4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Volkswagen Cars Discussion: Ver. MK VIII, Das Auto

VeeJay
post Oct 14 2017, 10:59 AM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(Andrewhajime @ Oct 14 2017, 09:42 AM)
Guys, my golf TSI MK 7 battery is worn out, do you guys know where could I find a battery replacement, from SC a bit costly
checkout the guy in garage sales who sells Varta
VeeJay
post Feb 7 2018, 08:33 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(vater @ Feb 7 2018, 06:26 PM)
Hello guys.
Owner of a B7 Passat here. Entered the car today and had a shocker - the roof lining / upholstery had separated from the underlying foam.
Heard that it is a common problem for this kind of car  shocking.gif

Hence I would like to get some suggestion from you guys. Any recommended repair shop to do it? Mod a little should be ok also (e.g. change material)  tongue.gif
- area, KL, PJ, Subang.
It happens to most of the European cars in MY, due to out hot and humid weather.

I did mine as below for RM800, i think

Man & Method Bodywork
No 2, Jalan Kilang 51/206, PJ

Mr Cheong - 012 209 7623
VeeJay
post Feb 20 2018, 07:24 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Feb 20 2018, 03:33 PM)
Can't comment on the Jetta. But as a Passat owner, coming close to 5 years... I'd side with Civic any day over Jetta.
VW might have better drivability (if that's a word) and look good, that's about it. For peace of mind, look else where.
Don't get me wrong though, I'm still tempted to get another VW, just that my wife ban the brand already  sweat.gif
yup, it needs to be pampered and well taken care off, no rough handling like japs/korean...but the pleasure of driving is unmatched
VeeJay
post Feb 25 2018, 05:46 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(iLemonx @ Feb 25 2018, 04:33 PM)
hi so sorry for the late response, in the end I just paid for it to get my car fixed at dubwerkz.
Never been to dubwerkz. Have you been to vag technik, how is it compared to them? Thx
VeeJay
post Feb 28 2018, 11:32 AM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Feb 27 2018, 11:59 PM)
Recently i sent my car at vagtechnik glenmarie, i guess they are alright, they have another branch in balakong iinm
Dubwerkz too far from me
I have been changing too many shops
ya they pricing and service are good. They are the only one that I have frequent, outside of SC.

They oil change package with Liqui Moly is very reasonable as well.
VeeJay
post Mar 13 2018, 02:39 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Mar 13 2018, 12:36 PM)
I own a Passat B7, and I'm one service away to the 5 years warranty expiry in September (although they extended the warranty on engine for another 3 years).
I have never really given it much thought in the past, but what do most of you do with your VW once the warranty expires?

1. Sell it off immediately (when it is still in drivable condition!) - Although might need to pay back to the back cos re-sell value is crap.
2. Keep it til it needs some major over-hauling (doubt will have much value even if you sell it then), in the meantime, keep paying for wear & tear stuff...
3. Buy some other new car (still keep the VW for backup, but don't drive it much to reduce wear & tear)
4. others??
for me...if its still a fun car to drive and still gives the trill...why not...keep it!

I drive a B6, and enjoy every bit of it.
VeeJay
post Mar 13 2018, 04:12 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Mar 13 2018, 03:44 PM)
Well, I enjoy my B7 too although it has been into the SC twice for Mechatronics issues (1 month downtime each) and once for Catalytic Converter (2 weeks) issue (in 4.5 years).
My only problem is if these issues somehow re-occur after the warranty expires, the cost might not be justifiable.

B6 is between 2006-2010, how many years have your warranty expired? Do you still go back to VW SC? the VW SA said after 100k KM, its all Major Service every time  sweat.gif
Have you changed any major parts since the warranty expired?
Mine is a 2011 model, and as for servicing, been frequenting to VAG-Technik; so far happy with their pricing.

I think I posted this previously....but for everyone's benefit, the pricing is available at the website, they hv difference package of EO, standard is at RM250

http://www.vagtechnik.com.my/services.html

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Mar 13 2018, 04:40 PM
VeeJay
post May 23 2018, 03:16 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(iLemonx @ May 23 2018, 02:52 PM)
hi VeeJay, sorry for the delayed response, haven't been checking forums diligently haha.

I have not been to vag technik, but will definitely check them out the next time, overall dubwerkz was ok, it was recommended by a friend who knew the owner of the shop, and they were willing to drop by my place after working hours (till 2am) to check my car's problem.

Took about 1-2 weeks to get my car fixed, but I think in terms of pricing, other places might be better I think.
No prob, mate. Thanks for sharing
VeeJay
post Oct 24 2018, 11:11 AM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(xowangzi @ Oct 24 2018, 09:39 AM)
Hi.

Just got myself a used mk6 GTI. After my research, I got 3 of these.

