Volkswagen Cars Discussion: Ver. MK VIII, Das Auto

earl-ku
post Oct 5 2015, 04:21 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Jackofree @ Oct 5 2015, 04:15 PM)
Maybe you're right. I myself haven't seen the extend of the damage yet. Shall visit SC tomorrow to ask them to jack up my car to take a closer look and update you guys. Btw, any lubang to repair this cheaply around klang valley? RM180 is abit steep for plastic under carriage and VW Glenmarie even need a week to order the part from Singapore  shakehead.gif
Can nudge it back in? no repair needed... hehehe

rclxms.gif
earl-ku
post Oct 14 2015, 08:49 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Oct 14 2015, 03:01 PM)
Talking about changing battery, anybody have experience changing batteries outside (I mean not with the SC) while your warranty is still valid? Does that void your warranty? I found out that DIN55 Varta batteries sold by SC extremely expensive >RM600. AC Delco ones only RM400 plus.
i assume its past 2 years initiall warranty and its now in the extended warranty period rite ... but most said that battery from SC comes with 2 years warranty ... so if u change outside is bout 400 compared to SC at 600 for 2 years warranty then its ok lah rite ...
earl-ku
post Oct 14 2015, 09:35 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Oct 14 2015, 09:29 PM)
Yeah, my first battery died within 14 months, so the SC replaced it FOC. Second battery only lasted 16 months... WTF is wrong with batteries nowadays??? Last time car battery lasts >2 years easily. Nowadays is it because got too many USB charger outlet, infotainment system, DRL, come / leave home lights??? Dafuq...
i think the best way to explain this is like our mobile ... when we fully charge it 100% we will let it drain to 20 - 30% then recharge to full rite

but in this case with our cars nowadays ... there is not much of a full discharge and recharge cycle ... due to the short distance travel

thats why we need the battery conditioner, to recharge the battery every month or so to full cap
earl-ku
post Oct 19 2015, 09:06 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Oct 15 2015, 10:11 AM)

Just bought a vagcom cable over the holiday, and my car decided to throw me a CEL. I guess it was a good thing (??) since I now had the tools to scan and diagnose. Anyway, turns out the error is likely due to my charcoal canister needing a replacement. Thankfully, still ok to drive even with CEL; no misfiring, etc.

Searched online for the purpose of charcoal canister, and found some literature online:

"While fueling: The fuel rushes into the tank and the vapors/air in the tank must go somewhere. So it vents out through the carbon canister. This filters the hydrocarbons (fuel vapor) and only allows fresh air to escape. Think older fuel can with a vent hole....but with a filter attached.

While driving: The n80 purge valve opens and closes quickly to allow a metered amount of fuel vapor from the carbon can into the engine. The oxygen sensors determine if this system is working properly. If not, you will get an "evap purge flow incorrect" code.

The leak detection pump (clicking noise while stopped at a light for GTI, and fuel pump noise when you shut off the car in GLI) will close all valves and pressurize the fuel tank to ensure there are no leaks. This is to ensure all vapors pass through the carbon canister filter. Once the test is complete the valves open and do their thing venting and purging."

Anyway, wondering if charcoal can is covered under warranty. No harm asking I guess; will call sc later today to find out. These things are about RM4xx a pop, so if I can save some money, why not.
bro how much does this vagcom cable cost?

earl-ku
post Oct 22 2015, 12:24 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Oct 22 2015, 11:33 AM)
does this happen to all conti cars? bmw or mercs?
QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Oct 22 2015, 11:41 AM)
In Jap cars, they're usually set-up to "remember" the last know setting and just maintain when the car is cranked up. Euros seem to re-set this back to "OFF" by default from what I have noticed.

On my PGTI, if I leave the temp at coldest and do not turn AC off, the air re-circulation will remain. On my Golf, the coldest temp is too cold so I usually leave it in 20 degrees and the air re-circulation always turns "OFF" when I start the car up.
Use the OFF button to turn on and off, as this will use back the last setting as when the car was switched off

once u press auto, it will off the auto re circulation ....
earl-ku
post Oct 22 2015, 02:13 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Oct 22 2015, 01:46 PM)
earl-ku I think you don't quite get what we want. I want air to circulate in cabin only all the time. Having it on Auto does not achieve this; works on a sensor and the circulation cuts on and off. The car does not by default "store" the last known circulation, unless on Auto.

So, if you leave it to re-circulate, turn off the car, come back later and crank up, the air re-circulation will be OFF. I want this to remain ON whenever I start the car. I do not want to press the button.
i get what you mean, you want that to turn on when you start the car's ac rite, this can be done by using the off function, when you leave the auto re-circulate on before u switch off, then use the off button to turn ac back on - it will use back the last settings(assuming you turn on the recirculate function when u off the car)

this is how i am doing it on the passat, unless you arenot on the passat and do not have the off function

earl-ku
post Oct 22 2015, 03:04 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Oct 22 2015, 03:01 PM)
As mentioned before -- it doesn't work on my Polo and it doesn't work on my Golf :-) I have only recently been able to sort this out via vcds.
ok then i should have mentioned this works on the passat

earl-ku
post Oct 22 2015, 03:33 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Oct 22 2015, 03:28 PM)
Ah... interesting. I suspect the region for your car already set to Asia (which defaults to air re-circulate to "ON").
no lah bro - i have the same issue - its defaulted to off wan
earl-ku
post Dec 31 2015, 10:23 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(bullshyt @ Dec 30 2015, 05:19 PM)
especially when the priced tagged at 1k including labour charge and gst. just changed yesterday , im upset about the customer service in VW glenmarie. especially the old indian guy
i am thinking of heading to the VW in Glenmarie for my next service ... so this place is not recommended?
earl-ku
post Jan 6 2016, 08:33 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 6 2016, 01:22 AM)
Polo 1.2 TSI is it? Golf only comes in 1.4 TSI and 2.0 GTI.
There is a 1.2 TSI variant ...

