142 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Volkswagen Cars Discussion: Ver. MK VIII, Das Auto

ladiesman217
post Jan 6 2016, 09:29 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 6 2016, 12:58 AM)
No need, just drive the car normally after changing the battery, system will adapt itself
QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 6 2016, 01:21 AM)
What adaptation is there after battery change?? Afaik, just change battery and kawtim. No?
I was told by sc, after change battery, some sort of calibration is required. Car will behave normally but there is still some stuff that is required to be done by them. Not sure if he is pulling a fast one on me though...
Boy96
post Jan 6 2016, 09:45 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 6 2016, 01:22 AM)
Polo 1.2 TSI is it? Golf only comes in 1.4 TSI and 2.0 GTI.
He is in New Zealand. They got golf 1.2

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jan 6 2016, 09:47 AM
TSr3kahsttub
post Jan 6 2016, 09:55 AM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

earl-ku Boy96 well yes, I know VW has a 1.2 Golf, also available in Singapore for road tax and insurance reasons, but certainly not available here in Malaysia. Anyway, the original post had no "location" field. And since it is just a free text box anyway, who knows where anyone could be from.
earl-ku
post Jan 6 2016, 09:56 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 6 2016, 09:55 AM)
earl-ku Boy96 well yes, I know VW has a 1.2 Golf, also available in Singapore for road tax and insurance reasons, but certainly not available here in Malaysia. Anyway, the original post had no "location" field. And since it is just a free text box anyway, who knows where anyone could be from.
hahah nvm la ... thumbup.gif
TSr3kahsttub
post Jan 6 2016, 09:58 AM

2,278 posts

ladiesman217 I think they're pulling a fast one on you. No "calibration" - unless what he meant was potentially resetting the clock and radio presets.

Anyway, anyone heard about Petron's RON100 fuel? I checked it out and wrote about it briefly on my site here. Checked out some of the stations that purportedly would already have it; only Bangsar seemed to have potential signs of it.

This post has been edited by r3kahsttub: Jan 6 2016, 10:26 AM
Jackofree
post Jan 6 2016, 10:59 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(cysun @ Jan 5 2016, 10:15 PM)
Did you buy the 9w7 on your own, or did the RM150 include everything (install + bluetooth unit)? If not supplied, where did you get your 9w7 from?
bought the 9w7 from ebay australia bro. But I believe you can get it cheaper at taobao. Then I went to Quattro and let them install for RM150 as workmanship. If you are not familiar with taobao then you can get from TS or maybe get at china if you ever dropby there smile.gif
Jackofree
post Jan 6 2016, 11:03 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Jan 5 2016, 07:06 PM)
Hi guys, I'm currently looking to get a VW, budget under 90k. So it's either a brand new CKD Polo, or a second hand Mk6 Golf. Which one would you guys recommend? Need some advice from the VW sifus here... smile.gif
If possible, avoid the 1.4TSI with 7DSG as it is prone to problems later on. But if you insist, I think you can get the 2014 Jetta at 90k which is still under warranty. Any problem you can F the SC upside down biggrin.gif
Jackofree
post Jan 6 2016, 11:11 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(ladiesman217 @ Jan 5 2016, 05:46 PM)
Are you required to bring to SC to recalibrate after changing battery outside?
I think it depends on how the foreman change your battery. If he jump start your car first and leave the engine on before changing the battery, you do not need to bring your car to SC to recalibrate. But if he just plug out your car battery terminal and change the battery without jump starting, I guess you have to do some setting with SC.

Just to share my experience when I change my battery outside, I opt for century then the guy just changed it without jump starting. It was fine for the first few days until some lights start appearing in my dashboard like ABS etc. Then I sent it to SC told them I just changed battery but weird lights start popping out. They changed my sensor under warranty and did some setting and it was good to drive already. rclxms.gif
TSr3kahsttub
post Jan 6 2016, 11:24 AM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(Jackofree @ Jan 6 2016, 10:59 AM)
bought the 9w7 from ebay australia bro. But I believe you can get it cheaper at taobao. Then I went to Quattro and let them install for RM150 as workmanship. If you are not familiar with taobao then you can get from TS or maybe get at china if you ever dropby there smile.gif
Quattro nowadays don't want to do installation - I sent a few guys there to install their BT kits, and they've started to give a variety of reasons to not install there.
ladiesman217
post Jan 6 2016, 11:29 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(Jackofree @ Jan 6 2016, 11:11 AM)
I think it depends on how the foreman change your battery. If he jump start your car first and leave the engine on before changing the battery, you do not need to bring your car to SC to recalibrate. But if he just plug out your car battery terminal and change the battery without jump starting, I guess you have to do some setting with SC.