Vagtechnik, Dubwerkz, Deutsche

Which one is better? In terms of cost and experience

All far from me... So distance doesn't matter lol

From Ampang here.
Havent tried the others, thus far VAGTechnik been reasonable
VeeJay
post Oct 27 2018, 01:24 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Oct 27 2018, 02:21 AM)
Just changed waterpump and timing cover gasket today

[attachmentid=10088060]

Sadly not covered under goodwill warranty..
not bad...what was the mileage on the car?
VeeJay
post Nov 2 2018, 01:42 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Nov 2 2018, 11:49 AM)
Hi guys, how you all doing. I have a question. My dad's Golf MK7 TSI spare tyre rim is dented. Other than getting from original service centre (too expensive), where else I can find it at a cheaper price.  My dad say cannot be used any more as the tyre will puncture anytime due to the tyre also having lumps. Thanks =)

On a side note, do you guys recommend using racechip?
did you checkout at "potong kereta" places? how about mudah?
VeeJay
post Nov 2 2018, 03:36 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Nov 2 2018, 03:13 PM)
Hey, thanks for your quick reply. I appreciate it. Do you have any kereta potong to recommend? I tried mudah ealier. But I dont think i have searched for the right keywords.
there are few...arounf bandar puteri area, and klang (jalan kapar) area that i used to frequent long time ago.

try googling it, pretty sure you can find...here are some links for your reference/research

https://www.mudah.my/Malaysia/Cars-Accessor...alfcut-for-sale

https://www.google.com/search?q=malaysia+po...lient=firefox-b

https://www.mudah.my/Used+volkswagen+passat...cc-66905118.htm

VeeJay
post Feb 14 2019, 01:46 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 14 2019, 12:34 PM)
so far for maintenance is it vw car maintenance will be expensive ?
compare from german car vs japan car?
European car maintenance in Msia is always expensive compared to JP. Its how our country operates with tax and duties, hence even car price is much much higher than JP, compared to other countries.

hence we cant run away from the pricing stand point. But the thing is we have many parts and service providers out there, other than service center, hence we could still get relatively good price
VeeJay
post Feb 21 2019, 03:20 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(tweety1127 @ Feb 21 2019, 02:56 PM)
Hi all,

i have a question regarding my Passat CC (2009 model).

when i am driving, especially on roads with a down hill turn, the gear box will go into protection mode (limping mode or whatever it is called) and i cant upshift or down shift. I will need to stop the car, kill the engine and restart the car then it is ok.

I believe the problem lies with the gearbox, is there any good volkswagon mechanic that you can recommend? any where within Klang Valley is fine.

thanks alot!
hmmm, yours is a wet clutch (6 speed), right? whats the error message on the panel?

Normally i go to http://www.vagtechnik.com.my/

couple of pages back, there are couple of other recommendation as well

all the best...do keep us posted
VeeJay
post Aug 29 2019, 03:26 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(@r3|4^2 @ Aug 29 2019, 02:53 PM)
New Passat B8 owner reporting in (well mine is pre-reg anyway). Still learning the so many functions of this car (coming from Proton, a huge jump for me) biggrin.gif
Congrats bro...just wondering if this model is CBU or locally build?
VeeJay
post Aug 29 2019, 03:28 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Aug 26 2019, 02:22 PM)
Hi all Sifu,
Just got my Passat 2.0. Any tips on taking care the car? Autohold, engine on/off features and how to take care DSG gearbox?

Also do you guys recommend polish or wax the car will do?
Sorry which model is this? is it dry clutch? (cant comment on dry, since mine is wet).

As for polish/wax....just go with basic clay/polish/wax and then maintain it with regular wash and wax spray top-ups
VeeJay
post Aug 29 2019, 03:47 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(@r3|4^2 @ Aug 29 2019, 03:34 PM)
according to the salesman it is MKD (similar to CKD, but more parts were pre-assembled before coming to this country)
I see. thanks...any specific questions.....bagilah some gambar...internal and external rclxms.gif

Mine, i have changed the HU to an Android player 10inch...but i dont think you want to do that since its under warranty

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Aug 29 2019, 03:48 PM
VeeJay
post Sep 17 2019, 01:58 AM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(bigfanofcars @ Sep 16 2019, 08:50 PM)
normal odb2 bluetooth dongle cannot be used. for detailed diagnostics you need vagcom software.
Could you explain by detailed diagnostics, such as?

Shouldnt the OBD2 be able to provide the error code and possible failure/errors?
Thx
VeeJay
post Sep 17 2019, 09:14 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(bigfanofcars @ Sep 17 2019, 09:22 AM)
bmw vw Peugeot most manufacturer have their own proprietary scan tool
QUOTE(haturaya @ Sep 17 2019, 02:47 PM)
Many manufacturer extends the standard OBD2 codes. Need their own scan tool to make use of it.  sweat.gif
Thx...but i still feel its still useful for basic info and diagnosing smile.gif
VeeJay
post Sep 17 2019, 11:34 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Sep 17 2019, 09:16 PM)
Basic info you have to try. Might be too little info being given by standard OBDII. No harm trying. Plenty cheap OBDII connector / adaptor in the market.
Sorry, i guess, i didnt mention when i commented to the initial post from frostfox...i do have couple of them that used on my cars...to date it has been useful in resetting, clearing error log, finding any sensor failures. It also logs pretty much all the necessary reading from ECU, hence my initial question on 'detailed diagnostic ", probably there is some reading that might be proprietary to brand (VW, bmw, etc) but i guess, obd2 should be able to read atleast 80-90% of the stuff, maybe.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0665sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:40 PM