http://www.carbuyer.com.sg/test-drives/250...poor-man-s-golf

earl-ku
post Jan 6 2016, 09:56 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 6 2016, 09:55 AM)
earl-ku Boy96 well yes, I know VW has a 1.2 Golf, also available in Singapore for road tax and insurance reasons, but certainly not available here in Malaysia. Anyway, the original post had no "location" field. And since it is just a free text box anyway, who knows where anyone could be from.
hahah nvm la ... thumbup.gif
earl-ku
post Jan 7 2016, 12:03 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(rave963 @ Jan 6 2016, 10:44 PM)
You guys literally ignored me XD.. hahahah.. Anyway, I will asked again, theres a sound coming from my dad's Golf TSI MK7. Its something like a lower volume honk sound. Happens randomly while driving or car is at a standstill, but its been there ever since we bought the car which is 1 over year ago. Does anyone else have this problem? I would like to know something bout it before I head to Service Center.

bro no one ignored you...

1) not everyone drives a golf, so not everyone here might have come across the same issue
2) provide a sample of the sound you mentioned
3) not everyone crawls the forum by the hour, you have to wait for that one owner(if any) who has encountered the same to reply you
4) not everyone here is a mechanic
5) this is a public forum, be nice and someone will assist ... and assistance is free, if no one replied, just continue waiting
earl-ku
post Jan 7 2016, 03:42 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 7 2016, 02:39 PM)
^ spot on. Not even a sample of the sound, how to help? laugh.gif

Anyway, another week and a new problem crops up:

FML lah.
hahaha not everyone is a mechanic here ... or has any technical expertise ...

whats that? hahahahahaha

looks like u scraped something? the intake manifold area?
earl-ku
post Jan 7 2016, 05:38 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jan 7 2016, 04:26 PM)
That's the front part of the car, smack in the middle. Its the downpipe, and I believe that's the O2 sensor hanging loose. Not sure how it happened, but there's a hole and it clearly sounds different under load.

Ideally, I should have changed the dp - instead, I decided to patch it up and purchase a catback instead. Hahahahaha. Anyway, worse come to worse, I still have my stock (catted) downpipe.
i think rat bite hahahahaha
earl-ku
post Jan 8 2016, 09:13 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(rave963 @ Jan 7 2016, 08:22 PM)
Not mechanical sound or from speaker, if I were to describe the sound, its something like our garden hose when its half bend and the water pressure is trying to get thru, it creates some sort sound that is similar to a honking sound. Im terrible at describing the sound. will try to get a sample
My deepest apologies to everyone, I didn't mean it that way. The "ignore" part is actually suppose to be a something like a funny comical gesture. I can't provide the sound, because it occurs randomly and sometimes too short for me to record. When it goes for a longer period either I reach for my phone too late and while driving I try not to touch my phone. I have tried few times just leaving my phone recorder on but so happen does not produce any sound or the sound was so soft and short, my phone couldn't capture it. Just wondering if any owners have come across this issue. Sometimes not necessary only golf owner faces it. I will try to get a sample for you guys to hear if possible.

Again, my deepest apologies. Didn't mean to offend anyone if I did.
like tire rubbing against fender or the body? hmmm planning to do any balancing or alignment, get the workshop to jack it up ...

see if there is any other external issues

i once had a weird sound like there was celotape stuck to car, removed it and was fine(had to fell the whole tires on all four)
then it happened again, found no celotape this time
end up was a balooneed tire on the inside wal

observe and see

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Jan 8 2016, 04:14 AM)
You need a chill pill bro
kasi dua biji ...

earl-ku
post Jan 8 2016, 02:38 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(rave963 @ Jan 8 2016, 02:06 PM)
I managed to get a sound sample for you guys =).

Golf MK7 sound
Its a youtube link, Sorry I cant seem to get the youtube thing right on post itself.

So, this is the sound that randomly appears, can be even for a split second and stop, in multiple short burst or longer than the sample.
sounds like something buzzing ... speakers?
earl-ku
post Jan 8 2016, 03:15 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(rave963 @ Jan 8 2016, 03:03 PM)
I can't say for sure, because it occurs even if the radio is on or off. Then my best bet would be to take it to service center and hope they can pinpoint the problem? Just worried it occurs so randomly, it will take a while for them to identify the problem XD.
the radio might be off, but if any short circuit or maybe exposed wires from the speakers could cause this ...

worst case, they ask you to elave the car for 1 week

then call u back say they didnt manage to re-produce the issue

earl-ku
post Jan 8 2016, 04:29 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Jackofree @ Jan 8 2016, 04:05 PM)
If it's not plastic then what is it ?
ABS yo ...
earl-ku
post Jan 8 2016, 05:11 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Jan 8 2016, 04:51 PM)
So you're saying the Jetta's interior is just like the Golf's? Soft touches everywhere biggrin.gif
You mean like a Passat? hahahahah
earl-ku
post Jan 22 2016, 09:32 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Jan 22 2016, 09:13 AM)
Not sure about the 408 but when I tested the old 308T, I couldn't feel the strong acceleration as well. In fact I didn't know it had Turbo until I was told it did. The only thing I liked about the 308T was the panaromic sunroof. Other than that, the power and handling just isn't worth the time.
The 308T has a bad back seats... so damn straight

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.8236sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:57 AM