22 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Need New Notebook?Need Recomendation? v26, Please Follow Format :)

DS_Legacy
post Sep 24 2015, 05:05 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(greenleafx @ Sep 24 2015, 05:01 PM)
Hmm, i'll to decide again after getting the post-nego price lol.

Is there  a great noticeable diferrence between the two processors? Or will i get almost similar gaming experience from both laptops?

Another thing is  the dell warranty thingy, i dont know  if laptops break down frequently  in the first two years of purchase but i see a lot of people are recommending dell because  of its warranty, is it really worth it?
The difference between the two processors is that the i5-5200U is more power saving and is created for a longer battery life. Not much difference in gaming experience. But if you really wanna compare, K501LX has the better specs. Dell onsite warranty is the best in Malaysia so far. In within 2 working days, your laptop can be fixed. If an Asus laptop has spoiled and you wish to claim the warranty, you have to go to their shop. They will send them to their service centre. That will take weeks. sweat.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 24 2015, 05:41 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(greenleafx @ Sep 24 2015, 05:30 PM)
Understood smile.gif

But most probably i'll go for the asus 1 because i love the slim design, the larger screen and also the larger capacity and battery life like you said

And i think the probability for a laptop to spoil frequently within the first two years of  purchase should be not that high sweat.gif maybe depends on luck i think.

Anyway,  Thanks for your advice bro biggrin.gif
Yeah, sometimes it's all about luck. People say Lenovo has lotsa Lemon products. But I only encounter a wifi problem once in 3 years time. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 24 2015, 07:46 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(greenleafx @ Sep 24 2015, 06:17 PM)
But asus should be more dependable than lenovo right? 😂

As long as they  have 2 years warranty, i don't mind waiting for them to repair if really got problem lol

But dont think is worth to pay for higher price and get lower specs just for bettr warranty
Nah, back in 2012-2013, Lenovo and HP warranty can fight with Dell one. But dropping since last year. Apa boleh buat? laugh.gif But still better than Asus. Asus replaces a hardware only took a month. That was what my brother told me.

Some people use laptop to work. Hence, storing important information/homework/presentation slides in the laptop. If no repair ASAP, how to continue work? That's why Dell onsite warranty is so popular. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 25 2015, 09:54 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(DEVICLOT @ Sep 25 2015, 09:48 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - <RM3,000
3. Usage - Work & multimedia
4. Preferred
a) FHD resolution
b) Light weight, travel a lot
c) Good battery life
d) 14" or below
Since you don't do gaming, Lenovo U41-70. thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 25 2015, 11:31 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(DEVICLOT @ Sep 25 2015, 10:43 AM)
How about Asus UX305FA?
This model put up a great competition to U41-70. Is also a good choice! Much lighter than the U41-70 since it is only 1.2kg. However, M-5Y10 is a much weaker processor than the i7-5500U. So think wisely. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 26 2015, 01:04 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Sep 25 2015, 09:39 PM)
Hi everyone, I'm looking for a cheap laptop, planning to put in an ssd of my own and upgrade the ram myself, so specs don't really matter, as long as it has a good build quality? Thanks again!

1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - 2k max
3. Usage - Web browsing, Movies, Coding
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - At least 15"
Which coding software are you using? hmm.gif

QUOTE(vrephyr @ Sep 25 2015, 10:29 PM)
Hello sifu. need help

1. Preferred Brand (Asus, MSI)
2. Budget - RM2000-RM3000
3. Gaming and some college works
4. 15 inch. 1920x1080 Full HD. ( i dont really know what is the difference between full hd or non hd screen) so do tell me.
The resolution of Full HD (High Definition) is 1920 pixels wide, and 1080 pixels high.
The resolution of HD (High Definition) is 1280 pixels wide and 720 pixels high.

