Model Kits Gundam & Mecha modelling thread V37, Ver Revive

:3mushy:3
post Jan 6 2016, 01:40 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(jetjet92 @ Jan 6 2016, 01:32 PM)
I actually tried chrome spray paint on the stand (originally dark blue one) and the result just look like silver, doesn't really have chrome effect. So... it is impossible to achieve that effect like the picture by using spray paint? so sad to hear this..  planning to get an airbrush, but wallet so tight ah..
For smooth chrome, I don't think normal spray cans can do it, most of the time you'll end up with hazy chrome, unrefined reflection.
It is viable with airbrush because you can set the correct pressure and mixture of the paint.

To me the second best, and the best step I've done is chrome powder, but it is quite expensive and the powder stock is always almost zero in local market.

The best way is of course to electroplate the piece with chromium.

heally82
post Jan 6 2016, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(jetjet92 @ Jan 6 2016, 01:32 PM)
I actually tried chrome spray paint on the stand (originally dark blue one) and the result just look like silver, doesn't really have chrome effect. So... it is impossible to achieve that effect like the picture by using spray paint? so sad to hear this..  planning to get an airbrush, but wallet so tight ah..
this is wat you can get from chrome powder, glossy black base coat with chrome powder rub on top, cant easily top coat it and easily rub off if u dont usually i use for area that is hard to reach, available in china

this is wat u can achieve with air brush with the terms i mentioned with chrome paints also easily rub off but better than above top coat it also will slightly loose its shine but polish will do

all and all the chrome shine is actually an effect create upon glossy black below, just that usually these fine silver pigment paint wont hold on the surface that strong, top coat it will loose its shine because the top coat will roughens the surface but can polish it back to recover the shine but with care like mushy mentioned.

the problem here with your spray can is that chrome effect require very fine pigment burst out little by little to gives the shine, spray can almost impossible to do this
Nawar
post Jan 6 2016, 06:53 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Jan 6 2016, 10:33 AM)
Actually p-bandai stuff is not so expensive (most of the time it's the same as the suggested retail price of the non-p-bandai counterpart)... if you live in Japan that is whistling.gif
can i still purchase overseas stuff from you if its cheaper?

Exiled_Gundam
post Jan 6 2016, 08:19 PM

550 posts

H
QUOTE(Nawar @ Jan 6 2016, 06:53 PM)
can i still purchase overseas stuff from you if its cheaper?
The proxy returned back to malaysia permanently already sad.gif
xein
post Jan 7 2016, 06:19 AM

25 posts

Guys, anyone with a psvita?
Ready your money for March 2016.
Gundam Breaker 3 is coming!!!

Recent twitter shows a psycho zaku2 from thunderbolt is in the game and also kshatriya.
falseapocalypse
post Jan 7 2016, 01:50 PM

QUOTE(xein @ Jan 7 2016, 06:19 AM)
Guys, anyone with a psvita?
Ready your money for March 2016.
Gundam Breaker 3 is coming!!!

Recent twitter shows a psycho zaku2 from thunderbolt is in the game and also kshatriya.
sigh.. hg psycho zaku thunderbolt with it 50+ thrusters.. still hunting for it. cry.gif
xein
post Jan 7 2016, 01:55 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(falseapocalypse @ Jan 7 2016, 01:50 PM)
sigh.. hg psycho zaku thunderbolt with it 50+ thrusters.. still hunting for it. cry.gif
There were some in Detoyz seremban. A bit pricey.
TheEvilMan
post Jan 7 2016, 01:58 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

saw a bunch of it last month in gamersarena, trying to grab one the following week and all gone sweat.gif
heally82
post Jan 7 2016, 02:42 PM

since theres a full armor gundam widely available from china (if u know wat i mean) it will be zaku turn to be de-rare-rify soon.

so those who hold the kit n sell high wont last for long, also now the series been release soon gonna be new kit for thunderbolt also so why pay more for the old kits if theres an improve ver?

anyway kinda shock of the high res barbatos release price 15k yen ans thats preorder price! i rather go for pg then...
jetjet92
post Jan 7 2016, 02:50 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(heally82 @ Jan 6 2016, 02:37 PM)
this is wat you can get from chrome powder, glossy black base coat with chrome powder rub on top, cant easily top coat it and easily rub off if u dont usually i use for area that is hard to reach, available in china

this is wat u can achieve with air brush with the terms i mentioned with chrome paints also easily rub off but better than above top coat it also will slightly loose its shine but polish will do

all and all the chrome shine is actually an effect create upon glossy black below, just that usually these fine silver pigment paint wont hold on the surface that strong, top coat it will loose its shine because the top coat will roughens the surface but can polish it back to recover the shine but with care like mushy mentioned.

the problem here with your spray can is that chrome effect require very fine pigment burst out little by little to gives the shine, spray can almost impossible to do this
Yeah, after watching few videos from youtube finally I have idea about this chrome or metallic effect thingy with using airbrush liao, seems like the effect can be easily achieved by using gloss black as base coat and add another spray layer of alclad II. But I wonder where can we get those alclad II around KL area??

