually. I'm still quite blur. However yesterday I receive a RM 180 cheque already. Is this fund good?

I was told by the agent. It's 40% for saving. 60% for investment only. I was given two choice that time. One is Public Savings Fund, the other is Public Islamic Dividend Fund. He said that Islamic Dividend Fund is much more safer than Saving. As the value only at 0.2585(buy) 0.2752(sell). While Public Savings Fund is 0.6715(sell) and 0.7151(buy). I invested at about 0.68(if not mistaken)

Anyone got funds investment?! Please share your opinions...

Tomorrow would get back here again. Thanks for viewing.

edited:
Layman's notes:
I like to make my own notes while reading. In this way, it's more efficient than just reading it. Of course, I'm just a beginner.

-The 3.75% charges make me hold the bond as long as possible. Thus, once and before any fund or bond to buy. Think carefully first. Once invest, then must wait for a long time for it to recover.

-Investment is better than fixed term deposits because of the factor of inflation. Nonetheless, as we knew, investments itself got Market risks, Particular Stock Risk, Liquidity Risk, Interest Rate Risk, credit Risk, Manager's risk, Loan financing risk, Risk of non-Compliance, Risk of Non-Compliance with Syariah Requirements, Currency risk and country risk.
sweat.gif Never list down, i also dun know got so many risks... sweat.gif

-Some people who working might need to buy a car, or a house. Everyone needs that. But these stuffs not cheap. That is why Fund and bond exist for people to plan saving in a period of time, say 3 or 5 years with HIGH interest rate yet lower risked. In a way, it indeed much better than the ordinary Fixed term deposit in our bank. Bond, Fund investment method could be 2 types, one can invest in one big amount and wait for 3 or 5 years to get high interest(this normally are just extra money). Another one is by investing monthly, it's actually a type of saving. For us to fulfill our dream.

-For the first time I heard that mutual fund/unit trust is more risk than market shares. If and when anyone listen or read this stuff. Be more careful to those people who said above. Perhaps they never buy any shares and do funding yet.

-Experiences hunt,... please refer to
Post# 65 by vincecyc
Post# 107 by stmu
Most posts by khoong25
Post# 705, 712, 713, 721 by rexis
Post# 962 by low yat 82
Post# 963 by Geminist

-Some words to keep in mind when me playing with fire(shares? Fund? Forex?)
*Risk no more than you can afford to lose, and also risk enough so that a win is meaningful. If there is no such amount, don't play. by Ed Seykota

-Basically, when you investing in Funds or so called Mutual Funds. The first day launching is the best day for hunting. As normally there will be 1% of free bonus units to be offered or some sort of other offers. Thus, please pay attention to the newspaper. or talk to your bank friends closely. It's where and how to put you at a more beneficial stage. Early birds always got something to eat.

-
QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 22 2006, 11:18 PM)
I think a lot of people don't realise the UT distribution can be taken as cash rather reinvest. Although reinvesting is not that bad, but everytime you reinvest you lose 5% from it. When you buy UT, you must fill in and instruct them to get the distribution as cash or else they will automatically reinvest for you.

Personally think that taking cash is much better than reinvest.

edifgrto: "I just make phone call to the Fund agent, being told that, as for the charging is only one time for purchasing only. While reinvesting, there is no charges at all. I'm a bit puzzled on this, what to do now is, to wait for the Fund Statement arrived. Currently I do got one fund having this case..."

-Indeed, why me so interested in these Mutual fund also known as Unit Trust(You might ask this?). Because share market is for someone much more clever than me. I made a huge lost that enough to be a lesson for me to stick with what suitable for myself(Simple as that). Just let those soldiers go to the battle field. Me more interested in lower risk, lower profits only... if any...

-Reading people make money from Share market is so easy, but people playing share market seems no one never make any lost before. My first investment made my RM 16,000.00 went down to drain. Nothing gain back,... not even one cent!