The higher the resolution, the clearer the display and the easier it is to see/read. Many will ask if the difference be noticeable? Yes, it'll be a huge difference in FHD. If you work on your laptop frequently and like multitasking a lot, or displaying lots of information or pages at once, FHD is great. It's also better for most multimedia purposes. Compared to HD, FHD looks far sharper and will make appropriately scaled movies look far better. For example, if you watch a movie in 1080p on your FHD screen, you'll notice the difference. If you're only watching 720p movies, however, the difference between the two resolutions won't be noticeable. So assuming you enjoy full HD movies or do a lot of work on your laptop, go for the FHD, very worth! biggrin.gif

Since you are using it for gaming, there is where the FHD will go to waste a bit. Because GPU plays an important role in rendering the graphic properly. For instance, on a more graphically intensive games, a single GT940M cannot properly render graphics at that resolution and still maintain a good frame rate (assuming other eye candy is maxed out). For older games though, or ones that simply aren't graphically intensive, the FHD will make a huge difference compared to the far lower HD resolution. Hope this helps. thumbup.gif

Check out this model. Specs wise, this model is good. But the after sales service is not good. icon_rolleyes.gif
Asus K501LX-DM006H 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GTX950M, W8.1)

QUOTE(ian90 @ Sep 26 2015, 09:44 AM)
hello hello?? any sifus out there can recommend above?
If you want 15" and slim with full HD, they are usually more than 2kg at your current budget. biggrin.gif
1. Asus K501LX-DM006H 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GTX950M, W8.1)
2. Lenovo Z51-70 80K600-6WMJ 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-5500U, 1TB, 4GB, AMD MESO XT, W8.1)

QUOTE(Rty456 @ Sep 26 2015, 09:59 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: ASUS
2. Budget: RM6500 max
3. Usage: gaming
4. Preferred size: 15"+

Also much appreciated if someone can link me to a catalog or pricelist for laptops. Thank you!
Both below 6.5k. thumbup.gif
Asus ROG G751JT-T7050H Gaming 17.3" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-4710HQ, 8GB, 1TB, 128GB SSD, NV GTX970M, W8.1)
Asus ROG G501JW-FI118H 15.6" Gaming Laptop/ Notebook (i7-4720HQ, 16GB, 1TB, 128GB SSD, NV GTX960M 4GB, W8.1)
DS_Legacy
post Sep 26 2015, 03:25 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(ian90 @ Sep 26 2015, 02:48 PM)
Thanks sifu. I found the Asus K501LX also... (and also lenovo yoga 500). Now looking into the Z51.
Anyway, do you know if any of them can be user-upgradeable? I'm planning to stick an SSD into it since non of them come default with SSD.
Thanks!
Personally, I really don't think that the Yoga 500 is a good product. It has a relatively low brightness, particularly in battery mode. Another bad thing is the reflective screen make it almost useless outside in the sun. Moreover, the short battery life and weight makes the product even disappointing despite the fact that it has other cool features/specs. sweat.gif

The Z-51 has 15.6" FHD and comes with powerful JBL speakers. Good for people like you who watch movies a lot. But the battery life and weight is a big drawback for the laptop. Anyway, if you feel like going for the Z51, you can upgrade the HDD to SSD. No problem with that. So, think wisely before making your final decision. biggrin.gif

PS: If you don't mind 14", go for a 14" Lenovo U41-70. This model comes with full 256gb full SSD. thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 26 2015, 10:11 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vrephyr @ Sep 26 2015, 08:05 PM)
Wow, great, full lengthy explanation. this helps me alot. So, if i take HD laptop but not FHD, and i use it for the purpose of gaming, this does help me to cut the cost right? do you have any other suggestion on that? what's important is the processor that on par with the graphic card. because mostly laptops with 2k price ranges they still wont be able to do good multitasking with windows 8. I need proper help as i wanna go buy it ASAP.  sad.gif but if i take FHD laptop, does the graphic card can help me on enhancing better graphics?
There is a price difference between FHD and HD. If you go for HD laptop, you are definitely going to save a bit. And one question here. What game do you play? hmm.gif
Since you do gaming, then it is good to invest on at least an i5. i5 is already good enough for gaming and multi-tasking. The utmost important thing that matters is a good GPU. FHD with so-so graphic card won't enhance your gaming experience. Since you are planning to get a FHD for yourself, go for a GTX graphic card too. It will utilise the FHD and you will notice a great difference in resolution in your gaming experience. With you current budget, K501LX is the one of the best you can get. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Sep 26 2015, 09:32 PM)
Eclipse mostly, nothing that has any particularly intensive requirements I think?  hmm.gif
If you are okay with DOS laptop, you can go for this model. biggrin.gif
Asus X554LJ-XX104D 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 500GB, 4GB, NV GT920M, NO Windows)