Link of the youtube video: https://youtu.be/Vrxxw52hFnc (The effect is really really COOL)
TheEvilMan
post Jan 7 2016, 02:56 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

Hi-Res Barbatos = plastic = metal build price wtf
http://www.amiami.com/top/detail/detail?gc...M-2943&page=top
heally82
post Jan 7 2016, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(jetjet92 @ Jan 7 2016, 02:50 PM)
Yeah, after watching few videos from youtube finally I have idea about this chrome or metallic effect thingy with using airbrush liao, seems like the effect can be easily achieved by using gloss black as base coat and add another spray layer of alclad II. But I wonder where can we get those alclad II around KL area??

Link of the youtube video: https://youtu.be/Vrxxw52hFnc (The effect is really really COOL)
theres plenty from miniatures hobby shop (those medieval mini figures one), but i advice u to buy chrome powder straight from china la around 50 something include shipping n u can do a few mgs with it...
heally82
post Jan 7 2016, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jan 7 2016, 02:56 PM)
well i think the inner frame is pre assembled with metal parts + chrome parts+ pearl coat parts+ transparent part

so is actually p bandai 4 in 1, thats what u get when support in p bandai gets enormous (bandai is really sucking ur blood now) china loaded people wont mind though...

pretty sure theres more to come on this one, since the design for the outer parts are exchangeable, so next is add on parts that cost u 300++?

pretty slick move, charge u a bomb on an inner frame and pamper u later on the exchangeable parts...
jetjet92
post Jan 7 2016, 03:15 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(heally82 @ Jan 7 2016, 02:56 PM)
theres plenty from miniatures hobby shop (those medieval mini figures one), but i advice u to buy chrome powder straight from china la around 50 something include shipping n u can do a few mgs with it...
how you order? you use taobao? like your picture apply chrome powder with gloss black base, the outcome is black metallic. if i apply silver base then chrome powder so the outcome is? or with gloss blue base the outcome is metallic blue?
carpathia
post Jan 7 2016, 03:21 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(jetjet92 @ Jan 7 2016, 03:15 PM)
how you order? you use taobao? like your picture apply chrome powder with gloss black base, the outcome is black metallic. if i apply silver base then chrome powder so the outcome is? or with gloss blue base the outcome is metallic blue?
no need to order from taobao la... most hobby shops have this chrome powder
heally82
post Jan 7 2016, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(jetjet92 @ Jan 7 2016, 03:15 PM)
hehe the logic is not like that, this is a super fine silver powder (my guess these are lead powder so dont inhale too much)

so whatever color base it is the end result still mirror silver, the gloss is to give u mirror like chrome while black base is to contrast the silver to make u feel the bling

if u wanted metallic colored need to use transparent colors, again polish la, there am air brush technique call dry brush: meaning u need to apply very little mixture of zippo with transparent enamel color then wet coat it afterwards to give the glossy chrome like.

anyway just fyi mgm brand chrome powder should cost ur around rm50 but i just ordered another brand called db color chrome powder same price but 10 times more may be will post some pics after tried that out...

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 7 2016, 03:21 PM)
no need to order from taobao la...  most hobby shops have this chrome powder
yeah jus a suggestion if his nearby hobby shop doesnt have them,
D-y
post Jan 7 2016, 04:18 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jan 7 2016, 02:56 PM)
should have seen that coming sad.gif guess I'll have to pass on this one

there's plenty of metal parts in that inner frame
jetjet92
post Jan 7 2016, 04:23 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(heally82 @ Jan 7 2016, 04:07 PM)
hehe the logic is not like that, this is a super fine silver powder (my guess these are lead powder so dont inhale too much)

so whatever color base it is the end result still mirror silver, the gloss is to give u mirror like chrome while black base is to contrast the silver to make u feel the bling

if u wanted metallic colored need to use transparent colors, again polish la, there am air brush technique call dry brush: meaning u need to apply very little mixture of zippo with transparent enamel color then wet coat it afterwards to give the glossy chrome like.

anyway just fyi mgm brand chrome powder should cost ur around rm50 but i just ordered another brand called db color chrome powder same price but 10 times more may be will post some pics after tried that out...
yeah jus a suggestion if his nearby hobby shop doesnt have them,
10 TIMES MORE, that's alot ! mind to share where u ordered your "db color chrome powder" ??

and also if what u said previously is true that it can be easily rub off, so once i applied chrome powder then i cant touch them anymore? sounds like very hard to take care plus sometimes i would like to change the gundam pose
heally82
post Jan 7 2016, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(D-y @ Jan 7 2016, 04:18 PM)
should have seen that coming sad.gif guess I'll have to pass on this one

there's plenty of metal parts in that inner frame
i guess this "thing" doesnt consider gunpla already its consider partly self assemble innerframe chogokin

i would like to call it P saich "P sigh" or in cantonese "P sai chin"

QUOTE(jetjet92 @ Jan 7 2016, 04:23 PM)
10 TIMES MORE, that's alot ! mind to share where u ordered your "db color chrome powder" ??

and also if what u said previously is true that it can be easily rub off, so once i applied chrome powder then i cant touch them anymore? sounds like very hard to take care plus sometimes i would like to change the gundam pose
here u go, or u can wait after i try out also can
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09...._u=721a78k143cb

its the give or take for this option mostly chrome glossy finish kits rarely touched anyways because will leave finger prints like the phenex, people just assemble it and leave it be
bonez_xy
post Jan 7 2016, 08:12 PM

524 posts

guys is it necessary to topcoat first before panel lining using tamiya accent panel line?
before this im just using marker. no topcoat. unsure.gif unsure.gif

126 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:52 AM