-For general information of market, economic of Malaysia
http://www.pwc.com/pdf/my/eng/publications/mamy.pdf
http://siteresources.worldbank.org/INTEAPH...sia-March06.pdf
Post #1175 by whtrader in Investment thread regarding Forex scams

-Some related websites that I might need to dig out information. Indeed, somehow... case like we went KFC for fried Chicken but we seldom(or never) visited KFC website perhaps. Therefore, same case here. Does not mean I always do reading from the sites. Then, I(or anyone) would surely make money. Just for reference, perhaps...(more to be added...) Some mutual agents inside the spoiler. Since it keeps growing. I decided to put them in Spoiler, for better viewing. sweat.gif

-Added some Fund Pricing attachments, collected from bank websites for pricing references. I'm not so sure if this fine?! If it's not permitted, I would take it out. Please let me know if it's not appropriate.

-dreamer101: What people did not tell you is in stock trading, if you do not do margin and stock option, you only lose the money that you invested in. In Forex, because of leverage and you must do levarage to make real money in forex, you can lose up to 20 times the money you put in.
Post# 1227 in Investment thread.

-louislim2: before you invest,make sure you can save your money like coins,that is the hardest part,and the most important part!!do you believe i can buy a motor cycle by cash just only i save my coins??i save until full of a big long bottle.when i count is around 6000.omg...i save for 4years,everyday throw in all my coins that if have.that it,this is the started point.you want to invest,just invest your attitude!!
Post# 1340 in Investment thread.

-luqmanz: It depends on how much return you expect to get. If your are hoping to get 25-30% ... that's almost impossible. ...
A good performing mutual fund can give return up to 15-18%.

Post# 1419 in Investment thread.

-pidah: when the Composite Index going higher, the Fund Manager will switch the Equity fund to Bond fund/Money Market Fund (Fixed Deposit) where as here you will gain more RM. But when the KLCI going down, the FM will switch back the fund frm Bond Fund to Equity Fund. (here u gain more units). As i mention before, source of U.Trust - Rise of Unit Price (Capital appreciation).
Post# 1432 in Investment thread.
edifgrto: I think I seriously would have to call my agent to ask about this switching stuff.

-pidah: and also you must remember that there are 3 type of source of return from UT which are:

1. The rise in unit price (We call it capital appreciation)
2. The annual dividend/distribution/bonus declared
3. The unit split declared.

Post# 1423 in Investment thread.

-Post# 1457 by Drian was something about Fund. However, he has not read pidah's post in 1423(which was in his previous page). Hence, his calculation becoming not accurate. To thoroughly get the calculation... you just need to throw RM 1000(probably) since the first year. Then, you would know how much income generated over the period. Drian did his work without invested real money in. And the most important thing is, not all funds are good. As luqmanz stated, not all funds are bad either. Else, there is no risk. Money would just fall from the sky. And, I won't create this thread here.

-To check the latest fund prices. It's to go to the each fund manager website to check. Alternatively, we can use The Star or OSK188. Which they allowing the public to check freely. Though me got the account with OSK188. But it's quite convenient for me to know the price without logging in. The advantages of OSK188, perhaps it allowing me to put all my invested funds in my favorite. Please note the price dated.

-For whom might interested in funding, getting high profit yield like 25% per month is impossible. However, by picking the right ones, the ranges for return on investment(ROI) for 4 weeks(1 month) are,

For selected best equity funds, higher risk
ROI, 1.13% to 3.29%

For selected best Mixed Asset funds, moderated risk
ROI, 0.55% to 3.88%

For selected best bond funds, lower risk
ROI, 1.31% to 3.50%

-Thanks to Oriental Daily News that giving me this set of information of Capital Guaranteed Funds performance as at year 2006. I have attached it for members that might interested in full capital protection fund type. Please pay attention to their average yield in 1 year. At least 6.27% annually is higher than our saving in banks.

-27th Feb 2007 is an interesting day. As when the CI dropped over 50pts what gonna happen to the funds I invested?! I better note this down for my reference here.

-to be continued later,...

Source: Note ideas from prospectus, and also some of my own opinions.

Some off-topic stuff in the SPOILER

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Apr 29 2007, 08:36 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSedifgrto
post Nov 16 2006, 02:59 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Nov 16 2006, 10:16 AM)
Public Saving is categorised under Equity Income. It is a leader in this category. You can track its performance compared with others at this website http://www.btimes.com.my/mdata_html
Look under Lipper Fund Table

As an investor, you will get yearly performance report on the fund you invested from PBMutual.  Ask your agent to explain to you how to interpret the contents if you are not familiar with it.