DS_Legacy
post Sep 27 2015, 11:44 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vrephyr @ Sep 27 2015, 02:42 AM)
I am playing CS: Go, NBA2K16 and FIFA16 mostly for my PC gaming.  Want a stable fps tongue.gif

Do you have any other suggestion rather than K501LX? MSI or HP or something? If the laptop equipped with FHD, pretty sure that GPU that comes with the laptop is good enough to run FHD pictures. Also I'm scared that i5 5200u cant take too much work on it  hmm.gif

Edited: I found this: MSI CX61 (2QF-1496MY), I7-4712MQ,8GB,1TB,2GB GT940M 15.6' NOTEBOOK
This MSI CX61 doesn't come with a FHD screen fyi. biggrin.gif

If you wish to go for FHD in MSI or HP, you have to squeeze out more than your current budget.
MSI GP62 2QE-068MY Leopard Gaming 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-4210H, 1TB, 4GB, NV GTX940M, W10H)
HP Pavilion Touchsmart 15-ab062TX 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-5500U, 2TB, 12GB, NV 940M, W8.1)

Both models come with better processors than the Asus K501LX but weaker GPU. If you have more budget, you can opt for the MSI GP62 imho. Powerful processor that is able to utilise the GTX GPU for your better gaming experience.
DS_Legacy
post Sep 27 2015, 11:53 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(5hadow @ Sep 27 2015, 11:41 AM)
hello all sifus,

i'm looking to purchase a laptop for my wife,

1. Preferred Brand: Any reliable brand
2. Budget - RM2000-RM2500
3. internet and photoshop/ lightroom usage
4. size did not matter

Photoshop/lightroom require good processor to handle the photos. Are you okay with DOS laptop? If you do,
1. Dell Inspiron 14 5458-50452G-DOS Laptop/ Notebook (i7-5500U, 500GB, 4GB, NV 920M, NO Windows)
2. HP 15-ac075TX 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-5500U, 1TB, 8GB, AMD R5 M330, NO Windows)
3. Dell Inspiron 14 5459-20452G-DOS Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 500GB, 4GB, AMD R5 M335, NO Windows)
4. Acer Aspire E5-574G-54DV 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV 920M, W10H)

Hope this helps. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 27 2015, 01:25 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(5hadow @ Sep 27 2015, 12:25 PM)
thanks for the suggestion, DOS also can should not be a problem eventhough a pre-installed windows may save some hassle for me lol. by the way, i'm not very familiar with Acer maybe can elighten me how reliable is their product?
Many may say that Acer products are faulty and their after sales service is atrocious. But every brand has their respective QC. To me, Acer is still a reliable brand. However, just because of certain notebook have their own problem and fail to meet their expectation, they blame the brand. Hence, the bad name. Based on personal experience, my father has been using Acer for almost 5 years without problem. Acer is gradually improving but their after sales service still not very good. biggrin.gif

Here is another post by a forumer. He regretted for selling off his 3 Acer laptops. thumbup.gif
Here
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2015, 01:00 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(5hadow @ Sep 28 2015, 11:42 PM)
Ok bro, already out checking some near store for your recommendation unfortunately still cannot found the Acer. From what i heard, the 574G is the latest version and did not arrive yet to their store (perhaps). But one of the Acer salesman did recommend me to use AMD processor, the E5-522 824N (using AMD A-Series A8-7410 Processor) but i'm not very convinced on how they fare compare to i5 (5th or 6th Gen). Maybe any sifus can help? thanks  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Don't go for AMD. Their tech far behind Intel ady. That salesman lol sweat.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2015, 10:05 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(AppleForMyLife91 @ Sep 29 2015, 01:41 AM)
Im looking for a laptop with Nvidia GTX 950 inside.

