Canon Powershot G7, Power With A Classic Touch

CompMac
post Nov 16 2006, 10:50 AM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 15 2006, 03:46 PM)
then it's a DSLR already lor... add interchangeable lens, confirm DSLR
The difference between dSLR and P&S is not by the focus ring or aperture ring or whatever ring but by the way (the mechanism) the picture is taken by the body.

Nowadays we have prosumer cameras that looks exactly like a dSLR but it is not one.
daze
post Nov 16 2006, 02:07 PM

857 posts

hmm.. so it's a good buy?
tat G7??

was looking for some digicam.. i'm not a very pro user...
something to play with and in compact size..
ya..sound more to P&S type digicam.

shinchan^^
post Nov 16 2006, 02:24 PM

K66
21,256 posts

maybe the canon 900Ti?
:+:DarreN:+:
post Nov 16 2006, 03:56 PM

I hate my username
2,096 posts

QUOTE(daze @ Nov 16 2006, 02:07 PM)
hmm.. so it's a good buy?
tat G7??

was looking for some digicam.. i'm not a very pro user...
something to play with and in compact size..
ya..sound more to P&S type digicam.
I suggest looking into the Canon A series. Compact size and it's good for beginners or those who want to have a little control in exposure. I was looking into the Canon Powershot A620 until my dad got me the S3 tongue.gif
julchin_09
post Nov 16 2006, 09:40 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

wAH. Dad got you the S3 eh? Lucky you. I wasn't really looking for a replacement for my IXUS until I realize the battery wasnt carrying charge well. Then looked at the S2IS and almost got it till I got wind about the coming arrival of the S3IS. That time G6 Was around but not in Msia. It did have a lot more manual things to play with.....
:+:DarreN:+:
post Nov 16 2006, 11:17 PM

I hate my username
2,096 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Nov 16 2006, 09:40 PM)
wAH. Dad got you the S3 eh? Lucky you. I wasn't really looking for a replacement for my IXUS until I realize the battery wasnt carrying charge well. Then looked at the S2IS and almost got it till I got wind about the coming arrival of the S3IS. That time G6 Was around but not in Msia. It did have a lot more manual things to play with.....
Yes he did. Technically my sister did when she went to KL but it was his money, so yeah tongue.gif

It's not like a 13 year old has RM1.9k in his pocket anyway tongue.gif
nairud
post Nov 16 2006, 11:32 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

13yo???

anyway, since it's relative for the sensor to be bigger for bigger mp, apart from the hotshoe flash and DIGIC III, i dont see any other points to get this. why not just S3 brows.gif 6mp with 12x zoom and 0cm super macro.

oh well, iso at 1600 compared to 800 for s3.
shinchan^^
post Nov 16 2006, 11:34 PM

K66
21,256 posts

S1 IS also has that hotshoes is it

;p
for that price
rather get a 8mp 350d
amdx
post Nov 16 2006, 11:56 PM

Technology Evangelist
987 posts

hmm... but dslr need extra care... and when u upgrade extra lense... it would burn more holes in ur pocket. while G7 might be a little steep during the purchase.. but it's one off thing. hehe...
shinchan^^
post Nov 16 2006, 11:58 PM

K66
21,256 posts

hehe for that price maybe can consider the new coming d40
amdx
post Nov 17 2006, 09:06 PM

Technology Evangelist
987 posts

how's d40 vs 400d??
ItchyKlikFinger
post Nov 17 2006, 09:43 PM

Bubbly
2,425 posts

Just saw the ad for the latest G series camera on the Sun today, it sure looks good in black again
gold3knight
post Nov 17 2006, 11:18 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(amdx @ Nov 17 2006, 09:06 PM)
how's d40 vs 400d??
need you ask?
SUSTheVoIP
post Nov 18 2006, 12:58 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 16 2006, 11:32 PM)
13yo???

anyway, since it's relative for the sensor to be bigger for bigger mp, apart from the hotshoe flash and DIGIC III, i dont see any other points to get this. why not just S3 brows.gif 6mp with 12x zoom and 0cm super macro.

oh well, iso at 1600 compared to 800 for s3.
On paper spec, you are right about S3 IS and its why I recommend lots of people for it. Not with less than 2GB memory... tongue.gif

As a experinced users of G series (I am using a couple of G2, G3 + G5 intensively), the G series are more robust and reliable in the sense that all non-dLR (maybe 0.5% or less) can spoilt for no reason in the next morning. And compact camera are not meant to abuse with high usage. You will be surprise on how I abuse them via stress tests.... sweat.gif

As comparison, those G series that I had used in projects are very lasting and very few failure compare to its high usage and quantity of the camera. And G series also tends to be heavier.
afoi
post Nov 19 2006, 10:24 PM

98 posts

so, anyone here bought G7 yet ?
TSvictorboy
post Nov 20 2006, 10:45 AM

3 ngien yiu 3 ngien :(
1,756 posts

QUOTE(afoi @ Nov 19 2006, 10:24 PM)
so, anyone here bought G7 yet ?
erm, no sure whether the stock reach to the local store or not...

and i pretty sure m ost of the people require a very deep consideration about
this unit... sweat.gif
nairud
post Nov 20 2006, 10:55 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Nov 20 2006, 10:45 AM)
erm, no sure whether the stock reach to the local store or not...

and i pretty sure m ost of the people require a very deep consideration about
this unit... sweat.gif
It's already out in local stores already.
TSvictorboy
post Nov 20 2006, 11:00 AM

3 ngien yiu 3 ngien :(
1,756 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 20 2006, 10:55 AM)
It's already out in local stores already.
hah!.... shocking.gif
then who are the lucky one bought this unit?
post your images and share with us!! thumbup.gif

wink.gif

This post has been edited by victorboy: Nov 20 2006, 11:00 AM
aichiban
post Nov 20 2006, 12:08 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Nov 20 2006, 11:00 AM)
hah!.... shocking.gif
then who are the lucky one bought this unit?
post your images and share with us!!  thumbup.gif

wink.gif
vboy fast fast go n get one n post rclxms.gif

n u need to update ur siggy wink.gif
Glau
post Nov 21 2006, 09:02 PM

418 posts

i have a G7, got it a couple of days ago. Actually it is more my wifes', she does love the classic look.

Okay a little about this camera. It weights 'a ton' it is heavy with a very well built 'body'. The quality is also top notch, no complaints here. Photo quality is very good.

The camera grip is kinda small, thus making holding it a challenge, especially with the weight.

The lense is good. I can take photos without flash at 1/6 shutter speed by hand. so what i can say is that the 'is' is no fad. It's anti-shake ability is somewhat similar to my KM 5d.

iso; anything below 400 is fine, above that it starts to be grainy.

The controls are the best I have used so far, very responsive and easy to use. It has tons of functions.

over all good camera..

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0215sec    2.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:22 AM