Thanks for the link. Now loading the pages. Take quite some time... when it's in PDF stuff?! i think my pc got some problem. Would try again later.

Yeah,... was shown a booklet. Saying that Public got its outstanding performance in the past few years. Though, i myself not so sure what is going there. Initial, the money is a Hong Leung Fixed Deposit. But I took it out to Public. As the interest rate of funding is much more higher. About 12% for 3 years right? In the booklet,... other Mutual Funds hit on average at 13% or 14% for 5 years. Looks pretty good if this is correct.

edited:
Page downloaded and printed. smile.gif Good information, now studying it(and the website as well)... Must do some homework...

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 16 2006, 10:56 AM)
I currently invested in 2 public mutual funds.
PDSF - Medium risk
PGSP - High risk

Not much movement in PGSF these days. haih

Every month I put some money into them using standing order. Just look at them as long term saving smile.gif

Gonna get a bond fund from them later. Just incase equity market turn bad so I could shift the money away.

PDSF is... Public Dividend Select Fund (now sell is 0.2893).
PGSP perhaps a typo.... ?!
Should it be PGSF - Public Global Select Fund?! Or is it a new Fund?!

Yeah,... treat it as a saving plan is good too. Much better than those Fixed Deposit, eh?

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 16 2006, 05:58 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 16 2006, 06:15 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Nov 16 2006, 10:16 AM)
As an investor, you will get yearly performance report on the fund you invested from PBMutual.  Ask your agent to explain to you how to interpret the contents if you are not familiar with it.

Now the agent just arrived. I need to listen to her first... Got so many questions to ask her.

cheers,

QUOTE(ante5k @ Nov 16 2006, 03:54 PM)
edifgrto, regarding the PB investment, do i need to go to the office to start an account? or can i just fill up a form and mail it to them?

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 16 2006, 05:18 PM)
PB Mutual always got people inside shopping center. Just approach one of them.
You can also call their office, they will assign someone to meet you too, I think.

I dun really like those in the shopping center. But true that, the bank would arrange agent to come to our place. smile.gif

TSedifgrto
post Nov 17 2006, 02:47 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

Hi all, I noticed this Predential Commodity Plus Strucured Fund closed(no selling and buying one). Was told that it's something like called 100% capital Protection Fund. Means, they use the money as a some purpose(dun know what they did actually?) But comfirming make money one. Anyway, since it's like such. Low risk, gain less.

What do you guys think about this type of fund?

edited:

Other examples are like
-Hwang Capital Guaranteed Fund I 1.1564(about-valued)
-Hwang Capital Guaranteed Fund II 1.0489(about-valued)
-Hwang Capital Guaranteed Fund III 1.0537(about-valued)

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 17 2006, 02:57 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 22 2006, 03:34 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 19 2006, 10:26 AM)
I'm not sure about the percentage you are giving.

When you say 12% for 3 years, isn't it better to put in FD? FD gives 4% per annum, that's 12% for 3 years. It's the same, so why put in Mutual Fund?

Sorry mate, was busy doing some calculation last 2 days ago. That is just a rough figure... and if I said, unit trust/mutual fund for sure making money. and like sky high margin. I might be in troubles later. sweat.gif

Let's see one example here, for studying purposes only. While data collected are real time. And it's really that price at that moment. You could check from Share Website for genuinity... if you interested.

PB ASIA EQUITY FUND as at 22th Nov 2006
Initial Unit Price as at 5th July 2006 0.2500 RM
Amount invested 12,000.00 RM
Free bonus units 480.00 Units
No.of Units held i.e (Amount/Initial Unit Price)+Free units, 48,480.00 Units in total.