Just to share my experience when I change my battery outside, I opt for century then the guy just changed it without jump starting. It was fine for the first few days until some lights start appearing in my dashboard like ABS etc. Then I sent it to SC told them I just changed battery but weird lights start popping out. They changed my sensor under warranty and did some setting and it was good to drive already.  rclxms.gif
Hmm this was my worry too. If the car battery is already flat, then no choice have to change and go sc calibrate. So better to change when it's 'feels' right.... Thanks for the heads up.
TSr3kahsttub
post Jan 6 2016, 11:50 AM

2,278 posts

Jackofree what sensor did you change? I changed the battery on my Polo myself but did not run into any issues after.
Jackofree
post Jan 6 2016, 12:45 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 6 2016, 11:50 AM)
Jackofree what sensor did you change? I changed the battery on my Polo myself but did not run into any issues after.
I dont really remember man as it was a year ago. I think it is the ABS sensor if I am not wrong. Another possible scenario is that my sensor was probably ''due to fail'' then just so when I change the battery, it kaput-ed
Jackofree
post Jan 6 2016, 12:46 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 6 2016, 11:24 AM)
Quattro nowadays don't want to do installation - I sent a few guys there to install their BT kits, and they've started to give a variety of reasons to not install there.
I got a quote from a regular mechanic for RM600 to install. I straight away rejected it and went quattro even though it is far away smile.gif
Jackofree
post Jan 6 2016, 12:47 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(ladiesman217 @ Jan 6 2016, 11:29 AM)
Hmm this was my worry too.  If the car battery  is already flat, then no choice have to change and go sc calibrate. So better to change when it's 'feels'  right.... Thanks for the heads up.
My advice is just change outside, dont let SC cut your throat bro biggrin.gif
fabianz03
post Jan 6 2016, 12:51 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 6 2016, 01:22 AM)
Polo 1.2 TSI is it? Golf only comes in 1.4 TSI and 2.0 GTI.
sorry to add its in NZ. we have 1.2 L TSI golf there
fabianz03
post Jan 6 2016, 12:52 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 6 2016, 09:55 AM)
profile bro
<—
TSr3kahsttub
post Jan 6 2016, 02:12 PM

2,278 posts

Not trying to be an arse, but:

Jackofree I don't think changing the battery outside causes the ABS sensor to fail... but I think lah.

Anyway, no problems from my car yet so still good. After shredding my front driver side rubber last week, this week I feel that my pads are getting very thin, so I'm going to have to change them very soon. Going to have SSBH installed at the same time.

This post has been edited by r3kahsttub: Jan 6 2016, 02:13 PM
ladiesman217
post Jan 6 2016, 04:00 PM

21 posts

Forgot to mentioned.. Christmas week, I had a check engine light on. Went to sc, was told that it was the charcoal canister... Changed it for rm599. Sigh. not inclusive of its other parts and labour.
Jackofree
post Jan 6 2016, 04:28 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(ladiesman217 @ Jan 6 2016, 04:00 PM)
Forgot to mentioned..  Christmas week,  I had a check engine light on. Went to sc, was told that it was the charcoal canister...  Changed it for rm599. Sigh.  not inclusive of its other parts and labour.
small tip for you brah, if its not covered in warranty at SC, just go change at your regular conti mechanic. If you do not know any conti mechanic, state your location here and forumers here will recommend you biggrin.gif
TSr3kahsttub
post Jan 6 2016, 04:39 PM

2,278 posts

I have read that someone managed to claim charcoal canister under warranty. I assumed it wasn't, and had mine changed outside. It cost me RM380.

142 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:08 PM