1. Preferred Brand- no preferred brand
2. Budget- lowest price possible
3. Preferred laptop:
- must have Nvidia GTX950
- Or can play games such as COD, Battlefield in medium to high setting without problem.
4. Usage - gaming

Basically i looking for cheapest laptop with Nvidia GTX950 inside or Any laptop which can support these FPS games without any problem. =D
Asus K501LX thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2015, 10:30 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vrephyr @ Sep 27 2015, 04:56 PM)
I also found this ASUS ROG GL552JX. Price tag is 2800 something. between this 2 laptop which one do you think is good? Should forget the HP one because its too pricey. The MSI Leopard is nice but somehow ASUS Rog came...  rclxub.gif
This ROG build quality is quite cheap. Plastic fabrication. It looks cheap. Moreover, you don't wanna carry a mammoth weight laptop around. 2.6kg is too much. Go for the MSI Leopard imho. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2015, 12:30 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Sep 29 2015, 11:27 AM)
any recommendation?
Since you only do D2. It doesn't really require a very good graphic card. You can opt for the new Dell 5459. However, if you want a more reliable GPU but older model, go for Dell 7447 DOS. biggrin.gif
Dell Inspiron 14 7447-21454G-DOS Laptop/ Notebook (i5-4210H, 500GB, 4GB, NV GTX850M, NO Windows)
Dell Inspiron 14 5459-50414G-W10 Laptop/ Notebook (i7-6500U, 1TB, 4GB, AMD R5 M335, W10H)
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2015, 03:47 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 29 2015, 02:53 PM)
DELL INSPIRON 7447 LAPTOP
4th Gen Intel Core i5-4210H Processor(3M Cache,up to 3.50 GHz)
N-SERIES(FreeDOS)
500GB 5400rpm SATA 6Gbs
4GB DDR3L(4GBx1)
Tray load DVD Drive(Reads and Writes to DVD/CD)
Dell 2.0 Speakers and Subwoofer NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M 4GB DDR3
Integrated 10/100/1000 Ethernet Port 3 in 1 media card reader supporting SD,SDHC,SD3.0
802.11ac+Bluetooth 4.0,Dual Band 2.4&5 GHz,1x1
LCD back cover-Black 14.0 inch LED Backlit Display with Anti Glare and HD Resolution(1366x768)
Integrated Widescreen HD Webcam,dual digital microphones 65 WHr,6-Cell Battery
1 Year Warranty
Rm2400
Wahhh now so cheap. Haha

This post has been edited by DS_Legacy: Sep 29 2015, 03:48 PM
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2015, 04:01 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 29 2015, 03:58 PM)
Well, i5 proc and not FullHD. Free Dos too
But the price dropped right?
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2015, 05:19 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 29 2015, 05:08 PM)
haha... u wan pc or not... i just collected 26pc hp elite 8200 mini tower.. i5 -2400 wif monitor for RM1000
My laptop also 3rd gen liao. How can I buy a low end pc? tongue.gif
I'm looking for stuff to build a rig also la. Still planning. Don't know want which processor and gpu yet. hmm.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2015, 05:23 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 29 2015, 04:02 PM)
Pretty much. It better drop lol. With 6th gen proc now and new GPUs and not FullHd.
Yeah, FHD is getting more common these days. Time to aim for QHD. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Sep 29 2015, 04:26 PM)
Please recommend notworthy.gif

Brand: NO Lenovo or china brand, anyother is OK
Budget: under 1.5k
Usage: uni assignment and light media, not for playing game or heavy software.
Screen size: prefer 14" and flipable like transformer/switch
Flipable 14" under 1.5k one quite lag one wor. You sure ah? hmm.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2015, 11:33 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(*************** @ Sep 29 2015, 11:08 PM)
1. Preferred Brand- dun care as long gooding
2. Budget- rm800 max
3. Preferred laptop: i3 or i5. Duwan amd if can.
4. Usage - engineering stuff such catia, simufact etc.

Basically i looking for cheapest laptop, secondhand oso fine.
800 cannot get new i3 or i5 la lol

22 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0677sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:20 AM