Current unit selling price 0.2811 RM
Current Total value 13,627.73 RM
Value increased as at now 1,627.73 RM

As you can see above... it yield at about 13.56% from July 2006 to Nov 2006, in lesser than 6 month time. Personally, I like Unit Trust much more Shares... Lesser headaches. If mate the person above... will you sell it?! but I think it's better to keep loh. A long term investment... keep it for 1 or 2 years. biggrin.gif

edited: typos

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 22 2006, 03:49 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 22 2006, 06:02 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

Agree 100%. I also got some shares. But not as easy as Mutual Funds. About 3pm today, I just bought 10000 units of one of them. Dropping now, biggrin.gif

edited: mistake.

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 22 2006, 06:06 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 22 2006, 08:12 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

I think must have some bank industry people in the forum. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Bel0V3 @ Nov 18 2006, 08:10 AM)
Yo Ppl Ppl thumbup.gif ....so wat portfolio investment fund is the most hot in town nowadays??....or any unit trust fund or capital guaranteed fund that is just started and performing quite stable??

Info info dude sweat.gif ...seeing u all debate in here n like this make me quite interested...
I heard from my part of town that the portfolio investment offered by banks are slightly more better than the others...comment comment??... rclxm9.gif

thanks..will get back to this post...so interested drool.gif  drool.gif

Public and Prudential performing quite well. But, keep in mind that, Public leads majority. You can start do some researches from there. I think it's quite logical to say that, banks got more advantages over this issue.

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 19 2006, 10:34 AM)
When they said want to increase fund size, is it good or bad news? How it will affect the current fund holder?

Good news, one of my fund units got increased in this coming December. It's time to buy(for other investors), but not recommended to sell(for current owner, as unit price would dropped). That is why the fund increased by time goes...

Correct me if I'm wrong...

QUOTE(Aggronax @ Nov 19 2006, 10:51 PM)
nowadays alot of unit trust customer convert into capital guaranteed investment.

most of them from rural are changing dramatically into those capital guaranteed stuff.  sweat.gif

I always heard they say 'unit trust cannot be trusted 1 ~'  shocking.gif

hehehe, you just heard what the clients said. but if I dun trust them. Then, why would I bother the funds then? Anyway, I knew I gonna be careful myself too. As if me dun understand. I would ask him/her whenever if necessary. Decision is mutually in the owner's hand. Unit trust giving their more professional services and advices. wub.gif

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Nov 22 2006, 06:09 PM)
whoa... 10,000... rich man! I went in intra day 5000 shares oso legs shaking like uncontrollably.. kekekeke..

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Nov 22 2006, 06:18 PM)
maybe it's 0.2 per unit only. biggrin.gif

That's right! Not much money indeed. tongue.gif
Once I saw one of them, just 1 unit 52 RM. Buy 1 in 1 day, is enough man. XD

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Nov 22 2006, 06:13 PM)
Edit, mutual funds have its pitfalls too... as  a matter of greed, I lost out on the last cycle of switch... so I endured 4%-5% of downturn only for it to be recovered after 3 mths or so.. phew... but happy to report as at today I am making on average 16% annualized return p.a over the last 2 years. If this goes on for the next 10 years... I think my EPF funds will pale in comparison with the funds I have in mutual fund.. smile.gif

So nice to have this EPF Members' Investment Scheme!
Yeah, I did read from newspaper before too. Public Funds performing quite well. 15 and 16% margin on average. Just let it rolls and accumulating. smile.gif

QUOTE(pidah @ Nov 22 2006, 06:25 PM)
Some additional info - current fund returns within 6 months alrdy covered the 6.5% service charged and the investment starting to generate profits. But then why ppl still complaining about high s/charge imposed whereas they earns lot more than that.

Better keep the investment at least 3 years, cuz sometimes the fund cannot really perform within that 1-2 yrs time.
Just a reminder - not all unit trust funds could give u that higher returns and some can give u loses, so as an advice; you must know where should you put your money with cuz in U.Trust, its all about investment and risks.

pidah

Thank you so much for your valuable advice here. Appreciated. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 22 2006, 06:26 PM)
but you dun always get 15-20% consistently wo

That is why some people got lost too. I mainly would play safe. Too risky or not familiar ones, I dare not touch at all.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 22 2006, 06:33 PM)
Recently, equity mutual fund local or especially global one all should perform quite well due to recent surge in worldwide stock market, should be at leat double digit gain, if not consider quite poor already. But you can't expect every year the stock market will perform like this for consecutively non-stop.

If the world economy is not well managed or unforseen event happens then might enter into recession then stock market will plunge also. Bare in mind, as previous forumer said, there is no such thing of park your fund into it for 3 or 5 years then expect xx% return from it -> wrong mindset in investing in mutual fund or stock market. Market/company condition can change drastically from time to time as well as its fund. Just like previously, year 2000, everyone said technology stock is the future, then everyone rush into tech company, but dotcom bubble burst afterwards which still not recovered until now.

The return rate might xxx% after few years, might also mean -xx% (negative, losing) after few years, so there is no certainty, don't be fooled by previous track record said that xx% return since past track record does mean or guarantee future return rate. But past track record has its usage to show how well the manager is managing the fund.

Unpredicted outcomes, plus some excitements like dun know when it drops or raise. Sometime making people in Share market so nervous. laugh.gif I just played a little bit. Not big enough to push me into corner. No worries... smile.gif

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 22 2006, 08:14 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 23 2006, 01:52 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(leekk8)
Is the Fund Manager decide which stock to buy? Or there is a committee in the Fund House to decide which stock and how much to buy?

Hi mate, I dun think so. The investor the one that decide which to buy based on what were suggested/recommended by the Fund Manager. They are funds, Bonds, Balanced, Umbrella categories in this issue. Not really that the share as you mentioned. Basically we are not discussing shares, but Unit Trust/Mutual Funds.

About how much to buy,... I think the minimum allowed always affordable by public. Thus, how much to buy is really depends on how much you got. Not necessary 1 fixed amount. Any figures like 1234.56 RM, or 5643.21 RM. Then, the number of units bought by you can be calculated.

About shares, today my agent advised me not to sell anything yet. So, I just chose to listen to what he suggested. Noted, I won't blame him if it's a wrong decision. Perhaps we could talk about shares over the Stock Market in Malaysia thread(or that everything investment thread, got 78 pages). I has yet really joining there. Was just busy reading first... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 23 2006, 01:57 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 23 2006, 04:46 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Nov 23 2006, 04:14 PM)
I think you misunderstand what I'm saying. I'm talking about equities funds here, not stock. I wish to know how equities fund manager decide to buy which stocks for the funds. Is it himself alone deciding on that, or there is a committee deciding.

The amount of stock I mentioned here, is not the amount we buy the unit. I mean is it the fund manager decide how much of a particular stock being bought for the fund. I'm talking about the operation of mutual funds.

Is it? sorry if me misunderstood. So, Funding is stock too?! Me a very newbie to this stuff too. sweat.gif

edited: initially you said,... talking about equities funds, not stock. but then,... you said how equities fund manager decide to buy which stocks for the funds. I'm confused now. >_<

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 23 2006, 04:53 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 23 2006, 05:00 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

Oh... hohoho... like that. Thank you so much for the explanation. Normally I dun care much one. I just care if the funds got increased not? smile.gif

TSedifgrto
post Nov 23 2006, 05:13 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Nov 23 2006, 05:05 PM)
The funds increase or not also depends on how the funds buy and sell stocks.
Another thing is, if you know that the fund manager is good, we may refer to the annual report, to check which stocks he is buying, so that you also can buy those stock in KLSE... smile.gif

Well, my thought is very simple only. Just let the professionals monitoring our funds is much better than me go into the battle field. There are quite a few categories me not so sure yet. How is this Balanced type all about? I can guess something about equity, Money Market, Bond funds doing. But Balanced funds... ? Mate got any ideas?!

edited:
I think I found your answer already. As to those Funds, you could check the Funds Prospectus. Inside got explanation on everything you asked. Like the Organisation Structure of the Investment Department for the particular fund. yeah,... a team of professionals, as I seeing here. Practically, I have no idea. Let me give you one example, like got Investment committee, CEO, Deputy CEO, GM-Investment, Deputy GM, then under Deputy GM got 2 groups. One Fixed Income, another one is Equities.

Under Fixed Income got 1 Assistant GM, 1 Senior Portfolio Manager, 1 Portfolio Manager, 1 Deputy manager, 4 executives and 1 Senior Assistant.

Under Equities got 1 Senior Porfolio Manager, 4 portfolio managers, 1 manager, 1 assistant manager, 3 senior executives and 10 Executives.

Arr,... actually documentation AND implementation might not be same. And if mate making phone call to those bank people. They would tell the same thing too. As to give you more security insurance, i think.

How much they would buy stock?! Private and confidential to them?!

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 23 2006, 05:35 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 24 2006, 05:10 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Nov 24 2006, 04:09 PM)
but some said UT no nid management urself, but MF will need the management urself. So it mean still got the difference?

btw, i seemed like not understand. seems normaly the UT/MF dividen is higher than FD, y ppl will choose FD then? for shorter period?

Both are 100% the same. I asked the agent about this too. Funny answer I got. Because the public still not really aware of how to manage their $. When mentioned unit trust, they lack of confidence. As a matter of fact, it needs time to learn something. Then, it needs courage to put some $ into other people's hand. Again, economic status bad like such(referring to the past, still recovering now). Not many people interested in taking risks.

Edited:
For one of the new funds, i'm still making a lost... No choice, the transaction fee is there... Thus, pick the right one. Then only hentam dia kuat-kuat with patience...

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 24 2006, 04:35 PM)
Seems like a lot of people don't understand how UT works.

Well, i think... I'm catching up a little bit day by day. smile.gif

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 24 2006, 05:18 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 24 2006, 06:28 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Nov 24 2006, 06:03 PM)
Okay, they are the same. Then method to choose the right to invest?

The methods?! That is why I'm here... smile.gif

Got people said, read the background information. As you need to know who the boss behind?! Who would doing investment for you? RHB bank? Public bank? OCBC bank? Also, like some basic stuffs... If it's a new fund, what gonna do with it? How would it grow normally? It's 50.0001% correctly to say that for new fund, you hit it early. You could earn more.

Then, for existing funds. Normally the agent would advise people to do regular investments. Means, paying monthly but not one lump sum.

Fund categories also important. Like how the fund being categorised? Like one equity Fund for example...
20% for Kuala Lumpur Composite Index
20% for Tokyo Stock Price Index
20% for Korea Composite Stock Price Index
40% for MSCI Golden Dragon Index...

Then, Bond typs Funds are majority or all for Fixed term deposit. I'm not so sure about this already...

Stuffs like that. It's like little seashells on the beach. It's there, we are just picking it up. smile.gif

PS: my comments is very conservative, huh? Just remembers, there are risks somewhere around... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 24 2006, 06:34 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 24 2006, 06:46 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Nov 24 2006, 06:31 PM)
Ok...then wat will u recommend?  tongue.gif

My recommendation is awesome!!! Please refer to the first paragraph of the first post in this thread. It's marked in red for easy attention. smile.gif After you read it, then only click the spoiler below. Thanks.

cheers,

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Nov 24 2006, 06:32 PM)
whoa.. regular savings? absolute no no... unless it is into a Bond Fund hence earning FD rates without having to put up a lump sum. But if you are looking at equity funds, I trust you would really want to smell the whisp of the wind in KLSE before you plunk your money in long term. Timing is everything. Whether you will make 15% pa of 0% pa for the 1st year.

So,... in fact Equity Fund quite risky. And also more profitable... eh?

Today really something... man... closing at 1060... rclxms.gif

According to that agent,... For existing Funds, doing that could minimize some risks. As the funds might vary. Slowly changing... I used that for long term investment. Thus, I dun mind if it drop for a while... slowly climbing up, it's more my style. biggrin.gif

edited:
could it because of, if regular investments. Then, when investing that time. If the price is low. Then, the owner get more profits during the process?

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 24 2006, 06:56 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 24 2006, 08:40 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Nov 24 2006, 08:04 PM)
Ops....again?
well, u too like the book or u r the write? tongue.gif
so hardworking promote the book.
10x to u too if u is purely want to share good thing with us. Can take up jokes, right?
No... that one is really a CiFu. I'm still reading that thread now. Still not reaching the page he mentioned. I'm just in page 19 of total pages of 78...

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Nov 24 2006, 07:52 PM)
I mean your agent has his/her own ideas but I personally do not subscribe to those as I believe even if its for long term, I bet you this, today you try putting in money to unit trust and do a computation 5 years from today. I can almost bet my last dollar that you will not see even 10% pa. You will be lucky if you dont lose money at the end of 5 years. That is if you do not switch at the right time. If you put it monthly, it only means that you could put in $$$ when the price is at its peak. Just imagine under market conditions would you buy high and sell low? Can we see the agent's agenda here? Monthly investment = monthly income for them.. no matter how small, sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit...

Mate do have points here. Personally I'm still very new to Funds. I would take your advice seriously here. As some of my money is really there. Would consider switching when I got enough knowledge on when to switch, what to switch. In actual fact, I'm learning... Thank you very much.

Back to discussion, for some people. They won't get much money every month. And the way they invest also different. Your way for sure is quite dynamic, as you got experiences. However, some people are not. Their case might not be the same as yours. They treat it as a type of saving plan only with higher risk than Fixed term deposit. Thus, higher return in their book. True that, monthly investment got charges. But for some people, they are really doing it.

For your information,
One is 16.74% and another one is 14.78% now... Should I take out the money now? Both also in one year. What is your recommendation... ? mate...

edited: post #59 in this thread very attractive to me. Think I got to see some newspaper report or validated news. Then, would make decision on that... biggrin.gif

cheers,

QUOTE(countdown @ Nov 24 2006, 08:02 PM)
Author: Jeffrey Gan.
ISBN: 983-2431-88-3
Title: Know Your Unit Trust Investment.
Price: RM27.90.

Thank you so much for the tip. Would try to see if can buy this book for reference. smile.gif

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 24 2006, 08:57 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 29 2006, 10:16 AM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

Yesterday, Public Far-East Dividend Fund got its first day launched. Anyone got any fishes there? I put a little net there...

The agent told me it's different. As it's a Income type of fund. What is it all about actually? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 29 2006, 10:18 AM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 29 2006, 07:59 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Nov 29 2006, 07:16 PM)
Public Far-East Dividend Fund is quite similiar with Public Dividend Select Fund, only PFEDF portfolio will based on China, SG, HK, and other approved markets. Stocks with high dividend yield will be the target. The main objective is to provide annual income and capital growth is secondary.

I still not so understand... sweat.gif

But strange,... why is that not being listed in OSK188's unit trust section? Is it just too new, hence not being listed yet? But when I went to Public site. It got the details?

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/page.aspx?name=PFEDF

Only got the Public Far-East Select in OSK188... ?!

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 29 2006, 08:03 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 29 2006, 09:03 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

~~5ive~~, you could read post# 705, 712, 713 by rexis in http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=200069&st=700 Over there got some interesting explanation. smile.gif

QUOTE(shih @ Nov 29 2006, 08:25 PM)
edifgrto, the fund still in lanching period which means that it is not started yet until after 18 DEC.
Public Mutual official site will have all the details that you want to know about the new fund.

I see. Must wait till 18 December then only can see the details online one. Thank you for the explanation.

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Nov 29 2006, 09:06 PM
TSedifgrto
post Nov 30 2006, 02:06 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 30 2006, 01:55 PM)
Some banks can offer as high as 3% bonus unit if buy at a bigger amount which is negotiable.

Hi mate, may I know how big amount is considered as big-amount(ed)?!

TSedifgrto
post Dec 1 2006, 01:11 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(ante5k @ Dec 1 2006, 10:44 AM)
this thread sound like a public mutual only smile.gif

CI keeps going up up up, when is it coming down?

Year end coming soon.....

edited to add : i'm not accusing anyone of anything smile.gif just a statement only. Personally though i think PB should thank lowyat.net for the spread of word. Maybe should ask them to take up a few advertisment banner smile.gif

Well, you just post nothing better than hoping the CI to go down. And you only see Public Mutual, while never see Hong Leung banner, and Hwang Capital Guarantee, Prudetial stuffs being mentioned.

One advice for you, read more would help you to post something better...

edited: typo

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Dec 1 2006, 01:21 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:40 AM